A Review From the Heart: Why Do I Love My Diana?

6

The Diana F+ is one of my favorite cameras, so if you are expecting objectivity and technicalities, turn the page. This is a blind passionate review, like love! Because I love my Diana F +.

Why? Why do I love a plastic camera, with plastic lens, plastic look, and plastic everything? Tough question, but you know, love is hard to define. So, as a picture is worth a thousand words, I answer this question with some photos I’ve shot with my beloved Diana F+.

If you want to, you can enjoy this article listening this beautiful song.

Because it is beautiful.

Digital drawing of Diana F+ by me :)

Because it works with 120 film…

Credits: susielomovitz

…and also with 35mm!

Credits: susielomovitz

For the vignetting.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because of the colors slipping through its lens.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because of that dreamy blur on the edges of the photos.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because of its interchangeable lenses.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because of its capability to make double exposures.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because of that treacherous but wonderful Bulb mode.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because it leads us to the origins of photography: the Pinhole mode.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because everyone smiles in front of her.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because it lets me play.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because it makes me think.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because it encourages me to create!

(This last reason is illustrated by the photos to come)

Because this basic and wonderful camera has been a great teacher with whom I have learned a lot (a lot!) about photography. With photos as nice as you have seen and many other failures, I have been internalizing photographic concepts that I would never have understood so well by reading a book. It is a camera that requires time, shots that will teach you a little more with each roll you shoot. It’s a fantastic camera!

I love her!

If you want to find out more and more about this camera I recommend you visit the microsite, have a look at its history, it’s fascinating! And if you can stop by a Lomograhy Gallery Store, it’s worth seeing the Diana F+ in actual and ask everything that comes into your mind.

The Diana F+ is a new twist on the ‘60s classic cult camera. Famous for its dreamy and soft-focused images, the Diana F+ is now packed with extra features such as panorama and pinhole capabilities. Available in our Online Shop.

written by susielomovitz on 2012-07-16 in #reviews #120mm #camera-review #amor #review #diana-camera #diana-f #heart #lomography #love #susielomovitz
translated by susielomovitz

6 Comments

  1. eva_eva
    eva_eva ·

    so beautiful!

  2. susielomovitz
    susielomovitz ·

    :)

  3. sudhashunmu
    sudhashunmu ·

    amazing review ......all diana lovers will love it
    Diana F+ is one of my fav cam too .....
    as usual u have given a visual treat too.....

  4. scarletmind
    scarletmind ·

    I have a Diana F+ and I love it too :3

  5. frau_inga
    frau_inga ·

    Lovely camera, amazing shots! <3

  6. funkky_b
    funkky_b ·

    Great Job ^ . ^ Diana is the Queen !!!

More Interesting Articles

  • The Magical Diana F+

    written by adi_totp on 2014-10-07 in #reviews
    The Magical Diana F+

    "Magical" here means that every time I use the Diana F+, the results are always beyond both my expectations and imagination. That's why I always use it when I feel like doing something different. It has never failed me since day one; I even always bring this camera during my trips!

    6
  • Diana F+ Part 1 The Camera: A Dozen of Possibilities

    written by dopa on 2014-06-27 in #reviews
    Diana F+  Part 1 The Camera: A Dozen of Possibilities

    The original Diana F is a plastic beauty from 1960s Hong Kong. The Diana F+ is a reinterpretation, which is in no way inferior to the old Diana. It´s so versatile with all the optional accessories and lenses like no other lomography camera. And because of this, I will show you what makes this camera so special.

    3
  • Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    written by maliha on 2015-01-07 in #world #locations
    Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    If you want to know the heart of a person, peek inside his/her wardrobe! And no, nobody famous said that; I only just made it up. But really, don't you think it's true? After all, the way we dress screams our personality; at least for most of us. And that is why, as soon as I land on a new city, one of the things I absolutely must do is find the local boutiques. Sure, I love the fancy chain boutiques as much as the next person, but there's just something else about a local clothing store. It's unique!

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Lomo'Instant: Walk In the City

    written by ldelaurentiis on 2014-11-04 in #lifestyle
    Lomo'Instant: Walk In the City

    Going away for the weekend is always fun, especially if, like me, you live abroad and go back to visit your home city! For my walk through Milan, I decided to bring with me the Lomo’Instant because well, I just love it! Here are my thoughts after this special weekend!

  • My Pinhole F Cardboard Camera Inspired By the Diana F+ Camera

    written by raypg on 2014-09-05 in #lifestyle
    My Pinhole F Cardboard Camera Inspired By the Diana F+ Camera

    I love the different styles of cameras that Lomography has, but I also like to create my own cardboard cameras that use pinholes to be able to take pictures using traditional film. This time I created the Pinhole F, a camera inspired by the Diana F+ and shoots 12 pinhole photos using 120 film.

    2
  • La Sardina: My Story With My Old Best Friend

    written by abecd on 2014-07-10 in #reviews
    La Sardina: My Story With My Old Best Friend

    This is a story of me and Sardine, my first ever analogue camera. We've been traveling for thousands of miles and met a lot of friends. Even though I have better cameras, Sardine is the one camera that will always be in my heart! So once again, this is my story with Sardine

    2
  • Shop News

    LC-Wide Elite Kit

    LC-Wide Elite Kit

    The LC-Wide Elite Kit gathers all the accessories you would ever need for your Lomo LC-Wide.

  • Capturing the Summer with the Diana F+ Close-Up Lens

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-05-06 in #gear #lifestyle
    Capturing the Summer with the Diana F+ Close-Up Lens

    Every summer I get a burst of analogue excitement when I see the flowers starting to bloom. My favorite summer pastime is to take glorious shots of plants and flowers, and for perfect dreamy shots, I like to use the Diana Close-Up lens. Join me as I take you through a garden of analogue delights.

  • The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    written by shhquiet on 2014-06-16 in #news
    The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    We're ecstatic to read an in-depth review of the Lomography Petzval Lens, from the cool folks over at The Phoblographer. It's exciting to find out that, like us, they are in-love with the Petzval Lens too, so much that they gave it an impressive 4/5 rating! If you're thinking of getting a Petzval Lens, you'll find this featured review very useful. Check out an excerpt and the link to the full article after the jump!

  • From Russia with Love: Motorama Shoots with the La Sardina Splendour

    written by zonderbar on 2014-08-04 in #people #lomoamigos
    From Russia with Love: Motorama Shoots with the La Sardina Splendour

    I don't know many bands from Russia but one that I've been admiring for years is Motorama from Rostov-on-Don. With catchy tunes and adorable videos, they took my heart by storm and that of fans from all over the world. Because of their Russian origin, Motorama is of course familiar with Lomo products. Reason enough to let them become our latest LomoAmigos! Enjoy the interview with singer Vlad and check out their B&W photos, taken with a La Sardina Splendour.

  • Shop News

    Sprocket Rocket Flash Bundle

    Sprocket Rocket Flash Bundle

    Sprocket Love: The Sprocket Rocket is the world’s first wide-angle camera dedicated to sprockets. It shoots 18 panoramas on a standard 35mm roll and exposes the whole width of film including sprocket holes. Use its dual winding knobs for easy multiple exposures and generate perfect nighttime shots with the bulb setting.

  • Konica C35: A Wonderfully Analogue Camera

    written by marioman112 on 2014-09-01 in #reviews
    Konica C35: A Wonderfully Analogue Camera

    They say you can't teach an old dog new tricks, but whoever said that must have never shot with a Konica C35. This 46-year-old beauty can definitely hang with the big boys. Come see why this camera is one of my favorites, and why it should be one of yours, too.

  • Lubitel 166+: Lubitel is for Lovers+

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-05 in #reviews
    Lubitel 166+: Lubitel is for Lovers+

    Lubitel for lovers+. You're probably wondering, "Why is there a '+'?" It's to describe and expand a whole new definition of the Lubitel - in this case, this camera is not only for lovers literally, but also for anyone who loves to shoot portraits, street scenes, objects, and the skies. Do you love to take photos of your lover, your dear friend, your lovely family, your pet, or at the streets? This camera can be used in ALL situations. You can shoot everything that you love with it!

  • My Year in Analogue: A Visual Diary

    written by jadeberryphotography on 2014-12-23 in #lifestyle
    My Year in Analogue: A Visual Diary

    Every year I get the winter blues. I start imagining the feel of the sunrays, ice cold beer after a long summer day, and the endless hours spent on the beach. I have captured moments, memories, and dreams this year, which is my favorite thing to do. This is a short version and visual diary of my year 2014.