Kodak Portra 400 VC (120, 400 iso) User-Review

4

Sharper, more colorful and just vintage are only some of the few advantages of using medium format films!

Fact 1: Medium Format 120 film negatives are between 2,7 and 5,8 times bigger than 35mm film negatives.
Fact 2: VC stands for Vivid Color
Fact 3: It is one hell of a 400 iso film!

The Porta 400 VC likes all kinds of medium format cameras, I used it in my Diana+ and in vintage camera made shortly after the WWII, Bilora Box. With its 400 iso gives you the possibility to shoot indoors even with the cameras limited choice of shutter speeds like the Diana+and Box Cams.

The vivid colors are a joy to watch. Even with those simple Diana plastic lens or with the one element Meniscus lens of box cameras, you´ll get decent sharp results even for bigger prints! The warm tone is in any means superior to most of the 35mm film I ever used. The only downside is that it can be a little harsh on skin tones depending on light conditions.

Try to snatch some rolls of these when your local film dealer clears out their expired film stocks, I made some real bargains with this tactic!

written by zark on 2009-09-17 in #reviews #120 #vivid-color #diana #porta #medium-format #box #400-iso #kodak #vc

4 Comments

  1. doubleswithlomodirk
    doubleswithlomodirk ·

    Great review, love all your shots :)

  2. dogma
    dogma ·

    Cool band! i would like to hear them singing!!!

  3. zark
  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    Super review ! Excellent gallery !

More Interesting Articles

  • Lovely Squares Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 400 (120)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-02 in #gear #news
    Lovely Squares Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 400 (120)

    Have a look at these bright and beautiful medium format photographs from the community shot with the Lomography Color Negative 400 for 120 cameras. While you're at it, find out how you can earn piggies and have your own CN 400 (120) snaps be featured on the Online Shop!

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    written by ncjom on 2014-11-05 in #reviews
    You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    If you happen to come across an expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 film pack, either in a store or on the Internet, get one and be ready for an exciting experience. You'll definitely get more from it!

  • Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-09-08 in #news
    Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    Get ready to think fast and shoot faster! Today, we are thrilled share with you news of the brand new LC-A 120 Camera. Load it with any 120 film roll and experience the thrill of medium format photography. You’re sure to soak up all the action in every square shot with its fantastic 38mm f/4.5 wide-angle lens (equivalent to a 21mm lens on a 35mm film camera). It's available for Pre-Order: Extremely limited first batch stock of only 500 cameras!

    35
  • CineStill’s Tungsten 120 Film Campaign Ongoing

    written by cheeo on 2014-10-24 in #news
    CineStill’s Tungsten 120 Film Campaign Ongoing

    More film means more fun for our analogue community. The quest to bring CineStill’s Tungsten film to medium format territory continues, and supporters have 10 days to back the campaign on Kickstarter.

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Fresh from the Lab: One Roll of Film and the Lubitel 166U

    written by fadjaradiputra on 2014-11-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: One Roll of Film and the Lubitel 166U

    Adi, Ekeu, and I did a lomowalk around downtown Bandung last Saturday, the beginning of November. We planned to use our Lubitel cameras with only one roll of film each. We were inspired by the One Roll of Film Project by four Tokyo-based photographers with their Hasselblad cameras. This is about the one roll of film I shot with the Lubitel 166U, which made me love shooting in medium format even more.

    8
  • 36 Reasons to shoot stunning squares with the LC-A 120

    written by camilla_illa on 2015-01-23 in #world #news
    36 Reasons to shoot stunning squares with the LC-A 120

    Why shoot square? ...Just take a second to look at these outstanding square photographs using the LC-A 120 and you will find out why! Selfies, silhouettes, walkways and winter landscapes are just a few of the themes featured in this spectacular photographic shortlist.

    2
  • Review: Take Crazy Shots with Friends with Lomo'Instant + Splitzer!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #reviews
    Review: Take Crazy Shots with Friends with Lomo'Instant + Splitzer!

    Lomo’Instant allows you to shoot limitless multiple exposure instants and our latest accessory Splitzer will just add more fun to it! Just utilize your creativity and some simple skills and you’ll be able to take dozens of crazy and fun pictures. The more you try, the more fun you’ll discover!

    1
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Sumptuous New Squares: Take a Peek at these Latest LC-A 120 Snaps!

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-09-26 in #lifestyle
    Sumptuous New Squares: Take a Peek at these Latest LC-A 120 Snaps!

    It's been a little while since we've shared the latest shots taken with the brand new LC-A 120 with you. But that just means we have a fantastic collection to show you today! Our testers from around the world have been shooting from the hip and with the heart to capture their daily lives with this medium format master. Skip past the jump to spy into some Lomographic lives!

    1
  • The Kitchen Through the Eyes of 35

    written by mikekumagai on 2014-10-10 in #lifestyle
    The Kitchen Through the Eyes of 35

    Far from the romanticized images we see on television, kitchens are marred by a mesh of savage industrial hardware, organic flesh and bones, and the souls that inhabit it, as photographer Mike Kumagai discovered. His series exposes some of the notions we carry of kitchens and cooking in the only medium befitting of the task: 35mm film.

    1