Holgaroid: A Polaroid Back for your Holga - A User Review

14

Do you love all the quirks of your beloved Holga? Do you also happen to love instant photography? Would you love to see these two things together? Well...this is the camera for you, then!

image from freestylephoto

The Holgaroid is a Polaroid-type back that fits nicely onto your 120 Holga. It can accommodate both Polaroid Type 80 and Type 100 films. The back has a set of rollers inside of it to pop and activate the developing chemicals in the pack film. The Holgaroid comes with a fold down viewfinder, a corrective diopter (much like the Diana+ Instant back) and a dark slide (which makes the back light tight, in case you want to switch mid-pack to shoot 120 again). With the back on the Holga, the camera to me takes on a large-format camera look to it. It is also a little more labor intensive then shooting on roll film; you have to remember to remove the lens cap, then remove the dark slide, take the shot and then pull the instant film sheet out. It makes you slow down just enough to think about what you’re doing.

The back gives the camera a little more weight, which feels good in your hands…not like the light plastic we’re used to with the Holga. The viewfinder to me is a little useless, and you can’t flip it up when using a flash either. As mentioned earlier the dark slide is very useful in keeping your film light tight in the back or if you wanted to pull the back off and load some good ol’ 120 film into the camera.

Although Polaroid has stopped making the pack films that can fit inside this back, Fuji is still making 100 ISO Black and White, Color and also 3200 ISO Black and White films which are readily available. Also, places like PolaPremium still sell original Polaroid stock, and if all goes well The Impossible Project will also help analog photographers find a cheap instant film.

written by fuzztone04 on 2009-09-24 in #reviews #polaroid #120-holga #holgaroid #color #instant #pack-film #black-and-white

14 Comments

  1. life_on_mars
    life_on_mars ·

    magical mystery tour

  2. dogma
    dogma ·

    WoW gallery looks amazing!

  3. xbalboax
    xbalboax ·

    great review, i love this back for the holga, i wish i had the one that takes type 80 and 100 films i have an older model that just takes type 80 film.

  4. tommynorth
    tommynorth ·

    shot 1 and 2= money!!!

  5. ethermoon
    ethermoon ·

    i like number four. it has that little light leak on
    the left.
    D:

  6. stouf
    stouf ·

    So nice ! I have another version of this back, the previous one, where you can only put type 80 film. I love it !

  7. alex-vidal
    alex-vidal ·

    awesome!does anyone know where to get one, it doesn't appear to be available in the shop?

  8. fuzztone04
    fuzztone04 ·

    @alex...you can get one at most major photo supply sites...B&H, Freestyle, Adorama

  9. simon-hedge
    simon-hedge ·

    Photo 2 is a bit f'ing good, isnt it?

  10. makeyuu
    makeyuu ·

    i love my holgaroid. it makes the holga eve uglier and bulkier. awesome

  11. sumlom
    sumlom ·

    omg its crazy how amazingly good shot 2 is.

  12. fuzztone04
    fuzztone04 ·

    Thank you all for the great comments. I'm glad you liked my review

  13. hansie14
    hansie14 ·

    Lovely gallery, no 2 is just incredible! I was so sad when polaroid stopped making film...

  14. itsdebraanne
    itsdebraanne ·

    so that's what they mean when the "images are slightly off-center." cool camera tho(;

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomo'Instant Accessory Challenge

    written by antoniocastello on 2015-02-04 in #world #competitions
    Lomo'Instant Accessory Challenge

    Do you love being creative? How about instant photography? If the answer is yes, no or maybe, then we've got a jam happening with your name written all over it! Being the most creative instant camera around, it's difficult to imagine the Lomo'Instant becoming any more awesome. But what would happen if you and your pals put on your thinking caps for a Lomo'Instant accessory brainstorming session of the ages — limitless creative potential! Show us your skills by joining the Lomo'Instant Accessory Challenge!

  • Submit your Lomographs to FotoFilmic'14!

    written by e_ercolini on 2014-06-03 in #competitions
    Submit your Lomographs to FotoFilmic'14!

    Are you passionate about film photography but capable of applying a contemporary spin to your work? Well FotoFilmic is too, and would love to see your work!

    4
  • Lola 120 Pan: A partly-homemade 6x12 Folding Beauty

    written by stouf on 2014-05-12 in #gear #tipster
    Lola 120 Pan: A partly-homemade 6x12 Folding Beauty

    Here is a guide to building your own 6x12 camera by combining a Lola camera body and a Holga 120 WPC back. Find out how to make these two gorgeous ladies work together for a whole lot of analogue fun.

    11
  • Shop News

    Lomo Instant Boston

    Lomo Instant Boston

    Here is another way to enjoy analogue experience and capture great memories in an instant! This package includes the best creative lenses for your LomoInstant camera!

  • 5 of the Best Ways to Share Your Lomo'Instant Pics

    written by jacobs on 2014-11-25 in #news
    5 of the Best Ways to Share Your Lomo'Instant Pics

    We love sharing photos! So, with the recent release of the beloved Lomo'Instant camera, we thought it would be a great idea to look at some of the best ways to share your instants with the world. Rather than letting them collect dust on a shelf or stay hidden away in a drawer somewhere, why not let everyone else in on your superb instant creations? Check out these 5 awesome ways you can do just that!

  • Fresh and Fly: New Lomo'Instant Snaps from the Community

    written by cheeo on 2014-11-26 in #lifestyle
    Fresh and Fly: New Lomo'Instant Snaps from the Community

    Still thinking about the things you can do with your Lomo’Instant? Let these new instant snaps from the community give you some instant photography ideas!

    1
  • Make a Splitzer for Your Belair X 6-12 Camera

    written by simonesavo on 2014-07-12 in #gear #tipster
    Make a Splitzer for Your Belair X 6-12 Camera

    Do you have a penchant for double exposures? Well if you do, then you better read these simple tips to achieve a Splitzer effect with our Belair!

    4
  • Shop News

    Special Apertures for Petzval

    Special Apertures for Petzval

    Want to be more creative and level up your bokeh shots? A wide selection of special apertures for Petzval are here to blend with your artistic side and give your Petzval images some analog twists!

  • Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    written by jacobs on 2015-02-10 in #gear #news
    Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    Are you still looking for that perfect treat for your loved one this Valentine's Day? Then you've come to the right place, my friend — we've extended our Valentine's deals until the end of the week! Which means you have extra time to get lucky in all things love and Lomography. Quit dodging Cupid's arrows and get in on these sweet deals right now!

  • Colorful Transformations: Part Three

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-19 in #news
    Colorful Transformations: Part Three

    The new mystery Lomography product will materialize into reality on Monday October 20th! Until then, we just have one final colorful clue to tease you with. What do these transforming colors have to do with the new product do you think? We won’t spoil the surprise but, as always, would relish reading your funny and fantastical thoughts!

    1
  • Once-In-A-Lifetime Opportunity: Become a Lomography Partner

    written by antheali on 2014-05-09 in #news
    Once-In-A-Lifetime Opportunity: Become a Lomography Partner

    Are you a super-keen Lomographer looking to take your enterprising passion for photography to a brand new level? Well, then we have just the opportunity for you! We are currently on the lookout for wholesale or business partners in Indonesia and Malaysia.

  • Shop News

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval lens are designed for a Canon or Nikon SLR mounts and a selection of brass or black for each camera brand is available in our stores. And start shooting with images full of sharpness, crispness and bokeh effects!

  • Lomography Embassy Store Tehran: New Opening in New Location

    written by jacobs on 2014-11-18 in #news
    Lomography Embassy Store Tehran: New Opening in New Location

    Do you love Lomography? Do you live in Tehran? Do you love to party? If you answered yes to any of these questions, we've got great news for you! Our new Lomography Embassy Store in Tehran has a new location and to celebrate, we're throwing a rip-roaring party to kick off the opening. You and all your friends are cordially invited to celebrate with us this Friday!

  • My Year in Analogue: Something New, Something Old

    written by murdoc_niccals on 2014-12-15 in #lifestyle
    My Year in Analogue: Something New, Something Old

    Hi, everyone! I'd like to share with you my 2014 summary on analogue photography. Some things I did were completely new, while some were my good old habits. This year I learned how to develop black and white film, which I consider my greatest milestone. But the most important thing is that in 2014, I remain in love with Lomography! And the rest? Well, let's see...

    3
  • Lomography & The Red Bulletin: Your Moment. Beyond the Ordinary

    written by analogeanstalten on 2014-08-20 in #competitions
    Lomography & The Red Bulletin: Your Moment. Beyond the Ordinary

    Have you ever experienced feeling goosebumps all over your body, that your heart seems to jump out of your ribcage, your common sense is set on pause and you just breathe and enjoy the moment? Together with The Red Bulletin, we want to see YOUR moment beyond everyday life. Are you ready for the photographic #yourmoment #beyondtheordinary challenge? Take part in our photo competition! The two best shots will be awarded with a camera, and the first 500 to register will get a one-year free subscription of The Red Bulletin!