A Review From the Heart: Why Do I Love My Diana?

6

The Diana F+ is one of my favorite cameras, so if you are expecting objectivity and technicalities, turn the page. This is a blind passionate review, like love! Because I love my Diana F +.

Why? Why do I love a plastic camera, with plastic lens, plastic look, and plastic everything? Tough question, but you know, love is hard to define. So, as a picture is worth a thousand words, I answer this question with some photos I’ve shot with my beloved Diana F+.

If you want to, you can enjoy this article listening this beautiful song.

Because it is beautiful.

Digital drawing of Diana F+ by me :)

Because it works with 120 film…

Credits: susielomovitz

…and also with 35mm!

Credits: susielomovitz

For the vignetting.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because of the colors slipping through its lens.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because of that dreamy blur on the edges of the photos.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because of its interchangeable lenses.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because of its capability to make double exposures.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because of that treacherous but wonderful Bulb mode.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because it leads us to the origins of photography: the Pinhole mode.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because everyone smiles in front of her.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because it lets me play.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because it makes me think.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because it encourages me to create!

(This last reason is illustrated by the photos to come)

Because this basic and wonderful camera has been a great teacher with whom I have learned a lot (a lot!) about photography. With photos as nice as you have seen and many other failures, I have been internalizing photographic concepts that I would never have understood so well by reading a book. It is a camera that requires time, shots that will teach you a little more with each roll you shoot. It’s a fantastic camera!

I love her!

If you want to find out more and more about this camera I recommend you visit the microsite, have a look at its history, it’s fascinating! And if you can stop by a Lomograhy Gallery Store, it’s worth seeing the Diana F+ in actual and ask everything that comes into your mind.

The Diana F+ is a new twist on the ‘60s classic cult camera. Famous for its dreamy and soft-focused images, the Diana F+ is now packed with extra features such as panorama and pinhole capabilities. Available in our Online Shop.

written by susielomovitz on 2012-07-16 in #reviews #videos #diana-f #lomography #susielomovitz #review #camera-review #diana-camera #amor #120mm #heart #love
translated by susielomovitz

6 Comments

  1. eva_eva
    eva_eva ·

    so beautiful!

  2. susielomovitz
    susielomovitz ·

    :)

  3. sudhashunmu
    sudhashunmu ·

    amazing review ......all diana lovers will love it
    Diana F+ is one of my fav cam too .....
    as usual u have given a visual treat too.....

  4. scarletmind
    scarletmind ·

    I have a Diana F+ and I love it too :3

  5. frau_inga
    frau_inga ·

    Lovely camera, amazing shots! <3

  6. funkky_b
    funkky_b ·

    Great Job ^ . ^ Diana is the Queen !!!

More Interesting Articles

  • My Best LC-A Photos Ever by alienmeatsack

    written by Robn Kester on 2015-06-25 in #gear #reviews
    My Best LC-A Photos Ever by alienmeatsack

    I love my Lomo LC-A series cameras. They are so easy to use and take such amazing photos. I don’t ever go shooting without at least one of them in my bag. Here are some of my favorite shots.

    13
  • Long Exposures Around Europe with the Minitar-1 Art Lens

    written by antoniocastello on 2015-12-10 in #gear #lifestyle #locations #reviews
    Long Exposures Around Europe with the Minitar-1 Art Lens

    One of the things I like the most about the Minitar-1 Art lens is how sharp the focus can be when you shoot with a small aperture. So if you are one of those that like to shoot at night, get a tripod, add this to a late dark winter afternoon, and you will end up with a bunch of beautiful long exposures. This is what I did on my last trip to Europe.

    4
  • Capturing the Summer with the Diana F+ Close-Up Lens

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-05-06 in #gear #lifestyle
    Capturing the Summer with the Diana F+ Close-Up Lens

    Every summer I get a burst of analogue excitement when I see the flowers starting to bloom. My favorite summer pastime is to take glorious shots of plants and flowers, and for perfect dreamy shots, I like to use the Diana Close-Up lens. Join me as I take you through a garden of analogue delights.

  • Shop News

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    A resurrection from the zenith of Russian premium optics, get the same elegance and classic compact design as its predecessor. — available in small quantities on a first-come, first-served basis.

  • Album Review: Without My Enemy What Would I Do

    written by mindofmyra on 2015-07-16 in #people #lifestyle #locations #events
    Album Review: Without My Enemy What Would I Do

    Made in Heights is at it again. In May 2015, Alexei Saba Mohajerjasbi and Kelsey Bulkin released their album "Without My Enemy What Would I Do." This album tests the boundaries of genre by pulling from all forms of music to create a paradigm shift of preconceived notions.

  • The World According to Herr Willie: Olympiastadion Berlin

    written by wil6ka on 2015-05-19 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: Olympiastadion Berlin

    The 2015 UEFA Champions League Final will be held at the Olympic Stadium in Berlin on June 6. It is a place full of history and is also the only football stadium with a blue track course. Some say it is the most beautiful stadium in the world, and I totally agree with them. But then agai,n I might be biased because it is the home court of my favorite team, Hertha BSC Berlin—my blue-white bloodline.

    7
  • A Salute to the Masters: A Subbuteo Tournament (A Tribute to Dennis Oulds)

    written by sirio174 on 2016-01-23 in #world #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: A Subbuteo Tournament (A Tribute to Dennis Oulds)

    This article is dedicated to the British photojournalist and sport photographer Dennis Oulds, and to one of my favorite home games, Subbuteo Table Football. Here are some photos I took during a local tournament in Como. Take a look!

    1
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Janne Parviainen: Light Magician

    written by mpflawer on 2015-12-17 in #people #lifestyle #lomoamigos #videos
    Janne Parviainen: Light Magician

    Janne Parviainen is a 35-year-old artist from Helsinki, Finland. He is both a painter and a photographer but sometimes, he swaps his painting tools for light and creates illuminated pieces of art. Abandoned places are his favorite places for shoots because, according to him, "there's so much lived life and stories in abandoned places, they are the lost diaries and photos turned to dust of lives that once bloomed."

    7
  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Film Speed

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-05-19 in #gear #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Film Speed

    Sometime between 6,000 and 10,000 years ago, a boy in northern Afghanistan was born with a gene mutation that hindered his eyes from producing melanin and thus from turning brown. He had blue eyes. If you see someone with blue eyes today, he is a descendant of this unlucky fellow. I am one of those weird folks and apart from feeling like a mutant and being Angelina Jolie’s secret sister, I am sensitive to light like an ISO 6,400 film.

    6
  • My Day in Analog: Bike Rides with My Dad

    written by mmxi on 2015-04-28 in #world #lifestyle
    My Day in Analog: Bike Rides with My Dad

    My dad and I have been riding our bicycles for as long as I can remember. We had no camera back then, so I only have the pictures from our recent rides. Each ride to the island of Khortitsa today is like a reunion with my childhood and my father's care.

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • The World According to Herr Willie: Gardens by the Bay, Singapore

    written by wil6ka on 2015-07-03 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: Gardens by the Bay, Singapore

    Singapore, like Kuala Lumpur and Hong Kong, is a likely stopover when you fly far. The city is a tiny urbanized hub but it's very favorable if you know some high-spirited locals. I was lucky to hook up with king kimbo (@hakimbo), who showed me around. He took my lame limbs to the Gardens by the Bay, an amazing place which was visually striking. I was hugging some artificial trees there when I found a baby—a very big baby.

    2
  • Storytelling with Petzvals: Alex Timmermans and the Art of Collodion

    written by jacobs on 2015-04-03 in #people #lifestyle
    Storytelling with Petzvals: Alex Timmermans and the Art of Collodion

    Not long after Alex Timmermans purchased his first digital camera at the turn of the century, he quickly realized the trappings of digital photography couldn't fulfill his personal photographic desires. He then began searching for a more challenging process — one that wasn't so predictable. His journey eventually landed him back at the roots of analogue photography, specifically employing the wet plate collodion process using original Petzval lenses. This antique photographic process found in him a renewed inspiration and has since become his passion, which is evident in both his words and his images.

    13
  • A Salute to the Masters: Judo (A Tribute to Sabine Weiss)

    written by sirio174 on 2015-04-18 in #world #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Judo (A Tribute to Sabine Weiss)

    This article is a tribute to the street and humanist photographer Sabine Weiss. Considered a living legend in street photography, she likes to photograph daily lives of people, trying to capture the emotions she recognizes around her. Weiss like to photograph people of all ages but she especially loves to take photos of children, masterfully immortalizing their spontaneous gestures and emotions. For this article, I was inspired by one of her rare sports photos of some children practicing judo. Do you want to know more about this great artist? Well, read on!