Reviews of the Week(s)

3

Each week, we place the spotlight on some of the most interesting and insightful reviews from the community. Are you itching to find out which ones from the past weeks made it to the cut? Then, what are you waiting for? Go ahead and read on!

Cameras

One of our featured camera reviews tells about the Kiev 4 AM, which lomographer kingdjin called a “Silent Sniper.” In his article, our lomographer-reviewer gives us a detailed history and backgrounder on the Soviet beauty, a quick tip on rewinding, and finally, some nice photos! Let’s take a look at some of them:

Photos by kingdjin

Check out the full review to learn more and see the rest of the photos from the set!

Another camera review that made it to the past two weeks’ cut tells about the Fujica STX-1N, which is a “hugely underrated mechanical SLR camera,” according to lomographer brandkow93. Like he usually does with his reviews, our featured lomographer tells us the story on how the camera came into his possession, then proceeds to sharing the photos he took using his latest analogue find. Here are some of them:

Check out the full review to learn more and see the rest of the photos from the set!

Film

For our featured film review, lomographer shmarmy shares with us his insights on the Fuji Velvia 100 RVP (120), which he found a “crazy, unpredictable, and wild” slide film when cross-processed. While he cautions that this film is not for those seeking “stability” in their film photos, the funky and vibrant colors of his snaps will make every lomographer want to try it out! Here are some of his photos taken using this slide film:

Check out the full review to learn more and see the rest of the photos from the set!

Accessory

Last but not the least of our reviews of the week is an accessory review on the Lomography Ringflash by simonh82, which he found amazing and worth getting. Mentioning that ring flashes were traditionally used for macro and fashion photography, our featured accessory reviewer says Lomography Ringflash is also best used for close-up photos. He also recommends pairing the Ringflash with something that allows you to shoot up close, like the Fisheye or La Sardina, or if you’re shooting with the Diana F+, use the Diana+ 20mm Fisheye Lens with it. Let’s take a look at some of the snaps:

Credits: simonh82

Check out the full review to learn more and see the rest of the photos from the set!

Congratulations to our four lomographer-authors! Join us again next week as we continue to give recognition to the notable reviews of our fellow lomographers on the amazing analogue goodies they come across with!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera/film/accessory review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-07-23 in #reviews #camera-review #accessory-review #reviews-of-the-week #lomography #film-review #user-review

3 Comments

  1. plasticpopsicle
    plasticpopsicle ·

    Congratulations and good job, @kingdjin, @brandkow93, @shmarmy, and @simonh82! Hope to see more of your reviews soon!

  2. kingdjin
    kingdjin ·

    @plasticpospicle Thanks a lot :) :)

  3. gatokinetik-o
    gatokinetik-o ·

    Great review!

More Interesting Articles

  • Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    written by jacobs on 2015-02-10 in #gear #news
    Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    Are you still looking for that perfect treat for your loved one this Valentine's Day? Then you've come to the right place, my friend — we've extended our Valentine's deals until the end of the week! Which means you have extra time to get lucky in all things love and Lomography. Quit dodging Cupid's arrows and get in on these sweet deals right now!

  • Top Shoutbox Users of April 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-05-11 in #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of April 2014

    We are turning the spotlight on this tiny box made for our Community's most random thoughts, comments, suggestions, rants, and just about anything under the sun!

    3
  • Teufelsberg: The Architecture of Espionage

    written by wil6ka on 2015-03-04 in #world #locations
    Teufelsberg: The Architecture of Espionage

    The spying globes on Teufelsberg are the not-so-secret insider tip for Berlin’s urban ruins and interesting freak show architecture. Even if you’re reluctant, one thing's for sure: the “Devil’s Mountain” is just plain awesome. The torn-up globe structures of the former military territory are just waiting to be conquered by lomographers… so what are you waiting for?

    14
  • Shop News

    LCA-120 Film Bundle

    LCA-120 Film Bundle

    Shoot more with LC-A 120 without breaking your budget! The Phoblographer Editor’s Choice Award Winner now comes with a 120 format film at 15% off!

  • LomoGuru of the Week: marta1901

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-07-13 in #lifestyle
    LomoGuru of the Week: marta1901

    Our LomoGuru spotlight turns to this lovely lady from Madrid, Spain popular for her exquisite portraiture. Meet the passionate and extraordinary Marta Huguet Cuadrado, or marta1901 in the Community, our LomoGuru of the Week!

    36
  • Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-27 in #news
    Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    We'd like to thank everyone for continuously capturing precious moments on photographs and sharing them with all of us. Each of your photographs and albums brought happiness and inspiration to everyone in the community. These lomographers take the spotlight for their ceaseless passion for photography and for their generosity in sharing every step of their analogue adventure. Meet our top photo uploaders of 2014.

    5
  • Lomography Spinner 360: The selfie camera

    written by simonesavo on 2014-05-06 in #reviews
    Lomography Spinner 360: The selfie camera

    If you too are fond of scenic shots and even if you cannot help but capture every place in 360º, then the Spinner 360º is the one that is right for you. Read on to find out more.

    2
  • Shop News

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval lens are designed for a Canon or Nikon SLR mounts and a selection of brass or black for each camera brand is available in our stores. And start shooting with images full of sharpness, crispness and bokeh effects!

  • Fresh and Crisp Square Lomographs from the US and UK Taken with the LC-A 120

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-31 in #lifestyle
    Fresh and Crisp Square Lomographs from the US and UK Taken with the LC-A 120

    The LC-A 120 is set to be shipped out to their lucky owners 'round the holidays. You're probably itching to see more from this camera, so here are some of the latest sample shots to help you guys tide over until then!

  • Top 5 Album Covers Designed by Famous Artists

    written by chooolss on 2014-06-19 in #lifestyle
    Top 5 Album Covers Designed by Famous Artists

    It has been proven time and again that some of the most interesting and creative collaborations are produced by art and music. For this week's list, in no particular order, we're putting the spotlight on five albums whose cover art were specially designed by well-known artists!

  • LC-A Goes To: Saint Petersburg, Russia

    written by chooolss on 2014-06-05 in #world #locations
    LC-A Goes To: Saint Petersburg, Russia

    As the iconic LC-A celebrates its 30th birthday this month, we think it's only timely that we look back to Lomography's roots and shine the spotlight on the camera's birthplace, Saint Petersburg. If you haven't been there yourself, or if you have and simply wanted to be reminded of the beauty of the place, we've compiled a few select lomographs taken using no less than the LC-A by our community members!

  • Shop News

    Shoot sharply with Oktomat Bullseye

    Shoot sharply with Oktomat Bullseye

    Shoot sharply without hurting your budget. At 30% off you can now experiment with 8 sequential shots in one 35mm print! Tell stories in 2.5 seconds with 8 scenes in one shot!

  • LomoGuru of the Week: mapix

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-06-15 in #lifestyle
    LomoGuru of the Week: mapix

    This week's LomoGuru is perhaps one of the most active members of our Community. Aside from regularly updating his LomoHome with wonderful photographs, he also sets aside time to meet and share insights with his fellow lomographers by attending various lomowalks and lomo-exhibitions. Let's cheer for our latest LomoGuru from Germany, Christoph Maas, also known in the Community as mapix!

    16
  • Watch: 'One Day In A Lomo'Instant' Video

    written by shhquiet on 2014-06-17 in #news
    Watch: 'One Day In A Lomo'Instant' Video

    A lot happens in a day, made up of those little moments that we usually take for granted. So we asked some of our friends from the Lomography team to capture some instant photos throughout one day, using the Lomo'Instant Camera. The result? A collection of memories that they could catch, hold, and cherish forever. We compiled their instant moments into a cool video, which you can check out after the cut!

  • Then and Now: Famous Photos Reimagined as Selfies

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-05 in #lifestyle
    Then and Now: Famous Photos Reimagined as Selfies

    Iconic photos from the past are hard to pass by. They just have this certain look and feel to them that made them memorable but an ad campaign for a newspaper in Cape Town, South Africa put a modern twist on some of them. Here’s a clue – selfies.