Film Review of the Week

We lomographers are always on the hunt for new films to try, whether they be rare, expired, or simply new to us. Our featured film reviewer for this week calls the attention of his fellow lomographers to try a recently discontinued brand of films. Find out which film after the jump!

In his short but sweet review of the Esselunga films, lomographer sirio174 mentioned right away why his fellow snapshooters should try these recently discontinued films. Available in 100, 200, and 400 ISO variants, he found that the Esselunga films produce a dominant brown/amber tone that creates a pleasing effect on photos, especially when shot with Russian and former East Germany lenses.

Since photos are said to paint a thousand words, we thought it’s best to let some of our featured lomographer’s snaps using the Esselunga films do the talking:

Our film reviewer of the week advises everyone to go ahead and try the Esselunga films out if they ever come across some rolls outside of Italy. The photos above do look nice with the retro-looking amber cast, don’t you think?

Don’t forget to check out his full review to see more of his shots using this film!

Congratulations, sirio174, for penning this week’s featured film review! Keep shooting with this lovely film and share with us more of these vintage-looking snaps!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Film Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your film review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-05-12 in #reviews #film-review-of-the-week #user-review #film-review #reviews #esselunga #lomography

More Interesting Articles

  • Show Your Stash, feelux!

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2014-06-01 in #people #lifestyle
    Show Your Stash, feelux!

    Welcome to another edition of Show Your Stash! This week, we're featuring feelux, a fellow Lomographer from Manila, Philippines, who shares gear and photos from a recent trip to Singapore.

    5
  • LomoAmigo Asher Moss Tries the Lomo'Instant

    written by antoniocastello on 2014-12-10 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigo Asher Moss Tries the Lomo'Instant

    We love Asher Moss' work. He's been our LomoAmigo for quite some time and is always eager to try new stuff. We recently gave him the Lomo'Instant camera to experiment with, and here are some of his shots.

  • Newcomer of the Week: life_on_acetate

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-06-01 in #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: life_on_acetate

    His best friend and fellow lomographer weleasewoger72 used to make him feel bad about using an IPhone to take pictures. However, after trying out a Diana F+, our Newcomer of the Week, life_on_acetate, decided to ditch the digital territory and try his hand at analogue photography. Read on to find out more about this fascinating story of friendship and film photography!

    2
  • Shop News

    Recognizable Images of Petzval

    Recognizable Images of Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • LomoAmigo Alison Scarpulla Shoots With The LC-Wide

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-04-28 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigo Alison Scarpulla Shoots With The LC-Wide

    Alison Scarpulla is an enormously talented photographer from the USA who utilizes experimental techniques such as multiple exposures and film soaking to create surreal, evocative and emotional shots. After previously featuring some of her work in the Lomography magazine, we were ecstatic that she accepted our offer to shoot with the LC-Wide to create some brand new photos. Read on for our exclusive interview with the woman behind such amazing photos, which you will see after the jump!

    4
  • Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-04 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    Its compact size, features that allow ample room for creativity, and undeniably gorgeous looks have got many lomographers smitten. Read on and see what five of our community members have to say about the charming Diana Mini!

    2
  • Requested Posts: Film Photography Day 2015 Edition

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-25 in #world #news
    Requested Posts: Film Photography Day 2015 Edition

    Hey, lomographers! Have your stories heard and lovely photos seen by your fellow community members and analog photography enthusiasts. Read this special call-out for community-written articles to be published between March 30 and the much-awaited Film Photography Day on April 12. As always, writing for the Magazine earns you Piggies!

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-11-12 in #gear #tipster
    My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    I backed the Kickstarter project for the Lomo’Instant earlier this year and was thrilled to receive it last week. I love how the camera naturally encourages you to experiment with its different features, whether it’s through flashing your multiple exposures with different colors or trying different creative techniques after your shots has been ejected. Here are a few tips from what I’ve discovered from playing with the camera so far (and a couple of tips I want to try out in future)!

  • LomoAmigos: The Ting Tings Go Analogue!

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-09-09 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigos: The Ting Tings Go Analogue!

    The Ting Tings are a musical duo from Manchester who have more pop hits than you can shake a stick at. They are most famous for their 2008 hit "That's Not My Name" which got even the stiffest of people shaking in their seats. The Ting Tings are back with a brand new album called Super Critical. They are big film fanatics (check out their website for proof) so we gave them a Sprocket Rocket Camera and a bunch of film to document their life in sunny IBIZA.

  • The Lomo'Instant x Diana+ Splitzer Tipster: Shoot Crazy Multiple Exposures in an Instant!

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-27 in #gear #tipster
    The Lomo'Instant x Diana+ Splitzer Tipster: Shoot Crazy Multiple Exposures in an Instant!

    We are always hunting for creative ideas on how to open up new shooting possibilities and it doesn’t get any better than when we discover something simple which works like a charm right away. Recently, the idea was raised that perhaps the Diana+ Splitzer would be compatible with the Lomo’Instant – Lo and behold, it is!

    1
  • Shop News

    Lomo Instant Boston

    Lomo Instant Boston

    Here is another way to enjoy analogue experience and capture great memories in an instant! This package includes the best creative lenses for your LomoInstant camera!

  • LomoGuru of the Week: stonerfairy

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-07-27 in #lifestyle
    LomoGuru of the Week: stonerfairy

    This friendly girl from Singapore loves doing multiple exposure shots and exchanging films and stories with her fellow Lomographers. Let's all cheer for the enthusiastic lomographer Norlizah, most popularly known in the Community as stonerfairy, our LomoGuru of the Week!

    17
  • Newcomer of the Week: jaymeephotography

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-08-31 in #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: jaymeephotography

    Her passion for photography pushed her to leave college a year early and pursue an education dedicated to the art of taking photographs. Let's all welcome New Zealand's Jaymee Morrison, or simply jaymeephotography, our Newcomer of the Week!

    2
  • Photo of the Day by onkel-m

    written by chooolss on 2014-07-20 in #news
    Photo of the Day by onkel-m

    You can always trust our fellow lomographers to transport us to magical places such as this one captured by onkel-m. Congratulations for having our Photo of the Day!

    4