Reviews of the Week(s)


Each week, we place the spotlight on some of the most interesting and insightful reviews from the community. Are you itching to find out which ones from the past weeks made it to the cut? Then, what are you waiting for? Go ahead and read on!


One of our featured reviews comes in the form of a letter by walasiteodito for his Canon EOS 88. While not certainly not your usual review, you will find all the reasons why our lomographer finds his dear camera a wonderful one. But, as always, it’s always better to let his photos taken using the EOS 88 do the talking:

Credits: walasiteodito

His photos are simply stunning, don’t you think? Take a look at the more of his Canon EOS 88 photos in his full review!

The second in our featured camera reviews tells about a popular Russian analogue beauty, the Lomo Smena Symbol. Lomographer adam_g2000 says, “The camera is a reliable, easy to use tank. It’s biggish and it’s heavy, but not too much to be as wearisome as some older film SLRs can be.” Also praised its lens, which “gives a marvelously crisp and crunchy result,” he puts the Symbol on the “same pedestal as the wonderful Olympus Trip 35.” His beautiful photos below are a testament to this!

Credits: adam_g2000

We know you want to see more of his Smena Symbol snaps and learn more about the camera, so head over to his full review!

Last in our featured camera reviews tells about one of Lomography’s newest analogue babies, the Fisheye Baby 110. “Something small. Something novel. Something fun. In the end, my practical side said the flash on the chrome model would be very useful since I frequently shoot indoors. Then my artistic side said the metallic look of chrome is sharp and eye catching. Now both sides of my brain are happy,” Lomographer kf4kco shared on his Fisheye Baby Metal. He tried out both Orca B&W 100 and Color Tiger 200, and says he’s enjoying his time with this teeny fisheye camera. Below are some of his shots:

Photos by kf4kco

Someone’s certainly having fun strolling and shooting around with this pocket shooter! Don’t forget to check out his full review to see more of his Fisheye Baby Photos!


In the realm of film photography, nothing exudes class best than an excellent black and white film, like Ilford FP4+, which our featured review author simonh82 mentioned as his “first choice when there is good light available.” He has used the famed traditional black and white film for portraits and nature/scenic photography, and reports that it works well for both purposes. His photos, taken using Mamiya C330 medium format camera, indeed have a classic charm in them as he said in his review:

Credits: simonh82

See more of his photos displaying the amazing quality of this famed monochrome film in his full review!

Moving on to our last featured film review, samwise_camus tells us about shooting with Lomography’s 110 color negative film, the Color Tiger 200, using the Pentax Auto 110. “Despite the dull weather and the handful of indoor shots, the vibrancy and sharpness of the photos was exemplary,” he said, and proceeded to share some beautiful 110 snaps:

Credits: samwise_camus

You must be intrigued to see the rest of his Color Tiger photos, so head to his full review right here, right now!


Last but definitely not the least, we have featured accessory reviews on the LC-Wide Instant Kit and the Fritz the Blitz Adapter Kit. Lomographers yopanic, and guanatos tell us in their respective reviews how both kits helped them do more with their LC-Wide and other Lomography cameras like the LomoKino and the Lubitel 166+. If you’re looking to find an accessory to try for your cameras, find out more about the LC-Wide Instant Kit in yopanic's full review and the Fritz the Blitz Adapter Kit in guanatos' full review!

Photos by yopanic, and guanatos

Congratulations to all our lomographer-authors! Join us again next week as we continue to give recognition to the notable reviews of our fellow lomographers on the amazing analogue goodies they come across with!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera/film/accessory review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-09-01 in #reviews #reviews-of-the-weeks #lomography #accessory-review #camera-review #user-review #reviews-of-the-week #film-review


  1. brandkow93
    brandkow93 ·

    I have 3 fantastic analogue for sale check the listings kiev 4 with 3 lenses… Lubitel 2… and Minolta X-700 with amazing 50mm 1.4…

  2. guanatos
    guanatos ·

    Wow, thanks @plasticpopsicle

More Interesting Articles

  • Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    written by jacobs on 2015-02-10 in #gear #news
    Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    Are you still looking for that perfect treat for your loved one this Valentine's Day? Then you've come to the right place, my friend — we've extended our Valentine's deals until the end of the week! Which means you have extra time to get lucky in all things love and Lomography. Quit dodging Cupid's arrows and get in on these sweet deals right now!

  • The Lomo’Instant Wide "Share The News" Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-21 in #gear #competitions #videos
    The Lomo’Instant Wide "Share The News" Rumble

    If you’ve been living on Neptune for the past week (wait, how the hell did you get there?), you might have missed the memo – The brand new Lomo’Instant Wide has landed! Pre-orders are flying in for the world’s most creative wide format instant camera and lens system and we’ve decided to launch a competition to spice up the fun even further.

  • Teufelsberg: The Architecture of Espionage

    written by wil6ka on 2015-03-04 in #world #locations
    Teufelsberg: The Architecture of Espionage

    The spying globes on Teufelsberg are the not-so-secret insider tip for Berlin’s urban ruins and interesting freak show architecture. Even if you’re reluctant, one thing's for sure: the “Devil’s Mountain” is just plain awesome. The torn-up globe structures of the former military territory are just waiting to be conquered by lomographers… so what are you waiting for?

  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Shoot wider and bigger with this new instax camera that has film format twice the size of the instax mini films!

  • Top Shoutbox Users of May 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-29 in #world #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of May 2015

    Are you new to the community? Or are you looking for a new place to explore aside from the photographs and articles? Head to the shoutbox and meet the friendliest bunch of lomographers!

  • Argus Paul Estabrook's Surreal Work in Paper Cutting

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-02 in #people
    Argus Paul Estabrook's Surreal Work in Paper Cutting

    The characters in Argus Paul Estabrook's work in paper cutting are the stuff nightmares are made of: unusual forms, jagged edges, arms outstretched as if seeking salvation—all emphasized further by the plain white background on which they are placed. Combined, these details paint a picture straight out of Dante Alighieri's "Divine Comedy."

  • 10 Articles You May Have Missed Last Week

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-09-21 in #world #news
    10 Articles You May Have Missed Last Week

    Are gender transition and coming of age themes that interest you? Have you ever heard of the Anthotype process? Here's a glimpse of last week --time to catch up on your reading.

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-27 in #news
    Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    We'd like to thank everyone for continuously capturing precious moments on photographs and sharing them with all of us. Each of your photographs and albums brought happiness and inspiration to everyone in the community. These lomographers take the spotlight for their ceaseless passion for photography and for their generosity in sharing every step of their analogue adventure. Meet our top photo uploaders of 2014.

  • Photo of the Day by mell0nc0llie

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-09 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by mell0nc0llie

    Instead of fishes, emerging from the murky water are clusters of flowers and leaves, which seem to have piqued this man's interest.

  • LC-A+ and LC-Wide Face-off Poll

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-28 in #world #news
    LC-A+ and LC-Wide Face-off Poll

    If the LC-A+ and LC-Wide were to compete in a head-to-head match, which side would you be on?

  • Shop News

    Get a Perfect Instant Selfie with Fuji Instax Mini 70!

    Get a Perfect Instant Selfie with Fuji Instax Mini 70!

    Get the perfect self-portraits or group photos with your friends with this instant camera! This camera allows you to be picture ready with its mirror next to the lens and gives you an idea where is best to smile!

  • Lomography & REMI Competition

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-07-03 in #people #competitions #videos
    Lomography & REMI Competition

    Ladies and gentlemen, for this rumble, we’ve joined forces with Australian MC/singer REMI Kolawole. Since he is on tour now and will play in many different places this summer, we’re looking for your best, most exciting analogphotos which you feel best capture the essence of music festivals. Hot prizes are waiting for you!

  • Newcomer of the Week: billseye

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-06-14 in #world #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: billseye

    Having a professional photographer in the family paved a way for Bill to start taking interest in photography early on. In this interview, he shares more about how he discovered the community and his passion for shooting analog. Let's all welcome our newcomer of the week from USA, billseye!

  • Newcomer of the Week: psychedelica

    written by icequeenubia on 2015-03-22 in #world #lifestyle #videos
    Newcomer of the Week: psychedelica

    His love affair with analog photography started with a Zenit 12 which he received as a birthday present. Almost a decade has passed since but he still continues to capture his everyday life and the spirit of Istanbul's streets on film. Get to know our newcomer of the week from Turkey, Can Ortak also known in the community as psychedelica!