A Review From the Heart: Why Do I Love My Diana?

6

The Diana F+ is one of my favorite cameras, so if you are expecting objectivity and technicalities, turn the page. This is a blind passionate review, like love! Because I love my Diana F +.

Why? Why do I love a plastic camera, with plastic lens, plastic look, and plastic everything? Tough question, but you know, love is hard to define. So, as a picture is worth a thousand words, I answer this question with some photos I’ve shot with my beloved Diana F+.

If you want to, you can enjoy this article listening this beautiful song.

Because it is beautiful.

Digital drawing of Diana F+ by me :)

Because it works with 120 film…

Credits: susielomovitz

…and also with 35mm!

Credits: susielomovitz

For the vignetting.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because of the colors slipping through its lens.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because of that dreamy blur on the edges of the photos.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because of its interchangeable lenses.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because of its capability to make double exposures.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because of that treacherous but wonderful Bulb mode.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because it leads us to the origins of photography: the Pinhole mode.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because everyone smiles in front of her.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because it lets me play.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because it makes me think.

Credits: susielomovitz

Because it encourages me to create!

(This last reason is illustrated by the photos to come)

Because this basic and wonderful camera has been a great teacher with whom I have learned a lot (a lot!) about photography. With photos as nice as you have seen and many other failures, I have been internalizing photographic concepts that I would never have understood so well by reading a book. It is a camera that requires time, shots that will teach you a little more with each roll you shoot. It’s a fantastic camera!

I love her!

If you want to find out more and more about this camera I recommend you visit the microsite, have a look at its history, it’s fascinating! And if you can stop by a Lomograhy Gallery Store, it’s worth seeing the Diana F+ in actual and ask everything that comes into your mind.

The Diana F+ is a new twist on the ‘60s classic cult camera. Famous for its dreamy and soft-focused images, the Diana F+ is now packed with extra features such as panorama and pinhole capabilities. Available in our Online Shop.

written by susielomovitz on 2012-07-16 in #reviews

6 Comments

  1. eva_eva
    eva_eva ·

    so beautiful!

  2. susielomovitz
    susielomovitz ·

    :)

  3. sudhashunmu
    sudhashunmu ·

    amazing review ......all diana lovers will love it
    Diana F+ is one of my fav cam too .....
    as usual u have given a visual treat too.....

  4. scarletmind
    scarletmind ·

    I have a Diana F+ and I love it too :3

  5. frau_inga
    frau_inga ·

    Lovely camera, amazing shots!

  6. funkky_b
    funkky_b ·

    Great Job ^ . ^ Diana is the Queen !!!

More Interesting Articles

  • The Magical Diana F+

    written by adi_totp on 2014-10-07 in #reviews
    The Magical Diana F+

    "Magical" here means that every time I use the Diana F+, the results are always beyond both my expectations and imagination. That's why I always use it when I feel like doing something different. It has never failed me since day one; I even always bring this camera during my trips!

    6
  • Perfect Combination: Fuji Instax Mini Film and the Diana Instant Back

    written by dermanu on 2014-03-19 in #lifestyle
    Perfect Combination: Fuji Instax Mini Film and the Diana Instant Back

    Just recently I asked myself why I would want to write about a film like the Fuji Instax Mini, because usually this film is the only one available for Fuji Instax cameras. But then it hit me! It can be an alternative to many other instant films, since I can load almost any film into my Diana F+, other medium and 135 format cameras, and of course the Fuji Instax Mini.

  • Diana F+ Part 1 The Camera: A Dozen of Possibilities

    written by dopa on 2014-06-27 in #reviews
    Diana F+  Part 1 The Camera: A Dozen of Possibilities

    The original Diana F is a plastic beauty from 1960s Hong Kong. The Diana F+ is a reinterpretation, which is in no way inferior to the old Diana. It´s so versatile with all the optional accessories and lenses like no other lomography camera. And because of this, I will show you what makes this camera so special.

    3
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    written by maliha on 2015-01-07 in #world #locations
    Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    If you want to know the heart of a person, peek inside his/her wardrobe! And no, nobody famous said that; I only just made it up. But really, don't you think it's true? After all, the way we dress screams our personality; at least for most of us. And that is why, as soon as I land on a new city, one of the things I absolutely must do is find the local boutiques. Sure, I love the fancy chain boutiques as much as the next person, but there's just something else about a local clothing store. It's unique!

  • Lomo'Instant: Walk In the City

    written by ldelaurentiis on 2014-11-04 in #lifestyle
    Lomo'Instant: Walk In the City

    Going away for the weekend is always fun, especially if, like me, you live abroad and go back to visit your home city! For my walk through Milan, I decided to bring with me the Lomo’Instant because well, I just love it! Here are my thoughts after this special weekend!

  • My Pinhole F Cardboard Camera Inspired By the Diana F+ Camera

    written by raypg on 2014-09-05 in #lifestyle
    My Pinhole F Cardboard Camera Inspired By the Diana F+ Camera

    I love the different styles of cameras that Lomography has, but I also like to create my own cardboard cameras that use pinholes to be able to take pictures using traditional film. This time I created the Pinhole F, a camera inspired by the Diana F+ and shoots 12 pinhole photos using 120 film.

    2
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • La Sardina: My Story With My Old Best Friend

    written by abecd on 2014-07-10 in #reviews
    La Sardina: My Story With My Old Best Friend

    This is a story of me and Sardine, my first ever analogue camera. We've been traveling for thousands of miles and met a lot of friends. Even though I have better cameras, Sardine is the one camera that will always be in my heart! So once again, this is my story with Sardine

    2
  • Experiencing the Rainforest Adventure Experience

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-05-17 in #world #locations
    Experiencing the Rainforest Adventure Experience

    When I was a kid, one of my greatest joys was to go to the park. I especially loved playgrounds. It didn't matter how may other children there were, as long as I could have my turn to go on the slide and and sit on the swing. These days, enjoying one's childhood has become so different. Technology has stolen the interest of children in more physically demanding yet fun activities.

    1
  • Loving photos of mothers taken with the queen of retro cool, the Lomography Diana F+!

    written by cheeo on 2014-05-06 in #lifestyle
    Loving photos of mothers taken with the queen of retro cool, the Lomography Diana F+!

    “Send a picture of mother if you can...” as sung by Johnny Cash and why not? Snap lovely portraits with mom this mother’s day with the Diana F+ cameras!

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Krab Underwater Housing: The Little Red Submarine

    written by saidseni on 2014-03-05 in #reviews
    Krab Underwater Housing: The Little Red Submarine

    If you love summer, the beach and your LC-A like I do, you MUST have a Krab Underwater Housing! Don't worry if you don't exactly swim and dive like a fish... it is called Krab for a reason, it works in both land and sea!

    3
  • The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    written by shhquiet on 2014-06-16 in #news
    The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    We're ecstatic to read an in-depth review of the Lomography Petzval Lens, from the cool folks over at The Phoblographer. It's exciting to find out that, like us, they are in-love with the Petzval Lens too, so much that they gave it an impressive 4/5 rating! If you're thinking of getting a Petzval Lens, you'll find this featured review very useful. Check out an excerpt and the link to the full article after the jump!

  • From Russia with Love: Motorama Shoots with the La Sardina Splendour

    written by zonderbar on 2014-08-04 in #people #lomoamigos
    From Russia with Love: Motorama Shoots with the La Sardina Splendour

    I don't know many bands from Russia but one that I've been admiring for years is Motorama from Rostov-on-Don. With catchy tunes and adorable videos, they took my heart by storm and that of fans from all over the world. Because of their Russian origin, Motorama is of course familiar with Lomo products. Reason enough to let them become our latest LomoAmigos! Enjoy the interview with singer Vlad and check out their B&W photos, taken with a La Sardina Splendour.