Reviews of the Week(s)

Each week, we place the spotlight on some of the most interesting and insightful reviews from the community. Are you itching to find out which ones from the past weeks made it to the cut? Then, what are you waiting for? Go ahead and read on!


One of our featured lomographer-reviewers got lucky: spiritedly spotted a perfectly working Kodak Ektralite 10 110 camera and got to use the Lomography Color Tiger 110 in it! Where, you ask? In a Sunday morning flea mart in Malaysia—this is why we urge you to check out the camera stores and flea markets in your area whenever you have the chance!

How did she find shooting with the camera? “The best thing about taking photos with this camera are the reactions of people when I bring it out, basically, it falls in two main categories: Bewilderment… Or Nolstalgia.” What about the photos she took with it and Lomography’s 110 film? "Strangely, the photos have a sort of eerie vintagey retro look to it, as if we were living in the past.

Now, let’s check out some of her 110 snaps:

Don’t forget to check out her full review for more insights and photos!

Our other featured camera reviewer, nirothehero meanwhile was also got lucky to have gotten herself the La Sardina Splendour of Lomography’s eye-catching shooters oozing with retro charm!

“When the La Sardina Splendour was released, I fell in love with the simple, elegant, retro charm of the Splendour. Specially designed after the original street photography camera, Kandor Candid, I was excited to try it out on the streets myself, and went on to purchase it. After only three days, it arrived!”

So, what do her La Sardina snaps look like? Here are some of them:

Go ahead and check out her full review to read more and see more photos!


Meanwhile, for film reviews, we have here one from cryboy featuring the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, and another from blanches_nickelodeon featuring the cheap Tudorcolor XLX 200.

On the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, cryboy decided to load it in the Canon EOS 1000F, a camera that lets him change the ISO for every shot. Using various ISO settings at different lighting conditions, our lomographer ended up with a variety of colors and hues in his snaps, leading to the conclusion that this redscale film is capable of producing photos that seem to be taken using different films. Let’s take a look at some of his snaps below:

What about the Tudorcolor XLX 200? According to our lomographer-reviewer blanches_nickelodeon, while this cheap film may be most likely just a rebranded C41 film from Fuji, the results tell of the quality photos you can get from it. Let’s take a look at some of his beautiful photos taken using the Yashica TL Electro and SP1000:

Check out cryboy's full review and blanches_nickelodeon's full review to read more of their insights and see the rest of their photos!


Last but not the least, we bring you the featured accessory reviews—not the usual stuff you use and attach to your cameras, but the ones that help you get your shots right. Yes, we’re talking about the photo scanner review by paulabridi and the handheld light meter review by highdesertdan!

As many lomographers are definitely interested in developing and scanning their own films, paulabridi’s review was obviously a big help. She cautioned against the HP Scanjet G4050, saying that “although it offers a good resolution (up to 4800 dpi), it tends to add a lot of grain to the photos, which means (at least to me) web-quality only – I wouldn’t print my scans.” Head over to her full review to read more of her insights about this photoscanner.

As for highdesertdan’s light meter review, he begins with a question: “Why would I need a light meter?” He answers right away with “maybe you don’t,” and proceeds to explain why you might still need one, especially if you’re using a meter-less camera but would like to get some nicely exposed photos. We liked how detailed and informative his review is, so we highly suggest you check out his full review to learn more about this light meter!

Congratulations to our lomographer-authors! Join us again next week as we continue to give recognition to the notable reviews of our fellow lomographers on the amazing analogue goodies they come across with!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera/film/accessory review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-08-06 in #reviews #film-review #accessory-review #lomography #camera-review #user-review #reviews-of-the-week

More Interesting Articles

  • Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    written by jacobs on 2015-02-10 in #gear #news
    Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    Are you still looking for that perfect treat for your loved one this Valentine's Day? Then you've come to the right place, my friend — we've extended our Valentine's deals until the end of the week! Which means you have extra time to get lucky in all things love and Lomography. Quit dodging Cupid's arrows and get in on these sweet deals right now!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Ringflash

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-27 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Ringflash

    Looking for a reliable flash? Consider the Lomography Ringflash, which throws an even burst of light around your subject! We scoured the Magazine and found these community-written reviews for you to peruse.

  • The Lomo’Instant Wide "Share The News" Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-21 in #gear #competitions #videos
    The Lomo’Instant Wide "Share The News" Rumble

    If you’ve been living on Neptune for the past week (wait, how the hell did you get there?), you might have missed the memo – The brand new Lomo’Instant Wide has landed! Pre-orders are flying in for the world’s most creative wide format instant camera and lens system and we’ve decided to launch a competition to spice up the fun even further.

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Teufelsberg: The Architecture of Espionage

    written by wil6ka on 2015-03-04 in #world #locations
    Teufelsberg: The Architecture of Espionage

    The spying globes on Teufelsberg are the not-so-secret insider tip for Berlin’s urban ruins and interesting freak show architecture. Even if you’re reluctant, one thing's for sure: the “Devil’s Mountain” is just plain awesome. The torn-up globe structures of the former military territory are just waiting to be conquered by lomographers… so what are you waiting for?

  • Top Shoutbox Users of May 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-29 in #world #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of May 2015

    Are you new to the community? Or are you looking for a new place to explore aside from the photographs and articles? Head to the shoutbox and meet the friendliest bunch of lomographers!

  • Argus Paul Estabrook's Surreal Work in Paper Cutting

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-02 in #people
    Argus Paul Estabrook's Surreal Work in Paper Cutting

    The characters in Argus Paul Estabrook's work in paper cutting are the stuff nightmares are made of: unusual forms, jagged edges, arms outstretched as if seeking salvation—all emphasized further by the plain white background on which they are placed. Combined, these details paint a picture straight out of Dante Alighieri's "Divine Comedy."

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • 10 Articles You May Have Missed Last Week

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-09-21 in #world #news
    10 Articles You May Have Missed Last Week

    Are gender transition and coming of age themes that interest you? Have you ever heard of the Anthotype process? Here's a glimpse of last week --time to catch up on your reading.

  • Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-27 in #news
    Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    We'd like to thank everyone for continuously capturing precious moments on photographs and sharing them with all of us. Each of your photographs and albums brought happiness and inspiration to everyone in the community. These lomographers take the spotlight for their ceaseless passion for photography and for their generosity in sharing every step of their analogue adventure. Meet our top photo uploaders of 2014.

  • Photo of the Day by mell0nc0llie

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-09 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by mell0nc0llie

    Instead of fishes, emerging from the murky water are clusters of flowers and leaves, which seem to have piqued this man's interest.

  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Shoot wider and bigger with this new instax camera that has film format twice the size of the instax mini films!

  • LC-A+ and LC-Wide Face-off Poll

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-28 in #world #news
    LC-A+ and LC-Wide Face-off Poll

    If the LC-A+ and LC-Wide were to compete in a head-to-head match, which side would you be on?

  • Lomography & REMI Competition

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-07-03 in #people #competitions #videos
    Lomography & REMI Competition

    Ladies and gentlemen, for this rumble, we’ve joined forces with Australian MC/singer REMI Kolawole. Since he is on tour now and will play in many different places this summer, we’re looking for your best, most exciting analogphotos which you feel best capture the essence of music festivals. Hot prizes are waiting for you!

  • Newcomer of the Week: billseye

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-06-14 in #world #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: billseye

    Having a professional photographer in the family paved a way for Bill to start taking interest in photography early on. In this interview, he shares more about how he discovered the community and his passion for shooting analog. Let's all welcome our newcomer of the week from USA, billseye!