Reviews of the Week

Each week, we place the spotlight on some of the most interesting and insightful reviews from the community. Are you itching to find out which ones from the past week made it to the cut? Then, what are you waiting for? Go ahead and read on!

Camera

This week’s featured camera review is by stratski, who wrote about the Praktica MTL3. “When you really want to feel you’re carrying a camera, one that goes click in a loud, proud voice, one that you could use to beat up a robber that tries to take it from you, the MTL3 is your number one choice,” she begins her review. Then, she proceeds to share some technical info on her default SLR, as well as the advantages of using the solid and sturdy camera. Let’s take a look at the lovely photos she took with the Praktica MTL3:

Credits: stratski

These nice shots certainly tell how much fun our lomographer is having with her camera, don’t you agree? Take a look at the rest of the photos in her full review!

Film

Next on our list of featured reviews is about the Kodak Ektar 100, which lomographer illegaltender has found to live up to its reputation of being a very fine-grained film. His photos affirm his findings: saturated colors, fine grain, and a slight blue cast that makes it a perfect choice for landscape photography. “Because of its saturation, it is a very good alternative and really gives Fujifilm’s legendary Velvia 50 a run for its money for landscape photography,” our film reviewer for this week says. See some of his shots below:

Photos by illegaltender

Check out his full review to see more photos he took using this outstanding fine-grained film!

Accessory

Last but not the least in this week’s featured reviews is about the LC-Wide Instant Kit, as told by lomographer kneehigh85. Aside from using the accessory for taking wide instant photos, our reviewer also found the kit’s viewfinder to be useful in taking more accurate snaps using the LC-Wide. “…it comes also with a handy attachment for the viewfinder, which is a lot wider than the original one on the camera,” she says. “I now use this on my LC-Wide all the time, so that I can get a better idea of what my photos are going to look like in the end.” Below are some of her snaps taken with the aid of the kit’s viewfinder:

Credits: kneehigh85

Don’t forget to check out the full review to learn more about our featured accessory reviewer’s insights and photos!

Congratulations to our three lomographer-authors! Join us again next week as we continue to give recognition to the notable reviews of our fellow lomographers on the amazing analogue goodies they come across with!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera/film/accessory review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-09-08 in #reviews #camera-review #accessory-review #reviews-of-the-week #film-review #user-review #lomography

More Interesting Articles

  • Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    written by jacobs on 2015-02-10 in #gear #news
    Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    Are you still looking for that perfect treat for your loved one this Valentine's Day? Then you've come to the right place, my friend — we've extended our Valentine's deals until the end of the week! Which means you have extra time to get lucky in all things love and Lomography. Quit dodging Cupid's arrows and get in on these sweet deals right now!

  • Teufelsberg: The Architecture of Espionage

    written by wil6ka on 2015-03-04 in #world #locations
    Teufelsberg: The Architecture of Espionage

    The spying globes on Teufelsberg are the not-so-secret insider tip for Berlin’s urban ruins and interesting freak show architecture. Even if you’re reluctant, one thing's for sure: the “Devil’s Mountain” is just plain awesome. The torn-up globe structures of the former military territory are just waiting to be conquered by lomographers… so what are you waiting for?

    14
  • Top Shoutbox Users of May 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-29 in #world #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of May 2015

    Are you new to the community? Or are you looking for a new place to explore aside from the photographs and articles? Head to the shoutbox and meet the friendliest bunch of lomographers!

    14
  • Shop News

    The Ultimate Hitchhiker Pack

    The Ultimate Hitchhiker Pack

    The Ultimate Hitchhiker Pack puts together the compact Diana Mini and our City Guides to ensure you enjoy exploring the world in analogue!

  • Argus Paul Estabrook's Surreal Work in Paper Cutting

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-02 in #people
    Argus Paul Estabrook's Surreal Work in Paper Cutting

    The characters in Argus Paul Estabrook's work in paper cutting are the stuff nightmares are made of: unusual forms, jagged edges, arms outstretched as if seeking salvation—all emphasized further by the plain white background on which they are placed. Combined, these details paint a picture straight out of Dante Alighieri's "Divine Comedy."

    3
  • LomoGuru of the Week: marta1901

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-07-13 in #lifestyle
    LomoGuru of the Week: marta1901

    Our LomoGuru spotlight turns to this lovely lady from Madrid, Spain popular for her exquisite portraiture. Meet the passionate and extraordinary Marta Huguet Cuadrado, or marta1901 in the Community, our LomoGuru of the Week!

    36
  • Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-27 in #news
    Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    We'd like to thank everyone for continuously capturing precious moments on photographs and sharing them with all of us. Each of your photographs and albums brought happiness and inspiration to everyone in the community. These lomographers take the spotlight for their ceaseless passion for photography and for their generosity in sharing every step of their analogue adventure. Meet our top photo uploaders of 2014.

    5
  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300 & 10x Fuji Instax Wide Film

    Fuji Instax Wide 300 & 10x Fuji Instax Wide Film

    With this bundle you are ready to shoot with the Fuji Instax Wide 300 and dig in to the instax world – on top you save 20% on Fuji Wide film!

  • Fresh and Crisp Square Lomographs from the US and UK Taken with the LC-A 120

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-31 in #lifestyle
    Fresh and Crisp Square Lomographs from the US and UK Taken with the LC-A 120

    The LC-A 120 is set to be shipped out to their lucky owners 'round the holidays. You're probably itching to see more from this camera, so here are some of the latest sample shots to help you guys tide over until then!

  • Lomography Community Cup: Blog Blitz

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-07-08 in #competitions
    Lomography Community Cup: Blog Blitz

    Are you ready for our next challenge? Read on and find out what's in store for you in the second leg of our Lomography Community Cup!

    38
  • Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-04 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    Its compact size, features that allow ample room for creativity, and undeniably gorgeous looks have got many lomographers smitten. Read on and see what five of our community members have to say about the charming Diana Mini!

    2
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Newcomer of the Week: billseye

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-06-14 in #world #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: billseye

    Having a professional photographer in the family paved a way for Bill to start taking interest in photography early on. In this interview, he shares more about how he discovered the community and his passion for shooting analog. Let's all welcome our newcomer of the week from USA, billseye!

    3
  • Newcomer of the Week: psychedelica

    written by icequeenubia on 2015-03-22 in #world #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: psychedelica

    His love affair with analog photography started with a Zenit 12 which he received as a birthday present. Almost a decade has passed since but he still continues to capture his everyday life and the spirit of Istanbul's streets on film. Get to know our newcomer of the week from Turkey, Can Ortak also known in the community as psychedelica!

    8
  • Newcomer of the Week: kojotisko

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-08-24 in #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: kojotisko

    His impressive collection of street photographs had caught the Community's attention last month. Now, let's turn the spotlight to kojotisko once more and welcome him as our Newcomer of the Week!

    3