Kodak Ektar (35mm, 100 iso) User-Review

14

There have been a few reviews of Ektar so far, but here is something I haven't seen yet: This is Ektar Xpro'ed!

For this one I decided to play around a bit with my Ektar. I have two rolls in the gallery: one went through my Holga WPC, the other through my Pentacon Penti II. Both were processed in E6 and pushed two stops. If you decide to try this, don’t forget to push at least two stops, otherwise you’ll end up with extremely low contrast negatives.

Ektar is finicky, real finicky about exposure when cross processed – you may even want to underexpose by a half stop or so. When overexposed it explodes in crazy shades of mint green and peach, but when the exposure is kept under tight reigns the results are quite cool!

The fine grain is apparent even when cross processed – you’d never know that some of the gallery pictures are done on a half frame camera.

I have a final roll of Ektar sitting in my fridge, and it’s definitely getting the same treatment as these two!

written by eggzakly on 2009-09-06 in #reviews #denmark #vintage #xpro #mint #holga #pinhole #cars #push-processing #peach #ektar #penti-ii #kodak #cross-processed #half-frame #c41-in-e6 #35mm

14 Comments

  1. ethermoon
    ethermoon ·

    wow! this one totally rocks! i wonder how does E6 works on Lucky, Fujicolor and other cheap films out there...

  2. anarchy
    anarchy ·

    AWESOME!!! =D

  3. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    Wow these colors really went buck wild. Thanks for doing an alternative film review.

  4. ilovemydiana
    ilovemydiana ·

    goog color

  5. disdis
    disdis ·

    What a great gallery and review!

  6. migueld
    migueld ·

    AMAZING

  7. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    it has a touch of expired instax films underexposed. =)

  8. azurblue
    azurblue ·

    Gorgeous !

  9. larslau
    larslau ·

    Great review...

    @ethermoon: From my experiences color negative films almost always get that 'peachy' look from being cross-processed.

  10. makeyuu
    makeyuu ·

    this is the kind of film id like..

  11. eggzakly
    eggzakly ·

    Thanks guys! Yes, C41 films often get peach (or pinkish) highlights when cross processed in e6. You don't always see the minty greens, though, deep blues seem to be a little more common.

  12. stouf
    stouf ·

    Excellent ! I love E6 X-pro ! And you inspired me already, I'm trying it these days... 8D

  13. eggzakly
    eggzakly ·

    And did you all notice the Lomo-cup on Goldarella's bumper? ;)

  14. disasterarea
    disasterarea ·

    far out colors

More Interesting Articles

  • My Day in Analogue: Weekends in Bandung

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-03 in #lifestyle
    My Day in Analogue: Weekends in Bandung

    Hello, fellow lomographers! To be honest, ever since I started working last year, I haven't been able to write a single analogue lifestyle piece. But today I decided to write something about my days, especially about my weekend in Bandung. It's not much but I take it as the start of a new beginning in writing all over again here. So, here's my weekend in Bandung!

    2
  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    written by wil6ka on 2015-04-09 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    It was the Amazon which I had longed for my whole life. And when it was finally a set deal that I will travel to Brazil with two of my best friends for the Copa do Mundo (World Cup), we really had to start our adventure in the Amazon. I had known about this magical place deep in the rainforest. There was a lodge run by local people of indigenous background, with wooden houses that float on the water and a limited number of visitors. It was eco-tourism as how it should be. To preserve and to celebrate one of the most impressive locations I have seen so far.

    9
  • A Review of the Bronica S2A

    written by alexintheskywithdiamonds on 2015-06-22 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Bronica S2A

    Big, big fish we have here. But this heavy, noisy body hides a sensitive heart which just needs a bit of light to open itself.

    1
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-11-12 in #gear #tipster
    My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    I backed the Kickstarter project for the Lomo’Instant earlier this year and was thrilled to receive it last week. I love how the camera naturally encourages you to experiment with its different features, whether it’s through flashing your multiple exposures with different colors or trying different creative techniques after your shots has been ejected. Here are a few tips from what I’ve discovered from playing with the camera so far (and a couple of tips I want to try out in future)!

  • What Photography and Tech Websites are Saying About the New LC-A 120

    written by chooolss on 2014-09-25 in #news
    What Photography and Tech Websites are Saying About the New LC-A 120

    It's only been a few weeks since we launched the newest member of the LC-A family, yet the Internet has already been abuzz with much talk about it. We're thrilled to see all the coverage that photography and tech websites and blogs have given the LC-A 120, so we've rounded up some of them to share with you right here!

  • Vintage NASA Photographs on Exhibit in London

    written by chooolss on 2014-09-17 in #news
    Vintage NASA Photographs on Exhibit in London

    Outer space is an awe-inspiring, wondrous thing, yet it's something that only a lucky few of us would ever see firsthand. Thankfully, we've been getting glimpses of its beauty through photographs captured by those sent out to various missions.

  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Pee Film Soak By Brigette Bloom

    written by chooolss on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    Pee Film Soak By Brigette Bloom

    Photographer Brigette Bloom's series "Float On" and her rather unusual film soak recipe has been making the rounds in the Internet recently. But just in case you haven't seen it yet, Brigette has given us the green light to republish her recipe right here in the magazine's Tipster section! As she has so rightly put it, "Let’s all support each other and spread the creative energy!" Check out Brigette's tipster right after the cut!

    5
  • My Year in Analogue: The Travel Issue

    written by roxyvonschlotterstein on 2015-01-29 in #lifestyle
    My Year in Analogue: The Travel Issue

    2014 has been a year of many travels for me. Lucky, I know. Let me show you a few photos that I have taken during my adventures far away from home.

    4
  • Agfa CT Precisa 100: Simply Perfect For Street Photography

    written by abecd on 2014-08-28 in #reviews
    Agfa CT Precisa 100: Simply Perfect For Street Photography

    There are a lot of reviews about this film which mostly mention its blue hues, among other precious qualities. But do you know that it is also a perfect film for candid street photography?

    1
  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • 12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    written by Maaike van Stratum on 2015-04-12 in #world #lifestyle
    12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    My list of resolutions for 2015 consists of 12 projects, one for every month. March was for caffenol. You have probably heard of the amazing fact that you can develop black and white photos with coffee, sodium, and vitamin C. I had tried this before but with less than stellar results. Somehow, there's always something going wrong. Time to devote a few rolls to caffenol to finally get the hang of it.

    1
  • Fresh from the LomoLab: My Summer at a Campsite

    written by sirio174 on 2014-09-23 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the LomoLab: My Summer at a Campsite

    I prefer being outdoors whenever I go on a vacation at the seaside. For this reason, I always choose to stay at a campsite instead of a hotel. This year, I stayed at a beautiful one in the south of Italy. Here is a series of photos which I received a few days ago from the excellent LomoLab service, taken with my Sprocket Rocket. Have a look after the jump!

    2
  • Lomography Diana Tips + Tricks

    written by joellep on 2014-09-27 in #gear #tipster
    Lomography Diana Tips + Tricks

    I have been using the Diana extensively for the past two years. It was actually the camera that got my into film photography (something that I am so grateful for). So I have compiled a list of Diana tips for y’all…

    3