Reviews of the Week

1

Each week, we place the spotlight on some of the most interesting and insightful reviews from the community. Are you itching to find out which ones from the past week made it to the cut? Then, what are you waiting for? Go ahead and read on!

Camera

Our featured camera reviewer michell started his article with a story on how he acquired the gear he wrote about. Since he had a couple of extra Olympus Trip 35 cameras, he put them up for sale and was offered a trade for them, landing him an Olympus OM-10 in perfect condition. Later, he also managed to find a flash and some lenses to play around with the OM-10. He got really lucky, don’t you think?

Finding the Olympus OM-10 an “amazingly easy camera to shoot” with, he shared some beautiful monochrome photos, which are a testament to what the camera to shoot, and also how much our featured lomographer had fun snapping around with it!

Photos by michell

Head over to his full review to learn more about this camera and see more of his beautiful photos!

Film

For this week’s film review on spotlight, we bring you some insights from lomographer brandkow93 on Kodak HIE, a rare and lauded infrared film which he managed to find in a film bundle he purchased off ebay. Unfortunately, those of us who would like to give it a try may find it difficult to get this film. “Now discontinued, supply is very scarce and shooting a roll is a privilege,” our lomographer says in his review.

Calling it the “undisputed king of infrared film,” he shows us the photos he took with this film and his Minolta X-700, shot on a sunny day:

Photos by brandkow93

What a beautifully glowy and ethereal set, don’t you guys think? Check out his full review to learn more about this film and see more of the dreamy photos!

Congratulations to our two lomographer-authors! Join us again next week as we continue to give recognition to the notable reviews of our fellow lomographers on the amazing analogue goodies they come across with!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera/film/accessory review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-07-07 in #reviews #camera-review #reviews-of-the-week #lomography #film-review #user-review

One Comment

  1. brandkow93
    brandkow93 ·

    Yaaayyyy review of the week :D
    FOR SALE!!! LC-A refurbished, bought two weeks ago so has 1 year and 50 weeks of warantee left, message me if you interested.

More Interesting Articles

  • Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    written by jacobs on 2015-02-10 in #gear #news
    Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    Are you still looking for that perfect treat for your loved one this Valentine's Day? Then you've come to the right place, my friend — we've extended our Valentine's deals until the end of the week! Which means you have extra time to get lucky in all things love and Lomography. Quit dodging Cupid's arrows and get in on these sweet deals right now!

  • Lomography Spinner 360: The selfie camera

    written by simonesavo on 2014-05-06 in #reviews
    Lomography Spinner 360: The selfie camera

    If you too are fond of scenic shots and even if you cannot help but capture every place in 360º, then the Spinner 360º is the one that is right for you. Read on to find out more.

    2
  • Top Shoutbox Users of April 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-05-11 in #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of April 2014

    We are turning the spotlight on this tiny box made for our Community's most random thoughts, comments, suggestions, rants, and just about anything under the sun!

    3
  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Shoot wider and bigger with this new instax camera that has film format twice the size of the instax mini films!

  • Teufelsberg: The Architecture of Espionage

    written by wil6ka on 2015-03-04 in #world #locations
    Teufelsberg: The Architecture of Espionage

    The spying globes on Teufelsberg are the not-so-secret insider tip for Berlin’s urban ruins and interesting freak show architecture. Even if you’re reluctant, one thing's for sure: the “Devil’s Mountain” is just plain awesome. The torn-up globe structures of the former military territory are just waiting to be conquered by lomographers… so what are you waiting for?

    14
  • LomoGuru of the Week: marta1901

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-07-13 in #lifestyle
    LomoGuru of the Week: marta1901

    Our LomoGuru spotlight turns to this lovely lady from Madrid, Spain popular for her exquisite portraiture. Meet the passionate and extraordinary Marta Huguet Cuadrado, or marta1901 in the Community, our LomoGuru of the Week!

    36
  • Fresh From the Lab: Sicilian Dance and Music

    written by sirio174 on 2014-05-13 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: Sicilian Dance and Music

    Yesterday I picked up from my trusty photography shop in Como a developed and scanned color film roll containing images of the Sicilian festival held on May 1 at the city's historical center. A few hours ago, I made some scans of these images, which I'm pleased to show you in this article! Read more after the jump!

  • Shop News

    Lomo Instant Boston

    Lomo Instant Boston

    Here is another way to enjoy analogue experience and capture great memories in an instant! This package includes the best creative lenses for your LomoInstant camera!

  • Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-27 in #news
    Top Photo Uploaders of 2014

    We'd like to thank everyone for continuously capturing precious moments on photographs and sharing them with all of us. Each of your photographs and albums brought happiness and inspiration to everyone in the community. These lomographers take the spotlight for their ceaseless passion for photography and for their generosity in sharing every step of their analogue adventure. Meet our top photo uploaders of 2014.

    5
  • Fresh and Crisp Square Lomographs from the US and UK Taken with the LC-A 120

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-31 in #lifestyle
    Fresh and Crisp Square Lomographs from the US and UK Taken with the LC-A 120

    The LC-A 120 is set to be shipped out to their lucky owners 'round the holidays. You're probably itching to see more from this camera, so here are some of the latest sample shots to help you guys tide over until then!

  • Top 5 Album Covers Designed by Famous Artists

    written by chooolss on 2014-06-19 in #lifestyle
    Top 5 Album Covers Designed by Famous Artists

    It has been proven time and again that some of the most interesting and creative collaborations are produced by art and music. For this week's list, in no particular order, we're putting the spotlight on five albums whose cover art were specially designed by well-known artists!

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • LC-A Goes To: Saint Petersburg, Russia

    written by chooolss on 2014-06-05 in #world #locations
    LC-A Goes To: Saint Petersburg, Russia

    As the iconic LC-A celebrates its 30th birthday this month, we think it's only timely that we look back to Lomography's roots and shine the spotlight on the camera's birthplace, Saint Petersburg. If you haven't been there yourself, or if you have and simply wanted to be reminded of the beauty of the place, we've compiled a few select lomographs taken using no less than the LC-A by our community members!

  • LomoGuru of the Week: mapix

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-06-15 in #lifestyle
    LomoGuru of the Week: mapix

    This week's LomoGuru is perhaps one of the most active members of our Community. Aside from regularly updating his LomoHome with wonderful photographs, he also sets aside time to meet and share insights with his fellow lomographers by attending various lomowalks and lomo-exhibitions. Let's cheer for our latest LomoGuru from Germany, Christoph Maas, also known in the Community as mapix!

    16
  • Watch: 'One Day In A Lomo'Instant' Video

    written by shhquiet on 2014-06-17 in #news
    Watch: 'One Day In A Lomo'Instant' Video

    A lot happens in a day, made up of those little moments that we usually take for granted. So we asked some of our friends from the Lomography team to capture some instant photos throughout one day, using the Lomo'Instant Camera. The result? A collection of memories that they could catch, hold, and cherish forever. We compiled their instant moments into a cool video, which you can check out after the cut!