Lomography X-Pro Slide (35mm, 200 iso) User-Review

11

Cross processing is such a long winded term and although that is exactly what happens when the films are developed it seems like an usatisfactory, bathetic, title for the end result. X-Pro on the other hand is a marketing dream! It gives it the illusion of being an extreme sport. Its cooler, much more right. It has the essence of the MTV generation that now use it. Even better though is the title Lomo X-Pro it rolls off the tongue, is fun to say and, if said in a Spanish accent, is quite sexy (how many of you are trying that now?). But is it any good to take pictures with?

Early in my Lomo addiction I struggled with cross processing, mainly because of the title cross processing – I always imagined the guy in the lab having to get really cross about something in order to do it. I have a similar problem with the phrase Cross Dresser – sometimes trousers just won’t go on right and I am indeed a cross dresser. But the main concern I had was the “what if factor?” as in what if the colours don’t represent the picture I am trying to capture, or what if the lab wont process it (angrily or not) what if the images are ruined, what if, what if, WHAT IF? Then I bit the bullet and tried it and have never looked back. Don’t get me wrong I love the muted tones a Kodak portra (for example) can produce, but I love the unexpected twist and punch of colour that cross processing produces. So; without further ado lets talk Lomo X Pro.

I had no problems loading the film, so far so good. The Lab I used, however, did have a problem scanning the negs for 1 roll, I think it was a one off but thought I should mention it. That done let’s discuss the results.

Price is always an issue when buying any film, and you could spend a lot of money getting rare or dead stock films for x-pro. But what I like about this film is the price, its very reasonable, you feel you can truly be Lomographic with it – shooting anything and not thinking. I find when I have a film that has cost more I want to get my monies worth and so really save it for a special occasion rather than just a trip to the pub. So I like this film for that reason. That doesn’t mean to say you waste it, far from it, but you feel a bit more free with it like you can be experimental and the costs, if your experiment fails it is merely collateral damage. It’s a film that loves the colour splash flash. To conclude: Great colours, great grain, great price. My advise would be when ever you buy anything from the shop get a pack of this.

written by mattcharnock on 2009-09-01 in #reviews #lomo #colours #price #x-pro

11 Comments

  1. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    i must try this film! hehe

  2. stouf
    stouf ·

    Awesome gallery !!! N°9 is perfect !

  3. -a-l-b-e-r-t-o-
    -a-l-b-e-r-t-o- ·

    Great colours, great grain, great price...great review

  4. grenoouille
    grenoouille ·

    Your reviews are so funny!!... Excellent!

  5. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    funny introduction, great review + gallery!
    i confess, i haven't tried this film...*shame on me

  6. breakphreak
    breakphreak ·

    heya! I've experimented with this film as well, scanned it in several labs, and here is my question: I could never get blue colors easily. Sky/water had been always very grainy and pale. Here is the real question: how had you done it? Is it a matter of what? By no means I am not trusting you, I am simply amazed. How have you done that?

  7. mattcharnock
    mattcharnock ·

    @breakphreak i believe that luck was firmly on my side!

  8. cyan-shine
    cyan-shine ·

    So eloquent :D

  9. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    beautiful underwater shots! I made some lomo x-pro 200 with the fisheye sub while diving and hope the colors will be as awesome as yours! :)

  10. oldskool_rider
    oldskool_rider ·

    anyone tried E6 processing the xpro200 film yet? or does everyone xpro their xpro?

  11. o2matic
    o2matic ·

    COOL SHOTS MAN! hmm. which is better for you? cross processing the slide or not?

More Interesting Articles

  • Friday Movie Flashback: ‘The Prestige’ 2006

    written by cheeo on 2014-08-29 in #lifestyle
    Friday Movie Flashback: ‘The Prestige’ 2006

    In a world of magic, how do you know what is real and what is just an illusion? Christopher Nolan’s 2006 film ‘The Prestige’ is a thriller drama that revolves around what it takes to fully achieve fame through magic and deception.

  • James Wright's So It Goes x Sri Lanka Photo Diary (Part I)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-31 in #world #locations
    James Wright's So It Goes x Sri Lanka Photo Diary (Part I)

    In December last year James Wright, editor and creative director of So It Goes Magazine, went on a two-week trip to Sri Lanka, "a place so long on our bucket list, but up until then, as yet unvisited," he writes on the first of his three-part photo diary. Herein is the first of his series that chronicles his adventures, highlighted by a selection of breathtaking images of the Sri Lankan countryside and the locals, among many other images, captured with his trusty photographic companions: the Leica MP, Lomo LC-A+, and an assortment of films including the LomoChrome Purple.

    2
  • James Wright's So It Goes x Sri Lanka Photo Diary (Part II)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-07 in #world #locations
    James Wright's So It Goes x Sri Lanka Photo Diary (Part II)

    In December last year James Wright, editor and creative director of So It Goes Magazine, went on a two-week trip to Sri Lanka, "a place so long on our bucket list, but up until then, as yet unvisited," he writes on the first of his three-part photo diary. Herein is the second part of his series that chronicles his adventures, highlighted by a selection of breathtaking images of the Sri Lankan countryside and the locals, among many other images, captured with his trusty photographic companions: the Leica MP, Lomo LC-A+, and an assortment of films including the LomoChrome Purple.

    1
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • The Horizon Perfekt: A Camera for Perfect Panoramas

    written by wesco on 2014-06-23 in #reviews
    The Horizon Perfekt: A Camera for Perfect Panoramas

    For a lover of panoramic photos, the Horizon Perfekt is one of the most sought after cameras in the market. Through the revolving glass lens, it makes pictures that are sharp right into the corners at an extra wide panorama format. The distortion that can occur gives its pictures a special appearance.

  • The New Petzval Lens Is Now Available For Regular Purchase!

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-08-14 in #news
    The New Petzval Lens Is Now Available For Regular Purchase!

    The day has finally come! We are very excited to tell you that you can now order the Lomography New Petzval Lens for immediate delivery from the Online Shop or purchase it in your hands at Gallery Stores. To put full focus on our favorite portrait lens, soon we will be hosting special launch parties in our Gallery stores all over the globe! So do not miss an opportunity to become part of the sensational New Petzval Lens family today.

    1
  • Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    written by sinema on 2014-07-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    This is my experience with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 (120), my first medium format film. It's an adventure that started when I got a Lubitel 2, to finally shoot with it. In this article, you'll find detailed information about color schemes, the advantages of shooting in medium format, and the differences between standard redscale films. Here are the results of a day of shooting outside, which I recently got back from the lab.

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • 10 Films We’d Like to See at Cannes 2015

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-05-13 in #world #news #lifestyle
    10 Films We’d Like to See at Cannes 2015

    The Cannes Film Festival showcases some of the world's best cinematographic masterpieces. It is an annual event that is highly anticipated by fans and connoisseurs of both mainstream and independent cinema. This year's festival has officially opened and film buffs everywhere are excited, at the same time curious, about which film will win the Palme d'Or. We are in no position to predict the winner, but we do have our favorites, from the ones in competition and otherwise. In no definitive order, here is a list of 10 films that we'd like to see.

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

  • Awesome Albums: Tri-X by Ccwu

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-05-22 in #world #lifestyle
    Awesome Albums: Tri-X by Ccwu

    In this stunning collection, night lights are a form of movement.

    5
  • Shop News

    LC-A Iblazr Bundle

    LC-A Iblazr Bundle

    Start capturing images even in low-light conditions with this bundle you can create your own combination of LC-A camera and Iblazr flash. And save 20% off!

  • C.S. Muncy Gets Colorful with the LomoChrome Turquoise

    written by givesmehell on 2015-05-22 in #gear #reviews
    C.S. Muncy Gets Colorful with the LomoChrome Turquoise

    C.S Muncy is a New York City-based freelance photojournalist and a fellow LomoAmigo who tested and reviewed the LomoChrome Turquoise film. The rolls of film were put to good use; the resulting shots were simply stunning.

    2
  • Jules_fxxk is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-22 in #world #news
    Jules_fxxk is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to jules_fxxk for winning Home of the Day!

    3
  • Friday Movie Flashback: Vicky Cristina Barcelona

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-05-22 in #world #lifestyle
    Friday Movie Flashback: Vicky Cristina Barcelona

    In this contemporary classic, a camera becomes the companion of a lost soul.