Kodak Ektar (35mm, 100 iso) User-Review

14

There have been a few reviews of Ektar so far, but here is something I haven't seen yet: This is Ektar Xpro'ed!

For this one I decided to play around a bit with my Ektar. I have two rolls in the gallery: one went through my Holga WPC, the other through my Pentacon Penti II. Both were processed in E6 and pushed two stops. If you decide to try this, don’t forget to push at least two stops, otherwise you’ll end up with extremely low contrast negatives.

Ektar is finicky, real finicky about exposure when cross processed – you may even want to underexpose by a half stop or so. When overexposed it explodes in crazy shades of mint green and peach, but when the exposure is kept under tight reigns the results are quite cool!

The fine grain is apparent even when cross processed – you’d never know that some of the gallery pictures are done on a half frame camera.

I have a final roll of Ektar sitting in my fridge, and it’s definitely getting the same treatment as these two!

written by eggzakly on 2009-09-06 in #reviews

14 Comments

  1. ethermoon
    ethermoon ·

    wow! this one totally rocks! i wonder how does E6 works on Lucky, Fujicolor and other cheap films out there...

  2. anarchy
    anarchy ·

    AWESOME!!! =D

  3. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    Wow these colors really went buck wild. Thanks for doing an alternative film review.

  4. ilovemydiana
    ilovemydiana ·

    goog color

  5. disdis
    disdis ·

    What a great gallery and review!

  6. migueld
    migueld ·

    AMAZING

  7. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    it has a touch of expired instax films underexposed. =)

  8. azurblue
    azurblue ·

    Gorgeous !

  9. larslau
    larslau ·

    Great review...

    @ethermoon: From my experiences color negative films almost always get that 'peachy' look from being cross-processed.

  10. makeyuu
    makeyuu ·

    this is the kind of film id like..

  11. eggzakly
    eggzakly ·

    Thanks guys! Yes, C41 films often get peach (or pinkish) highlights when cross processed in e6. You don't always see the minty greens, though, deep blues seem to be a little more common.

  12. stouf
    stouf ·

    Excellent ! I love E6 X-pro ! And you inspired me already, I'm trying it these days... 8D

  13. eggzakly
    eggzakly ·

    And did you all notice the Lomo-cup on Goldarella's bumper? ;)

  14. disasterarea
    disasterarea ·

    far out colors

More Interesting Articles

  • Monday Moodboard: 1990s Summertime

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-05-19 in #news
    Monday Moodboard: 1990s Summertime

    It's been a boiling, scorching, baking hot summer here in the Philippines since March, and believe it or not, I haven't been to the beach yet. I'm going to do something about that, but not without making another playlist for the trip! This time, I decided to make a mix inspired by the summer vacations of my younger days.

  • My Day in Analogue: Weekends in Bandung

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-03 in #lifestyle
    My Day in Analogue: Weekends in Bandung

    Hello, fellow lomographers! To be honest, ever since I started working last year, I haven't been able to write a single analogue lifestyle piece. But today I decided to write something about my days, especially about my weekend in Bandung. It's not much but I take it as the start of a new beginning in writing all over again here. So, here's my weekend in Bandung!

    2
  • Solo Biking Routes: Ubud in Bali, Indonesia

    written by adi_totp on 2014-07-30 in #world #locations
    Solo Biking Routes: Ubud in Bali, Indonesia

    Have you all watched "Eat, Pray, Love"? I was inspired by Julia Roberts, who rode a bicycle in that movie, so I decided to rent one and try it myself! This happened two years ago but I still remember my biking route. To all of you who haven't been to Ubud, I think you should visit the place and try to go around in a bicycle!

    7
  • Shop News

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    You’ve shouted your analogue love from the rooftops and worn your heart on your sleeve – Now it’s time to take it to the next level and wear it on your skin! Our new Lomography Tattoos are fun, easy to apply and come in five designs.

  • Unprecedented Project CenturyCamera To Document Berlin's Growth in the Next 100 Years

    written by chooolss on 2014-05-12 in #news
    Unprecedented Project CenturyCamera To Document Berlin's Growth in the Next 100 Years

    With a planned exposure time of 100 years, CenturyCamera is certainly nothing like we've seen in the history of photography so far. Read more about Jonathon Keats' groundbreaking project after the jump!

    1
  • The Lomo'Instant x Kickstarter Project Ends Soon - Last Chance to Pledge!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-06-24 in #news
    The Lomo'Instant x Kickstarter Project Ends Soon - Last Chance to Pledge!

    Thank you to everyone so far that has extended their support to our Lomo'Instant Camera x Kickstarter project. To those who haven't pledged, we would like to remind you that you have a few days left to take advantage of great savings and exclusive rewards. The Lomo'Instant x Kickstarter Project ends on Friday (27th June) so act fast!

  • My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-11-12 in #gear #tipster
    My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    I backed the Kickstarter project for the Lomo’Instant earlier this year and was thrilled to receive it last week. I love how the camera naturally encourages you to experiment with its different features, whether it’s through flashing your multiple exposures with different colors or trying different creative techniques after your shots has been ejected. Here are a few tips from what I’ve discovered from playing with the camera so far (and a couple of tips I want to try out in future)!

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • What Photography and Tech Websites are Saying About the New LC-A 120

    written by chooolss on 2014-09-25 in #news
    What Photography and Tech Websites are Saying About the New LC-A 120

    It's only been a few weeks since we launched the newest member of the LC-A family, yet the Internet has already been abuzz with much talk about it. We're thrilled to see all the coverage that photography and tech websites and blogs have given the LC-A 120, so we've rounded up some of them to share with you right here!

  • Vintage NASA Photographs on Exhibit in London

    written by chooolss on 2014-09-17 in #news
    Vintage NASA Photographs on Exhibit in London

    Outer space is an awe-inspiring, wondrous thing, yet it's something that only a lucky few of us would ever see firsthand. Thankfully, we've been getting glimpses of its beauty through photographs captured by those sent out to various missions.

  • Film Manipulation: Kodak Slides and Bleach

    written by neonlights on 2014-07-30 in #gear #tipster
    Film Manipulation: Kodak Slides and Bleach

    I want to share with you my experience with some slides when I was in Russia. I'm very sorry for them because I messed them up. They're just ruined and they'll never be the same! But hey, I have thousands of them, so I guess it's not a big deal after all.

    4
  • Shop News

    Change the View in an Instant

    Change the View in an Instant

    Extend the Borders of Instant Photography with the World’s Most Creative Instant Camera System Packed With Fun Features and say hello to the Lomo'Instant Camera! The Lomo'Instant is the perfectly sized Instant Camera to take wherever you go! It’s the most creative way to shoot fantastic photos which you can share anywhere and with everyone in an instant.

  • Pee Film Soak By Brigette Bloom

    written by chooolss on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    Pee Film Soak By Brigette Bloom

    Photographer Brigette Bloom's series "Float On" and her rather unusual film soak recipe has been making the rounds in the Internet recently. But just in case you haven't seen it yet, Brigette has given us the green light to republish her recipe right here in the magazine's Tipster section! As she has so rightly put it, "Let’s all support each other and spread the creative energy!" Check out Brigette's tipster right after the cut!

    5
  • My Year in Analogue: The Travel Issue

    written by roxyvonschlotterstein on 2015-01-29 in #lifestyle
    My Year in Analogue: The Travel Issue

    2014 has been a year of many travels for me. Lucky, I know. Let me show you a few photos that I have taken during my adventures far away from home.

    2
  • Agfa CT Precisa 100: Simply Perfect For Street Photography

    written by abecd on 2014-08-28 in #reviews
    Agfa CT Precisa 100: Simply Perfect For Street Photography

    There are a lot of reviews about this film which mostly mention its blue hues, among other precious qualities. But do you know that it is also a perfect film for candid street photography?

    1