Reviews of the Week

1

Each week, we place the spotlight on some of the most interesting and insightful reviews from the community. Are you itching to find out which ones from this week made it to the cut? Then, what are you waiting for? Go ahead and read on!

Camera

Looks like someone has been having fun shooting with her first medium format camera! Our featured camera reviewer for the week at first couldn’t decide which between the Holga or Diana F+ to get, but looks like amytam made the right decision to choose the Diana F+ El Toro! “In my opinion, Diana F+ is a great medium format camera that is suitable for everyone. When I purchased this, three years ago, as a beginner in analogue photography, it was a great starter camera that was easy to use,” she says.

Now, look at some of the beautiful photos she took with her Diana F+ clone:

Credits: amytam

Check out her full review to learn more about her insights and see more of her lovely Diana F+ snaps!

Film

For our featured film reviewer, sirio174 brings us his insights on a nice monochrome film from Ilford: FP4 Plus 125. Citing that it’s one of his preferred films, our lomographer loaded in into his Holga 120 N and took photos around his town. Let’s take a look at some of them:

Credits: sirio174

“The film tolerates well the approximate exposure of the Holga camera, and the combination with this developer allows to obtain very good grey tones and a sense of “plasticity”, expecially in the 120 film format,” he says about this black and white film.

Check out his full review to learn more about his insights and see more of his monochrome snaps!

Accessory

Finally, we have here our featured accessory review from lomographer uncle_jay actually tells about two Diana accessories in one review! Intrigued with the idea of using Diana lenses on his Nikon SLR, our lomographer-author was lucky to have his wish and got his hands on a Diana Lens Adaptor for Nikon SLR. He paired it with the Diana 20mm Fisheye Lens and equipped them on his Nikon N6006. The results? Tinged with Diana goodness, as you can see in some of his photos:

Credits: uncle_jay

“Having shot a couple of rolls, my conclusion is that this lens when used with an SLR camera is probably best suited for creative landscapes, cityscapes and still life photography,” he says.

Check out his full review to learn more about his insights on these Diana accessories and see more of his vibrant Nikon x Diana snaps!

Congratulations to our three lomographer-authors! Join us again next week as we continue to give recognition to the notable reviews of our fellow lomographers on the amazing analogue goodies they come across with!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera/film/accessory review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-08-11 in #reviews #camera-review #accessory-review #reviews-of-the-week #user-review #film-review #lomography #reviews

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomography Spinner 360: The selfie camera

    written by simonesavo on 2014-05-06 in #reviews
    Lomography Spinner 360: The selfie camera

    If you too are fond of scenic shots and even if you cannot help but capture every place in 360º, then the Spinner 360º is the one that is right for you. Read on to find out more.

    2
  • Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    written by jacobs on 2015-02-10 in #gear #news
    Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    Are you still looking for that perfect treat for your loved one this Valentine's Day? Then you've come to the right place, my friend — we've extended our Valentine's deals until the end of the week! Which means you have extra time to get lucky in all things love and Lomography. Quit dodging Cupid's arrows and get in on these sweet deals right now!

  • Lomography Community Cup: Blog Blitz

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-07-08 in #competitions
    Lomography Community Cup: Blog Blitz

    Are you ready for our next challenge? Read on and find out what's in store for you in the second leg of our Lomography Community Cup!

    38
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-04 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    Its compact size, features that allow ample room for creativity, and undeniably gorgeous looks have got many lomographers smitten. Read on and see what five of our community members have to say about the charming Diana Mini!

    2
  • Top Shoutbox Users of April 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-05-11 in #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of April 2014

    We are turning the spotlight on this tiny box made for our Community's most random thoughts, comments, suggestions, rants, and just about anything under the sun!

    3
  • Interview: Gregor Servais and His Pinhole-d Seascapes

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-05-09 in #lifestyle
    Interview: Gregor Servais and His Pinhole-d Seascapes

    If you've stumbled upon last month's feature on Dutch photographer Gregor Servais, then you must be curious about his impressive pinhole works. Whether you're a pinhole aficionado or someone new to this craft, read on and find out more about the pinhole master in an insightful interview!

    2
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Teufelsberg: The Architecture of Espionage

    written by wil6ka on 2015-03-04 in #world #locations
    Teufelsberg: The Architecture of Espionage

    The spying globes on Teufelsberg are the not-so-secret insider tip for Berlin’s urban ruins and interesting freak show architecture. Even if you’re reluctant, one thing's for sure: the “Devil’s Mountain” is just plain awesome. The torn-up globe structures of the former military territory are just waiting to be conquered by lomographers… so what are you waiting for?

    14
  • LomoGuru of the Week: marta1901

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-07-13 in #lifestyle
    LomoGuru of the Week: marta1901

    Our LomoGuru spotlight turns to this lovely lady from Madrid, Spain popular for her exquisite portraiture. Meet the passionate and extraordinary Marta Huguet Cuadrado, or marta1901 in the Community, our LomoGuru of the Week!

    36
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Fresh From the Lab: Sicilian Dance and Music

    written by sirio174 on 2014-05-13 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: Sicilian Dance and Music

    Yesterday I picked up from my trusty photography shop in Como a developed and scanned color film roll containing images of the Sicilian festival held on May 1 at the city's historical center. A few hours ago, I made some scans of these images, which I'm pleased to show you in this article! Read more after the jump!

  • Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-27 in #news
    Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    We'd like to thank everyone for continuously capturing precious moments on photographs and sharing them with all of us. Each of your photographs and albums brought happiness and inspiration to everyone in the community. These lomographers take the spotlight for their ceaseless passion for photography and for their generosity in sharing every step of their analogue adventure. Meet our top photo uploaders of 2014.

    5
  • LomoGuru of the Week: mapix

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-06-15 in #lifestyle
    LomoGuru of the Week: mapix

    This week's LomoGuru is perhaps one of the most active members of our Community. Aside from regularly updating his LomoHome with wonderful photographs, he also sets aside time to meet and share insights with his fellow lomographers by attending various lomowalks and lomo-exhibitions. Let's cheer for our latest LomoGuru from Germany, Christoph Maas, also known in the Community as mapix!

    16