Shanghai 58-III - Staff Review

3

The Shanghai Twin-Lens Reflex is the "grandfather" of the Seagull clan. This medium-format camera is China's version of the highly-acclaimed Rolleiflex series of TLR cameras.

image from tlr-cameras.com

Before the camera that we now know as the ‘Seagull’ came to light, the first Twin-Lens Reflex cameras churned out of the Shanghai General Camera Factory was called the Shanghai (or 58-III, during its development stage in 1959), and it was based on the iconic Rolleiflex TLR cameras by Franke & Heidecke. Come 1964, when the Chinese factory decided to engage in the export market, they renamed all the cameras in production to Seagull.

The Shanghai became known as Seagull-4; there were no changes except for the name and the serial number (Shanghai models begin with 63XXXXX; Seagulls with 4-63XXXXX). It retained the automatic film advance feature, the f/2.8, 75mm viewing lens, and the f/3.5, 75mm taking lens which had a different serial number marking from the viewing lens. The camera’s serial number can be found above the name plate.

“I love taking portraits and silhouettes with this camera!” says eazy360. “Advancing the film is smooth-easy with the film counter knob. A quirky chart with pictures of different lighting conditions and the appropriate exposures is mounted at the back. Of course, it can take double exposures too by not advancing the film and exposing it more than once. With a cable release, shooting on B setting is a breeze to create those lovely long exposures with motion blur and light trails.”

written by shhquiet on 2008-07-04 in #reviews #tlr #shanghai #120 #review #mf #staff

3 Comments

  1. olique
    olique ·

    :)
    oh, very interesting!
    I didnt know it!
    :)

  2. 7samurai
    7samurai ·

    Cool

  3. dogma
    dogma ·

    Wow scary pictures!

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    written by simonesavo on 2014-07-24 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact and is capable of shooting photos in 3 different sizes: 6x12, 6x9 and 6x6. Equipped with high-quality interchangeable lenses and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots with every roll. It can also take 3 different film formats: 120 film, 35mm and instant film. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • 18 Sensational 6x12 Scenes From The Belair X 6-12

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-13 in #gear
    18 Sensational 6x12 Scenes From The Belair X 6-12

    Think the Belair X 6-12 medium-format camera is only limited to snapping square shots? Nope! It also gives you the option to shoot other photo formats, such as 6x12. We compiled some of the most impressive photos in this format for your inspiration!

    2
  • Shop News

    LC-A Iblazr Bundle

    LC-A Iblazr Bundle

    Start capturing images even in low-light conditions with this bundle you can create your own combination of LC-A camera and Iblazr flash. And save 20% off!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Fresh from the Lab: One Roll of Film and the Lubitel 166U

    written by fadjaradiputra on 2014-11-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: One Roll of Film and the Lubitel 166U

    Adi, Ekeu, and I did a lomowalk around downtown Bandung last Saturday, the beginning of November. We planned to use our Lubitel cameras with only one roll of film each. We were inspired by the One Roll of Film Project by four Tokyo-based photographers with their Hasselblad cameras. This is about the one roll of film I shot with the Lubitel 166U, which made me love shooting in medium format even more.

    8
  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

  • Top Photo Likers of May 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-29 in #world #news
    Top Photo Likers of May 2015

    Guess who had been bitten hard by the "I like this photo" bug.

    6
  • Top Photo Uploaders of May 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-29 in #world #news
    Top Photo Uploaders of May 2015

    Load, shoot, develop, share. Perhaps, this cycle has already been of second nature to these lomographers.

    5
  • Shop News

    110 Experiment Kit

    110 Experiment Kit

    With this bundle, you can choose a camera, film and accessories to spice up your 110 shooting experience!

  • Top Shoutbox Users of May 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-29 in #world #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of May 2015

    Are you new to the community? Or are you looking for a new place to explore aside from the photographs and articles? Head to the shoutbox and meet the friendliest bunch of lomographers!

    4
  • R.E.M. X Lomography Photo Contest

    written by givesmehell on 2015-05-29 in #world #competitions
    R.E.M. X Lomography Photo Contest

    Lomography is proud to announce that we are teaming up with acclaimed rock band R.E.M. to host an exclusive one-of-a-kind photo competition! The prizes include a Lomography Diana F+ Special Edition Camera, the acclaimed new ‘R.E.M. By MTV’ DVD, R.E.M. vinyl and more! Read on to see how you can participate in this rumble.

    3
  • Trending Newcomers of May 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-29 in #world #news
    Trending Newcomers of May 2015

    What's your fondest memory as a newcomer in the community?

    3