Reviews of the Week

We've made a slight change to the format of the weekly camera, film, and accessory review feature to give you all of them in one go! Find out which of the insightful reviews made it to the cut in this week's installment!

Camera

If you’ve been checking out the Reviews section this week, we’re pretty sure you’ve seen a lot of interesting analogue babies. Among them are three Soviet sisters that one of our featured review authors, adam_g2000, highlighted in his review: Smena 8M, Symbol, and 35!

In his article, our camera reviewer for the week raised an important question: Which Smena? To help fellow lomographers come to a decision (because he took the simple decision of getting all three!), he discussed in detail what makes each model interesting, and provided some photos taken using the three Smenas, both from the community and his own snaps. Let’s take a look at some that he took with the Smena 35:

Credits: adam_g2000

So, do you think our lomographer made the right choice? Why don’t you head over to the full review to read his insights and leave a comment!

Film

Moving on to the next review on the spotlight, we have likewise seen a lot of enticing emulsions this week, ranging from high-speed color negative films to classy monochromes. But the most impressive of them is the fine-grained Kodak Ektar 100, as reviewed by joaomiguelsantoscunha.

One of our featured lomographers cited Kodak’s statement about this color negative film: it has the world’s finest grain. While he admits that he can’t really tell, being new to such technical aspects, the pictures he took clearly affirms the claim. Let’s take a look at some of the beautiful photos:

Photos by joaomiguelsantoscunha

We’re sure you want to see more of his dreamy snaps, so go ahead and check out his full review!

Accessory

For the last in our featured reviews for the week, we have a lone camera accessory reviewed by kf4kco : the Diana Camera Case - Sahara, which he found a nice partner for his all-black Diana F+ clone. " It’s like two cases in one. The bottom case looks very sharp with my all-black Diana Black Jack clone," he says at the beginning of his review.

While his chosen Diana camera case is initially the partner of the Diana F+ Sahara, our accessory reviewer was right that it looks rather stunning with his dark and dashing Diana F+ camera. Our lomographer then outlines the “quirks” of this elegant case and how to handle them, but assures that these only add to its charm and remains a practical protector for any Diana F+ model.

Here are a some snaps of his Diana F+ Black Jack with the Sahara Camera Case:

Photos by kf4kco

Of course, don’t forget to check out the full review for his insights and more photos of his stunning pair!

Congratulations and great job to all three of our featured lomographer-reviewers for this week! Join us again next week as we continue to give recognition to the notable reviews of our fellow lomographers on the amazing analogue goodies they come across with!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera/film/accessory review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-06-09 in #reviews #film-review #accessory-review #lomography #camera-review #user-review #reviews-of-the-week

More Interesting Articles

  • Memorable Quotes From Our 2015 Photographer Interviews (Part I)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-12-19 in #world #lifestyle
    Memorable Quotes From Our 2015 Photographer Interviews (Part I)

    In 2015 we had been fortunate enough to talk with photographers, with practices and insights unique from one another, from all over the globe. And not only were we able to see their works; we were also able to dig a little deeper and find out what makes each one of them tick. In this special recap, we present a handpicked selection of insightful quotes from some of our most memorable interviews this year.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Testing the ONDU Pinhole Camera Around Germany

    written by antoniocastello on 2015-03-01 in #world #reviews
    Testing the ONDU Pinhole Camera Around Germany

    A few months ago, Lomography made available a whole range of pinhole cameras made out of premium wood. Interested in knowing how good they are, I brought the medium format one on my last trip to Germany.

    3
  • Shop News

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    A resurrection from the zenith of Russian premium optics, get the same elegance and classic compact design as its predecessor. — available in small quantities on a first-come, first-served basis.

  • 12 Months, 12 Projects: July - Freelensing Fun

    written by Maaike van Stratum (@stratski) on 2015-08-05 in #gear #tipster
    12 Months, 12 Projects: July - Freelensing Fun

    My 2015 resolution is to do 12 photography projects, one for every month. In July, I tried freelensing or unscrewing the lens from my SLR and holding it in front of the camera body. By tilting the lens slightly I was able to change the focus. For this experiment, I used my Konstruktor and Olympus OM-1.

  • Select Holiday Shipping Deals for Last Minute Shoppers!

    written by Lomography on 2015-12-17 in #gear #news
    Select Holiday Shipping Deals for Last Minute Shoppers!

    Have you been searching for the perfect gift for your loved ones and have yet to find it? Or maybe all of your shopping is done and it's time to treat yourself? Whatever the case may be, you're in luck — we've got awesome holiday shipping deals available around the globe! Depending on what country you order from, any order over €150/£150/$200 may qualify for free express shipping before the cut off dates. Scroll down to see more details!

  • Cinematographer Michal Dabal on the Petzval Lens

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-05 in #people #lifestyle #videos
    Cinematographer Michal Dabal on the Petzval Lens

    Here’s what happens before we interview a photographer. We gush about the work though we have yet to find out the cameras and processes behind the brilliant composition or the light architecture. And even when they haven’t used a Lomo camera, we feature them anyway. But every once in a while comes a pro who uses one of our premium lenses at work and our fun cameras off-duty. This makes us mighty glad, more so when their images are good and worth sharing. We count cinematographer Michal Dabal's work among them.

    1
  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Argus Paul Estabrook's Surreal Work in Paper Cutting

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-02 in #people
    Argus Paul Estabrook's Surreal Work in Paper Cutting

    The characters in Argus Paul Estabrook's work in paper cutting are the stuff nightmares are made of: unusual forms, jagged edges, arms outstretched as if seeking salvation—all emphasized further by the plain white background on which they are placed. Combined, these details paint a picture straight out of Dante Alighieri's "Divine Comedy."

    3
  • Reviews on Rewind: LomoChrome Purple (Part 2)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-30 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: LomoChrome Purple (Part 2)

    With its surreal, psychedelic results that easily remind one of fairy tale-like wonderlands, the LomoChrome Purple has quickly grown to become one of the most popular emulsions in the community. We're giving you that extra push in the form of more community-penned reviews to finally try this film yourself, if you haven't.

  • GrabCAD Lomo'Instant Accessory Challenge Winners Announcement!

    written by givesmehell on 2015-04-28 in #gear #competitions
    GrabCAD Lomo'Instant Accessory Challenge Winners Announcement!

    In February, we hosted a Lomo'Instant Accessory Challenge in collaboration with GrabCAD. The idea of this competition was to stoke the creative ones and encourage them to be bold in experimenting with the accessories that come with Lomography's new instant camera.

    1
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • 18 Awesome Belair X 6-12 Squares

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-13 in #gear #news
    18 Awesome Belair X 6-12 Squares

    Having a Belair X 6-12 feels like owning more than just one camera. It's a medium-format camera, but paired with its special accessories you can shoot 35mm or instant photos with it, too! The versatility of its 3 photo formats also offers more options to suit your shooting needs. Here, we present to you some of the most gorgeous Belair X 6-12 photos in classic 6x6 format. Enjoy!

    11
  • 10 Articles You May Have Missed Last Week

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-08-02 in #world #news #lifestyle
    10 Articles You May Have Missed Last Week

    Cheers to another week of photos and the stories behind them, only here at the Lomography Magazine. In case you missed last week’s most inspiring pieces, we’ve rounded them up for you.

  • 10 Steps to Better Photography with the Diana Mini

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-07-13 in #gear #tipster
    10 Steps to Better Photography with the Diana Mini

    It might be small, but the Diana Mini packs a punch to rival even its big sister Diana. Find out how you can make the most of this shooter in this week's feature!

    3