Reviews of the Week

1

Each week, we place the spotlight on some of the most interesting and insightful reviews from the community. Are you itching to find out which ones from this week made it to the cut? Then, what are you waiting for? Go ahead and read on!

Camera

Looks like someone has been having fun shooting with her first medium format camera! Our featured camera reviewer for the week at first couldn’t decide which between the Holga or Diana F+ to get, but looks like amytam made the right decision to choose the Diana F+ El Toro! “In my opinion, Diana F+ is a great medium format camera that is suitable for everyone. When I purchased this, three years ago, as a beginner in analogue photography, it was a great starter camera that was easy to use,” she says.

Now, look at some of the beautiful photos she took with her Diana F+ clone:

Credits: amytam

Check out her full review to learn more about her insights and see more of her lovely Diana F+ snaps!

Film

For our featured film reviewer, sirio174 brings us his insights on a nice monochrome film from Ilford: FP4 Plus 125. Citing that it’s one of his preferred films, our lomographer loaded in into his Holga 120 N and took photos around his town. Let’s take a look at some of them:

Credits: sirio174

“The film tolerates well the approximate exposure of the Holga camera, and the combination with this developer allows to obtain very good grey tones and a sense of “plasticity”, expecially in the 120 film format,” he says about this black and white film.

Check out his full review to learn more about his insights and see more of his monochrome snaps!

Accessory

Finally, we have here our featured accessory review from lomographer uncle_jay actually tells about two Diana accessories in one review! Intrigued with the idea of using Diana lenses on his Nikon SLR, our lomographer-author was lucky to have his wish and got his hands on a Diana Lens Adaptor for Nikon SLR. He paired it with the Diana 20mm Fisheye Lens and equipped them on his Nikon N6006. The results? Tinged with Diana goodness, as you can see in some of his photos:

Credits: uncle_jay

“Having shot a couple of rolls, my conclusion is that this lens when used with an SLR camera is probably best suited for creative landscapes, cityscapes and still life photography,” he says.

Check out his full review to learn more about his insights on these Diana accessories and see more of his vibrant Nikon x Diana snaps!

Congratulations to our three lomographer-authors! Join us again next week as we continue to give recognition to the notable reviews of our fellow lomographers on the amazing analogue goodies they come across with!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera/film/accessory review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-08-11 in #reviews #lomography #camera-review #accessory-review #reviews-of-the-week #user-review #film-review #reviews

More Interesting Articles

  • Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    written by jacobs on 2015-02-10 in #gear #news
    Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    Are you still looking for that perfect treat for your loved one this Valentine's Day? Then you've come to the right place, my friend — we've extended our Valentine's deals until the end of the week! Which means you have extra time to get lucky in all things love and Lomography. Quit dodging Cupid's arrows and get in on these sweet deals right now!

  • Lomography Community Cup: Blog Blitz

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-07-08 in #competitions
    Lomography Community Cup: Blog Blitz

    Are you ready for our next challenge? Read on and find out what's in store for you in the second leg of our Lomography Community Cup!

    38
  • Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-04 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    Its compact size, features that allow ample room for creativity, and undeniably gorgeous looks have got many lomographers smitten. Read on and see what five of our community members have to say about the charming Diana Mini!

    2
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Teufelsberg: The Architecture of Espionage

    written by wil6ka on 2015-03-04 in #world #locations
    Teufelsberg: The Architecture of Espionage

    The spying globes on Teufelsberg are the not-so-secret insider tip for Berlin’s urban ruins and interesting freak show architecture. Even if you’re reluctant, one thing's for sure: the “Devil’s Mountain” is just plain awesome. The torn-up globe structures of the former military territory are just waiting to be conquered by lomographers… so what are you waiting for?

    14
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Top Shoutbox Users of May 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-29 in #world #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of May 2015

    Are you new to the community? Or are you looking for a new place to explore aside from the photographs and articles? Head to the shoutbox and meet the friendliest bunch of lomographers!

    14
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Argus Paul Estabrook's Surreal Work in Paper Cutting

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-02 in #people
    Argus Paul Estabrook's Surreal Work in Paper Cutting

    The characters in Argus Paul Estabrook's work in paper cutting are the stuff nightmares are made of: unusual forms, jagged edges, arms outstretched as if seeking salvation—all emphasized further by the plain white background on which they are placed. Combined, these details paint a picture straight out of Dante Alighieri's "Divine Comedy."

    3
  • LomoGuru of the Week: marta1901

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-07-13 in #lifestyle
    LomoGuru of the Week: marta1901

    Our LomoGuru spotlight turns to this lovely lady from Madrid, Spain popular for her exquisite portraiture. Meet the passionate and extraordinary Marta Huguet Cuadrado, or marta1901 in the Community, our LomoGuru of the Week!

    36
  • Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-27 in #news
    Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    We'd like to thank everyone for continuously capturing precious moments on photographs and sharing them with all of us. Each of your photographs and albums brought happiness and inspiration to everyone in the community. These lomographers take the spotlight for their ceaseless passion for photography and for their generosity in sharing every step of their analogue adventure. Meet our top photo uploaders of 2014.

    5
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Fresh and Crisp Square Lomographs from the US and UK Taken with the LC-A 120

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-31 in #lifestyle
    Fresh and Crisp Square Lomographs from the US and UK Taken with the LC-A 120

    The LC-A 120 is set to be shipped out to their lucky owners 'round the holidays. You're probably itching to see more from this camera, so here are some of the latest sample shots to help you guys tide over until then!

  • Lomography & REMI Competition

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-07-03 in #people #competitions
    Lomography & REMI Competition

    Ladies and gentlemen, for this rumble, we’ve joined forces with Australian MC/singer REMI Kolawole. Since he is on tour now and will play in many different places this summer, we’re looking for your best, most exciting analogphotos which you feel best capture the essence of music festivals. Hot prizes are waiting for you!

  • Photo of the Day by amsiglela_yallehei

    written by cheeo on 2014-10-10 in #news
    Photo of the Day by amsiglela_yallehei

    We cannot wait to find out what's on the other side of this portal. The clever framing and the warm redscale tones truly made this photograph one for the books!

    2