Film Review Of The Week

6

Just because people call it "slow" doesn't mean it can't produce gorgeous results as our Film Review of the Week shows!

Put some visors on. Your eyes might not be accustomed to Fuji Velvia 50’s extremely saturated and vivid colors that pop right out of the frame! The only drawback to using it is the slow speed of asa50 but just make sure to use it on sunny days and you’re set. Resident Lomographer dazb dazzled us so much with his review and awesome imagery that we’re featuring him as the Film Review of the Week. Congratulations!

written by cruzron on 2009-08-12 in #reviews #velvia #x-pro #film-review-of-the-week #fuji #35mm #lca

6 Comments

  1. nicksholga
    nicksholga ·

    wow beautiful photos!

  2. myloveletter
    myloveletter ·

    incredible photos! not more of a gallery?

  3. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    Really amazing shots!

  4. d_i_hunter
    d_i_hunter ·

    well-deserved FRotW dazb - you make great use of this film!

  5. dazb
    dazb ·

    Thanks for the lovely comments everyone - it's an honour to win FRotW

    @myloveletter - there are about 14 photos on the main review. I may upload more to my lomo home nowish

  6. quaisoir
    quaisoir ·

    ur velvia 50 shots are great...i got a roll and i'm still not ready to use it yet! After this i think I'd juz give it a shot! :) thanks 4 the review!

More Interesting Articles

  • Petzval Artist: Portraits from Adam Bronkhorst

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-05-05 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval Artist: Portraits from Adam Bronkhorst

    Adam Bronkhorst is a Brighton-based photographer who focuses on people and portraiture. He teaches all kinds of photography through different means – using a DSLR, studio lighting and even film cameras. His portfolio of work is so stunning, we decided to crown him as one of our Petzval Artists. We let him test the new Petzval lens to its full potential and the results are just beautiful.

  • How to Use the Oktomat

    written by chooolss on 2014-07-27 in #lifestyle
    How to Use the Oktomat

    Just because it has eight lenses doesn't mean it's complicated to use. Watch a short tutorial for the Lomography Oktomat right after the jump!

  • Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-04 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    Its compact size, features that allow ample room for creativity, and undeniably gorgeous looks have got many lomographers smitten. Read on and see what five of our community members have to say about the charming Diana Mini!

    2
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • A Collection Of Awesome Konstruktor Snapshots

    written by shhquiet on 2015-04-10 in #gear #lifestyle
    A Collection Of Awesome Konstruktor Snapshots

    There's nothing more satisfying than taking fantastic photos with a camera that you built yourself. If you've always wanted to impress your friends with your mad DIY skills, pick up a Konstruktor Camera Kit and show them what you've got! It's also a cool way to get them into Lomography, because as you build the camera you'll discover how analogue photography works. Oh, and the Konstruktor takes gorgeous photos, too - check out the gallery and see what we mean!

    5
  • Tinker on the fly: A color filter made from spoiled film

    written by dopa on 2014-05-25 in #gear #tipster
    Tinker on the fly: A color filter made from spoiled film

    Probably each one of you has been annoyed with failed film. This is particularly annoying when you get the developed film back from the lab, but you get blanks because the film was not exposed. It's either the film transport didn't work, or you have not taken the lens cap off, etc. Read on and I'll show you an alternative to just throwing away the film: Simply use it as a color filter for your camera, with the La Sardina for example.

    3
  • Kino Stories: 'Good Morning Good Bye' by cyberoctopus

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-20 in #lifestyle
    Kino Stories: 'Good Morning Good Bye' by cyberoctopus

    We all have that place we do not call home, yet feel so strongly connected to that we constantly look forward to returning to it. Check out our featured LomoKino film of the week!

  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Kleeblatt and her Weapon of Choice: Holga 120N

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-08-14 in #lifestyle
    Kleeblatt and her Weapon of Choice: Holga 120N

    Kerstin, or kleeblatt in our Community, swears by the Holga 120N's capability in producing the perfect photograph. She loves this camera so much that she considers it as one of her travel essentials! Find out more about kleeblatt and her Holga 120N in this week's Weapon of Choice!

    5
  • Happenings on Film: We The Fest 2014 - The Ultimate Summer Music Festival!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-01 in #lifestyle
    Happenings on Film: We The Fest 2014 - The Ultimate Summer Music Festival!

    August 24, 2014 was a great day because of the We The Fest 2014! Maybe it's too early to call it the biggest summer music festival in Jakarta because this has just been its first edition. Nevertheless, my girl and I enjoyed every moment of it!

    2
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    13
  • Lomography at the Photokina 2014

    written by zonderbar on 2014-09-25 in #news
    Lomography at the Photokina 2014

    As the week came to an end, we bid farewell to Photokina 2014. Lomography participated with patchwork photo flooring and an endless array of products that impressed spectators. Take a look at our one-of-a-kind booth and its last day of glory at the this year's trade show spectacle in Cologne, Germany.

  • Photo of the Day by deepfried_goodness

    written by cheeo on 2014-05-08 in #news
    Photo of the Day by deepfried_goodness

    Strutting its way out into the sun, this cute little pug doesn't mind being the center of attention. It even poses for the camera with its tongue out, showing off its perky character in this multi-framed snapshot. Congratulations to deepfried_goodness for having our Photo of the Day!

    2