Lomography X-Pro Slide (35mm, 200 iso) User-Review

11

Cross processing is such a long winded term and although that is exactly what happens when the films are developed it seems like an usatisfactory, bathetic, title for the end result. X-Pro on the other hand is a marketing dream! It gives it the illusion of being an extreme sport. Its cooler, much more right. It has the essence of the MTV generation that now use it. Even better though is the title Lomo X-Pro it rolls off the tongue, is fun to say and, if said in a Spanish accent, is quite sexy (how many of you are trying that now?). But is it any good to take pictures with?

Early in my Lomo addiction I struggled with cross processing, mainly because of the title cross processing – I always imagined the guy in the lab having to get really cross about something in order to do it. I have a similar problem with the phrase Cross Dresser – sometimes trousers just won’t go on right and I am indeed a cross dresser. But the main concern I had was the “what if factor?” as in what if the colours don’t represent the picture I am trying to capture, or what if the lab wont process it (angrily or not) what if the images are ruined, what if, what if, WHAT IF? Then I bit the bullet and tried it and have never looked back. Don’t get me wrong I love the muted tones a Kodak portra (for example) can produce, but I love the unexpected twist and punch of colour that cross processing produces. So; without further ado lets talk Lomo X Pro.

I had no problems loading the film, so far so good. The Lab I used, however, did have a problem scanning the negs for 1 roll, I think it was a one off but thought I should mention it. That done let’s discuss the results.

Price is always an issue when buying any film, and you could spend a lot of money getting rare or dead stock films for x-pro. But what I like about this film is the price, its very reasonable, you feel you can truly be Lomographic with it – shooting anything and not thinking. I find when I have a film that has cost more I want to get my monies worth and so really save it for a special occasion rather than just a trip to the pub. So I like this film for that reason. That doesn’t mean to say you waste it, far from it, but you feel a bit more free with it like you can be experimental and the costs, if your experiment fails it is merely collateral damage. It’s a film that loves the colour splash flash. To conclude: Great colours, great grain, great price. My advise would be when ever you buy anything from the shop get a pack of this.

written by mattcharnock on 2009-09-01 in #reviews

11 Comments

  1. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    i must try this film! hehe

  2. stouf
    stouf ·

    Awesome gallery !!! N°9 is perfect !

  3. -a-l-b-e-r-t-o-
    -a-l-b-e-r-t-o- ·

    Great colours, great grain, great price...great review

  4. grenoouille
    grenoouille ·

    Your reviews are so funny!!... Excellent!

  5. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    funny introduction, great review + gallery!
    i confess, i haven't tried this film...*shame on me

  6. breakphreak
    breakphreak ·

    heya! I've experimented with this film as well, scanned it in several labs, and here is my question: I could never get blue colors easily. Sky/water had been always very grainy and pale. Here is the real question: how had you done it? Is it a matter of what? By no means I am not trusting you, I am simply amazed. How have you done that?

  7. mattcharnock
    mattcharnock ·

    @breakphreak i believe that luck was firmly on my side!

  8. cyan-shine
    cyan-shine ·

    So eloquent :D

  9. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    beautiful underwater shots! I made some lomo x-pro 200 with the fisheye sub while diving and hope the colors will be as awesome as yours! :)

  10. oldskool_rider
    oldskool_rider ·

    anyone tried E6 processing the xpro200 film yet? or does everyone xpro their xpro?

  11. o2matic
    o2matic ·

    COOL SHOTS MAN! hmm. which is better for you? cross processing the slide or not?

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomography x Nixon Surf Challenge

    written by lomographyfrance on 2014-05-06 in #competitions
    Lomography x Nixon Surf Challenge

    Here at Lomography, we are passionate about your passions. Whether it’s a photo of your pets, from your travels or celebrations, we absolutely love it when you share your precious moments with us through your astonishing snaps! We have also grown particularly fond of extreme sports and addicted to rushes of adrenaline through the years with adventure-seekers in the community. We are absolutely thrilled to tell you about our amazing new collaboration with Nixon, and offer you the chance to win amazing prizes!

    2
  • Lomography x Mr Scruff Rumble!

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-04-28 in #competitions
    Lomography x Mr Scruff Rumble!

    YES YOU READ THE TITLE RIGHT! We at Lomography UK are dancing in our chairs right now because we have a super exciting rumble courtesy of this musician/DJ and chronic doodler Mr Scruff. Manchester born Mr Scruff has been releasing albums and DJ'ing since 1997, and his new album "Friendly Bacteria" is due for release on May 19th. You can win this new album along with some super goodies AND a La Sardina DIY customized by the man himself! May we join the contest too, please?

    4
  • Friday Movie Flashback: ‘The Prestige’ 2006

    written by cheeo on 2014-08-29 in #lifestyle
    Friday Movie Flashback: ‘The Prestige’ 2006

    In a world of magic, how do you know what is real and what is just an illusion? Christopher Nolan’s 2006 film ‘The Prestige’ is a thriller drama that revolves around what it takes to fully achieve fame through magic and deception.

  • Shop News

    Get world’s finest grain film shot!

    Get world’s finest grain film shot!

    Original fresh stock from Kodak 50D, prepped and rolled for clean safe C-41 standard development as an ISO 50 film!

  • Austrian-based creative firm releases Lomography X Zenit Petzval Art Lens video

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-03-05 in #news
    Austrian-based creative firm releases Lomography X Zenit Petzval Art Lens video

    The brass-clad optical beauty that is the new Petzval Lens goes beyond being an eye-catching spectacle on one’s camera; it delivers high-quality photos and video, as seen in the samples we've come across since it found its way to photographers and videographers. If you haven’t seen what the new Petzval Lens can do, check out this footage shot by Martin Lachmair of Austrian firm Creative Director.

  • ATLAS Gallery Celebrates 20 Years in the Business with Exhibition

    written by cheeo on 2014-03-11 in #news
    ATLAS Gallery Celebrates 20 Years in the Business with Exhibition

    Gallery exhibitions are a must see for any photography enthusiast or photographer worth his salt. Now is always the right time to immerse yourself in such experiences. It’s a good thing that ATLAS gallery is now exhibiting some of the greatest photographers and their works in their latest gallery showing.

  • The Horizon Perfekt: A Camera for Perfect Panoramas

    written by wesco on 2014-06-23 in #reviews
    The Horizon Perfekt: A Camera for Perfect Panoramas

    For a lover of panoramic photos, the Horizon Perfekt is one of the most sought after cameras in the market. Through the revolving glass lens, it makes pictures that are sharp right into the corners at an extra wide panorama format. The distortion that can occur gives its pictures a special appearance.

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Frets on Festival: Bonnaroo Festival Competition

    written by ciaravesely on 2014-05-09 in #competitions

    The lineup has been announced, the tickets are now on sale. Bonnaroo fever is officially in full swing. It's just around the corner, and will happen from June 12th to the 15th! There’s only one thing left to do, and that’s break out your Teva sandals because they’re the footwear of choice for festival season—no seriously, Teva is the official partner of Bonnaroo Music & Arts Festival this year!

    2
  • The New Petzval Lens Is Now Available For Regular Purchase!

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-08-14 in #news
    The New Petzval Lens Is Now Available For Regular Purchase!

    The day has finally come! We are very excited to tell you that you can now order the Lomography New Petzval Lens for immediate delivery from the Online Shop or purchase it in your hands at Gallery Stores. To put full focus on our favorite portrait lens, soon we will be hosting special launch parties in our Gallery stores all over the globe! So do not miss an opportunity to become part of the sensational New Petzval Lens family today.

    1
  • Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    written by sinema on 2014-07-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    This is my experience with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 (120), my first medium format film. It's an adventure that started when I got a Lubitel 2, to finally shoot with it. In this article, you'll find detailed information about color schemes, the advantages of shooting in medium format, and the differences between standard redscale films. Here are the results of a day of shooting outside, which I recently got back from the lab.

  • Shop News

    Order this five star Medium Master today and receive it straight away!

    Order this five star Medium Master today and receive it straight away!

    The Phoblographer Editor's Choice Award Winner "The best street photography camera: film or digital. Pretty much nothing will beat this." Order this five star Medium Master today and receive it straight away!

  • Playing Detective: An Interview with Derek Woods, the Man Behind the Controversial True Detective Photo (NSFW)

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-02-05 in #people #lifestyle
    Playing Detective: An Interview with Derek Woods, the Man Behind the Controversial True Detective Photo (NSFW)

    Derek Woods is an Los Angeles-based photographer who previously got involved in a controversy surrounding a photo that was used in the opening credits of the HBO TV series "True Detective." Coincidentally, Woods happens to be a member of the Lomo community, and it became vital to interview him regarding the issue. The interview was successful and was published in May last year. His current project, 365 of Lomography, will chronicle his day-to-day exploits with Lomography cameras. To jog your memory, and to re-acquaint you with Woods, we are republishing our interview with the controversial photographer. Please take note that some of the photos are NSFW.

    4
  • Meet the Innovators: Cat Ong

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-02-28 in #people #lifestyle
    Meet the Innovators: Cat Ong

    Coinciding with the relaunch of the Lomography community website is the debut of one of the Magazine's newest series, Meet the Innovators. Here, we'll be talking to some of the game changers in the field of photography to get a closer look on what they do as well as find out their personal insights. For our opening salvo we proudly introduce Cat Ong, Lomography's very own Head of Optic Product Development who counts the research and development of the LC-A family, Russar and Petzval Art Lenses, Diana F+, and Lomo'Instant, among many others, as some of his projects.

    8
  • 'Magnum - Contact Sheets' Opens in Istanbul

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-02-28 in #people #events
    'Magnum - Contact Sheets' Opens in Istanbul

    An ongoing exhibit in Istanbul, Turkey sheds light on the creative process behind some of the world's iconic photographs from the prestigious Magnum Photos.

    1