Reviews of the Week

Each week, we place the spotlight on some of the most interesting and insightful reviews from the community. Are you itching to find out which ones from the past weeks made it to the cut? Then, what are you waiting for? Go ahead and read on!

Cameras

This week, our featured camera reviews are about two amazing analogue goodies: Minolta 110 Zoom SLR, a quirky 110 camera that has been gaining attention among lomographers since the release of Orca 110 B&W and Color Tiger 110; and Fuji Natura Classica, the low-light shooter that has gained a following for its brilliant photos.

Lomographer-reviewer adam_g2000 found the Minolta 110 Zoom SLR a “versatile little camera” with unique ergonomics that “makes it extremely easy to hold and operate.” He also mentioned that his favorite feature of this camera is the macro focusing. “Twist the lens the right way and the most amazing close ups are possible,” he says in his full review. Let’s take a look at some of his photos shot using this 110 camera:

Credits: adam_g2000 & guitarleo

Meanwhile, lomographer-reviewer guitarleo found the Fuji Natura Classica a “highly recommended point and shoot camera, especially with high ISO film.” So, for those who like to shoot accurately exposed photos in natural lighting, this may well be the point-and-shoot camera for you, especially since it’s also light and easy to carry for your daily activities! The Natura Classica is one of the popular compacts of the analogue world, and some of the photos our featured author shared in his full review tell us why:

Credits: guitarleo

Film

This week’s film review on spotlight is by ingridkyc, who found the Lomography X-Pro Slide 200 one of the most surprising films she has ever tried. “I asked for an “E6 to C41” process with it, the colour it gave me was so special. I loved most of the pictures from that roll of film,” she said. Now, let’s take a look at some of the photos she shared in her full review and let them tell us why our film reviewer loves this film:

Congratulations to our three lomographer-authors! Join us again next week as we continue to give recognition to the notable reviews of our fellow lomographers on the amazing analogue goodies they come across with!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera/film/accessory review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-09-15 in #reviews

More Interesting Articles

  • Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    written by jacobs on 2015-02-10 in #gear #news
    Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    Are you still looking for that perfect treat for your loved one this Valentine's Day? Then you've come to the right place, my friend — we've extended our Valentine's deals until the end of the week! Which means you have extra time to get lucky in all things love and Lomography. Quit dodging Cupid's arrows and get in on these sweet deals right now!

  • Camera Collections: Compacts, SLRs, disposables and pinholes-- a healthy variety for _smg_

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-03-30 in #lifestyle
    Camera Collections: Compacts, SLRs, disposables and pinholes-- a healthy variety for _smg_

    For this week's Camera Collections, we present to you _smg_, our community member from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. _smg_, or Shaun in real life, is a coffee lover, avid lomographer and camera collector. His arsenal comprises of not only Lomo cameras, SLRs and compacts, but is composed of disposables and home-made pinhole cameras as well. Read on to find which his favorites are from a variety of almost 200 cameras.

    1
  • Lomography Spinner 360: The selfie camera

    written by simonesavo on 2014-05-06 in #reviews
    Lomography Spinner 360: The selfie camera

    If you too are fond of scenic shots and even if you cannot help but capture every place in 360º, then the Spinner 360º is the one that is right for you. Read on to find out more.

    2
  • Shop News

    Order this five star Medium Master today and receive it straight away!

    Order this five star Medium Master today and receive it straight away!

    The Phoblographer Editor's Choice Award Winner "The best street photography camera: film or digital. Pretty much nothing will beat this." Order this five star Medium Master today and receive it straight away!

  • Top Shoutbox Users of April 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-05-11 in #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of April 2014

    We are turning the spotlight on this tiny box made for our Community's most random thoughts, comments, suggestions, rants, and just about anything under the sun!

    3
  • LomoGuru of the Week: marta1901

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-07-13 in #lifestyle
    LomoGuru of the Week: marta1901

    Our LomoGuru spotlight turns to this lovely lady from Madrid, Spain popular for her exquisite portraiture. Meet the passionate and extraordinary Marta Huguet Cuadrado, or marta1901 in the Community, our LomoGuru of the Week!

    36
  • Fresh From the Lab: Sicilian Dance and Music

    written by sirio174 on 2014-05-13 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: Sicilian Dance and Music

    Yesterday I picked up from my trusty photography shop in Como a developed and scanned color film roll containing images of the Sicilian festival held on May 1 at the city's historical center. A few hours ago, I made some scans of these images, which I'm pleased to show you in this article! Read more after the jump!

  • Shop News

    Take the Harpy on a ride!

    Take the Harpy on a ride!

    Take your camera on a safe ride with your bike. This sturdy ZKIN leather bag protects your Diana F+ sized cameras and Lens. Remove the loops and you have a stylish shoulder bag!

  • Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-27 in #news
    Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    We'd like to thank everyone for continuously capturing precious moments on photographs and sharing them with all of us. Each of your photographs and albums brought happiness and inspiration to everyone in the community. These lomographers take the spotlight for their ceaseless passion for photography and for their generosity in sharing every step of their analogue adventure. Meet our top photo uploaders of 2014.

    5
  • LomoLit: Keepsake

    written by cheeo on 2014-03-05 in #lifestyle
    LomoLit: Keepsake

    This week's LomoLit entry takes on the joys of traveling and different memories and stories with souvenirs from each trip.

    5
  • Toshiya Watanabe's

    written by ciscoswank on 2014-03-07 in #people #lomoamigos

    Toshiya Watanabe is a Japanese photographer. He is from Namie-Machi in Fukushima Prefecture - which is one of the regions that has been alerted as the caution zone after the 3.11 Tohoku Earthquake due to the atomic meltdown caused by the tsunami. Here are some of the photographs he has taken continuously since the disaster happened - an incident that cannot be forgotten. The Past and Present lies in each photo.

  • Shop News

    Adopt an Adaptor and use your Petzval Lens on a huge variety of Cameras!

    Adopt an Adaptor and use your Petzval Lens on a huge variety of Cameras!

    Find a fine selection of Adapters and Filters for your Petzval Lens in our Online Shop. Bundle up and get discounts up to 20%!

  • Fresh and Crisp Square Lomographs from the US and UK Taken with the LC-A 120

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-31 in #lifestyle
    Fresh and Crisp Square Lomographs from the US and UK Taken with the LC-A 120

    The LC-A 120 is set to be shipped out to their lucky owners 'round the holidays. You're probably itching to see more from this camera, so here are some of the latest sample shots to help you guys tide over until then!

  • Top 5 Album Covers Designed by Famous Artists

    written by chooolss on 2014-06-19 in #lifestyle
    Top 5 Album Covers Designed by Famous Artists

    It has been proven time and again that some of the most interesting and creative collaborations are produced by art and music. For this week's list, in no particular order, we're putting the spotlight on five albums whose cover art were specially designed by well-known artists!

  • LomoGuru of the Week: mapix

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-06-15 in #lifestyle
    LomoGuru of the Week: mapix

    This week's LomoGuru is perhaps one of the most active members of our Community. Aside from regularly updating his LomoHome with wonderful photographs, he also sets aside time to meet and share insights with his fellow lomographers by attending various lomowalks and lomo-exhibitions. Let's cheer for our latest LomoGuru from Germany, Christoph Maas, also known in the Community as mapix!

    16