Film Review Of The Week

6

Just because people call it "slow" doesn't mean it can't produce gorgeous results as our Film Review of the Week shows!

Put some visors on. Your eyes might not be accustomed to Fuji Velvia 50’s extremely saturated and vivid colors that pop right out of the frame! The only drawback to using it is the slow speed of asa50 but just make sure to use it on sunny days and you’re set. Resident Lomographer dazb dazzled us so much with his review and awesome imagery that we’re featuring him as the Film Review of the Week. Congratulations!

written by cruzron on 2009-08-12 in #reviews #film-review-of-the-week #35mm #fuji #x-pro #velvia #lca

6 Comments

  1. nicksholga
    nicksholga ·

    wow beautiful photos!

  2. myloveletter
    myloveletter ·

    incredible photos! not more of a gallery?

  3. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    Really amazing shots!

  4. d_i_hunter
    d_i_hunter ·

    well-deserved FRotW dazb - you make great use of this film!

  5. dazb
    dazb ·

    Thanks for the lovely comments everyone - it's an honour to win FRotW

    @myloveletter - there are about 14 photos on the main review. I may upload more to my lomo home nowish

  6. quaisoir
    quaisoir ·

    ur velvia 50 shots are great...i got a roll and i'm still not ready to use it yet! After this i think I'd juz give it a shot! :) thanks 4 the review!

More Interesting Articles

  • A Collection Of Awesome Konstruktor Snapshots

    written by shhquiet on 2015-04-10 in #gear #lifestyle
    A Collection Of Awesome Konstruktor Snapshots

    There's nothing more satisfying than taking fantastic photos with a camera that you built yourself. If you've always wanted to impress your friends with your mad DIY skills, pick up a Konstruktor Camera Kit and show them what you've got! It's also a cool way to get them into Lomography, because as you build the camera you'll discover how analogue photography works. Oh, and the Konstruktor takes gorgeous photos, too - check out the gallery and see what we mean!

    6
  • Photo of the Day by klive0420

    written by lomography on 2015-12-17 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by klive0420

    Although it's just a newly introduced camera, one lomographer already showed mastery of the Lomo'Instant Wide as seen in our winning Photo of the Day.

    7
  • Luka Tacon: Demasiado Sabor!

    written by katphip on 2016-02-10 in #people #lifestyle #locations #lomoamigos
    Luka Tacon: Demasiado Sabor!

    We met our new LomoAmigo Luka Tacon when we danced to the hypnotic beats of his duo Heartbreaker at our Lomo'Instant Wide Launch Party in NYC. Now, the brooklyn-based DJ and electronic music producer is preparing for an EPIC Lover's Ball at House of Yes with his friends at Might Get Weird, experimenting with the La Sardina and LC-A, and feeling the Latin rhythms of Costa Rica. Read more about his inspirations and how he feels analog equipment, whether it be for music or photography, has something that digital just doesn't. As a special bonus, you can listen to his exclusive Heartbreaker set!

  • Shop News

    Ondu 4X5 Large Format Pinhole Camera

    Ondu 4X5 Large Format Pinhole Camera

    Want to push your limits in the field of photography? Go large format! This camera uses a 4x5” film and can capture all the subjects you want with this pinhole camera in large format!

  • Reviews on Rewind: LomoChrome Purple (Part 2)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-30 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: LomoChrome Purple (Part 2)

    With its surreal, psychedelic results that easily remind one of fairy tale-like wonderlands, the LomoChrome Purple has quickly grown to become one of the most popular emulsions in the community. We're giving you that extra push in the form of more community-penned reviews to finally try this film yourself, if you haven't.

  • Photo of the Day by gauthierdumonde

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-25 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by gauthierdumonde

    One of things lomographers love about shooting on film is its unpredictability, an inherent trait of the medium that never fails to produce astonishing results.

    10
  • Aziz Ansari Shoots With a Diana F+ Black Jack in “Master of None”

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-23 in #world #news
    Aziz Ansari Shoots With a Diana F+ Black Jack in “Master of None”

    Aziz Ansari’s new Netflix show “Master of None” might just be our favorite show this fall season. And it’s not just because he’s seen using our Diana F+ Black Jack in one shot; there are absolutely more reasons to love this show.

  • Shop News

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Snap your happy memories with the medium format Diana F+ Cortina! This special edition camera is a nod to fun winter holidays: snow-capped mountains, skiing and good times with friends and family!

  • Review: Take Crazy Shots with Friends with Lomo'Instant + Splitzer!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #reviews
    Review: Take Crazy Shots with Friends with Lomo'Instant + Splitzer!

    Lomo’Instant allows you to shoot limitless multiple exposure instants and our latest accessory Splitzer will just add more fun to it! Just utilize your creativity and some simple skills and you’ll be able to take dozens of crazy and fun pictures. The more you try, the more fun you’ll discover!

    1
  • Stalking the City: Ricardo Lozano

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-10-20 in #people #lifestyle
    Stalking the City: Ricardo Lozano

    New York is an infinitely photographable city in spite—or because—of its innate chaos. And even when the medium is film, praised nowadays for the virtue of slowness, the photographer must keep up with the city’s pace. Ricardo Lozano, 35mm photographer and Lomography community member, managed to do it for the series OK Commuter, now a book by A Love Token Press.

  • Newcomer of the Week: klemidesigns

    written by lomography on 2016-01-17 in #world #news #videos
    Newcomer of the Week: klemidesigns

    It's no secret that the community is a treasure trove of film photography tips and techniques. And this artistic atmosphere is what exactly piqued Kellie Leming's interest. In this interview, our newcomer of the week from Nashville, Tennesse opens up about how the music community in her hometown inspires her to be positive and creative and what shooting on film means to her.

    3
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Lomography x LIFE Rumble

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-09-25 in #world #competitions
    Lomography x LIFE Rumble

    ‘LIFE’ is a film that tells the story of photographer Dennis Stock who was assigned to photograph James Dean and inadvertently produced some of the most iconic photographs of the star. The film is released this week and we are offering some lucky people the chance to win a DVD, a book of photographs by Dennis Stock, signed posters and a LomoKino.

  • Gray Matter: Black and White Photography With the Lubitel 166+

    written by azinteimoori on 2016-01-22 in #world #news
    Gray Matter: Black and White Photography With the Lubitel 166+

    It's no secret that the Lubitel 166+ produces bold, saturated colours that'll make your jaw drop to the floor! But the tones and contrast of this twin-lens camera carry across to black and white just as brilliantly. Here are some breathtaking grayscale photographs from our Online Community!

  • Uwe Mimoun: the Man Behind KONO! Reanimated Film

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-07-31 in #people #lifestyle
    Uwe Mimoun: the Man Behind KONO! Reanimated Film

    Branded as "The Reanimated Film," KONO! Film is hand-rolled and made of special materials which are rarely (or never) produced for "normal“ photography. Rather, the materials were intended for the motion picture industry and the results can vary depending on how the film is used. Learn more in this interview with the founder of KONO! Film, Uwe Mimoun.

    3