Reviews of the Week

1

Each week, we place the spotlight on some of the most interesting and insightful reviews from the community. Are you itching to find out which ones from this week made it to the cut? Then, what are you waiting for? Go ahead and read on!

Camera

Looks like someone has been having fun shooting with her first medium format camera! Our featured camera reviewer for the week at first couldn’t decide which between the Holga or Diana F+ to get, but looks like amytam made the right decision to choose the Diana F+ El Toro! “In my opinion, Diana F+ is a great medium format camera that is suitable for everyone. When I purchased this, three years ago, as a beginner in analogue photography, it was a great starter camera that was easy to use,” she says.

Now, look at some of the beautiful photos she took with her Diana F+ clone:

Credits: amytam

Check out her full review to learn more about her insights and see more of her lovely Diana F+ snaps!

Film

For our featured film reviewer, sirio174 brings us his insights on a nice monochrome film from Ilford: FP4 Plus 125. Citing that it’s one of his preferred films, our lomographer loaded in into his Holga 120 N and took photos around his town. Let’s take a look at some of them:

Credits: sirio174

“The film tolerates well the approximate exposure of the Holga camera, and the combination with this developer allows to obtain very good grey tones and a sense of “plasticity”, expecially in the 120 film format,” he says about this black and white film.

Check out his full review to learn more about his insights and see more of his monochrome snaps!

Accessory

Finally, we have here our featured accessory review from lomographer uncle_jay actually tells about two Diana accessories in one review! Intrigued with the idea of using Diana lenses on his Nikon SLR, our lomographer-author was lucky to have his wish and got his hands on a Diana Lens Adaptor for Nikon SLR. He paired it with the Diana 20mm Fisheye Lens and equipped them on his Nikon N6006. The results? Tinged with Diana goodness, as you can see in some of his photos:

Credits: uncle_jay

“Having shot a couple of rolls, my conclusion is that this lens when used with an SLR camera is probably best suited for creative landscapes, cityscapes and still life photography,” he says.

Check out his full review to learn more about his insights on these Diana accessories and see more of his vibrant Nikon x Diana snaps!

Congratulations to our three lomographer-authors! Join us again next week as we continue to give recognition to the notable reviews of our fellow lomographers on the amazing analogue goodies they come across with!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera/film/accessory review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-08-11 in #reviews #lomography #accessory-review #user-review #camera-review #reviews #reviews-of-the-week #film-review

More Interesting Articles

  • Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    written by jacobs on 2015-02-10 in #gear #news
    Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    Are you still looking for that perfect treat for your loved one this Valentine's Day? Then you've come to the right place, my friend — we've extended our Valentine's deals until the end of the week! Which means you have extra time to get lucky in all things love and Lomography. Quit dodging Cupid's arrows and get in on these sweet deals right now!

  • Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-04 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    Its compact size, features that allow ample room for creativity, and undeniably gorgeous looks have got many lomographers smitten. Read on and see what five of our community members have to say about the charming Diana Mini!

    2
  • Teufelsberg: The Architecture of Espionage

    written by wil6ka on 2015-03-04 in #world #locations
    Teufelsberg: The Architecture of Espionage

    The spying globes on Teufelsberg are the not-so-secret insider tip for Berlin’s urban ruins and interesting freak show architecture. Even if you’re reluctant, one thing's for sure: the “Devil’s Mountain” is just plain awesome. The torn-up globe structures of the former military territory are just waiting to be conquered by lomographers… so what are you waiting for?

    14
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Stunning Squares Courtesy of the Lubitel 166+

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-07-12 in #gear #news
    Stunning Squares Courtesy of the Lubitel 166+

    In this post we proudly present just a handful of the many, amazing Lubitel 166+ shots from the community. Go ahead and marvel at them, and while you're at it, find out how you can earn piggies and have your very own Lubitel 166+ photos be featured on the Online Shop.

    4
  • Top Shoutbox Users of May 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-29 in #world #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of May 2015

    Are you new to the community? Or are you looking for a new place to explore aside from the photographs and articles? Head to the shoutbox and meet the friendliest bunch of lomographers!

    14
  • Argus Paul Estabrook's Surreal Work in Paper Cutting

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-02 in #people
    Argus Paul Estabrook's Surreal Work in Paper Cutting

    The characters in Argus Paul Estabrook's work in paper cutting are the stuff nightmares are made of: unusual forms, jagged edges, arms outstretched as if seeking salvation—all emphasized further by the plain white background on which they are placed. Combined, these details paint a picture straight out of Dante Alighieri's "Divine Comedy."

    3
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-27 in #news
    Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    We'd like to thank everyone for continuously capturing precious moments on photographs and sharing them with all of us. Each of your photographs and albums brought happiness and inspiration to everyone in the community. These lomographers take the spotlight for their ceaseless passion for photography and for their generosity in sharing every step of their analogue adventure. Meet our top photo uploaders of 2014.

    5
  • Fresh and Crisp Square Lomographs from the US and UK Taken with the LC-A 120

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-31 in #lifestyle
    Fresh and Crisp Square Lomographs from the US and UK Taken with the LC-A 120

    The LC-A 120 is set to be shipped out to their lucky owners 'round the holidays. You're probably itching to see more from this camera, so here are some of the latest sample shots to help you guys tide over until then!

  • Lomography & REMI Competition

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-07-03 in #people #competitions
    Lomography & REMI Competition

    Ladies and gentlemen, for this rumble, we’ve joined forces with Australian MC/singer REMI Kolawole. Since he is on tour now and will play in many different places this summer, we’re looking for your best, most exciting analogphotos which you feel best capture the essence of music festivals. Hot prizes are waiting for you!

    6
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Esbo and her Weapon of Choice: LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-11-13 in #lifestyle
    Esbo and her Weapon of Choice: LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400

    An ardent globetrotter, esbo takes pride in having been to different places and documenting each of these trips in analogue. Aside from her boyfriend dopa, she considers the LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400 as her most trusted companion in making her travels more magical. Read on and discover how she makes her photographs perfect with this fantastic film!

    3
  • Newcomer of the Week: billseye

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-06-14 in #world #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: billseye

    Having a professional photographer in the family paved a way for Bill to start taking interest in photography early on. In this interview, he shares more about how he discovered the community and his passion for shooting analog. Let's all welcome our newcomer of the week from USA, billseye!

    3
  • Our New Website Is Launching Soon

    written by tomas_bates on 2015-01-28 in #news
    Our New Website Is Launching Soon

    We are thrilled to announce that next week our new community site will be launched! As the final step in the re-launch process, next Monday (2nd February) we will make the move over to the new site. This will mean that on Monday you will not be able to log-in and the site will be read-only for a period.

    12