Camera Review of the Week

14

Don't believe what you hear and what the rumormongers spreading! With the Camera Review of the Week, we'll prove that it is hip to square!

Although the rectangular format way of shooting is what we have grown accustomed to, there’s always been an inexplicable appealing to shooting squares. It could be the tighter crop that focuses on the subject, the symmetry of all the sides or in the case of shooting with TLRs like the Seagul 4B, the sheer thrill and experience of shooting through a waist-level viewfinder.

saviorjosh recently got his hands on a copy of one and promptly dispels bad rumors regarding the Chinese medium format machine with his camera review. He goes on length stating that the Seagull is actually one of the cheaper ways to get into TLRs since the Rolleiflexes out there will cost you an arm and a leg. Maybe even two. So the next time you have a chance to shoot with it, slow things down. Take a deep breath, focus, compose, click, and watch the magic happen.

Do you have what it takes to be next week’s winner? Then submit you camera review but if the film you want to feature isn’t on the list please let us know.

written by cruzron on 2009-09-07 in #reviews

14 Comments

  1. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    congratz! woot woot!

  2. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    congrats!! Great review!! :))

  3. dogma
    dogma ·

    Congrats!! well deserved!

  4. panelomo
    panelomo ·

    lovely photo feature up there!

  5. azurblue
    azurblue ·

    Congrats, lovely pics !

  6. redbohemia
    redbohemia ·

    Congrats!...that first pix is simply awesome...

  7. saviorjosh
    saviorjosh ·

    What a great surprise on a Monday morning! :)
    Thank you dear friends and LSI!

  8. ndroo
    ndroo ·

    The first photo ... MAGICAL!

  9. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    no doubt in chosing that review!!!!!!!!!!!!! with such a great gallery it should become review of the year!

  10. sugiyamasatomi
    sugiyamasatomi ·

    great, great choice! Congrats!

  11. stouf
    stouf ·

    Very well deserved !

  12. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    congraaaaaaaaaaaats!!

  13. eva_eva
    eva_eva ·

    congrats! beautiful pictures! awesome colors~!

  14. ccwai
    ccwai ·

    The first pic is amazing!
    Congrats!

More Interesting Articles

  • Workshop: Bloom Boom!

    written by lomographynyc on 2014-05-01 in #events
    Workshop: Bloom Boom!

    Spring is in full swing and we want to capture all the colors of the city. We’ll show you how to use several of our cameras and hit Washington Square Park to see the new floral display.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Ccwu talks about the New Russar+ Lens

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-04-14 in #news
    Ccwu talks about the New Russar+ Lens

    You're probably already familiar with ccwu. We've written about his work on the Magazine, featured his awesome albums and winning photos of the day. The Taipei, Taiwan-based photographer is one talented and versatile snapper with an impressive collection of photos to prove it. What happens when you partner someone as talented as ccwu with the New Russar+ Lens? Find out after the jump.

  • Shop News

    Uncrate Long Lost Lomography Treasures - 30% Off in our Discount Section

    Uncrate Long Lost Lomography Treasures - 30% Off in our Discount Section

    Fly over to our 30% Discount Section to discover previously unavailable Editions & Clones! Be quick and make one yours before they are all gone again!

  • Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-04 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    Its compact size, features that allow ample room for creativity, and undeniably gorgeous looks have got many lomographers smitten. Read on and see what five of our community members have to say about the charming Diana Mini!

    2
  • Step Up Your Lomo'Instant Snaps Using the Hyperlapse App

    written by jacobs on 2014-11-24 in #gear #tipster
    Step Up Your Lomo'Instant Snaps Using the Hyperlapse App

    We love hearing about exciting and innovative ways to share photos here at Lomography HQ. That's why we when we came up with this super sweet way of spreading your Lomo'Instant snaps, we had to pass it on. Check it out!

  • Clickiemcpete and his Weapon of Choice: Sprocket Rocket

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-09-11 in #lifestyle
    Clickiemcpete and his Weapon of Choice: Sprocket Rocket

    Calling the Sprocket Rocket as Peter Atwood's go-to camera would be an understatement. He owns half a dozen of it that he simultaneously shoots with different films. He even considers the Sprocket Rocket as his dream machine. Let's hear what clickiemcpete has to say about this camera in this installment of Weapon of Choice!

    10
  • Shop News

    Get 20% off on the Lomography Experimental Lens Kit

    Get 20% off on the Lomography Experimental Lens Kit

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras.

  • Berning Robot Star: Small but mighty

    written by dopa on 2014-05-18 in #reviews
    Berning Robot Star: Small but mighty

    It is a small, compact film camera from Germany that brings 55 square images (24x24mm) to 35mm film, since the years of the economic miracle. Thanks to its clockwork design, it shoots as fast as you can press the shutter button. Read on and get to know the Robot Star!

    1
  • The Lomo LC-A-to-Z: L for ‘Let Loose’

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-06-24 in #news
    The Lomo LC-A-to-Z: L for ‘Let Loose’

    Don’t sweat the small stuff. Don't be a worrywart. The Lomo LC-A-to-Z tells us to relax, roll up our sleeves, and let loose. Cast your worries away and indulge in whatever it is that frees you, and capture that moment of liberation with a Lomo LC-A camera.

  • So here’s what we’ve been working on: an all new lomography.com

    written by recurving on 2015-02-03 in #world #news
    So here’s what we’ve been working on: an all new lomography.com

    For the last year we've been working on the next version of Lomography. We based our work on the feedback you’ve given us over the years and we wanted to share it as early as possible with you and can’t wait to hear what you think. Just one warning first: it is still in development and things can break. All the photos, comments, likes, homes and everything else were transferred as of October 16th, 2014. So anything you do on next.lomography.com won't be reflected on www.lomography.com and vice versa. Once we are done with testing, everything you did here will be deleted again. So this is a big playground for you to explore.

    216
  • Shop News

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    You’ve shouted your analogue love from the rooftops and worn your heart on your sleeve – Now it’s time to take it to the next level and wear it on your skin! Our new Lomography Tattoos are fun, easy to apply and come in five designs.

  • Easter Bunny Treats - Save Up To 25% Until 20th April

    written by shhquiet on 2014-04-15 in #news
    Easter Bunny Treats - Save Up To 25% Until 20th April

    Look at what the Easter bunny has in store for you! A variety of egg-citing offers on your favorite Superpop and Monochrome Edition cameras in the Sales Section, available for a week only. Don’t make the bunny wait; hop, hop, hop to the Shop and snatch up the treats as fast as you can; this deal runs for 1 week only!

  • December 14th Advent Offer: Take Advantage of our Festive 3 For 2 Film Deals (Online Code: 3FOR2HOLIDAYFILM)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-14 in #news
    December 14th Advent Offer: Take Advantage of our Festive 3 For 2 Film Deals  (Online Code: 3FOR2HOLIDAYFILM)

    Seeing that we love to spread the cheer around here, we're giving you another chance to load up on our awesome film with today's Advent deal! Choose a classy black and white film, like our Lady Grey, or get creative and colorful with one of our Redscale films. We're certain that no matter what you choose, you'll have a great time making memories with tons of lovely analogue photos this year!

  • My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-11-12 in #gear #tipster
    My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    I backed the Kickstarter project for the Lomo’Instant earlier this year and was thrilled to receive it last week. I love how the camera naturally encourages you to experiment with its different features, whether it’s through flashing your multiple exposures with different colors or trying different creative techniques after your shots has been ejected. Here are a few tips from what I’ve discovered from playing with the camera so far (and a couple of tips I want to try out in future)!