Tasma 65 (35mm, 80 iso) User-Review

7

This old Russian is a bit of an odd one!

This old Russian is a bit of an odd one!

Expired in September 1988, the film came with no spool or cassette, wrapped up in foil in a tiny cardboard box. Because of the lack of a spool, you’ll need a dark place and some sort of reloadable cassette in order to load the film.

I used a couple of Rapid cassettes, popped the film in my Penti, and shot it around my house and strolling through Nørrebro in Copenhagen on my way to the darkroom I was using at the time. Because of the age of the film, I overexposed some shots by a half stop and some by a full. I developed in Rodinal using stand development.

I really like the results, the shots came out very moody and with fine grain – the ones that were overexposed by a stop were right on the money. I decided to scan a few of them in colour, because I liked the chocolaty sepia tone. All in all a very satisfying way to spend an afternoon!

written by eggzakly on 2009-10-03 in #reviews #russian #rapid #expired-film #rodinal #35mm #copenhagen #norrebro #penti #half-frame #denmark #black-and-white #stand-development

7 Comments

  1. stouf
    stouf ·

    Aahh eggzakly... Always so impressive !

  2. eggzakly
    eggzakly ·

    Thanks stouf ;)

  3. bartho
    bartho ·

    Wow very cool... And Nørrebro is the worlds most fantastic neighborhood, full of photo oppotunities :)

  4. anarchy
    anarchy ·

    Excellent Simone!! Where do you find these odd gems??

  5. eggzakly
    eggzakly ·

    One word Andreas: ebay! ;)

  6. faefaefae
    faefaefae ·

    so vintage! awesome job! :)

  7. mcrstar
    mcrstar ·

    I keep in the refrigerator for 12 pieces and do not know whether they can still be useful to me. But to throw out the hand does not rise:)

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Top Shoutbox Users of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-28 in #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of 2014

    The shoutbox is always open for the community's honest opinions, surprising suggestions, and sweetest greetings. It is also an avenue for members from across different countries to dicuss and interact with one another. We'd like to commend these lomographers for keeping this humble space booming with entertaining conversations all year long. Congratulations to our top shoutbox users of 2014.

    5
  • Then and Now: Kill Bill Gets a Quick 8-bit Movie Revamp

    written by cheeo on 2014-07-10 in #lifestyle
    Then and Now: Kill Bill Gets a Quick 8-bit Movie Revamp

    Cult flick and 8-bit animation fans will surely get a kick out of this one. Animator Henry Dutton is back with more 8-bit action in this slash and play animation of the two volumes of "Kill Bill" trilogy.

  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #people #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • Shop News

    LC-Wide Elite Kit

    LC-Wide Elite Kit

    The LC-Wide Elite Kit gathers all the accessories you would ever need for your Lomo LC-Wide.

  • Top Shoutbox Users of May 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-06-08 in #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of May 2014

    Take an interest in that little box in our website because it is one of the perfect avenues for your voice to be heard by our always busy Community!

    3
  • Konica C35: A Wonderfully Analogue Camera

    written by marioman112 on 2014-09-01 in #reviews
    Konica C35: A Wonderfully Analogue Camera

    They say you can't teach an old dog new tricks, but whoever said that must have never shot with a Konica C35. This 46-year-old beauty can definitely hang with the big boys. Come see why this camera is one of my favorites, and why it should be one of yours, too.

  • Top Tips For Krab Underwater Case and Fisheye Submarine Users

    written by shhquiet on 2014-07-10 in #lifestyle

    If it's your first time to use the Fisheye Submarine Case (with your Fisheye One/Fisheye No.2 cameras) or the Krab Underwater Housing (with your LC-A+ or LC-Wide cameras), you might still feel a liiiiittle bit anxious about taking your favorite cameras underwater. To help ease your worries I gathered some of the most helpful tips, straight from summer-lovin' Lomographers who braved the waves with their cameras!

  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300 & 10x Fuji Instax Wide Film

    Fuji Instax Wide 300 & 10x Fuji Instax Wide Film

    With this bundle you are ready to shoot with the Fuji Instax Wide 300 and dig in to the instax world – on top you save 20% on Fuji Wide film!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Skate Photographer Joe Brook Shoots with the Petzval Lens

    written by antoniocastello on 2015-02-06 in #people #lomoamigos
    Skate Photographer Joe Brook Shoots with the Petzval Lens

    Joe Brook is one of the most popular photographers in the West Coast skate scene, shooting for magazines like Trasher, Juxtapoz, Rolling Stone, and different outlets such as PDN and Kodak. Having previous experience with an old Petzval lens mounted on a 4x5 camera, it was but natural for him to try the new one. Brook talks about finding himself, his work, and shooting with the Lomograhy Petzval Lens in this exclusive interview.

    2
  • The Daily Hex: Periglacial Blue

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-11-23 in #news
    The Daily Hex:  Periglacial Blue

    A soft color with an old-school charm - this is what today's The Daily Hex gallery is all about!