Lomography Redscale XR: From Light to Dark

3

See your photos change into all shades of red with Lomography Redscale XR 35mm! Learn more about this film after the jump!

Lomography Redscale XR 35mm (also comes in 120 format) is special kind of redscale film that changes its colour based on your ISO setting. This lets you experiment and get more creative in a single roll.

One fine bright day, I went outside and load a roll of film into my Holga 135BC. It was my first roll of Redscale XR. A Holga has fixed aperture at f/8 and f/11. So it all depends on the weather. Being all noob, I shot here and there. Shot, shot, and shot without any warning. So, here’s what I got from one roll of film:

Dark, Grainy Red:

During cloudy weather.

Lighter Red:

Orange:

Under extremely hot, bright sun.

Yellow (or is it still orange? I’m getting really confused differentiating the colors now):

Under extremely hot, bright sun.

Almost Grey:

Neutral:

Night Shoot (using Long Exposure):

So what hue do you like the most ? You can see more results of Redscale XR pictures in the gallery section). It’s a must-try film for every Lomographers!

Read more about Lomography Redscale XR from the article by cryboy.

The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 35mm gives you full control over your redscale images. With its extended ISO range, you can pick an effect that you want and set the ISO accordingly. Your images will exude a lovely retro feel. See our selection of Lomography films here.

written by syira690 on 2012-08-06 in #reviews #random #redscale #lomography #malaysia #film #kuala-lumpur #film-review #35mm #user-review #xr

3 Comments

  1. twinklecat
    twinklecat ·

    Ooh, I didn't know you could get grey tones from redscale film! I especially love the "neutral" colors, it's a good way to get that expired look without using expired film.

  2. kristiancolpa
    kristiancolpa ·

    2012 New Chanel Schultertasche A31143 Silber - €113.52 : Zen Cart!, The Art of E-commerce

  3. robotmonkey1996
    robotmonkey1996 ·

    Tip: Redscaled film is practically impossible to overexpose.

More Interesting Articles

  • Fiery Images Courtesy of Lomography Lobster Redscale Rumble Winners

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-06-22 in #world #competitions
    Fiery Images Courtesy of Lomography Lobster Redscale Rumble Winners

    Bathe your 110 lomographs in vivid shades of red, yellow, and orange with the Lomography Lobster Redscale film!

    6
  • It's Time to Splash Some Color Into Your Life

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-03-25 in #gear #lifestyle
    It's Time to Splash Some Color Into Your Life

    So Spring has officially sprung! Say hello to brighter and longer days. The dark (and freezing) ones are finally behind and in order to celebrate that a new motto takes place in our lives: The more color the better! Colorsplashing totally changes our mood and the endless possibilities of compositions have never been so fun! Click through to dive into this vibrant and surreal pool after the jump.

    2
  • Some of the World's Most Valuable Photographs

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-04-06 in #world #lifestyle #videos
    Some of the World's Most Valuable Photographs

    To get in the spirit of Film Photography Day, learn more about the early 20th century's auction-worthy prints from this video by Sotheby's.

  • Shop News

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Never go wrong with amount of light entering your lenses. Perfect for any photo shoots, very handy, lightweight and extremely versatile!

  • 50 Electrifying Light Paintings From The Lomography Community

    written by tomas_bates on 2015-08-17 in #gear #news
    50 Electrifying Light Paintings From The Lomography Community

    Light Painting is a cool technique that we love to do when we're in the mood for experimenting with photos. It's super easy and fun, and it only requires a dark room, a friend or two to collaborate with, a camera with long exposure mode and a light painting tool to get started. Check out 50 of the most vibrant light painting photos taken by your fellow Lomographers after the cut!

    5
  • A Color Remix

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-09 in #gear #lifestyle
    A Color Remix

    It's human nature to be restless and imaginative. The real may be interpreted as what one sees or how one sees something. For the daydreamer, a scene from nature transforms into a canvas. Suddenly a field makes room for chemical coloring, all those anachronistic streaks that somehow look right. Or else, those beautiful colors amplified or subdued to their most pictorial shades. All in the world of trial-and-process film photography.

  • Classic Scenes with the Lomo Lubitel 166+

    written by K. Aquino on 2015-06-22 in #gear #lifestyle
    Classic Scenes with the Lomo Lubitel 166+

    Lomo Lubitel 166+ is a match to the classic beauty of black and white photography. Perennial scenes of city life and nature get the right amount of light and dark, thanks to trusty exposure settings. The glass lens, with its sharp vision, helps photographers get tonal and evocative imagery. These photos from all over the community are prime examples.

    2
  • Shop News

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    A resurrection from the zenith of Russian premium optics, get the same elegance and classic compact design as its predecessor. — available in small quantities on a first-come, first-served basis.

  • Film Format Fun: Rapid Film

    written by Maaike van Stratum (@stratski) on 2016-02-08 in #gear #tipster
    Film Format Fun: Rapid Film

    We all know about 35mm and 120 film, right? And since Lomography re-introduced 110 film, we have another film format to play with. But in the years past, many more film formats were in use. Let me introduce you to a few golden oldies and tell you about my experiences with them. I'll start with Rapid film.

    3
  • A Salute to the Masters: Rugby (A Tribute to Robert Doisneau)

    written by sirio174 on 2015-06-06 in #world #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Rugby (A Tribute to Robert Doisneau)

    This is a tribute to one of the most famous French social and street photographers, Robert Doisneau. During his life he was able to capture many little moments of everyday Parisian life with humanity and grace. His photos, full of poetry and humor, tell the ordinary life in the suburbs of the big French capital, away from the richest central areas of the city. Read more after the jump!

    1
  • Optimal Exposure: Jarrod Whaley Talks About Luxi for All

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-08-19 in #gear #lifestyle
    Optimal Exposure: Jarrod Whaley Talks About Luxi for All

    Luxi For All turns your smartphone into a super convenient light meter that allows you to achieve perfectly exposed photos without a hitch. Jarrod Whaley, Operations Manager at Extrasensory Devices, the company behind Luxi, talks about this smart little tool in this exclusive interview.

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Shooting in Soho with the Lomo'Instant Splitzer

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-17 in #gear #tipster
    Shooting in Soho with the Lomo'Instant Splitzer

    A recent lunchtime break turned into a big analogue adventure when I took the Lomo'Instant camera out with the Splitzer and captured a gloriously sunny day in the heart of Soho, London. I learned a couple of great tips about shooting with this new accessory. Read on to find out more.

    1
  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!

  • Discontinued Efke Films Available Now!

    written by shhquiet on 2015-06-29 in #gear #news
    Discontinued Efke Films Available Now!

    It's time to get experimental With Lomography, Efke and Ilford Films! Transform your photographs into fascinating snapshots that evoke fantasy and magic. It’s the stuff that dreams are made of: green foliage becomes white, blue skies turn as dark as the night and purple colors taste sweet like candy dust.