Lomography X-Pro Slide (35mm, 200 iso) User-Review


Cross processing is such a long winded term and although that is exactly what happens when the films are developed it seems like an usatisfactory, bathetic, title for the end result. X-Pro on the other hand is a marketing dream! It gives it the illusion of being an extreme sport. Its cooler, much more right. It has the essence of the MTV generation that now use it. Even better though is the title Lomo X-Pro it rolls off the tongue, is fun to say and, if said in a Spanish accent, is quite sexy (how many of you are trying that now?). But is it any good to take pictures with?

Early in my Lomo addiction I struggled with cross processing, mainly because of the title cross processing – I always imagined the guy in the lab having to get really cross about something in order to do it. I have a similar problem with the phrase Cross Dresser – sometimes trousers just won’t go on right and I am indeed a cross dresser. But the main concern I had was the “what if factor?” as in what if the colours don’t represent the picture I am trying to capture, or what if the lab wont process it (angrily or not) what if the images are ruined, what if, what if, WHAT IF? Then I bit the bullet and tried it and have never looked back. Don’t get me wrong I love the muted tones a Kodak portra (for example) can produce, but I love the unexpected twist and punch of colour that cross processing produces. So; without further ado lets talk Lomo X Pro.

I had no problems loading the film, so far so good. The Lab I used, however, did have a problem scanning the negs for 1 roll, I think it was a one off but thought I should mention it. That done let’s discuss the results.

Price is always an issue when buying any film, and you could spend a lot of money getting rare or dead stock films for x-pro. But what I like about this film is the price, its very reasonable, you feel you can truly be Lomographic with it – shooting anything and not thinking. I find when I have a film that has cost more I want to get my monies worth and so really save it for a special occasion rather than just a trip to the pub. So I like this film for that reason. That doesn’t mean to say you waste it, far from it, but you feel a bit more free with it like you can be experimental and the costs, if your experiment fails it is merely collateral damage. It’s a film that loves the colour splash flash. To conclude: Great colours, great grain, great price. My advise would be when ever you buy anything from the shop get a pack of this.

written by mattcharnock on 2009-09-01 in #reviews #x-pro #price #lomo #colours


  1. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    i must try this film! hehe

  2. stouf
    stouf ·

    Awesome gallery !!! N°9 is perfect !

  3. -a-l-b-e-r-t-o-
    -a-l-b-e-r-t-o- ·

    Great colours, great grain, great price...great review

  4. grenoouille
    grenoouille ·

    Your reviews are so funny!!... Excellent!

  5. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    funny introduction, great review + gallery!
    i confess, i haven't tried this film...*shame on me

  6. breakphreak
    breakphreak ·

    heya! I've experimented with this film as well, scanned it in several labs, and here is my question: I could never get blue colors easily. Sky/water had been always very grainy and pale. Here is the real question: how had you done it? Is it a matter of what? By no means I am not trusting you, I am simply amazed. How have you done that?

  7. mattcharnock
    mattcharnock ·

    @breakphreak i believe that luck was firmly on my side!

  8. cyan-shine
    cyan-shine ·

    So eloquent :D

  9. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    beautiful underwater shots! I made some lomo x-pro 200 with the fisheye sub while diving and hope the colors will be as awesome as yours! :)

  10. oldskool_rider
    oldskool_rider ·

    anyone tried E6 processing the xpro200 film yet? or does everyone xpro their xpro?

  11. o2matic
    o2matic ·

    COOL SHOTS MAN! hmm. which is better for you? cross processing the slide or not?

More Interesting Articles

  • Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    written by rancliffhasenza on 2015-09-27 in #gear #tipster
    Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    Browsing through the Lomography website, you can find a lot of redscale shots, which are all done on color negative films. I asked myself if it’s possible to redscale a slide or chrome film and then cross process it. (And yes, it is.) In this tipster I’m going to teach you how to create the bloodiest homemade redscale film I've ever come across.

  • R.E.M. X Lomography Photo Contest

    written by givesmehell on 2015-05-29 in #world #competitions
    R.E.M. X Lomography Photo Contest

    Lomography is proud to announce that we are teaming up with acclaimed rock band R.E.M. to host an exclusive one-of-a-kind photo competition! The prizes include a Lomography Diana F+ Special Edition Camera, the acclaimed new ‘R.E.M. By MTV’ DVD, R.E.M. vinyl and more! Read on to see how you can participate in this rumble.

  • Vintage Gallery: Ornate Costumes

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-07-09 in #world #lifestyle
    Vintage Gallery: Ornate Costumes

    Fashion becomes something of an artifact if it is laden with details that next generations can replicate. If the original textiles are no longer available, vintage photography becomes the main style guide. This gallery is a showcase of such design influencers, from Queen Marie's bejeweled garb to Mata Hari's peekaboo costumes.

  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-26 in #world #news #competitions
    Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    With an expanded field of view and its ability to produce high quality images and capture minute detail, medium format photography has become the top choice of many photographers. Lomography is working hard to make sure that it keeps going with the continued production of medium format film and cameras. The current issue of German magazine FOTO HITS focuses on medium format photography. And with this rumble, we want to prove why medium format photography is king. Take your Diana F+, Holga 120, Lubitel 166+ or the new Lomo LC-A 120 and show us your best square shots!

  • Doug DuBois on My Last Day at Seventeen

    written by anamartaml on 2015-09-15 in #people #lifestyle
    Doug DuBois on My Last Day at Seventeen

    Doug DuBois spent five summers photographing the small neighborhood of Russell Heights in Ireland to capture the essence of coming of age: the inevitable loss of youth and the imminent transition into adulthood. Those four years resulted in his latest book, My Last Day At Seventeen. The book is a visual tale told through a collection of photographs and gives an alternative perspective through a comic narrative around the same subject. This creative combination of two distinct narratives in one book not only works wonderfully in visual terms; it also serves as an essential tool that lets the reader dig deeper into the story being told, making one go back to the book over and over again, yet from a new perspective, every single time.

  • James Wright's So It Goes x Sri Lanka Photo Diary (Part I)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-31 in #world #locations
    James Wright's So It Goes x Sri Lanka Photo Diary (Part I)

    In December last year James Wright, editor and creative director of So It Goes Magazine, went on a two-week trip to Sri Lanka, "a place so long on our bucket list, but up until then, as yet unvisited," he writes on the first of his three-part photo diary. Herein is the first of his series that chronicles his adventures, highlighted by a selection of breathtaking images of the Sri Lankan countryside and the locals, among many other images, captured with his trusty photographic companions: the Leica MP, Lomo LC-A+, and an assortment of films including the LomoChrome Purple.

  • Shop News

    Check Revolog 36exp Plexus Effects!

    Check Revolog 36exp Plexus Effects!

    Feeling experimental? We have the perfect film for you. Load up a roll of Revolog Plexus 200 on your favorite 35mm camera and shoot as you normally would.

  • 10 Films We’d Like to See at Cannes 2015

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-05-13 in #world #news #lifestyle #videos
    10 Films We’d Like to See at Cannes 2015

    The Cannes Film Festival showcases some of the world's best cinematographic masterpieces. It is an annual event that is highly anticipated by fans and connoisseurs of both mainstream and independent cinema. This year's festival has officially opened and film buffs everywhere are excited, at the same time curious, about which film will win the Palme d'Or. We are in no position to predict the winner, but we do have our favorites, from the ones in competition and otherwise. In no definitive order, here is a list of 10 films that we'd like to see.

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

  • In Honor of Holga

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-12-01 in #gear #lifestyle
    In Honor of Holga

    What do you love most about this classic plastic camera?

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Creative Snaps Captured with the Lomo'Instant Rumble Winners

    written by lomography on 2015-12-01 in #world #news #competitions
    Creative Snaps Captured with the Lomo'Instant Rumble Winners

    These photographs prove just what makes the Lomo'Instant camera the "world's most creative instant camera system."

  • Holga Through the Years

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-12-01 in #gear #news
    Holga Through the Years

    Adieu to the hip camera that has licensed us to be child-like, experimental and color-crazy for 34 years.

  • Holga Factory Shuts Down Its Production of the Iconic Camera and Accessories

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-12-01 in #gear #news
    Holga Factory Shuts Down Its Production of the Iconic Camera and Accessories

    The announcement was made last week by the Hollywood, California-based Freestyle Photographic Supplies, the exclusive distributor of Holga cameras in the USA.