Reviews of the Week

We've made a slight change to the format of the weekly camera, film, and accessory review feature to give you all of them in one go! Find out which of the insightful reviews made it to the cut in this week's installment!

Camera

If you’ve been checking out the Reviews section this week, we’re pretty sure you’ve seen a lot of interesting analogue babies. Among them are three Soviet sisters that one of our featured review authors, adam_g2000, highlighted in his review: Smena 8M, Symbol, and 35!

In his article, our camera reviewer for the week raised an important question: Which Smena? To help fellow lomographers come to a decision (because he took the simple decision of getting all three!), he discussed in detail what makes each model interesting, and provided some photos taken using the three Smenas, both from the community and his own snaps. Let’s take a look at some that he took with the Smena 35:

Credits: adam_g2000

So, do you think our lomographer made the right choice? Why don’t you head over to the full review to read his insights and leave a comment!

Film

Moving on to the next review on the spotlight, we have likewise seen a lot of enticing emulsions this week, ranging from high-speed color negative films to classy monochromes. But the most impressive of them is the fine-grained Kodak Ektar 100, as reviewed by joaomiguelsantoscunha.

One of our featured lomographers cited Kodak’s statement about this color negative film: it has the world’s finest grain. While he admits that he can’t really tell, being new to such technical aspects, the pictures he took clearly affirms the claim. Let’s take a look at some of the beautiful photos:

Photos by joaomiguelsantoscunha

We’re sure you want to see more of his dreamy snaps, so go ahead and check out his full review!

Accessory

For the last in our featured reviews for the week, we have a lone camera accessory reviewed by kf4kco : the Diana Camera Case - Sahara, which he found a nice partner for his all-black Diana F+ clone. " It’s like two cases in one. The bottom case looks very sharp with my all-black Diana Black Jack clone," he says at the beginning of his review.

While his chosen Diana camera case is initially the partner of the Diana F+ Sahara, our accessory reviewer was right that it looks rather stunning with his dark and dashing Diana F+ camera. Our lomographer then outlines the “quirks” of this elegant case and how to handle them, but assures that these only add to its charm and remains a practical protector for any Diana F+ model.

Here are a some snaps of his Diana F+ Black Jack with the Sahara Camera Case:

Photos by kf4kco

Of course, don’t forget to check out the full review for his insights and more photos of his stunning pair!

Congratulations and great job to all three of our featured lomographer-reviewers for this week! Join us again next week as we continue to give recognition to the notable reviews of our fellow lomographers on the amazing analogue goodies they come across with!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera/film/accessory review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-06-09 in #reviews #camera-review #accessory-review #lomography #reviews-of-the-week #film-review #user-review

More Interesting Articles

  • Dopa and his Weapon of Choice: Diana F+

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-10-23 in #lifestyle
    Dopa and his Weapon of Choice: Diana F+

    Dominik regards the Diana F+ as a system camera because of its versatility and wide range of accessories. Find out what else he likes about this dreamy medium format snapper in this installment of Weapon of Choice!

    2
  • In Focus: Supersampler

    written by cheeo on 2014-07-08 in #lifestyle
    In Focus: Supersampler

    What does it take to be hailed as the “Queen of all Multi-Lens Cameras?” Find out in this instalment of In Focus!

  • Lomopedia: Konica Wai Wai

    written by cheeo on 2014-08-13 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Konica Wai Wai

    Wide-angle shooters will surely like this one. Made to be a disposable camera, the modification-ready Konica Wai Wai has made many film photography enthusiasts swoon with its distinctive wide-angle shooting and remarkable effects. Read on to find out more about this peculiar-looking camera in this installment of Lomopedia.

    2
  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Shoot wider and bigger with this new instax camera that has film format twice the size of the instax mini films!

  • Lomopedia: Zenza Bronica S2

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-04 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Zenza Bronica S2

    The Zenza Bronica S2 is one of the successors of the 6x6 focal plane shutter SLRs from Bronica. Read on to find out more about this nifty medium format SLR in this installment of Lomopedia.

    1
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Shop News

    Summer Inspired Camera at 20% off

    Summer Inspired Camera at 20% off

    The brazilian summer inspired camera is now at 20% off! You can now celebrate life in full color and treasure every culture in a snap! This summer is no exception; make sure you’re prepared to capture all the sporty action with the Fisheye No.2 Brazilian Summer Camera!

  • Lomopedia: Ricoh Singlex

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-05-13 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Ricoh Singlex

    Introduced in 1962, the Singlex was Ricoh's first SLR camera with interchangeable lenses. Interestingly, this analogue beauty happens to have a more popular twin. Find out which in this installment of Lomopedia!

  • Testing the ONDU Pinhole Camera Around Germany

    written by antoniocastello on 2015-03-01 in #world #reviews
    Testing the ONDU Pinhole Camera Around Germany

    A few months ago, Lomography made available a whole range of pinhole cameras made out of premium wood. Interested in knowing how good they are, I brought the medium format one on my last trip to Germany.

    1
  • Awesome Albums: 'Worlds Within: The Secret Life of LomoPurple' by clickiemcpete

    written by chooolss on 2014-08-17 in #lifestyle
    Awesome Albums: 'Worlds Within: The Secret Life of LomoPurple' by clickiemcpete

    The LomoChrome Purple is famous for giving photographs a surreal and otherworldly vibe, but in this featured album, one of our community members had actually created imaginary worlds using this emulsion. Check out the photos after the cut!

  • Shop News

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    You’ve shouted your analogue love from the rooftops and worn your heart on your sleeve – Now it’s time to take it to the next level and wear it on your skin! Our new Lomography Tattoos are fun, easy to apply and come in five designs.

  • Watch: 'One Day In A Lomo'Instant' Video

    written by shhquiet on 2014-06-17 in #news
    Watch: 'One Day In A Lomo'Instant' Video

    A lot happens in a day, made up of those little moments that we usually take for granted. So we asked some of our friends from the Lomography team to capture some instant photos throughout one day, using the Lomo'Instant Camera. The result? A collection of memories that they could catch, hold, and cherish forever. We compiled their instant moments into a cool video, which you can check out after the cut!

  • Lomopedia: Olympus Ecru

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-05-23 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Olympus Ecru

    Another quirky-looking analogue snapper from the 1990s, the all-automatic, all-white Olympus Ecru is certainly one of the most interesting and compact cameras you can add to your collection. Find out more about it in this installment of Lomopedia!

  • Lomopedia: Dacora Digna

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-05-16 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Dacora Digna

    A simple yet elegant looking camera, the Dacora Digna was a medium format camera from the 1950s that was offered with various lenses and leaf shutters. Find out more about this vintage beauty in this installment of Lomopedia!