Film Review: Kodak 110 Gold 200

3

When a great camera came out, but almost no film that fits was available in the market... I thought, why not buy expired film!

So when i started using this film, i thought it was the best idea ever… what’s there to lose? We have all used expired film in other formats before, right? So I bought 6 Kodak Gold 110 ISO 200 expired in 1993.

Well I wasn’t lucky at all with this batch of films I got from eBay. Although it was pretty cheap, the results didn’t come out exactly or nearly how I expected.

Credits: litumai

So after telling my fiasco story to a friend, he said, that when using film that has expired too long ago, you should use B mode for like 1 step per decade (how I call it, or like as long as if you were taking a long exposure at night). My film had expired 2 decades ago, so I took the new pictures in B mode, even on broad daylight and counted to 15 seconds or more.
And here are those results.

So altogether they did come out a lot better, but not nearly as good and cool as I expected. It did help me learn something new, so I don’t consider this a complete failure.

Have any of you gotten better results with this film?

Credits: litumai

written by litumai on 2012-09-26 in #reviews #kodak-110-gold-200-film-review

3 Comments

  1. bernizt
    bernizt ·

    So sorry for the fiasco! Even if the film is really expired, overexposing it even more and scanning it manually will probably give you better results!

  2. adam_g2000
    adam_g2000 ·

    Keep the rest of the film and use it in an SLR (Pentax or Minolta) if you choose to commit to the format and get one, then you can control the stops better. Or give it to someone who has one.

  3. mami-iraha
    mami-iraha ·

    It was a good challenge.:D

More Interesting Articles

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Film Experiments: A Roll of Film in Acid

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-29 in #gear #tipster
    Film Experiments: A Roll of Film in Acid

    This is a film soup that I came up with a long time ago but was not happy about it at all. In fact, I've slightly modified it for this tipster that I'm about to share with you. Read on to find out more.

    1
  • A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-10-11 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    This is a tribute to a great Austrian sports photographer, Lothar Rübelt. In an era with no high speed films available, he was able to immortalize wonderful moments in sports - from diving to gymnastics and football. In creating this tribute, I took a series of photos of an amateur football match using expired black and white film developed using an uncommon chemical. Take a look after the jump!

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-06 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    Last week, I received the strangest thing through my letterbox. It was a postcard with this photograph on 1 side. The photo is of me sitting by the sea whilst I was on vacation last year. But I have literally no idea who took this shot – That’s why I came here, to ask for your help on my search for my mysterious photographer and to try and get to bottom of the riddle they wrote me. Please help me if you can!

    10
  • 5 of the Best Ways to Share Your Lomo'Instant Pics

    written by jacobs on 2014-11-25 in #people #news #videos
    5 of the Best Ways to Share Your Lomo'Instant Pics

    We love sharing photos! So, with the recent release of the beloved Lomo'Instant camera, we thought it would be a great idea to look at some of the best ways to share your instants with the world. Rather than letting them collect dust on a shelf or stay hidden away in a drawer somewhere, why not let everyone else in on your superb instant creations? Check out these 5 awesome ways you can do just that!

  • Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    written by Amber Valentine on 2015-04-21 in #world #tipster
    Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    As you may have read in my previous article, I truly fell in love with Lomography when I combined my Fisheye camera with an old Canon AE-1 for magical photographic results. Last summer, I took so many pictures of flowers that it started to become almost boring for me. My waning interest and the coming winter meant that I had to figure out something else to do with my 35mm film.

    1
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Spinner 360: Pull the Cord and Let the Magic Happen!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-09 in #reviews
    Spinner 360: Pull the Cord and Let the Magic Happen!

    The story between the Spinner 360 and I goes way back to the year 2010, when Lomography decided to send me a beta model of the Spinner 360 to test. It was a complete surprise! I thought, "What the hell is that?" as I first took this camera out of the package. Then, when my little brother grabbed it from me and pulled the cord, it buzzed and turned 360°! We all had the same expression: "Whoa..."

    4
  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Aperture

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-14 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Aperture

    Have you ever wondered why those nerdy camera constructors formulate complicated terms that baffle most normal citizens? Trust me, I know it all too well; Physics was the first subject to go when I had to choose between studying and spending yet another night pursuing youthful adventures. But don't worry — the remedy for all of the gaps in your knowledge is right here: Lomography’s Little Lessons on Photography. Follow this series and in no time you'll catch up on everything your curious mind desires!

  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Depth of Field

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-04-10 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Depth of Field

    Have you ever wondered why those nerdy camera constructors formulate complicated terms that baffle most normal citizens? Trust me, I know it all too well; Physics was the first subject to go when I had to choose between studying and spending yet another night pursuing youthful adventures. But don't worry — the remedy for all of the gaps in your knowledge is right here: Lomography’s Little Lessons on Photography. Follow this series and in no time you'll catch up on everything your curious mind desires!

    2
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Photo of the Day by lomomowlem

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-28 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by lomomowlem

    A miniature airplane landing on a swan? With double exposure, anything is possible!

    2
  • Q0_0p is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-28 in #world
    Q0_0p is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to q0_0p for winning Home of the Day!

    1
  • Summer Hotspots: My Holiday in a Camping Beach

    written by sirio174 on 2015-08-28 in #world #lifestyle
    Summer Hotspots: My Holiday in a Camping Beach

    Last month, I went to a camping site lined by stretches of water and surrounded by a pine forest. I had vast spaces for leisure as there were only a handful people about.

    1