Reviews of the Week

2

Were you looking forward to the previous week's featured reviews? The wait is now over, so read on to find out which camera, film, and accessory reviews made it to last week's notable reviews!

Camera

We saw several noteworthy reviews last week, but we bet many will agree that the 2-part review on the wide-angle Vivitar family by lomographer gvelasco was rather interesting. We’ve seen a lot of reviews on various Vivitar cameras in the past, but this is perhaps the most in-depth of all the comparisons between all the wide-angled members of the family.

In Part 1, our featured reviewer introduces us to the four cameras—Vivitar Ultra Wide and Slim, Vivitar IC 100, Vivitar CV35, and Vivitar PN2011—and tells us about their features. In Part 2, he takes them cameras for a test and shows us the results, leaving us to decide which of them takes the best photos.

Photos taken using each camera featured in our lomographer’s two-part review.

So, go ahead and check out both parts if you want to know more about the wide-angled Vivitars!

Film

In our next featured review, lomographer sudhashunmu shared with us some picturesque snaps taken using an expired slide film: Fuji Provia 100F, loaded in the LC-A+. But, instead of vibrant blues and greens, we see a rather muted, but nevertheless beautiful blue drenching her photos of Venice. It was actually a gamble that our lomographer shot this expired film during an overcast day, since we all know that ISO 100 films are best shot during sunny days. Take a look at some of the best snaps from the set in her review:

Want to see more of sudhashunmu’s expired Provia photos? Check out the full review to find out more and see more of her Venice snaps!

Accessory

Last but not least, our featured accessory review from last week tells about the LC-A+ Wide Angle Lens, which our featured lomographer-reviewer, dearjme, regarded as a cheaper alternative to buying a new LC-Wide (well, at least for those who own an LC-A+). As wider is sometimes better, the LC-Wide no doubt garnered many lovers and followers, but dearjme finds that the LC-A+ Wide Angle Lens is likewise able to take some interestingly wide photos:

Credits: dearjme

Find out more about this wide-eyed LC-A+ accessory and the photos that it can take in our featured lomographer’s full review!

Congratulations to our lomographer-authors! Each of them will be awarded with 10 Piggies for their insightful reviews from last week! Join us again next week as we continue to give recognition to the notable reviews of our fellow lomographers on the amazing analogue goodies they come across with!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera/film/accessory review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-06-25 in #reviews

2 Comments

  1. dearjme
    dearjme ·

    Yay! Thank you :)

  2. sudhashunmu
    sudhashunmu ·

    lovely thanks a ton

More Interesting Articles

  • Kino Stories: 'Good Morning Good Bye' by cyberoctopus

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-20 in #lifestyle
    Kino Stories: 'Good Morning Good Bye' by cyberoctopus

    We all have that place we do not call home, yet feel so strongly connected to that we constantly look forward to returning to it. Check out our featured LomoKino film of the week!

  • Lomo UK Blog Awards 2014: Winners

    written by dribri on 2014-12-11 in #news
    Lomo UK Blog Awards 2014: Winners

    Remember when we featured a great selection at last year's UK Blog Awards? Well, we brought it back to showcase some of the most interesting blogs online! Read on to find out who made the list!

  • Shift School Paris Photo Competition: The Winners

    written by efrost on 2014-11-05 in #competitions
    Shift School Paris Photo Competition: The Winners

    It looks like it’s time to get out the cameras and pack your bags. Together with the Shift School Dresden, we offered amazing prizes, including an insider trip to Paris, where you can take part in photography courses and visit the world-famous Paris Photo Tradeshow. Of course, there’s also a ton of Lomography prizes at stake like cameras, accessories and film so that the winner can capture memories from the trip on film. And now to announce the winners!

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • December 13th Advent Offer: Take Advantage of our Festive 3 For 2 Film Deals! (Online Code: 3FOR2HOLIDAYFILM)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-13 in #news
    December 13th Advent Offer: Take Advantage of our Festive 3 For 2 Film Deals!  (Online Code: 3FOR2HOLIDAYFILM)

    Have you been waiting for a good time to load up on films for all your treasured analogue cameras? The time has come with our stunning Advent deal of the day! With our sweet film packs, we make it easy to cache away enough to last the fun and festive parties coming up. Start stashing now by heading over to our Online Shop!

  • LomoAmigo Alison Scarpulla Shoots With The LC-Wide

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-04-28 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigo Alison Scarpulla Shoots With The LC-Wide

    Alison Scarpulla is an enormously talented photographer from the USA who utilizes experimental techniques such as multiple exposures and film soaking to create surreal, evocative and emotional shots. After previously featuring some of her work in the Lomography magazine, we were ecstatic that she accepted our offer to shoot with the LC-Wide to create some brand new photos. Read on for our exclusive interview with the woman behind such amazing photos, which you will see after the jump!

    3
  • The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    written by shhquiet on 2014-06-16 in #news
    The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    We're ecstatic to read an in-depth review of the Lomography Petzval Lens, from the cool folks over at The Phoblographer. It's exciting to find out that, like us, they are in-love with the Petzval Lens too, so much that they gave it an impressive 4/5 rating! If you're thinking of getting a Petzval Lens, you'll find this featured review very useful. Check out an excerpt and the link to the full article after the jump!

  • Shop News

    Get 20% off on the Lomography Experimental Lens Kit

    Get 20% off on the Lomography Experimental Lens Kit

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras.

  • Top Five Movies Inspired by Poems

    written by chooolss on 2014-04-03 in #lifestyle
    Top Five Movies Inspired by Poems

    Movies based on literature isn’t a new concept, sure, and the last decade or so alone saw an influx of book adaptations. But have you ever pondered on just how many of these were inspired by poems? Have a look at our list for this week, and find out if you’ve already seen any of them!

  • Lomopedia: Konica Wai Wai

    written by cheeo on 2014-08-13 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Konica Wai Wai

    Wide-angle shooters will surely like this one. Made to be a disposable camera, the modification-ready Konica Wai Wai has made many film photography enthusiasts swoon with its distinctive wide-angle shooting and remarkable effects. Read on to find out more about this peculiar-looking camera in this installment of Lomopedia.

    2
  • Lomopedia: Petri 7s

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-04-03 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Petri 7s

    Made and introduced in 1962, the Petri 7s is a 35mm rangefinder camera that featured several important improvements from the previous model. Find out more about this analogue beauty from the 1960s in this installment of Lomopedia!

  • Shop News

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    You’ve shouted your analogue love from the rooftops and worn your heart on your sleeve – Now it’s time to take it to the next level and wear it on your skin! Our new Lomography Tattoos are fun, easy to apply and come in five designs.

  • Top Five Rediscovered Paintings

    written by chooolss on 2014-08-14 in #lifestyle
    Top Five Rediscovered Paintings

    This week's list features works of art previously believed to be either fakes or works of lesser known artists, but were eventually proven to be paintings by some of the most celebrated artists in history. Have a look!

    1
  • Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-04 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    Its compact size, features that allow ample room for creativity, and undeniably gorgeous looks have got many lomographers smitten. Read on and see what five of our community members have to say about the charming Diana Mini!

    2
  • Lomopedia: Nikon L35 AF

    written by cheeo on 2014-10-08 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Nikon L35 AF

    Nikon dubbed this autofocus camera “Pikaichi,” which means “top-notch” in Japanese. Curious about the reason behind the nickname? Read on to find out.

    1