Sidekick Canvas Bag Review

17

Rule #1 - take your camera everywhere you go... with your Sidekick Bag!

Traveling in Singapore is a breeze. You can walk from one district to another in less than an hour (they don’t have states or big cities here!). With this lifestyle, you definitely need a bag to go along with carrying with you your precious cameras and accessories within reach. This is why I have my Lomo Sidekick Bag with me always.

With its compact size and slim design, my wife and I do take turns using this bag. The natural cotton canvas makes it very comfortable to bring along anywhere you go. The bag itself can be separated into two modules. With its 2-in-1 design, it actually allows you to use both parts together or separately. The bigger piece can be used separately to carry chunky items like my Horizon Kompakt and some books, while the smaller part can accommodate my ever reliable LC-A+ within my arm’s reach, a space for my Colorsplash Flash, and a few films fitted to the stylish pockets.

So the next time you plan to have a short trip or go for a walk, think about the Sidekick Bag. You’ll definitely need one.

written by panelomo on 2010-02-09 in #reviews

17 Comments

  1. stouf
    stouf ·

    Waah ! That's a first ! Good idea, great shots, and what an ambassador for the bag ! I'm sure lomography is gonna run out of stock pretty soon !!! 8DDD

  2. stouf
    stouf ·

    And, I had never really payed attention to it... But this bag is great ! Ahaha !

  3. breakphreak
    breakphreak ·

    go go power panelomo :)

  4. paramir
    paramir ·

    Well done! I was just about to write a review on it myself - I have it fro two month now, and it is a great bag!

  5. rater
    rater ·

    mmmm, I wonder if the large module could fit my macbook...

  6. jaalvarez
    jaalvarez ·

    Panelomo ... great review !!
    I am 40 years old, and all my life I´m looking for the perfect bag to travel, to keep safe my cameras, ...
    You meet it !!!
    Thanks a lot for your information !!
    Perhaps, some day ... someone will give me a present ...

  7. paramir
    paramir ·

    @rater - the macbook pro 15" fits just exactly, without a skin...

  8. dogma
    dogma ·

    Great shots mate!

  9. rater
    rater ·

    Yeah, thanks Paramir!

  10. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    I got the Sidekick TPE bag and it's great (despite the fact that the TPE skin tends to deteriorate due to intensive use) and a sidekick lite canvas bag: these are really my everyday bags and THE bags for going out shooting of course: never found a more practical bag to put my cameras films and accessories!! :)) If you don't have a sidekick bag, you should really get one!! :)

  11. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    yeah... i think i wrote a review for that, too, afer i found out that the bag is PERFECT for your playstation and singstar :)

  12. wuxiong
    wuxiong ·

    Yes, it's practical and fashionable, nice review and good shots. Thank you for sharing,panelomo::))

  13. panelomo
    panelomo ·

    thanks guys!

    @paramir @rater - my mac fits perfectly.. but don't try to bring your horizon camera with your mac, you'll have to bring another sidekick for it. :)

  14. cyan-shine
    cyan-shine ·

    Awesome :D I am converted :D

  15. yarah
    yarah ·

    I have one as well and love it! Best bag ever!!!

  16. tjbeard8985
    tjbeard8985 ·

    convinced me to buy it! thanks much (:

  17. cpann84
    cpann84 ·

    Please bring this bag back. In khaki would be nice.

More Interesting Articles

  • Photographs of Architecture Shot with the Lomography Color Tiger

    written by chooolss on 2014-05-01 in #lifestyle
    Photographs of Architecture Shot with the Lomography Color Tiger

    The first of Lomography's Ten Golden Rules dictates that you take your camera everywhere you go, and with a camera as small as a 110, you pretty much have no excuse not to!

  • Photo of the Day by satomi

    written by cheeo on 2014-04-13 in #news
    Photo of the Day by satomi

    Take your camera everywhere you go. You'll never know what adventures lie ahead. Congratulations satomi for having our Photo of the Day!

  • Tips On Taking Photos In Markets

    written by Eunice Abique on 2014-03-24 in #gear #tipster
    Tips On Taking Photos In Markets

    Heading to the market soon? Aside from your grocery bags, why don't you take your camera for a spin?

    4
  • Shop News

    Grab a piece of Soviet analogue history!

    Grab a piece of Soviet analogue history!

    The Zenit MF-1 is an authentic part of the Soviet intelligence arsenal. With a tiny body packed full of fantastic features, this subminiature camera is the choice for espionage missions. With only a handful being produced each year, nows your chance to grab hold of this fine piece of photographic equipment! Grab a piece of Soviet analogue history, this tiny camera was the choice for espionage back in the days! Exclusive shipment from Vienna, Austria

  • Newcomer of the Week: brxxch

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-11-16 in #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: brxxch

    "Take your camera wherever you go" is one of Lomography's golden rules that she religiously follows. Her lomographs shows her dedication to documenting even the most mundane moments of her life through beautiful photographs. Meet our newcomer of the week from United Kingdom, Breech!

  • Most Popular LomoWalls of July 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-08-09 in #news
    Most Popular LomoWalls of July 2014

    Select a part of your canvas and fill it with your favorite photograph. Repeat this step until you have the perfect LomoWall that reflects your creative self!

    5
  • Most Popular Photo Last Year: August 24, 2013

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-08-24 in #news
    Most Popular Photo Last Year: August 24, 2013

    Everything you see is a potential photo subject. Just go grab your camera and take photos of whatever you fancy!

    2
  • Shop News

    Order this five star Medium Master today and receive it straight away!

    Order this five star Medium Master today and receive it straight away!

    The Phoblographer Editor's Choice Award Winner "The best street photography camera: film or digital. Pretty much nothing will beat this." Order this five star Medium Master today and receive it straight away!

  • Workshops and Events for January 2015 at Lomography UK

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-01-05 in #events
    Workshops and Events for January 2015 at Lomography UK

    Happy New Year Everyone. We're confident that our January 2015 workshops will help you dust off those January blues and get you smiling again. You'll be able to learn how to expose an image onto fabric or canvas with our LUMI paint workshop, learn the basics of our super Diana F+ camera and take to the streets with the Lomo'instant. There is also a great exhibition of analogue prints from photographer Arat “Huge” Komsawadichai. Find out more and book your spot by clicking here.

  • Photo of the Day by suizidekid

    written by cheeo on 2014-04-12 in #news
    Photo of the Day by suizidekid

    Be adventurous and conquer unexplored lands. Don't forget to take your trusty cameras with you!

    1
  • Shift School Paris Photo Competition: The Winners

    written by efrost on 2014-11-05 in #competitions
    Shift School Paris Photo Competition: The Winners

    It looks like it’s time to get out the cameras and pack your bags. Together with the Shift School Dresden, we offered amazing prizes, including an insider trip to Paris, where you can take part in photography courses and visit the world-famous Paris Photo Tradeshow. Of course, there’s also a ton of Lomography prizes at stake like cameras, accessories and film so that the winner can capture memories from the trip on film. And now to announce the winners!

  • Shop News

    Still one of the Best - Horizon Kompakt

    Still one of the Best - Horizon Kompakt

    The Horizon Kompakt is a miracle in the shape of a 35mm camera. Just watching its multi-coated swing lens as it sweeps 120° degrees is a wonder to behold. With "Day" and "Night" shooting settings and battery free operation, it's also incredibly simple to use. Capture picture-perfect panoramas and get prints approximately the size of two standard frames. With the Kompakt, you'll see the world from a whole new perspective.

  • Glassy Orb Portraits taken with the Lomography Fisheye One

    written by cheeo on 2014-05-16 in #lifestyle
    Glassy Orb Portraits taken with the Lomography Fisheye One

    Looking for a quick and quirky effect for your photographs? Take the Fisheye One with you and go nautical on your portraits!

  • Festival-loving Cameras for the Analogue Snapper

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-03-12 in #gear #tipster
    Festival-loving Cameras for the Analogue Snapper

    A festival is filled with once-in-a-lifetime sights and spectacle worth remembering. It is but a requirement to bring a trusty camera when attending one, unless your memory is photographic enough to capture everything. If you’re still packing your bags for that much-awaited festival, take a few minutes to browse through our list recommended cameras to shoot with.

    1
  • Sweeping Street Panoramas Taken With Lomography Horizon Cameras

    written by cheeo on 2014-05-12 in #lifestyle
    Sweeping Street Panoramas Taken With Lomography Horizon Cameras

    The feeling of wanting to take a stroll around the city or countryside can sometimes be so overwhelming that it can make one head out on the streets at the spur of the moment. Before you go on a streetwise adventure however, remember to bring your Horizon camera with you so you can capture those sweeping cityscapes.