Reviews of the Week(s)

Each week, we place the spotlight on some of the most interesting and insightful reviews from the community. Are you itching to find out which ones from the past weeks made it to the cut? Then, what are you waiting for? Go ahead and read on!

Cameras

One of our featured lomographer-reviewers got lucky: spiritedly spotted a perfectly working Kodak Ektralite 10 110 camera and got to use the Lomography Color Tiger 110 in it! Where, you ask? In a Sunday morning flea mart in Malaysia—this is why we urge you to check out the camera stores and flea markets in your area whenever you have the chance!

How did she find shooting with the camera? “The best thing about taking photos with this camera are the reactions of people when I bring it out, basically, it falls in two main categories: Bewilderment… Or Nolstalgia.” What about the photos she took with it and Lomography’s 110 film? "Strangely, the photos have a sort of eerie vintagey retro look to it, as if we were living in the past.

Now, let’s check out some of her 110 snaps:

Don’t forget to check out her full review for more insights and photos!

Our other featured camera reviewer, nirothehero meanwhile was also got lucky to have gotten herself the La Sardina Splendour of Lomography’s eye-catching shooters oozing with retro charm!

“When the La Sardina Splendour was released, I fell in love with the simple, elegant, retro charm of the Splendour. Specially designed after the original street photography camera, Kandor Candid, I was excited to try it out on the streets myself, and went on to purchase it. After only three days, it arrived!”

So, what do her La Sardina snaps look like? Here are some of them:

Go ahead and check out her full review to read more and see more photos!

Films

Meanwhile, for film reviews, we have here one from cryboy featuring the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, and another from blanches_nickelodeon featuring the cheap Tudorcolor XLX 200.

On the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, cryboy decided to load it in the Canon EOS 1000F, a camera that lets him change the ISO for every shot. Using various ISO settings at different lighting conditions, our lomographer ended up with a variety of colors and hues in his snaps, leading to the conclusion that this redscale film is capable of producing photos that seem to be taken using different films. Let’s take a look at some of his snaps below:

What about the Tudorcolor XLX 200? According to our lomographer-reviewer blanches_nickelodeon, while this cheap film may be most likely just a rebranded C41 film from Fuji, the results tell of the quality photos you can get from it. Let’s take a look at some of his beautiful photos taken using the Yashica TL Electro and SP1000:

Check out cryboy's full review and blanches_nickelodeon's full review to read more of their insights and see the rest of their photos!

Accessories

Last but not the least, we bring you the featured accessory reviews—not the usual stuff you use and attach to your cameras, but the ones that help you get your shots right. Yes, we’re talking about the photo scanner review by paulabridi and the handheld light meter review by highdesertdan!

As many lomographers are definitely interested in developing and scanning their own films, paulabridi’s review was obviously a big help. She cautioned against the HP Scanjet G4050, saying that “although it offers a good resolution (up to 4800 dpi), it tends to add a lot of grain to the photos, which means (at least to me) web-quality only – I wouldn’t print my scans.” Head over to her full review to read more of her insights about this photoscanner.

As for highdesertdan’s light meter review, he begins with a question: “Why would I need a light meter?” He answers right away with “maybe you don’t,” and proceeds to explain why you might still need one, especially if you’re using a meter-less camera but would like to get some nicely exposed photos. We liked how detailed and informative his review is, so we highly suggest you check out his full review to learn more about this light meter!

Congratulations to our lomographer-authors! Join us again next week as we continue to give recognition to the notable reviews of our fellow lomographers on the amazing analogue goodies they come across with!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera/film/accessory review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-08-06 in #reviews #camera-review #accessory-review #reviews-of-the-week #film-review #user-review #lomography

More Interesting Articles

  • Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    written by jacobs on 2015-02-10 in #gear #news
    Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    Are you still looking for that perfect treat for your loved one this Valentine's Day? Then you've come to the right place, my friend — we've extended our Valentine's deals until the end of the week! Which means you have extra time to get lucky in all things love and Lomography. Quit dodging Cupid's arrows and get in on these sweet deals right now!

  • Teufelsberg: The Architecture of Espionage

    written by wil6ka on 2015-03-04 in #world #locations
    Teufelsberg: The Architecture of Espionage

    The spying globes on Teufelsberg are the not-so-secret insider tip for Berlin’s urban ruins and interesting freak show architecture. Even if you’re reluctant, one thing's for sure: the “Devil’s Mountain” is just plain awesome. The torn-up globe structures of the former military territory are just waiting to be conquered by lomographers… so what are you waiting for?

    14
  • Top Shoutbox Users of May 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-29 in #world #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of May 2015

    Are you new to the community? Or are you looking for a new place to explore aside from the photographs and articles? Head to the shoutbox and meet the friendliest bunch of lomographers!

    14
  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Argus Paul Estabrook's Surreal Work in Paper Cutting

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-02 in #people
    Argus Paul Estabrook's Surreal Work in Paper Cutting

    The characters in Argus Paul Estabrook's work in paper cutting are the stuff nightmares are made of: unusual forms, jagged edges, arms outstretched as if seeking salvation—all emphasized further by the plain white background on which they are placed. Combined, these details paint a picture straight out of Dante Alighieri's "Divine Comedy."

    3
  • LomoGuru of the Week: marta1901

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-07-13 in #lifestyle
    LomoGuru of the Week: marta1901

    Our LomoGuru spotlight turns to this lovely lady from Madrid, Spain popular for her exquisite portraiture. Meet the passionate and extraordinary Marta Huguet Cuadrado, or marta1901 in the Community, our LomoGuru of the Week!

    36
  • Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-27 in #news
    Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    We'd like to thank everyone for continuously capturing precious moments on photographs and sharing them with all of us. Each of your photographs and albums brought happiness and inspiration to everyone in the community. These lomographers take the spotlight for their ceaseless passion for photography and for their generosity in sharing every step of their analogue adventure. Meet our top photo uploaders of 2014.

    5
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Fresh and Crisp Square Lomographs from the US and UK Taken with the LC-A 120

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-31 in #lifestyle
    Fresh and Crisp Square Lomographs from the US and UK Taken with the LC-A 120

    The LC-A 120 is set to be shipped out to their lucky owners 'round the holidays. You're probably itching to see more from this camera, so here are some of the latest sample shots to help you guys tide over until then!

  • Lomography & REMI Competition

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-07-03 in #people #competitions
    Lomography & REMI Competition

    Ladies and gentlemen, for this rumble, we’ve joined forces with Australian MC/singer REMI Kolawole. Since he is on tour now and will play in many different places this summer, we’re looking for your best, most exciting analogphotos which you feel best capture the essence of music festivals. Hot prizes are waiting for you!

  • Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-04 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    Its compact size, features that allow ample room for creativity, and undeniably gorgeous looks have got many lomographers smitten. Read on and see what five of our community members have to say about the charming Diana Mini!

    2
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Newcomer of the Week: billseye

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-06-14 in #world #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: billseye

    Having a professional photographer in the family paved a way for Bill to start taking interest in photography early on. In this interview, he shares more about how he discovered the community and his passion for shooting analog. Let's all welcome our newcomer of the week from USA, billseye!

    3
  • Newcomer of the Week: psychedelica

    written by icequeenubia on 2015-03-22 in #world #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: psychedelica

    His love affair with analog photography started with a Zenit 12 which he received as a birthday present. Almost a decade has passed since but he still continues to capture his everyday life and the spirit of Istanbul's streets on film. Get to know our newcomer of the week from Turkey, Can Ortak also known in the community as psychedelica!

    8
  • Newcomer of the Week: kojotisko

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-08-24 in #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: kojotisko

    His impressive collection of street photographs had caught the Community's attention last month. Now, let's turn the spotlight to kojotisko once more and welcome him as our Newcomer of the Week!

    3