Reviews of the Week

Each week, we place the spotlight on some of the most interesting and insightful reviews from the community. Are you itching to find out which ones from the past weeks made it to the cut? Then, what are you waiting for? Go ahead and read on!

Cameras

This week, our featured camera reviews are about two amazing analogue goodies: Minolta 110 Zoom SLR, a quirky 110 camera that has been gaining attention among lomographers since the release of Orca 110 B&W and Color Tiger 110; and Fuji Natura Classica, the low-light shooter that has gained a following for its brilliant photos.

Lomographer-reviewer adam_g2000 found the Minolta 110 Zoom SLR a “versatile little camera” with unique ergonomics that “makes it extremely easy to hold and operate.” He also mentioned that his favorite feature of this camera is the macro focusing. “Twist the lens the right way and the most amazing close ups are possible,” he says in his full review. Let’s take a look at some of his photos shot using this 110 camera:

Credits: adam_g2000 & guitarleo

Meanwhile, lomographer-reviewer guitarleo found the Fuji Natura Classica a “highly recommended point and shoot camera, especially with high ISO film.” So, for those who like to shoot accurately exposed photos in natural lighting, this may well be the point-and-shoot camera for you, especially since it’s also light and easy to carry for your daily activities! The Natura Classica is one of the popular compacts of the analogue world, and some of the photos our featured author shared in his full review tell us why:

Credits: guitarleo

Film

This week’s film review on spotlight is by ingridkyc, who found the Lomography X-Pro Slide 200 one of the most surprising films she has ever tried. “I asked for an “E6 to C41” process with it, the colour it gave me was so special. I loved most of the pictures from that roll of film,” she said. Now, let’s take a look at some of the photos she shared in her full review and let them tell us why our film reviewer loves this film:

Congratulations to our three lomographer-authors! Join us again next week as we continue to give recognition to the notable reviews of our fellow lomographers on the amazing analogue goodies they come across with!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera/film/accessory review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-09-15 in #reviews #lomography #reviews-of-the-week #film-review #camera-review #user-review

More Interesting Articles

  • Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    written by jacobs on 2015-02-10 in #gear #news
    Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    Are you still looking for that perfect treat for your loved one this Valentine's Day? Then you've come to the right place, my friend — we've extended our Valentine's deals until the end of the week! Which means you have extra time to get lucky in all things love and Lomography. Quit dodging Cupid's arrows and get in on these sweet deals right now!

  • Teufelsberg: The Architecture of Espionage

    written by wil6ka on 2015-03-04 in #world #locations
    Teufelsberg: The Architecture of Espionage

    The spying globes on Teufelsberg are the not-so-secret insider tip for Berlin’s urban ruins and interesting freak show architecture. Even if you’re reluctant, one thing's for sure: the “Devil’s Mountain” is just plain awesome. The torn-up globe structures of the former military territory are just waiting to be conquered by lomographers… so what are you waiting for?

    14
  • Top Shoutbox Users of May 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-29 in #world #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of May 2015

    Are you new to the community? Or are you looking for a new place to explore aside from the photographs and articles? Head to the shoutbox and meet the friendliest bunch of lomographers!

    14
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Argus Paul Estabrook's Surreal Work in Paper Cutting

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-02 in #people
    Argus Paul Estabrook's Surreal Work in Paper Cutting

    The characters in Argus Paul Estabrook's work in paper cutting are the stuff nightmares are made of: unusual forms, jagged edges, arms outstretched as if seeking salvation—all emphasized further by the plain white background on which they are placed. Combined, these details paint a picture straight out of Dante Alighieri's "Divine Comedy."

    3
  • Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-27 in #news
    Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    We'd like to thank everyone for continuously capturing precious moments on photographs and sharing them with all of us. Each of your photographs and albums brought happiness and inspiration to everyone in the community. These lomographers take the spotlight for their ceaseless passion for photography and for their generosity in sharing every step of their analogue adventure. Meet our top photo uploaders of 2014.

    5
  • Fresh and Crisp Square Lomographs from the US and UK Taken with the LC-A 120

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-31 in #lifestyle
    Fresh and Crisp Square Lomographs from the US and UK Taken with the LC-A 120

    The LC-A 120 is set to be shipped out to their lucky owners 'round the holidays. You're probably itching to see more from this camera, so here are some of the latest sample shots to help you guys tide over until then!

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Lomography & REMI Competition

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-07-03 in #people #competitions
    Lomography & REMI Competition

    Ladies and gentlemen, for this rumble, we’ve joined forces with Australian MC/singer REMI Kolawole. Since he is on tour now and will play in many different places this summer, we’re looking for your best, most exciting analogphotos which you feel best capture the essence of music festivals. Hot prizes are waiting for you!

    2
  • Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-04 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    Its compact size, features that allow ample room for creativity, and undeniably gorgeous looks have got many lomographers smitten. Read on and see what five of our community members have to say about the charming Diana Mini!

    2
  • Newcomer of the Week: billseye

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-06-14 in #world #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: billseye

    Having a professional photographer in the family paved a way for Bill to start taking interest in photography early on. In this interview, he shares more about how he discovered the community and his passion for shooting analog. Let's all welcome our newcomer of the week from USA, billseye!

    3
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Newcomer of the Week: psychedelica

    written by icequeenubia on 2015-03-22 in #world #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: psychedelica

    His love affair with analog photography started with a Zenit 12 which he received as a birthday present. Almost a decade has passed since but he still continues to capture his everyday life and the spirit of Istanbul's streets on film. Get to know our newcomer of the week from Turkey, Can Ortak also known in the community as psychedelica!

    8
  • Newcomer of the Week: kojotisko

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-08-24 in #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: kojotisko

    His impressive collection of street photographs had caught the Community's attention last month. Now, let's turn the spotlight to kojotisko once more and welcome him as our Newcomer of the Week!

    3
  • Scenes from the City with the New Petzval Lens

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-30 in #gear #news #lifestyle
    Scenes from the City with the New Petzval Lens

    The new Petzval Lens has proven itself a master of close-up shots and soulful portraits time and time again. Now some of our talented community members have stepped it up a notch and aimed the Petzval at city-scapes. From snow-capped pedestrians, couples chatting in parks, bustling markets, or people waiting to get on the metro - the beautiful banalities of city life are covered in these eloquent shots. Scroll through this gallery we've put together just for you to get a taste of the Petzval's urban potential!