Reviews of the Week(s)

Each week, we place the spotlight on some of the most interesting and insightful reviews from the community. Are you itching to find out which ones from the past weeks made it to the cut? Then, what are you waiting for? Go ahead and read on!

Cameras

One of our featured lomographer-reviewers got lucky: spiritedly spotted a perfectly working Kodak Ektralite 10 110 camera and got to use the Lomography Color Tiger 110 in it! Where, you ask? In a Sunday morning flea mart in Malaysia—this is why we urge you to check out the camera stores and flea markets in your area whenever you have the chance!

How did she find shooting with the camera? “The best thing about taking photos with this camera are the reactions of people when I bring it out, basically, it falls in two main categories: Bewilderment… Or Nolstalgia.” What about the photos she took with it and Lomography’s 110 film? "Strangely, the photos have a sort of eerie vintagey retro look to it, as if we were living in the past.

Now, let’s check out some of her 110 snaps:

Don’t forget to check out her full review for more insights and photos!

Our other featured camera reviewer, nirothehero meanwhile was also got lucky to have gotten herself the La Sardina Splendour of Lomography’s eye-catching shooters oozing with retro charm!

“When the La Sardina Splendour was released, I fell in love with the simple, elegant, retro charm of the Splendour. Specially designed after the original street photography camera, Kandor Candid, I was excited to try it out on the streets myself, and went on to purchase it. After only three days, it arrived!”

So, what do her La Sardina snaps look like? Here are some of them:

Go ahead and check out her full review to read more and see more photos!

Films

Meanwhile, for film reviews, we have here one from cryboy featuring the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, and another from blanches_nickelodeon featuring the cheap Tudorcolor XLX 200.

On the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, cryboy decided to load it in the Canon EOS 1000F, a camera that lets him change the ISO for every shot. Using various ISO settings at different lighting conditions, our lomographer ended up with a variety of colors and hues in his snaps, leading to the conclusion that this redscale film is capable of producing photos that seem to be taken using different films. Let’s take a look at some of his snaps below:

What about the Tudorcolor XLX 200? According to our lomographer-reviewer blanches_nickelodeon, while this cheap film may be most likely just a rebranded C41 film from Fuji, the results tell of the quality photos you can get from it. Let’s take a look at some of his beautiful photos taken using the Yashica TL Electro and SP1000:

Check out cryboy's full review and blanches_nickelodeon's full review to read more of their insights and see the rest of their photos!

Accessories

Last but not the least, we bring you the featured accessory reviews—not the usual stuff you use and attach to your cameras, but the ones that help you get your shots right. Yes, we’re talking about the photo scanner review by paulabridi and the handheld light meter review by highdesertdan!

As many lomographers are definitely interested in developing and scanning their own films, paulabridi’s review was obviously a big help. She cautioned against the HP Scanjet G4050, saying that “although it offers a good resolution (up to 4800 dpi), it tends to add a lot of grain to the photos, which means (at least to me) web-quality only – I wouldn’t print my scans.” Head over to her full review to read more of her insights about this photoscanner.

As for highdesertdan’s light meter review, he begins with a question: “Why would I need a light meter?” He answers right away with “maybe you don’t,” and proceeds to explain why you might still need one, especially if you’re using a meter-less camera but would like to get some nicely exposed photos. We liked how detailed and informative his review is, so we highly suggest you check out his full review to learn more about this light meter!

Congratulations to our lomographer-authors! Join us again next week as we continue to give recognition to the notable reviews of our fellow lomographers on the amazing analogue goodies they come across with!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera/film/accessory review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-08-06 in #reviews #camera-review #accessory-review #reviews-of-the-week #film-review #user-review #lomography

More Interesting Articles

  • Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    written by jacobs on 2015-02-10 in #gear #news
    Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    Are you still looking for that perfect treat for your loved one this Valentine's Day? Then you've come to the right place, my friend — we've extended our Valentine's deals until the end of the week! Which means you have extra time to get lucky in all things love and Lomography. Quit dodging Cupid's arrows and get in on these sweet deals right now!

  • Top Shoutbox Users of April 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-05-11 in #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of April 2014

    We are turning the spotlight on this tiny box made for our Community's most random thoughts, comments, suggestions, rants, and just about anything under the sun!

    3
  • Teufelsberg: The Architecture of Espionage

    written by wil6ka on 2015-03-04 in #world #locations
    Teufelsberg: The Architecture of Espionage

    The spying globes on Teufelsberg are the not-so-secret insider tip for Berlin’s urban ruins and interesting freak show architecture. Even if you’re reluctant, one thing's for sure: the “Devil’s Mountain” is just plain awesome. The torn-up globe structures of the former military territory are just waiting to be conquered by lomographers… so what are you waiting for?

    14
  • Shop News

    Lomography Diana Mini Double Rainbow

    Lomography Diana Mini Double Rainbow

    An analogue camera inspired by Tara Mcpherson, A highly recommended gear for Lomography beginners and visual art lovers! With this edition see how Tara Mcpherson’s art joins the world of analogue cameras. Get it now for a special price!

  • LomoGuru of the Week: marta1901

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-07-13 in #lifestyle
    LomoGuru of the Week: marta1901

    Our LomoGuru spotlight turns to this lovely lady from Madrid, Spain popular for her exquisite portraiture. Meet the passionate and extraordinary Marta Huguet Cuadrado, or marta1901 in the Community, our LomoGuru of the Week!

    36
  • Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-27 in #news
    Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    We'd like to thank everyone for continuously capturing precious moments on photographs and sharing them with all of us. Each of your photographs and albums brought happiness and inspiration to everyone in the community. These lomographers take the spotlight for their ceaseless passion for photography and for their generosity in sharing every step of their analogue adventure. Meet our top photo uploaders of 2014.

    5
  • Lomography Spinner 360: The selfie camera

    written by simonesavo on 2014-05-06 in #reviews
    Lomography Spinner 360: The selfie camera

    If you too are fond of scenic shots and even if you cannot help but capture every place in 360º, then the Spinner 360º is the one that is right for you. Read on to find out more.

    2
  • Shop News

    Lomo Instant Boston

    Lomo Instant Boston

    Here is another way to enjoy analogue experience and capture great memories in an instant! This package includes the best creative lenses for your LomoInstant camera!

  • Fresh and Crisp Square Lomographs from the US and UK Taken with the LC-A 120

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-31 in #lifestyle
    Fresh and Crisp Square Lomographs from the US and UK Taken with the LC-A 120

    The LC-A 120 is set to be shipped out to their lucky owners 'round the holidays. You're probably itching to see more from this camera, so here are some of the latest sample shots to help you guys tide over until then!

  • Top 5 Album Covers Designed by Famous Artists

    written by chooolss on 2014-06-19 in #lifestyle
    Top 5 Album Covers Designed by Famous Artists

    It has been proven time and again that some of the most interesting and creative collaborations are produced by art and music. For this week's list, in no particular order, we're putting the spotlight on five albums whose cover art were specially designed by well-known artists!

  • LC-A Goes To: Saint Petersburg, Russia

    written by chooolss on 2014-06-05 in #world #locations
    LC-A Goes To: Saint Petersburg, Russia

    As the iconic LC-A celebrates its 30th birthday this month, we think it's only timely that we look back to Lomography's roots and shine the spotlight on the camera's birthplace, Saint Petersburg. If you haven't been there yourself, or if you have and simply wanted to be reminded of the beauty of the place, we've compiled a few select lomographs taken using no less than the LC-A by our community members!

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • LomoGuru of the Week: mapix

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-06-15 in #lifestyle
    LomoGuru of the Week: mapix

    This week's LomoGuru is perhaps one of the most active members of our Community. Aside from regularly updating his LomoHome with wonderful photographs, he also sets aside time to meet and share insights with his fellow lomographers by attending various lomowalks and lomo-exhibitions. Let's cheer for our latest LomoGuru from Germany, Christoph Maas, also known in the Community as mapix!

    16
  • Watch: 'One Day In A Lomo'Instant' Video

    written by shhquiet on 2014-06-17 in #news
    Watch: 'One Day In A Lomo'Instant' Video

    A lot happens in a day, made up of those little moments that we usually take for granted. So we asked some of our friends from the Lomography team to capture some instant photos throughout one day, using the Lomo'Instant Camera. The result? A collection of memories that they could catch, hold, and cherish forever. We compiled their instant moments into a cool video, which you can check out after the cut!

  • Then and Now: Famous Photos Reimagined as Selfies

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-05 in #lifestyle
    Then and Now: Famous Photos Reimagined as Selfies

    Iconic photos from the past are hard to pass by. They just have this certain look and feel to them that made them memorable but an ad campaign for a newspaper in Cape Town, South Africa put a modern twist on some of them. Here’s a clue – selfies.