Kodak Ektar (35mm, 100 iso) User-Review

12

There have been a few reviews of Ektar so far, but here is something I haven't seen yet: This is Ektar Xpro'ed!

For this one I decided to play around a bit with my Ektar. I have two rolls in the gallery: one went through my Holga WPC, the other through my Pentacon Penti II. Both were processed in E6 and pushed two stops. If you decide to try this, don’t forget to push at least two stops, otherwise you’ll end up with extremely low contrast negatives.

Ektar is finicky, real finicky about exposure when cross processed – you may even want to underexpose by a half stop or so. When overexposed it explodes in crazy shades of mint green and peach, but when the exposure is kept under tight reigns the results are quite cool!

The fine grain is apparent even when cross processed – you’d never know that some of the gallery pictures are done on a half frame camera.

I have a final roll of Ektar sitting in my fridge, and it’s definitely getting the same treatment as these two!

written by eggzakly on 2009-09-06 in #reviews #push-processing #peach #35mm #denmark #c41-in-e6 #holga #cars #penti-ii #xpro #ektar #cross-processed #half-frame #mint #pinhole #vintage #kodak

12 Comments

  1. ethermoon
    ethermoon ·

    wow! this one totally rocks! i wonder how does E6 works on Lucky, Fujicolor and other cheap films out there...

  2. anarchy
    anarchy ·

    AWESOME!!! =D

  3. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    Wow these colors really went buck wild. Thanks for doing an alternative film review.

  4. ilovemydiana
    ilovemydiana ·

    goog color

  5. disdis
    disdis ·

    What a great gallery and review!

  6. migueld
    migueld ·

    AMAZING

  7. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    it has a touch of expired instax films underexposed. =)

  8. azurblue
    azurblue ·

    Gorgeous !

  9. larslau
    larslau ·

    Great review...

    @ethermoon: From my experiences color negative films almost always get that 'peachy' look from being cross-processed.

  10. makeyuu
    makeyuu ·

    this is the kind of film id like..

  11. stouf
    stouf ·

    Excellent ! I love E6 X-pro ! And you inspired me already, I'm trying it these days... 8D

  12. disasterarea
    disasterarea ·

    far out colors

More Interesting Articles

  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    written by wil6ka on 2015-04-09 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    It was the Amazon which I had longed for my whole life. And when it was finally a set deal that I will travel to Brazil with two of my best friends for the Copa do Mundo (World Cup), we really had to start our adventure in the Amazon. I had known about this magical place deep in the rainforest. There was a lodge run by local people of indigenous background, with wooden houses that float on the water and a limited number of visitors. It was eco-tourism as how it should be. To preserve and to celebrate one of the most impressive locations I have seen so far.

    9
  • A Review of the Bronica S2A

    written by Alexandra Pillet on 2015-06-22 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Bronica S2A

    Big, big fish we have here. But this heavy, noisy body hides a sensitive heart which just needs a bit of light to open itself.

    1
  • In Lomographs: Five Eerie Places From Around the World

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-10-30 in #world #locations
    In Lomographs: Five Eerie Places From Around the World

    Fueled by wanderlust, a sense of wonder, and curiosity, lomographers have been through all corners of the world to explore and capture on film everything it has to offer. Lomographers have arguably seen it all—and by all we mean not just the beautiful vistas, but also those places that only the brave ones venture into. Here are but a few of them.

  • Shop News

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    The latest addition to the Lomo’Instant family! Inspired by the Icelandic midnight sky, Get endless creativity, take multiple exposed instant snapshots, experiment with long exposure and light painting shots!

  • Travel Stories: The Bolivian Highlands by lonur

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-08-25 in #world #locations
    Travel Stories: The Bolivian Highlands by lonur

    My wife and I suffered a family loss in October 2013 so we decided to shift things around and have a celebration of life—a wedding, actually—to associate our loss with the beginning of something positive and memorable. We have been together for nearly 13 years and after getting married, we headed off on a three-month trip to South America and a few other stops to complete a round-the-world loop back to Australia.

    11
  • 12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    written by Maaike van Stratum (@stratski) on 2015-04-12 in #world #lifestyle
    12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    My list of resolutions for 2015 consists of 12 projects, one for every month. March was for caffenol. You have probably heard of the amazing fact that you can develop black and white photos with coffee, sodium, and vitamin C. I had tried this before but with less than stellar results. Somehow, there's always something going wrong. Time to devote a few rolls to caffenol to finally get the hang of it.

    1
  • Cinematographer Michal Dabal on the Petzval Lens

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-05 in #people #lifestyle #videos
    Cinematographer Michal Dabal on the Petzval Lens

    Here’s what happens before we interview a photographer. We gush about the work though we have yet to find out the cameras and processes behind the brilliant composition or the light architecture. And even when they haven’t used a Lomo camera, we feature them anyway. But every once in a while comes a pro who uses one of our premium lenses at work and our fun cameras off-duty. This makes us mighty glad, more so when their images are good and worth sharing. We count cinematographer Michal Dabal's work among them.

    1
  • Shop News

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    A resurrection from the zenith of Russian premium optics, get the same elegance and classic compact design as its predecessor. — available in small quantities on a first-come, first-served basis.

  • Magical Moments With the Lomo LC-Wide

    written by azinteimoori on 2016-01-13 in #world #news
    Magical Moments With the Lomo LC-Wide

    There are no smoke and mirrors here! The Lomo LC-Wide is capable of producing enchanting photographs on its own! So we decided to have a look through the Lomography Online Community to find some spectacular snaps. Here are some photographs taken with the LC-Wide that captured a little something magical.

  • How To Boost Your Creativity With The Nikon F2

    written by Alexandra Pillet on 2015-06-25 in #gear #tipster
    How To Boost Your Creativity With The Nikon F2

    I have been the owner of a Nikon F2 for six months. Known as one of the most powerful, all-mechanical 35mm SLRs, it is indeed the type of camera that will follow you at world’s end.

    2
  • Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-19 in #gear #news
    Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    Not all photographs are meant to be seen in vibrant, saturated colors, and neither are they always suitable for in black and white. Lomography welcomes yet another innovation from KONO! The Reanimated Film. Without diminishing the aesthetic value of images, KONO! Donau 35mm Film casts a distinct blue tone to photos. It is ultra-low ISO film that is best used for long exposure shots. Check out this fine selection of uniquely tinted images.

  • Shop News

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Snap your happy memories with the medium format Diana F+ Cortina! This special edition camera is a nod to fun winter holidays: snow-capped mountains, skiing and good times with friends and family!

  • Self to the World: The Photography of Leanne Surfleet

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-17 in #people #lifestyle
    Self to the World: The Photography of Leanne Surfleet

    A self-portrait may take root in confidence, extreme shyness or alternate bouts of each. Leanne Surfleet goes through this kind of fluctuation when the camera is all eyes. The attraction—as far as we’re concerned—is the mix of uncertainty and a kind of quiet poise. And here and there, a flash of skin that is more a mystery than full-on revelation. Even Surfleet’s portraits of other people have the same hushed invite, as if to say questions are encouraged. There we took our cue.

  • Chlorophyll Prints by Binh Danh: An Interview

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-03 in #people #lifestyle
    Chlorophyll Prints by Binh Danh: An Interview

    In the work of Binh Danh, art is space for the unnamed to be seen. When war is the theme every detail counts. How does one person tackle this massive issue, where death and the value of lives intersect? A one-man job becomes a job about other men. And so for his series "Immortality: The Remnants of the Vietnam and American War" he made chlorophyll prints to express the indelible mark of war on various lands. Soldiers and laymen whose faces and records have been archived are given another chance to be remembered.

    1
  • March Workshops and Events at Lomography Chicago

    written by Lomography Chicago on 2015-02-24 in #world #news #events
    March Workshops and Events at Lomography Chicago

    It’s been a long and cold winter but we’re finally getting back into the swing of things here in Chicago. We’ve got a great month of events and workshops coming up, so dust off those cameras that have been sitting around all winter and let’s take some pictures together!