Kodak Pro Image (35mm, 100 iso) User-Review

6

A cheap and cheerful negative film that looks good in all conditions.

I found a few boxes of this negative film on eBay UK a few months ago. I had never heard of it and thought it would be interesting to use. It turns out that it’s a re-packaged version of Kodak Gold for international markets.

I don’t really know what to say about it – there’s nothing overly special about this film. The colours are good – under the right conditions it can even get a nice level of saturation going on! It can possibly look “retro” in some instances. The blues with this film are fantastic; and using a polarizer filter they get even better.

Being a 100 film, the grain is nothing to complain about. It’s noticeable, but not ugly.

I like this film. Despite the “pro” name, it’s cheap enough to use quickly. I especially like it when testing new cameras :)

written by dazb on 2009-10-17 in #reviews #negative #c41 #profoto #kodak-gold #pro-image #kodak

6 Comments

  1. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    Looks good to me. For a cheap film I'd say it'd be worth it to have a couple rolls on hand.

  2. ripsta
    ripsta ·

    i love the cat pic

  3. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    Great gallery and I really like the soft tone and colors of this film :)

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    Excellent ! As you say it yourself it's not an incredible film. But your superb gallery proves that the composition can matter more... Congrats !

  5. coca
    coca ·

    i like this film too... great gallery!!!

  6. tukumoura
    tukumoura ·

    I bought two rolls of film today. I expected it to be very regular, but as you said, it is a good and cheap option.

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • My Review of the Lomography Color Negative 100

    written by simonesavo on 2014-12-27 in #reviews
    My Review of the Lomography Color Negative 100

    A bright day requires a film that highlights every color. The Lomography Color Negative 100 has fine grain and crazy tones that give your photos stunning color and exceptional sharpness.

    2
  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    13
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Most Popular User Blogs of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-28 in #news
    Most Popular User Blogs of 2014

    Aside from the Magazine, going through the User Blogs is another way to keep tabs on the latest happening in the community. Throughout the year, it was filled with articles on new discoveries, thought-provoking opinions, and exciting exhibits that surely entertained, challenged, and inspired everyone. Let's take a look back at the fruitful year through the most popular user blogs of 2014.

    3
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Gallery Alert: ‘Kodak Camera at 125’

    written by cheeo on 2014-11-23 in #news
    Gallery Alert: ‘Kodak Camera at 125’

    Kodak cameras started a photography revolution that progresses to this day. See its evolution and 125 years of existence in this exhibit at the George Eastman House International Museum of Photography and Film.

  • You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    written by ncjom on 2014-11-05 in #reviews
    You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    If you happen to come across an expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 film pack, either in a store or on the Internet, get one and be ready for an exciting experience. You'll definitely get more from it!

  • Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-30 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    The New Petzval Lens 85 continues to captivate the hearts of many photographers from its debut a couple of years back. A perfect balance between form and function, this lens closely mimics the look of the legendary Petzval lens of the 19th century and delivers eye-catching images with its signature tack sharp center and swirly bokeh background. Many photographers from both outside and inside the Lomography community have raved about the New Petzval 85. In this recap, we look back at four community-written reviews.

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Then and Now: 'Alkmaar 100 Jaar' by Frits de Beer

    written by chooolss on 2014-09-25 in #lifestyle
    Then and Now: 'Alkmaar 100 Jaar' by Frits de Beer

    Alkmaar-native and photographer Frits de Beer, along with a couple of friends, has recreated a video filmed in his hometown a century ago. Have a look after the jump!

  • Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    written by brettlaw on 2015-04-22 in #gear #reviews
    Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    When I held the Lomo LC-A 120 in my hands for the first time, I immediately noticed its good feel and beautiful design. The LC-A 120 obviously, is truly, related to the queen of all Lomo cameras, the LC-A.

    2
  • Introducing the New Lomography Cine400 Tungsten 35mm Film - Only 4000 Rolls Available!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-10-13 in #news
    Introducing the New Lomography Cine400 Tungsten 35mm Film - Only 4000 Rolls Available!

    Turn ordinary scenes into cinematic moments with the new Lomography Cine400 Tungsten Film. Made from authentic cine material that we specially treated for use with 35mm cameras, this Color Negative film will produce photos that look like stills from a movie.

    1