Film Review Of The Week

6

Just because people call it "slow" doesn't mean it can't produce gorgeous results as our Film Review of the Week shows!

Put some visors on. Your eyes might not be accustomed to Fuji Velvia 50’s extremely saturated and vivid colors that pop right out of the frame! The only drawback to using it is the slow speed of asa50 but just make sure to use it on sunny days and you’re set. Resident Lomographer dazb dazzled us so much with his review and awesome imagery that we’re featuring him as the Film Review of the Week. Congratulations!

written by cruzron on 2009-08-12 in #reviews #lca #film-review-of-the-week #35mm #velvia #x-pro #fuji

6 Comments

  1. nicksholga
    nicksholga ·

    wow beautiful photos!

  2. myloveletter
    myloveletter ·

    incredible photos! not more of a gallery?

  3. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    Really amazing shots!

  4. d_i_hunter
    d_i_hunter ·

    well-deserved FRotW dazb - you make great use of this film!

  5. dazb
    dazb ·

    Thanks for the lovely comments everyone - it's an honour to win FRotW

    @myloveletter - there are about 14 photos on the main review. I may upload more to my lomo home nowish

  6. quaisoir
    quaisoir ·

    ur velvia 50 shots are great...i got a roll and i'm still not ready to use it yet! After this i think I'd juz give it a shot! :) thanks 4 the review!

More Interesting Articles

  • How to Use the Oktomat

    written by chooolss on 2014-07-27 in #lifestyle
    How to Use the Oktomat

    Just because it has eight lenses doesn't mean it's complicated to use. Watch a short tutorial for the Lomography Oktomat right after the jump!

  • Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-04 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    Its compact size, features that allow ample room for creativity, and undeniably gorgeous looks have got many lomographers smitten. Read on and see what five of our community members have to say about the charming Diana Mini!

    2
  • A Collection Of Awesome Konstruktor Snapshots

    written by shhquiet on 2015-04-10 in #gear #lifestyle
    A Collection Of Awesome Konstruktor Snapshots

    There's nothing more satisfying than taking fantastic photos with a camera that you built yourself. If you've always wanted to impress your friends with your mad DIY skills, pick up a Konstruktor Camera Kit and show them what you've got! It's also a cool way to get them into Lomography, because as you build the camera you'll discover how analogue photography works. Oh, and the Konstruktor takes gorgeous photos, too - check out the gallery and see what we mean!

    6
  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Kino Stories: 'Good Morning Good Bye' by cyberoctopus

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-20 in #lifestyle
    Kino Stories: 'Good Morning Good Bye' by cyberoctopus

    We all have that place we do not call home, yet feel so strongly connected to that we constantly look forward to returning to it. Check out our featured LomoKino film of the week!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Review: Take Crazy Shots with Friends with Lomo'Instant + Splitzer!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #reviews
    Review: Take Crazy Shots with Friends with Lomo'Instant + Splitzer!

    Lomo’Instant allows you to shoot limitless multiple exposure instants and our latest accessory Splitzer will just add more fun to it! Just utilize your creativity and some simple skills and you’ll be able to take dozens of crazy and fun pictures. The more you try, the more fun you’ll discover!

    1
  • Shop News

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    Enjoy a truly analogue moviemaking experience with Lomography's 35mm movie camera and an accompanying accessory to watch your films with. View your masterpieces in the most analogue way possible with the LomoKinoscope. Get it now 20% off the regular price!

  • Kleeblatt and her Weapon of Choice: Holga 120N

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-08-14 in #lifestyle
    Kleeblatt and her Weapon of Choice: Holga 120N

    Kerstin, or kleeblatt in our Community, swears by the Holga 120N's capability in producing the perfect photograph. She loves this camera so much that she considers it as one of her travel essentials! Find out more about kleeblatt and her Holga 120N in this week's Weapon of Choice!

    5
  • Happenings on Film: We The Fest 2014 - The Ultimate Summer Music Festival!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-01 in #lifestyle
    Happenings on Film: We The Fest 2014 - The Ultimate Summer Music Festival!

    August 24, 2014 was a great day because of the We The Fest 2014! Maybe it's too early to call it the biggest summer music festival in Jakarta because this has just been its first edition. Nevertheless, my girl and I enjoyed every moment of it!

    2
  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    13
  • Shop News

    LC-Wide Elite Kit

    LC-Wide Elite Kit

    The LC-Wide Elite Kit gathers all the accessories you would ever need for your Lomo LC-Wide.

  • Lomography at the Photokina 2014

    written by zonderbar on 2014-09-25 in #news
    Lomography at the Photokina 2014

    As the week came to an end, we bid farewell to Photokina 2014. Lomography participated with patchwork photo flooring and an endless array of products that impressed spectators. Take a look at our one-of-a-kind booth and its last day of glory at the this year's trade show spectacle in Cologne, Germany.

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • So here’s what we’ve been working on: an all new lomography.com

    written by recurving on 2015-02-03 in #world #news
    So here’s what we’ve been working on: an all new lomography.com

    For the last year we've been working on the next version of Lomography. We based our work on the feedback you’ve given us over the years and we wanted to share it as early as possible with you and can’t wait to hear what you think. Just one warning first: it is still in development and things can break. All the photos, comments, likes, homes and everything else were transferred as of October 16th, 2014. So anything you do on next.lomography.com won't be reflected on www.lomography.com and vice versa. Once we are done with testing, everything you did here will be deleted again. So this is a big playground for you to explore.

    216