Film Review Of The Week

2

Just because it says "Portrait Film" that doesn't mean you can't have magnificent landscape and still life photos with it as our Film Review of the Week shows!

Sure, cross-processing those slide films will give you the funky and super saturated colors we love but sometimes you’re just craving for the realism a color negative gives you. d_i_hunter sure knows this and offered a brilliant insight into the characteristics of the classic Agfa Portrait 120 film in his review. The reason why portrait films are ASA 160 is for good skin tone. But in this case, it adds an extra punch for the Holga's light hungry lens!

Submit your own review and who knows, you might be the featured review of the week! Submit you film review but if the film you want to feature isn’t on the list please let us know.

written by cruzron on 2009-07-27 in #reviews #holga #film-of-the-week #agfa-portrait #review

2 Comments

  1. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    I can only agree - a great film.....not only for portraits.

  2. stouf
    stouf ·

    A great one for sure !

More Interesting Articles

  • Workshop and Events at the Lomography Gallery Store NYC for September!

    written by mindofmyra on 2014-09-05 in #events
    Workshop and Events at the Lomography Gallery Store NYC for September!

    Just because summer is winding down doesn't mean that you have to be! Come shoot and wind film with us at these events and workshops.

  • Photo of the Day by coca

    written by cheeo on 2014-11-15 in #news
    Photo of the Day by coca

    With its strong colors and varied textures, this magnificent landscape photograph by coca wins our Photo of the Day!

    3
  • Get Ready For a New Cine Film On Monday October 13th! Sign-Up to Hear about the Launch as Soon as it Happens

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-09 in #news
    Get Ready For a New Cine Film On Monday October 13th! Sign-Up to Hear about the Launch as Soon as it Happens

    Did you enjoy shooting with Cine200 Tungsten Film when it launched? Or were you one of the unlucky many who missed out on this ultra-limited edition emulsion? Well, we’re thrilled to say we have an exciting follow-up to Cine200 which will launch in just a few days! And as the other film sold out so fast, we wanted to give you the opportunity to sign-up to our list to get the news as soon as it happens.

    1
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • So here’s what we’ve been working on: an all new lomography.com

    written by recurving on 2015-02-03 in #world #news
    So here’s what we’ve been working on: an all new lomography.com

    For the last year we've been working on the next version of Lomography. We based our work on the feedback you’ve given us over the years and we wanted to share it as early as possible with you and can’t wait to hear what you think. Just one warning first: it is still in development and things can break. All the photos, comments, likes, homes and everything else were transferred as of October 16th, 2014. So anything you do on next.lomography.com won't be reflected on www.lomography.com and vice versa. Once we are done with testing, everything you did here will be deleted again. So this is a big playground for you to explore.

    217
  • Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-04 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The Darling Diana Mini

    Its compact size, features that allow ample room for creativity, and undeniably gorgeous looks have got many lomographers smitten. Read on and see what five of our community members have to say about the charming Diana Mini!

    2
  • A Collection Of Awesome Konstruktor Snapshots

    written by shhquiet on 2015-04-10 in #gear #lifestyle
    A Collection Of Awesome Konstruktor Snapshots

    There's nothing more satisfying than taking fantastic photos with a camera that you built yourself. If you've always wanted to impress your friends with your mad DIY skills, pick up a Konstruktor Camera Kit and show them what you've got! It's also a cool way to get them into Lomography, because as you build the camera you'll discover how analogue photography works. Oh, and the Konstruktor takes gorgeous photos, too - check out the gallery and see what we mean!

    6
  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Sumptuous New Squares: Take a Peek at these Latest LC-A 120 Snaps!

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-09-26 in #lifestyle
    Sumptuous New Squares: Take a Peek at these Latest LC-A 120 Snaps!

    It's been a little while since we've shared the latest shots taken with the brand new LC-A 120 with you. But that just means we have a fantastic collection to show you today! Our testers from around the world have been shooting from the hip and with the heart to capture their daily lives with this medium format master. Skip past the jump to spy into some Lomographic lives!

    1
  • A Review of the Lucky Aerial 200 Film

    written by reiga on 2015-01-07 in #reviews
    A Review of the Lucky Aerial 200 Film

    For those of you who are still looking for good black and white film, you might want to try aerial film as it offers good contrast and tonality.

    2
  • Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    written by jacobs on 2015-02-10 in #gear #news
    Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    Are you still looking for that perfect treat for your loved one this Valentine's Day? Then you've come to the right place, my friend — we've extended our Valentine's deals until the end of the week! Which means you have extra time to get lucky in all things love and Lomography. Quit dodging Cupid's arrows and get in on these sweet deals right now!

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Newcomer of the Week: psychedelica

    written by icequeenubia on 2015-03-22 in #world #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: psychedelica

    His love affair with analog photography started with a Zenit 12 which he received as a birthday present. Almost a decade has passed since but he still continues to capture his everyday life and the spirit of Istanbul's streets on film. Get to know our newcomer of the week from Turkey, Can Ortak also known in the community as psychedelica!

    8
  • Lomography at the Photokina 2014

    written by zonderbar on 2014-09-25 in #news
    Lomography at the Photokina 2014

    As the week came to an end, we bid farewell to Photokina 2014. Lomography participated with patchwork photo flooring and an endless array of products that impressed spectators. Take a look at our one-of-a-kind booth and its last day of glory at the this year's trade show spectacle in Cologne, Germany.

  • Awesome Albums: Paris Sous Un Autre Jour by instantpaula

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-07-02 in #world #lifestyle
    Awesome Albums: Paris Sous Un Autre Jour by instantpaula

    As the title says, our featured album for today shows a side of Paris that's not seen often.