Tasma 65 (35mm, 80 iso) User-Review

7

This old Russian is a bit of an odd one!

This old Russian is a bit of an odd one!

Expired in September 1988, the film came with no spool or cassette, wrapped up in foil in a tiny cardboard box. Because of the lack of a spool, you’ll need a dark place and some sort of reloadable cassette in order to load the film.

I used a couple of Rapid cassettes, popped the film in my Penti, and shot it around my house and strolling through Nørrebro in Copenhagen on my way to the darkroom I was using at the time. Because of the age of the film, I overexposed some shots by a half stop and some by a full. I developed in Rodinal using stand development.

I really like the results, the shots came out very moody and with fine grain – the ones that were overexposed by a stop were right on the money. I decided to scan a few of them in colour, because I liked the chocolaty sepia tone. All in all a very satisfying way to spend an afternoon!

written by eggzakly on 2009-10-03 in #reviews #rapid #russian #expired-film #half-frame #copenhagen #denmark #norrebro #penti #black-and-white #rodinal #35mm #stand-development

7 Comments

  1. stouf
    stouf ·

    Aahh eggzakly... Always so impressive !

  2. eggzakly
    eggzakly ·

    Thanks stouf ;)

  3. bartho
    bartho ·

    Wow very cool... And Nørrebro is the worlds most fantastic neighborhood, full of photo oppotunities :)

  4. anarchy
    anarchy ·

    Excellent Simone!! Where do you find these odd gems??

  5. eggzakly
    eggzakly ·

    One word Andreas: ebay! ;)

  6. faefaefae
    faefaefae ·

    so vintage! awesome job! :)

  7. mcrstar
    mcrstar ·

    I keep in the refrigerator for 12 pieces and do not know whether they can still be useful to me. But to throw out the hand does not rise:)

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Top Shoutbox Users of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-28 in #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of 2014

    The shoutbox is always open for the community's honest opinions, surprising suggestions, and sweetest greetings. It is also an avenue for members from across different countries to dicuss and interact with one another. We'd like to commend these lomographers for keeping this humble space booming with entertaining conversations all year long. Congratulations to our top shoutbox users of 2014.

    5
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Then and Now: Kill Bill Gets a Quick 8-bit Movie Revamp

    written by cheeo on 2014-07-10 in #lifestyle
    Then and Now: Kill Bill Gets a Quick 8-bit Movie Revamp

    Cult flick and 8-bit animation fans will surely get a kick out of this one. Animator Henry Dutton is back with more 8-bit action in this slash and play animation of the two volumes of "Kill Bill" trilogy.

  • Yashica MAT 124: Learning To Use A Camera Older Than Myself

    written by abecd on 2014-03-27 in #lifestyle
    Yashica MAT 124: Learning To Use A Camera Older Than Myself

    As a young photographer, I don't have many experiences yet in operating an old camera, especially one that is way older than myself. This is a story of me and my Yashica MAT 124!

    6
  • Top Shoutbox Users of May 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-06-08 in #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of May 2014

    Take an interest in that little box in our website because it is one of the perfect avenues for your voice to be heard by our always busy Community!

    3
  • Shop News

    Special Apertures for Petzval

    Special Apertures for Petzval

    Want to be more creative and level up your bokeh shots? A wide selection of special apertures for Petzval are here to blend with your artistic side and give your Petzval images some analog twists!

  • Konica C35: A Wonderfully Analogue Camera

    written by marioman112 on 2014-09-01 in #reviews
    Konica C35: A Wonderfully Analogue Camera

    They say you can't teach an old dog new tricks, but whoever said that must have never shot with a Konica C35. This 46-year-old beauty can definitely hang with the big boys. Come see why this camera is one of my favorites, and why it should be one of yours, too.

  • Top Tips For Krab Underwater Case and Fisheye Submarine Users

    written by shhquiet on 2014-07-10 in #lifestyle

    If it's your first time to use the Fisheye Submarine Case (with your Fisheye One/Fisheye No.2 cameras) or the Krab Underwater Housing (with your LC-A+ or LC-Wide cameras), you might still feel a liiiiittle bit anxious about taking your favorite cameras underwater. To help ease your worries I gathered some of the most helpful tips, straight from summer-lovin' Lomographers who braved the waves with their cameras!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Most Popular Users of March 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-04-06 in #news
    Most Popular Users of March 2014

    The busiest LomoHomes have the most impressive analogue snapshots in our Community. This is particularly true to this roster of Lomography masters!

    9
  • Skate Photographer Joe Brook Shoots with the Petzval Lens

    written by antoniocastello on 2015-02-06 in #people #lomoamigos
    Skate Photographer Joe Brook Shoots with the Petzval Lens

    Joe Brook is one of the most popular photographers in the West Coast skate scene, shooting for magazines like Trasher, Juxtapoz, Rolling Stone, and different outlets such as PDN and Kodak. Having previous experience with an old Petzval lens mounted on a 4x5 camera, it was but natural for him to try the new one. Brook talks about finding himself, his work, and shooting with the Lomograhy Petzval Lens in this exclusive interview.

    2
  • The Daily Hex: Periglacial Blue

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-11-23 in #news
    The Daily Hex:  Periglacial Blue

    A soft color with an old-school charm - this is what today's The Daily Hex gallery is all about!