Reviews of the Week(s)

2

Each week, we place the spotlight on some of the most interesting and insightful reviews from the community. Are you itching to find out which ones from the past weeks made it to the cut? Then, what are you waiting for? Go ahead and read on!

Cameras

One of our featured reviews comes in the form of a letter by walasiteodito for his Canon EOS 88. While not certainly not your usual review, you will find all the reasons why our lomographer finds his dear camera a wonderful one. But, as always, it’s always better to let his photos taken using the EOS 88 do the talking:

Credits: walasiteodito

His photos are simply stunning, don’t you think? Take a look at the more of his Canon EOS 88 photos in his full review!

The second in our featured camera reviews tells about a popular Russian analogue beauty, the Lomo Smena Symbol. Lomographer adam_g2000 says, “The camera is a reliable, easy to use tank. It’s biggish and it’s heavy, but not too much to be as wearisome as some older film SLRs can be.” Also praised its lens, which “gives a marvelously crisp and crunchy result,” he puts the Symbol on the “same pedestal as the wonderful Olympus Trip 35.” His beautiful photos below are a testament to this!

Credits: adam_g2000

We know you want to see more of his Smena Symbol snaps and learn more about the camera, so head over to his full review!

Last in our featured camera reviews tells about one of Lomography’s newest analogue babies, the Fisheye Baby 110. “Something small. Something novel. Something fun. In the end, my practical side said the flash on the chrome model would be very useful since I frequently shoot indoors. Then my artistic side said the metallic look of chrome is sharp and eye catching. Now both sides of my brain are happy,” Lomographer kf4kco shared on his Fisheye Baby Metal. He tried out both Orca B&W 100 and Color Tiger 200, and says he’s enjoying his time with this teeny fisheye camera. Below are some of his shots:

Photos by kf4kco

Someone’s certainly having fun strolling and shooting around with this pocket shooter! Don’t forget to check out his full review to see more of his Fisheye Baby Photos!

Films

In the realm of film photography, nothing exudes class best than an excellent black and white film, like Ilford FP4+, which our featured review author simonh82 mentioned as his “first choice when there is good light available.” He has used the famed traditional black and white film for portraits and nature/scenic photography, and reports that it works well for both purposes. His photos, taken using Mamiya C330 medium format camera, indeed have a classic charm in them as he said in his review:

Credits: simonh82

See more of his photos displaying the amazing quality of this famed monochrome film in his full review!

Moving on to our last featured film review, samwise_camus tells us about shooting with Lomography’s 110 color negative film, the Color Tiger 200, using the Pentax Auto 110. “Despite the dull weather and the handful of indoor shots, the vibrancy and sharpness of the photos was exemplary,” he said, and proceeded to share some beautiful 110 snaps:

Credits: samwise_camus

You must be intrigued to see the rest of his Color Tiger photos, so head to his full review right here, right now!

Accessories

Last but definitely not the least, we have featured accessory reviews on the LC-Wide Instant Kit and the Fritz the Blitz Adapter Kit. Lomographers yopanic, and guanatos tell us in their respective reviews how both kits helped them do more with their LC-Wide and other Lomography cameras like the LomoKino and the Lubitel 166+. If you’re looking to find an accessory to try for your cameras, find out more about the LC-Wide Instant Kit in yopanic's full review and the Fritz the Blitz Adapter Kit in guanatos' full review!

Photos by yopanic, and guanatos

Congratulations to all our lomographer-authors! Join us again next week as we continue to give recognition to the notable reviews of our fellow lomographers on the amazing analogue goodies they come across with!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera/film/accessory review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-09-01 in #reviews #reviews-of-the-weeks #camera-review #accessory-review #reviews-of-the-week #lomography #film-review #user-review

2 Comments

  1. brandkow93
    brandkow93 ·

    I have 3 fantastic analogue for sale check the listings kiev 4 with 3 lenses www.ebay.co.uk/itm/200814238684?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&a… Lubitel 2 www.ebay.co.uk/itm/200814251821?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&a… and Minolta X-700 with amazing 50mm 1.4 cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=200814264…

  2. guanatos
    guanatos ·

    Wow, thanks @plasticpopsicle

More Interesting Articles

  • Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    written by jacobs on 2015-02-10 in #gear #news
    Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    Are you still looking for that perfect treat for your loved one this Valentine's Day? Then you've come to the right place, my friend — we've extended our Valentine's deals until the end of the week! Which means you have extra time to get lucky in all things love and Lomography. Quit dodging Cupid's arrows and get in on these sweet deals right now!

  • Camera Collections: Compacts, SLRs, disposables and pinholes-- a healthy variety for _smg_

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2014-03-30 in #people #lifestyle
    Camera Collections: Compacts, SLRs, disposables and pinholes-- a healthy variety for _smg_

    For this week's Camera Collections, we present to you _smg_, our community member from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. _smg_, or Shaun in real life, is a coffee lover, avid lomographer and camera collector. His arsenal comprises of not only Lomo cameras, SLRs and compacts, but is composed of disposables and home-made pinhole cameras as well. Read on to find which his favorites are from a variety of almost 200 cameras.

    1
  • Top Shoutbox Users of April 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-05-11 in #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of April 2014

    We are turning the spotlight on this tiny box made for our Community's most random thoughts, comments, suggestions, rants, and just about anything under the sun!

    3
  • Shop News

    Show Off your Pics with Style!

    Show Off your Pics with Style!

    Build vivid hanging LomoCurtains, robust free-standing LomoCastles, and dazzling mounted LomoMosaics! Just click them together with the Lomography Photoclips!

  • Teufelsberg: The Architecture of Espionage

    written by wil6ka on 2015-03-04 in #world #locations
    Teufelsberg: The Architecture of Espionage

    The spying globes on Teufelsberg are the not-so-secret insider tip for Berlin’s urban ruins and interesting freak show architecture. Even if you’re reluctant, one thing's for sure: the “Devil’s Mountain” is just plain awesome. The torn-up globe structures of the former military territory are just waiting to be conquered by lomographers… so what are you waiting for?

    14
  • LomoGuru of the Week: marta1901

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-07-13 in #lifestyle
    LomoGuru of the Week: marta1901

    Our LomoGuru spotlight turns to this lovely lady from Madrid, Spain popular for her exquisite portraiture. Meet the passionate and extraordinary Marta Huguet Cuadrado, or marta1901 in the Community, our LomoGuru of the Week!

    36
  • Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-27 in #news
    Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    We'd like to thank everyone for continuously capturing precious moments on photographs and sharing them with all of us. Each of your photographs and albums brought happiness and inspiration to everyone in the community. These lomographers take the spotlight for their ceaseless passion for photography and for their generosity in sharing every step of their analogue adventure. Meet our top photo uploaders of 2014.

    5
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Lomography Spinner 360: The selfie camera

    written by simonesavo on 2014-05-06 in #reviews
    Lomography Spinner 360: The selfie camera

    If you too are fond of scenic shots and even if you cannot help but capture every place in 360º, then the Spinner 360º is the one that is right for you. Read on to find out more.

    2
  • Fresh and Crisp Square Lomographs from the US and UK Taken with the LC-A 120

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-31 in #lifestyle
    Fresh and Crisp Square Lomographs from the US and UK Taken with the LC-A 120

    The LC-A 120 is set to be shipped out to their lucky owners 'round the holidays. You're probably itching to see more from this camera, so here are some of the latest sample shots to help you guys tide over until then!

  • Top 5 Album Covers Designed by Famous Artists

    written by chooolss on 2014-06-19 in #lifestyle
    Top 5 Album Covers Designed by Famous Artists

    It has been proven time and again that some of the most interesting and creative collaborations are produced by art and music. For this week's list, in no particular order, we're putting the spotlight on five albums whose cover art were specially designed by well-known artists!

  • Shop News

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval lens are designed for a Canon or Nikon SLR mounts and a selection of brass or black for each camera brand is available in our stores. And start shooting with images full of sharpness, crispness and bokeh effects!

  • LC-A Goes To: Saint Petersburg, Russia

    written by chooolss on 2014-06-05 in #world #locations
    LC-A Goes To: Saint Petersburg, Russia

    As the iconic LC-A celebrates its 30th birthday this month, we think it's only timely that we look back to Lomography's roots and shine the spotlight on the camera's birthplace, Saint Petersburg. If you haven't been there yourself, or if you have and simply wanted to be reminded of the beauty of the place, we've compiled a few select lomographs taken using no less than the LC-A by our community members!

  • LomoGuru of the Week: mapix

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-06-15 in #lifestyle
    LomoGuru of the Week: mapix

    This week's LomoGuru is perhaps one of the most active members of our Community. Aside from regularly updating his LomoHome with wonderful photographs, he also sets aside time to meet and share insights with his fellow lomographers by attending various lomowalks and lomo-exhibitions. Let's cheer for our latest LomoGuru from Germany, Christoph Maas, also known in the Community as mapix!

    16
  • Watch: 'One Day In A Lomo'Instant' Video

    written by shhquiet on 2014-06-17 in #news
    Watch: 'One Day In A Lomo'Instant' Video

    A lot happens in a day, made up of those little moments that we usually take for granted. So we asked some of our friends from the Lomography team to capture some instant photos throughout one day, using the Lomo'Instant Camera. The result? A collection of memories that they could catch, hold, and cherish forever. We compiled their instant moments into a cool video, which you can check out after the cut!