Camera Review of the Week

1

It's time once again to take a look at the reviews on spotlight for this week! Let's start with a camera review of a rather rare panoramic camera reminiscent of Lomography's own wide shooter. Curious? Read on to find out!

Credits: stratski

“The Widelux 1500 is a beast of a machine. It’s big, heavy, and it yields negatives as big as small prints: 6 X 12 cm,” our featured camera reviewer for this week, stratski, introduces her chosen analogue camera. It’s a beast of a camera indeed, a medium format panoramic beauty which yields 6 exposures from a 120 film. Those are 6 massive panorama photos that you can enlarge without worrying too much about grains!

While it is no doubt an awesome find, stratski admits initially having trouble with this panoramic camera. After all, it’s a heavy vintage shooter that may need some getting used to, or maybe even some fixing or tinkering. Nevertheless, our featured shooter managed to get some impressive shots out of the Widelux 1500 (which looks a lot like the Horizon Kompakt, don’t you think?):

Credits: stratski

Don’t forget to head over to stratski’s full review to know more about this intriguing camera and see more of her panoramic snaps!

Congratulations, stratski, for penning this week’s featured camera review! That’s one interesting medium format camera you have there, and we hope you’ll keep shooting some wow-worthy photos with it!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Camera Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-05-12 in #reviews #panorama #camera-review-of-the-week #camera-review #panoramic-camera #widelux-1500 #lomography #user-review

One Comment

  1. stratski
    stratski ·

    Yay! Thank you!

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Newcomer of the Week: nickt

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-07-05 in #world #lifestyle #videos
    Newcomer of the Week: nickt

    Niccolò Turetta started taking photographs on film at a young age. Looking for tips on making better images, he stumbled upon the website and eventually joined the community as a motivation to further improve his craft. Let's all welcome our newcomer of the week from Torreglia, Italy, nickt!

    4
  • Photographs of the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade from the 1920s

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-26 in #lifestyle
    Photographs of the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade from the 1920s

    On Thursday, the streets of Manhattan will once again be filled with much revelry as the Macy's Thanksgiving Parade takes place. With only a day left, let us look back at the history of this American tradition through these photographs taken during its early years.

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • 5 of the Best Ways to Share Your Lomo'Instant Pics

    written by jacobs on 2014-11-25 in #people #news #videos
    5 of the Best Ways to Share Your Lomo'Instant Pics

    We love sharing photos! So, with the recent release of the beloved Lomo'Instant camera, we thought it would be a great idea to look at some of the best ways to share your instants with the world. Rather than letting them collect dust on a shelf or stay hidden away in a drawer somewhere, why not let everyone else in on your superb instant creations? Check out these 5 awesome ways you can do just that!

  • Lomopedia: Nikon L35 AF

    written by cheeo on 2014-10-08 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Nikon L35 AF

    Nikon dubbed this autofocus camera “Pikaichi,” which means “top-notch” in Japanese. Curious about the reason behind the nickname? Read on to find out.

    1
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Monday Moodboard: DIY 6x17 Medium Format Panoramic Camera

    written by cheeo on 2014-09-08 in #news
    Monday Moodboard: DIY 6x17 Medium Format Panoramic Camera

    Judging by the design alone, this panoramic camera looks every bit the panoramic camera it says it is. What's special about it is not the fact that it shoots on 120 film, but rather it was handmade at a home workshop.

    1
  • Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-04 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    Its compact size, features that allow ample room for creativity, and undeniably gorgeous looks have got many lomographers smitten. Read on and see what five of our community members have to say about the charming Diana Mini!

    2
  • Newcomer of the Week: billseye

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-06-14 in #world #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: billseye

    Having a professional photographer in the family paved a way for Bill to start taking interest in photography early on. In this interview, he shares more about how he discovered the community and his passion for shooting analog. Let's all welcome our newcomer of the week from USA, billseye!

    3
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • LomoAmigo Heison Ng's New Russar+ Lens Photo Collection

    written by minawoo on 2015-07-26 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigo Heison Ng's New Russar+ Lens Photo Collection

    LomoAmigo Heison Ng has once again shot a brilliant series of photographs. Last time, he shared photographs taken with the New Russar+ Lens mounted on his Sony A7 Camera during a trip to Paris and Barcelona. This time around, he created minimalist yet moody black and white photos, still with the New Russar+ Lens. Brace yourselves for his newest collection of New Russar+ Lens photographs!

  • Remarkable Photographs From the Lomography Smartphone Scanner

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-09 in #gear #news
    Remarkable Photographs From the Lomography Smartphone Scanner

    Take a look at this pool of snapshots scanned by our community members using the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. While you're at it, find out how you can earn piggies and have your own scans be featured on the Online Shop!

  • Fed 5 - My First Analogue Camera in 2015

    written by whimsicalgrid on 2015-01-23 in #reviews
    Fed 5 - My First Analogue Camera in 2015

    Before the end of 2014, my girlfriend took the plunge of purchasing a rangefinder camera from eBay as a late Christmas gift for me. Let me present to you: the Fed 5. The Fed 5 has been known as a copy of the Leica M3 rangefinder camera. It is inexpensive compared to Leica models. So what are my experiences of using the Fed 5? Read on to find out more.

    6