Camera Review of the Week

This week's camera review on the spotlight tells about one of the most sought after Soviet TLR cameras, which our lomographer believes is underrated and lesser known compared to its big brother. Find out which camera it is after the jump!

Many of us lomographers seek to include almost every camera type out there to complete our collection of analogue beauties. At least one Twin-Lens Reflex (TLR) would be a great addition to every lomographer’s collection, and brandkow93 suggests getting the Lubitel 2, the big brother of Lomography’s Lubitel 166+.

Our featured lomographer, who mentioned his interest in Soviet cameras early in his review, luckily spotted a Lubitel 2 in fantastic condition, with the original Lomo case! Looks like he had a great time shooting with this manual TLR camera, as we can see in some of his monochrome snaps below:

Don’t forget to check out brandkow93’s full review for more of his photos and insights on this camera!

Congratulations, brandkow93, for penning this week’s featured camera review! Some lovely classic TLR camera you have there, and we hope you’ll keep sharing more wow-worthy photos that you took with it!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Camera Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-05-19 in #reviews

More Interesting Articles

  • Top Five Rediscovered Paintings

    written by chooolss on 2014-08-14 in #lifestyle
    Top Five Rediscovered Paintings

    This week's list features works of art previously believed to be either fakes or works of lesser known artists, but were eventually proven to be paintings by some of the most celebrated artists in history. Have a look!

    1
  • Lomography Day Trips: Ingleton Waterfall Trails

    written by kneehigh85 on 2014-05-17 in #world #locations
    Lomography Day Trips: Ingleton Waterfall Trails

    Ingleton Waterfall Trails is a great day trip not too far from some big cities, but feels like being right in the heart of the country side. Read on after the jump to find out all about it!

  • A Review of the Lomo’Instant Strap

    written by ichdaschaos on 2015-01-06 in #reviews
    A Review of the Lomo’Instant Strap

    Lomography ran a vote for the backers of the Lomo’Instant Kickstarter project to decide which design the Lomo’Instant Strap should have. Below is my little review about it.

  • Shop News

    Zap up your Diana F+ with a Crisp Glass Lens!

    Zap up your Diana F+ with a Crisp Glass Lens!

    Thought you can’t get sharp photos with the Diana F+? Think again! With the Diana+ 75mm Premium Glass Lens, you can shoot crisp and clear images with the signature dreamy appeal of the Diana. With our Adaptors you can even make it work on your Nikon & Canon dSLR!

  • Off the Beaten Track: The Wonderful Churches of Palermo

    written by sirio174 on 2014-06-02 in #world #locations
    Off the Beaten Track: The Wonderful Churches of Palermo

    If you are in search of a lesser known European city full of nice examples of art and architecture, I would recommend that you visit Palermo, the capital of the region of Sicily in the South of Italy. This city is rich with wonderful churches, squares, fountains, and other important monuments and buildings! Take a look after the jump!

  • The Horizon Perfekt: A Camera for Perfect Panoramas

    written by wesco on 2014-06-23 in #reviews
    The Horizon Perfekt: A Camera for Perfect Panoramas

    For a lover of panoramic photos, the Horizon Perfekt is one of the most sought after cameras in the market. Through the revolving glass lens, it makes pictures that are sharp right into the corners at an extra wide panorama format. The distortion that can occur gives its pictures a special appearance.

  • Guess That Tag! Rumble: Purple! Purple!

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-05-06 in #competitions
    Guess That Tag! Rumble: Purple! Purple!

    LomoChrome Purple is one of the Community's most sought-after emulsions. With its ability to turn any mundane snapshot into surreal, dreamlike image, we cannot truly blame you for loving it way too much!

    27
  • Shop News

    A quick guide to Inkodye

    A quick guide to Inkodye

    Shake well and apply to fabric. Blot out excess using a paper towel. Create your design using Inkofilm or anything that casts a shadow. Expose to sunlight or bright UV light for 10-20 minutes or until color reaches full saturation. Machine wash using Inkowash to remove unexposed dye. Double your exposure time in overcast weather. Enjoy the "wow" result!

  • Lomopedia: Ansco Pix Panorama

    written by cheeo on 2014-07-14 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Ansco Pix Panorama

    Our featured camera for this installment of Lomopedia is known for lo-fi panoramic shots and its clunky plastic body. It’s no other than the Ansco Pix Panorama camera. Get to know about this panoramic shooter after the cut.

    3
  • Fed 5 - My First Analogue Camera in 2015

    written by whimsicalgrid on 2015-01-23 in #reviews
    Fed 5 - My First Analogue Camera in 2015

    Before the end of 2014, my girlfriend took the plunge of purchasing a rangefinder camera from eBay as a late Christmas gift for me. Let me present to you: the Fed 5. The Fed 5 has been known as a copy of the Leica M3 rangefinder camera. It is inexpensive compared to Leica models. So what are my experiences of using the Fed 5? Read on to find out more.

    6
  • Top Five Most Expensive Vintage Film Posters

    written by chooolss on 2014-04-24 in #lifestyle
    Top Five Most Expensive Vintage Film Posters

    Mainly because of their age and rarity, posters of movies from yesteryears are very much sought-after by memorabilia collectors today, no matter what the price is. Have a look at five of the most expensive ones in this week's list!

    2
  • Shop News

    Full Focus on the Framing

    Full Focus on the Framing

    Shooting with the Lubitel 166+ is an experience on it´s own. The waist level finder will help you to compose your frames perfectly.With the possibility to use 120 and 35mm Film It offers unlimited creative possibilities deemed to be an analogue masterpiece. Get your legendary Lubitel 166+ in our Online Shop!

  • Lomopedia: Agat 18/18K

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-05-21 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Agat 18/18K

    Loved by lofi-fans for its very compact size, the Agat 18/18K is a 35mm half-frame camera produced in Belarus beginning in the late 1980s. Find out more about this curious-looking Soviet compact snaper in this installment of Lomopedia!

    3
  • 'The Years of La Dolce Vita' Showcases Photographs from Italian Film's Golden Era

    written by chooolss on 2014-05-05 in #news
    'The Years of La Dolce Vita' Showcases Photographs from Italian Film's Golden Era

    This ongoing exhibit in London gives us a glimpse of one of the greatest eras in filmmaking. Find out more about it after the jump!

  • Awesome Albums: The Venice Carnival by lanzo78

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-03-16 in #news
    Awesome Albums: The Venice Carnival by lanzo78

    For the first time in the brief history of the Awesome Albums series, we put the spotlight on not one, not even two, but three impressive albums by a fellow lomographer! If you haven't been to Venice, Italy to see and experience their famed Carnival, we're sure the beautiful photos you'll find after the jump will make you think about what you've been missing!