Camera Review of the Week

14

Don't believe what you hear and what the rumormongers spreading! With the Camera Review of the Week, we'll prove that it is hip to square!

Although the rectangular format way of shooting is what we have grown accustomed to, there’s always been an inexplicable appealing to shooting squares. It could be the tighter crop that focuses on the subject, the symmetry of all the sides or in the case of shooting with TLRs like the Seagul 4B, the sheer thrill and experience of shooting through a waist-level viewfinder.

saviorjosh recently got his hands on a copy of one and promptly dispels bad rumors regarding the Chinese medium format machine with his camera review. He goes on length stating that the Seagull is actually one of the cheaper ways to get into TLRs since the Rolleiflexes out there will cost you an arm and a leg. Maybe even two. So the next time you have a chance to shoot with it, slow things down. Take a deep breath, focus, compose, click, and watch the magic happen.

Do you have what it takes to be next week’s winner? Then submit you camera review but if the film you want to feature isn’t on the list please let us know.

written by cruzron on 2009-09-07 in #reviews #seagull #camera-review-of-the-week #tlr #medium-format

14 Comments

  1. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    congratz! woot woot!

  2. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    congrats!! Great review!! :))

  3. dogma
    dogma ·

    Congrats!! well deserved!

  4. panelomo
    panelomo ·

    lovely photo feature up there!

  5. azurblue
    azurblue ·

    Congrats, lovely pics !

  6. redbohemia
    redbohemia ·

    Congrats!...that first pix is simply awesome...

  7. saviorjosh
    saviorjosh ·

    What a great surprise on a Monday morning! :)
    Thank you dear friends and LSI!

  8. ndroo
    ndroo ·

    The first photo ... MAGICAL!

  9. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    no doubt in chosing that review!!!!!!!!!!!!! with such a great gallery it should become review of the year!

  10. sugiyamasatomi
    sugiyamasatomi ·

    great, great choice! Congrats!

  11. stouf
    stouf ·

    Very well deserved !

  12. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    congraaaaaaaaaaaats!!

  13. eva_eva
    eva_eva ·

    congrats! beautiful pictures! awesome colors~!

  14. ccwai
    ccwai ·

    The first pic is amazing!
    Congrats!

More Interesting Articles

  • Workshop: Bloom Boom!

    written by lomographynyc on 2014-05-01 in #events
    Workshop: Bloom Boom!

    Spring is in full swing and we want to capture all the colors of the city. We’ll show you how to use several of our cameras and hit Washington Square Park to see the new floral display.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-04 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    Its compact size, features that allow ample room for creativity, and undeniably gorgeous looks have got many lomographers smitten. Read on and see what five of our community members have to say about the charming Diana Mini!

    2
  • Step Up Your Lomo'Instant Snaps Using the Hyperlapse App

    written by jacobs on 2014-11-24 in #gear #tipster
    Step Up Your Lomo'Instant Snaps Using the Hyperlapse App

    We love hearing about exciting and innovative ways to share photos here at Lomography HQ. That's why we when we came up with this super sweet way of spreading your Lomo'Instant snaps, we had to pass it on. Check it out!

  • Clickiemcpete and his Weapon of Choice: Sprocket Rocket

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-09-11 in #lifestyle
    Clickiemcpete and his Weapon of Choice: Sprocket Rocket

    Calling the Sprocket Rocket as Peter Atwood's go-to camera would be an understatement. He owns half a dozen of it that he simultaneously shoots with different films. He even considers the Sprocket Rocket as his dream machine. Let's hear what clickiemcpete has to say about this camera in this installment of Weapon of Choice!

    10
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Berning Robot Star: Small but mighty

    written by dopa on 2014-05-18 in #reviews
    Berning Robot Star: Small but mighty

    It is a small, compact film camera from Germany that brings 55 square images (24x24mm) to 35mm film, since the years of the economic miracle. Thanks to its clockwork design, it shoots as fast as you can press the shutter button. Read on and get to know the Robot Star!

    1
  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

  • The Lomo LC-A-to-Z: L for ‘Let Loose’

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-06-24 in #news
    The Lomo LC-A-to-Z: L for ‘Let Loose’

    Don’t sweat the small stuff. Don't be a worrywart. The Lomo LC-A-to-Z tells us to relax, roll up our sleeves, and let loose. Cast your worries away and indulge in whatever it is that frees you, and capture that moment of liberation with a Lomo LC-A camera.

  • Shop News

    Lubi Scooby Doo! Save 15% on Lomography film in the Bundle with the Lubitel!

    Lubi Scooby Doo! Save 15% on Lomography film in the Bundle with the Lubitel!

    This beautiful camera features such ability to let users choose and switch between 35mm or 120 formats! Shoot more, save more! Get this Lubitel camera and get 15% discounts with Lomography Films!

  • So here’s what we’ve been working on: an all new lomography.com

    written by recurving on 2015-02-03 in #world #news
    So here’s what we’ve been working on: an all new lomography.com

    For the last year we've been working on the next version of Lomography. We based our work on the feedback you’ve given us over the years and we wanted to share it as early as possible with you and can’t wait to hear what you think. Just one warning first: it is still in development and things can break. All the photos, comments, likes, homes and everything else were transferred as of October 16th, 2014. So anything you do on next.lomography.com won't be reflected on www.lomography.com and vice versa. Once we are done with testing, everything you did here will be deleted again. So this is a big playground for you to explore.

    216
  • Mary Ellen Mark on Street Photography

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-03-20 in #world #lifestyle
    Mary Ellen Mark on Street Photography

    "I’m an analogue photographer but I’m old school in the sense that I don’t believe in cropping," Mary Ellen Mark shares in this video by Seaport Museum New York. "I believe you have to make the picture in the camera."

    1
  • December 14th Advent Offer: Take Advantage of our Festive 3 For 2 Film Deals (Online Code: 3FOR2HOLIDAYFILM)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-14 in #news
    December 14th Advent Offer: Take Advantage of our Festive 3 For 2 Film Deals  (Online Code: 3FOR2HOLIDAYFILM)

    Seeing that we love to spread the cheer around here, we're giving you another chance to load up on our awesome film with today's Advent deal! Choose a classy black and white film, like our Lady Grey, or get creative and colorful with one of our Redscale films. We're certain that no matter what you choose, you'll have a great time making memories with tons of lovely analogue photos this year!