Kodak Ektar (35mm, 100 iso) User-Review

14

There have been a few reviews of Ektar so far, but here is something I haven't seen yet: This is Ektar Xpro'ed!

For this one I decided to play around a bit with my Ektar. I have two rolls in the gallery: one went through my Holga WPC, the other through my Pentacon Penti II. Both were processed in E6 and pushed two stops. If you decide to try this, don’t forget to push at least two stops, otherwise you’ll end up with extremely low contrast negatives.

Ektar is finicky, real finicky about exposure when cross processed – you may even want to underexpose by a half stop or so. When overexposed it explodes in crazy shades of mint green and peach, but when the exposure is kept under tight reigns the results are quite cool!

The fine grain is apparent even when cross processed – you’d never know that some of the gallery pictures are done on a half frame camera.

I have a final roll of Ektar sitting in my fridge, and it’s definitely getting the same treatment as these two!

written by eggzakly on 2009-09-06 in #reviews #35mm #holga #cars #mint #pinhole #xpro #half-frame #push-processing #kodak #penti-ii #cross-processed #ektar #vintage #peach #denmark #c41-in-e6

14 Comments

  1. ethermoon
    ethermoon ·

    wow! this one totally rocks! i wonder how does E6 works on Lucky, Fujicolor and other cheap films out there...

  2. anarchy
    anarchy ·

    AWESOME!!! =D

  3. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    Wow these colors really went buck wild. Thanks for doing an alternative film review.

  4. ilovemydiana
    ilovemydiana ·

    goog color

  5. disdis
    disdis ·

    What a great gallery and review!

  6. migueld
    migueld ·

    AMAZING

  7. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    it has a touch of expired instax films underexposed. =)

  8. azurblue
    azurblue ·

    Gorgeous !

  9. larslau
    larslau ·

    Great review...

    @ethermoon: From my experiences color negative films almost always get that 'peachy' look from being cross-processed.

  10. makeyuu
    makeyuu ·

    this is the kind of film id like..

  11. eggzakly
    eggzakly ·

    Thanks guys! Yes, C41 films often get peach (or pinkish) highlights when cross processed in e6. You don't always see the minty greens, though, deep blues seem to be a little more common.

  12. stouf
    stouf ·

    Excellent ! I love E6 X-pro ! And you inspired me already, I'm trying it these days... 8D

  13. eggzakly
    eggzakly ·

    And did you all notice the Lomo-cup on Goldarella's bumper? ;)

  14. disasterarea
    disasterarea ·

    far out colors

More Interesting Articles

  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    written by wil6ka on 2015-04-09 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    It was the Amazon which I had longed for my whole life. And when it was finally a set deal that I will travel to Brazil with two of my best friends for the Copa do Mundo (World Cup), we really had to start our adventure in the Amazon. I had known about this magical place deep in the rainforest. There was a lodge run by local people of indigenous background, with wooden houses that float on the water and a limited number of visitors. It was eco-tourism as how it should be. To preserve and to celebrate one of the most impressive locations I have seen so far.

    9
  • A Review of the Bronica S2A

    written by Alexandra Pillet on 2015-06-22 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Bronica S2A

    Big, big fish we have here. But this heavy, noisy body hides a sensitive heart which just needs a bit of light to open itself.

    1
  • My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-11-12 in #gear #tipster
    My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    I backed the Kickstarter project for the Lomo’Instant earlier this year and was thrilled to receive it last week. I love how the camera naturally encourages you to experiment with its different features, whether it’s through flashing your multiple exposures with different colors or trying different creative techniques after your shots has been ejected. Here are a few tips from what I’ve discovered from playing with the camera so far (and a couple of tips I want to try out in future)!

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • What Photography and Tech Websites are Saying About the New LC-A 120

    written by chooolss on 2014-09-25 in #news
    What Photography and Tech Websites are Saying About the New LC-A 120

    It's only been a few weeks since we launched the newest member of the LC-A family, yet the Internet has already been abuzz with much talk about it. We're thrilled to see all the coverage that photography and tech websites and blogs have given the LC-A 120, so we've rounded up some of them to share with you right here!

  • Vintage NASA Photographs on Exhibit in London

    written by chooolss on 2014-09-17 in #news
    Vintage NASA Photographs on Exhibit in London

    Outer space is an awe-inspiring, wondrous thing, yet it's something that only a lucky few of us would ever see firsthand. Thankfully, we've been getting glimpses of its beauty through photographs captured by those sent out to various missions.

  • My Year in Analogue: The Travel Issue

    written by roxyvonschlotterstein on 2015-01-29 in #lifestyle
    My Year in Analogue: The Travel Issue

    2014 has been a year of many travels for me. Lucky, I know. Let me show you a few photos that I have taken during my adventures far away from home.

    4
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Travel Stories: The Bolivian Highlands by lonur

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-25 in #world #locations
    Travel Stories: The Bolivian Highlands by lonur

    My wife and I suffered a family loss in October 2013 so we decided to shift things around and have a celebration of life—a wedding, actually—to associate our loss with the beginning of something positive and memorable. We have been together for nearly 13 years and after getting married, we headed off on a three-month trip to South America and a few other stops to complete a round-the-world loop back to Australia.

    11
  • 12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    written by Maaike van Stratum on 2015-04-12 in #world #lifestyle
    12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    My list of resolutions for 2015 consists of 12 projects, one for every month. March was for caffenol. You have probably heard of the amazing fact that you can develop black and white photos with coffee, sodium, and vitamin C. I had tried this before but with less than stellar results. Somehow, there's always something going wrong. Time to devote a few rolls to caffenol to finally get the hang of it.

    1
  • Fresh from the LomoLab: My Summer at a Campsite

    written by sirio174 on 2014-09-23 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the LomoLab: My Summer at a Campsite

    I prefer being outdoors whenever I go on a vacation at the seaside. For this reason, I always choose to stay at a campsite instead of a hotel. This year, I stayed at a beautiful one in the south of Italy. Here is a series of photos which I received a few days ago from the excellent LomoLab service, taken with my Sprocket Rocket. Have a look after the jump!

    2
  • Shop News

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Snap dazzling 35mm fisheye shots at the push of a button with this shimmery blue lightweight beauty.

  • Lomography Diana Tips + Tricks

    written by joellep on 2014-09-27 in #gear #tipster
    Lomography Diana Tips + Tricks

    I have been using the Diana extensively for the past two years. It was actually the camera that got my into film photography (something that I am so grateful for). So I have compiled a list of Diana tips for y’all…

    3
  • Loving the Lomo'instant!

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-01-16 in #news
    Loving the Lomo'instant!

    It's only been a few months since the lovely Lomo'instant camera was officially launched online and in the Lomography stores. Since then this Instant compact camera has been flying off the shelves. You've all been busy experimenting and uploading your amazing shots so we've decided show you some of the best shots out there to inspire you to get creative!

  • How To Boost Your Creativity With The Nikon F2

    written by Alexandra Pillet on 2015-06-25 in #gear #tipster
    How To Boost Your Creativity With The Nikon F2

    I have been the owner of a Nikon F2 for six months. Known as one of the most powerful, all-mechanical 35mm SLRs, it is indeed the type of camera that will follow you at world’s end.

    1