Rollei Pan 25 (120, 25 iso) User-Review

6

Tired of grayish B&W? Here’s the medium-format beast from Rollei!

After testing the Rollei ATP 1.1 32 iso (35mm), I was hysterically looking for a medium-format equivalent. So I found this Rollei Pan 25. I thought, “25 ISO?” Even with a modified aperture in my Holga, It’s always be underexposed, but I wanna try it!

So I did just that and the results are just fine. They’re not that underexposed after all! I was on a beach on a very grey day as only Halifax (Canada) would provide and the shots are ok (using the “cloud” aperture)! I tested some daylight long exposure and this time using the “sun” aperture for 2-3 seconds and the water moving around the rocks became a nice blurry halo. Some long exposures for 8-10 seconds in a bar were underexposed, but hey! I was really in the dark, with a 25 ISO.

Before seeing the results, as I was so anxious, thinking all of my shots will be underexposed, so I added some big light leaks, hoping that it will add some light on the film. Even if it was, after all, not necessary. The results are nice and I’ll burn that film again!

Last point is that I scanned the film in color negative mode, producing some super sepia tones or even some pink, purple or orange tones. I even scanned it once in positive mode because I wanted to have a black swan.

written by stouf on 2009-09-03 in #reviews #25-iso #pan #halifax #light-leaks #rollei #b-w #black-and-white #scan #scanner #long-exposure

6 Comments

  1. mattydk
    mattydk ·

    another great review Stouf, awesome gallery. It really makes me want to try this out for myself.

  2. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    classic b&w brooooo! great review!

  3. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    Great review, great gallery!! :))

  4. -a-l-b-e-r-t-o-
    -a-l-b-e-r-t-o- ·

    I'm really impressed...

  5. grenoouille
    grenoouille ·

    Beautiful gallery! The beach and light leaks shots are fantastic! And there are some really sweet portraits of your girlfriend! Did you use long exposure for the whole set displayed here?

  6. stouf
    stouf ·

    Thank you very much all of you ! @grenoouille: only a few are long exposures... This film works well also in normal mode, surprisingly not too under-exposed ! Give it a try ! Cheers.

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

  • Me, Myself and the LC-A 120: Kaho

    written by shhquiet on 2014-10-10 in #news
    Me, Myself and the LC-A 120: Kaho

    Kaho clues us in on the wonders of shooting medium format photos with the LC-A 120 after taking it for a spin on an exotic coastal trip and wedding ceremony!

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Me, Myself and the LC-A 120: Cat

    written by hembot on 2014-09-15 in #news
    Me, Myself and the LC-A 120: Cat

    Cat makes the LC-A 120 a must have everyday accessory! See what he says about our new medium format master here.

  • Most Popular User Blogs of May 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-06-08 in #news
    Most Popular User Blogs of May 2014

    Here's your monthly dose of the best blog entries from our Community!

    15
  • Me, Myself and the LC-A 120: Daniel

    written by shhquiet on 2014-10-11 in #news
    Me, Myself and the LC-A 120: Daniel

    The LC-A 120 camera has inspired Daniel to take his medium format film stash from the fridge and start shooting again!

  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    written by sinema on 2014-07-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    This is my experience with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 (120), my first medium format film. It's an adventure that started when I got a Lubitel 2, to finally shoot with it. In this article, you'll find detailed information about color schemes, the advantages of shooting in medium format, and the differences between standard redscale films. Here are the results of a day of shooting outside, which I recently got back from the lab.

  • LomoChrome Purple 120 and 35mm: Expect the Radical!

    written by myahcat on 2014-08-01 in #reviews
    LomoChrome Purple 120 and 35mm: Expect the Radical!

    I was given a roll of LomoChrome Purple 120 by a friend who was keen for me to try it out since he didn't have a medium format camera. I really didn't expect the results I got when I took it out for a test run on a bright winter's day in London.

  • Sumptuous New Squares: Take a Peek at these Latest LC-A 120 Snaps!

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-09-26 in #lifestyle
    Sumptuous New Squares: Take a Peek at these Latest LC-A 120 Snaps!

    It's been a little while since we've shared the latest shots taken with the brand new LC-A 120 with you. But that just means we have a fantastic collection to show you today! Our testers from around the world have been shooting from the hip and with the heart to capture their daily lives with this medium format master. Skip past the jump to spy into some Lomographic lives!

    1
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Pre-Order Your Very Own LC-A 120 - Very Limited Quantities Available!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-09-29 in #news
    Pre-Order Your Very Own LC-A 120 - Very Limited Quantities Available!

    Shoot exceptional medium-format photos whilst enjoying the convenience of the Lomo LC-A camera with the brand new LC-A 120. The first batch is selling out fast, so pre-order now and get yours in time for the holiday season*!

  • Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-09-08 in #news
    Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    Get ready to think fast and shoot faster! Today, we are thrilled share with you news of the brand new LC-A 120 Camera. Load it with any 120 film roll and experience the thrill of medium format photography. You’re sure to soak up all the action in every square shot with its fantastic 38mm f/4.5 wide-angle lens (equivalent to a 21mm lens on a 35mm film camera). It's available for Pre-Order: Extremely limited first batch stock of only 500 cameras!

    35