Film Review Of The Week

2

Just because it says "Portrait Film" that doesn't mean you can't have magnificent landscape and still life photos with it as our Film Review of the Week shows!

Sure, cross-processing those slide films will give you the funky and super saturated colors we love but sometimes you’re just craving for the realism a color negative gives you. d_i_hunter sure knows this and offered a brilliant insight into the characteristics of the classic Agfa Portrait 120 film in his review. The reason why portrait films are ASA 160 is for good skin tone. But in this case, it adds an extra punch for the Holga's light hungry lens!

Submit your own review and who knows, you might be the featured review of the week! Submit you film review but if the film you want to feature isn’t on the list please let us know.

written by cruzron on 2009-07-27 in #reviews #holga #review #film-of-the-week #agfa-portrait

2 Comments

  1. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    I can only agree - a great film.....not only for portraits.

  2. stouf
    stouf ·

    A great one for sure !

More Interesting Articles

  • September 2015 Callout for Contributions

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-09-11 in #world #news
    September 2015 Callout for Contributions

    It's Tipstember! For this month, we will be awarding 25 fat piggies to every tipster article that gets published on the Lomography Magazine. You can share tips on composition, lighting, film experiments and camera modifications; or maybe techniques for shooting portraits, landscapes, still life and even wildlife! If you don't have tricks up your sleeve, however, you can still contribute to the Magazine and let your voice be heard. Here are some suggestions.

  • A Collection Of Awesome Konstruktor Snapshots

    written by shhquiet on 2015-04-10 in #gear #lifestyle
    A Collection Of Awesome Konstruktor Snapshots

    There's nothing more satisfying than taking fantastic photos with a camera that you built yourself. If you've always wanted to impress your friends with your mad DIY skills, pick up a Konstruktor Camera Kit and show them what you've got! It's also a cool way to get them into Lomography, because as you build the camera you'll discover how analogue photography works. Oh, and the Konstruktor takes gorgeous photos, too - check out the gallery and see what we mean!

    6
  • Ethereal Landscapes Captured with the Efke IR820 (35mm)

    written by lomography on 2015-11-01 in #gear #news
    Ethereal Landscapes Captured with the Efke IR820 (35mm)

    Marvel at this week's handpicked selection of beautiful landscape photographs captured by our community members with the Efke IR820 for 35mm cameras. While you're at it, find out how you can earn piggies and have your own photos be featured on the Online Shop!

  • Shop News

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    A resurrection from the zenith of Russian premium optics, get the same elegance and classic compact design as its predecessor. — available in small quantities on a first-come, first-served basis.

  • Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    written by jacobs on 2015-02-10 in #gear #news
    Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    Are you still looking for that perfect treat for your loved one this Valentine's Day? Then you've come to the right place, my friend — we've extended our Valentine's deals until the end of the week! Which means you have extra time to get lucky in all things love and Lomography. Quit dodging Cupid's arrows and get in on these sweet deals right now!

  • Newcomer of the Week: psychedelica

    written by icequeenubia on 2015-03-22 in #world #lifestyle #videos
    Newcomer of the Week: psychedelica

    His love affair with analog photography started with a Zenit 12 which he received as a birthday present. Almost a decade has passed since but he still continues to capture his everyday life and the spirit of Istanbul's streets on film. Get to know our newcomer of the week from Turkey, Can Ortak also known in the community as psychedelica!

    8
  • Photo of the Day by klive0420

    written by lomography on 2015-12-17 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by klive0420

    Although it's just a newly introduced camera, one lomographer already showed mastery of the Lomo'Instant Wide as seen in our winning Photo of the Day.

    7
  • Shop News

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    The ultra-lightweight, low-maintenance 35mm camera that fits perfectly in your hand for some wild and spontaneous shooting!

  • Reviews on Rewind: LomoChrome Purple (Part 2)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-30 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: LomoChrome Purple (Part 2)

    With its surreal, psychedelic results that easily remind one of fairy tale-like wonderlands, the LomoChrome Purple has quickly grown to become one of the most popular emulsions in the community. We're giving you that extra push in the form of more community-penned reviews to finally try this film yourself, if you haven't.

  • Awesome Albums: Paris Sous Un Autre Jour by instantpaula

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-07-02 in #world #lifestyle
    Awesome Albums: Paris Sous Un Autre Jour by instantpaula

    As the title says, our featured album for today shows a side of Paris that's not seen often.

  • A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    written by Rafaello Palandri on 2015-07-09 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    Where do I begin talking about film cameras on the Lomography Magazine? Yes, you guessed right. I will begin with a LOMO, of course, a very special one: the Lubitel 166 Universal (Lubitel 166U). It’s a camera that has almost everything you might need from a camera. Plus, it’s a LOMO!

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Estonian Intersections of Sight and Sound

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-10-28 in #world
    Estonian Intersections of Sight and Sound

    Would you rather lose your vision or your hearing? As photographers, we might choose the latter without a second thought, especially while viewing the festival photos that photographer Mart Vares captured with the New Petzval 85 Lens. Still, who doesn’t love the pleasant mechanical shutter sound of an old SLR that makes us commit to analog photography? While following the Nordic delegation at this years Waves Central Europe, we caught up with the Estonian band, Würffel, whose songs leave us feeling equally delighted.

  • Photo of the Day by seanyeo

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-07-24 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by seanyeo

    One lomographer still prefers shooting portraits with the wet plate collodion process. Although it entails laborious work, the resulting photographs from this technique, as he puts it, have that distinct, intense look.

    2
  • Petzval Lomographer of The Week: Golfpunkgirl

    written by anamartaml on 2015-08-10 in #people
    Petzval Lomographer of The Week:  Golfpunkgirl

    Our Lomographers love their Petzval and, as a result, they have taken it to the most amazing places: gardens full of green, immensely busy cities and breathtaking landscapes. Yet, sometimes, all you need is what you have right at home. Keeping family memories with the Petzval Lens never looked this good, and golfpunkgirl does it well.

    3