Rollei Pan 25 (120, 25 iso) User-Review

6

Tired of grayish B&W? Here’s the medium-format beast from Rollei!

After testing the Rollei ATP 1.1 32 iso (35mm), I was hysterically looking for a medium-format equivalent. So I found this Rollei Pan 25. I thought, “25 ISO?” Even with a modified aperture in my Holga, It’s always be underexposed, but I wanna try it!

So I did just that and the results are just fine. They’re not that underexposed after all! I was on a beach on a very grey day as only Halifax (Canada) would provide and the shots are ok (using the “cloud” aperture)! I tested some daylight long exposure and this time using the “sun” aperture for 2-3 seconds and the water moving around the rocks became a nice blurry halo. Some long exposures for 8-10 seconds in a bar were underexposed, but hey! I was really in the dark, with a 25 ISO.

Before seeing the results, as I was so anxious, thinking all of my shots will be underexposed, so I added some big light leaks, hoping that it will add some light on the film. Even if it was, after all, not necessary. The results are nice and I’ll burn that film again!

Last point is that I scanned the film in color negative mode, producing some super sepia tones or even some pink, purple or orange tones. I even scanned it once in positive mode because I wanted to have a black swan.

written by stouf on 2009-09-03 in #reviews #25-iso #scan #light-leaks #rollei #b-w #pan #black-and-white #scanner #halifax #long-exposure

6 Comments

  1. mattydk
    mattydk ·

    another great review Stouf, awesome gallery. It really makes me want to try this out for myself.

  2. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    classic b&w brooooo! great review!

  3. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    Great review, great gallery!! :))

  4. -a-l-b-e-r-t-o-
    -a-l-b-e-r-t-o- ·

    I'm really impressed...

  5. grenoouille
    grenoouille ·

    Beautiful gallery! The beach and light leaks shots are fantastic! And there are some really sweet portraits of your girlfriend! Did you use long exposure for the whole set displayed here?

  6. stouf
    stouf ·

    Thank you very much all of you ! @grenoouille: only a few are long exposures... This film works well also in normal mode, surprisingly not too under-exposed ! Give it a try ! Cheers.

More Interesting Articles

  • Fresh Lomo LC-A 120 Picks From the Community

    written by lomography on 2015-12-07 in #gear #lifestyle
    Fresh Lomo LC-A 120 Picks From the Community

    A year and a few months since it was introduced, the Lomo LC-A 120 continues its exciting journey around the world—from busy streets to scenic far-flung places and everywhere else in between. Here are just some of the many places and faces encountered by this trusty, compact medium format camera (and their adventurous owners, of course!) in recent months, in photographs.

    3
  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Lovely Squares Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 400 (120)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-02 in #gear #news
    Lovely Squares Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 400 (120)

    Have a look at these bright and beautiful medium format photographs from the community shot with the Lomography Color Negative 400 for 120 cameras. While you're at it, find out how you can earn piggies and have your own CN 400 (120) snaps be featured on the Online Shop!

  • Shop News

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Snap your happy memories with the medium format Diana F+ Cortina! This special edition camera is a nod to fun winter holidays: snow-capped mountains, skiing and good times with friends and family!

  • Scenes from Istanbul: Stephen Dowling and the LC-A 120

    written by Lomography London on 2015-12-03 in #world #lomoamigos
    Scenes from Istanbul: Stephen Dowling and the LC-A 120

    Stephen Dowling is no stranger to the LC-A 120 camera; he has brought it on trips to Brighton, Malta and most recently, on a holiday in Istanbul. In this feature, Stephen talks about his experience shooting with this medium format camera around the markets and mosques of one of Turkey's most colourful and vibrant cities.

    1
  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • 18 Awesome Belair X 6-12 Squares

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-13 in #gear #news
    18 Awesome Belair X 6-12 Squares

    Having a Belair X 6-12 feels like owning more than just one camera. It's a medium-format camera, but paired with its special accessories you can shoot 35mm or instant photos with it, too! The versatility of its 3 photo formats also offers more options to suit your shooting needs. Here, we present to you some of the most gorgeous Belair X 6-12 photos in classic 6x6 format. Enjoy!

    11
  • Shop News

    Lomo LC-A+ Russian Lens

    Lomo LC-A+ Russian Lens

    A true Lomographic gem, the Lomo LC-A+ RL is blessed with good looks and bursting with experimental potential. Get ready to shoot amazing Lomographic photos by experimenting with MX shots, long exposures and a whole range of accessories!

  • Robin Rimbaud Shoots with the LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-10-05 in #people #lomoamigos
    Robin Rimbaud Shoots with the LC-A 120

    Robin Rimbaud is a UK based artist, record producer, and composer who works under the name "Scanner" in reference to his use of mobile phone signals and police scanners in his early performances. He has worked on soundtracks for films, sound installations, radio, dance and theater. Robin also has a passion for medium format photography, owns a Holga camera and has a unique photographic style. Get to know him in this interview, where he talks about his personal work as well as his experience with the Lomo LC-A 120.

  • Stunning Views on Lomo LC-Wide (Rumble Competition)

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-07 in #gear #news #competitions
    Stunning Views on Lomo LC-Wide (Rumble Competition)

    Give your best Lomo LC-Wide captures the spotlight they deserve. Enter our new Rumble competition to win piggies and a spot in the Lomography Shop photo showcase.

  • Newcomer of the Week: gazeofslate

    written by lomography on 2016-02-07 in #world
    Newcomer of the Week: gazeofslate

    Aside from photography, newcomer Dmitri Berenger enjoys a multitude of hobbies including gardening, watching movies, and discovering music. In this interview, he talks about his photographic style, his inspirations, choosing film cameras over digital gear, and many more.

    3
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Photo of the Day by oldhan

    written by lomography on 2016-02-07 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by oldhan

    In the eyes of an observant lomographer, a large body of water is more than just a pretty view. It's a useful tool for creating mind-boggling photographs.

  • Reizueberflutung is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by lomography on 2016-02-07 in #world #news
    Reizueberflutung is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to reizueberflutung for winning Home of the Day!

  • 3 Tumblrs We Loved This Week: Toshiaki Kitaoka,When to Say Nothing, Penonome

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-07 in #world #lifestyle
    3 Tumblrs We Loved This Week: Toshiaki Kitaoka,When to Say Nothing, Penonome

    'Snapshot' was our Tumblr keyword this week. We spent the past few days looking at troves of fresh samples from all corners of the globe. We got lured to the most effortless variety, everyday captures upgraded to showcase compositions. We invite you to look at the ones we bookmarked for future visits.