Dm Paradies (35mm, 200 iso) User-Review

10

This film is the ultimative partner of the Paradies DIA 100 film. Also avaible at a common German drugstore.

The Paradies negative is really cheap compared to professional films. Well, that doesn’t mean the film is bad. With 200 or 400 ISO it is suited perfect for lomographic photos. The colors are natural and grain is rather fine. I also like that the negatives are very easy to scan. I love to experiment with this kind of films and redscale them. Beside 200 and 400, 100 ISO is also available for this type of film, but 200 ISO works well in summer and winter with the Lomo LC-A and Fisheye while 400 ISO is recommended if you’re using any of those multi-lensed Lomographic cameras.

Actually, this Paradies negative film was the first film I used when I was still starting to learn Lomography with my Fisheye 2 and the results went well, so this is something special for me.

written by abcdefuck on 2009-09-02 in #reviews #fisheye #flash #paradies #drugstore #summer #lc-a #200-iso #scan #dm #experiment #winter #redscale #200

10 Comments

  1. crocodil_fotografic
    crocodil_fotografic ·

    It is truly a great film for experimenting, due to it's cost! :)
    I've been trying it during this summer and also went into playing with the slide film from Dm Paradies, since it's the only cheap version of slide films that I could get my hands on.

    Cheap doesn't always mean low quality!

  2. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    any idea on where i can get the negative and slide film of paradies in south east asia?

  3. -a-l-b-e-r-t-o-
    -a-l-b-e-r-t-o- ·

    this gallery speaks to paradise

  4. ivoryocean
    ivoryocean ·

    Nice review and gallery :}

  5. stouf
    stouf ·

    Brilliant gallery ! Congrats mate !

  6. ethermoon
    ethermoon ·

    haven;'t tried this film yet. i think this hasn't been to Philippines. :( yes, going with cinzinc. where can we get one with this? :)

  7. riki_87
    riki_87 ·

    cool film due!! nice shots!

  8. cyan-shine
    cyan-shine ·

    I love this film, too :D
    Since it's a german drugstore chain, I doubt you will be able to buy it retail in Asia. Unfortunately, we don't know the true stock of this film, although it is said it is older AGFA colour emulsions. Of course, you could always do some doubles with abcdefuck or me and I am sure you will end up with a spare roll ;)

  9. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    I have only seen good results with this film so far, ie. this gallery. The slide film has especially intruiged me. Good review.

  10. ng1336
    ng1336 ·

    i think last time i told u i bought as much as kodak slides from DM in frankfurt ~~~~ heheheee DM is my paradise

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Top Shoutbox Users of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-28 in #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of 2014

    The shoutbox is always open for the community's honest opinions, surprising suggestions, and sweetest greetings. It is also an avenue for members from across different countries to dicuss and interact with one another. We'd like to commend these lomographers for keeping this humble space booming with entertaining conversations all year long. Congratulations to our top shoutbox users of 2014.

    5
  • Agfa CT Precisa 100: Simply Perfect For Street Photography

    written by abecd on 2014-08-28 in #reviews
    Agfa CT Precisa 100: Simply Perfect For Street Photography

    There are a lot of reviews about this film which mostly mention its blue hues, among other precious qualities. But do you know that it is also a perfect film for candid street photography?

    1
  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • 100 Years of Technicolor To Be Commemorated in Upcoming Exhibit at MoMA

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-12 in #world #news
    100 Years of Technicolor To Be Commemorated in Upcoming Exhibit at MoMA

    The exhibit is set to take place this summer at this New York institution and will include screenings of the most memorable films shot in Technicolor and lectures on the history of this process.

  • Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    written by sinema on 2014-07-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    This is my experience with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 (120), my first medium format film. It's an adventure that started when I got a Lubitel 2, to finally shoot with it. In this article, you'll find detailed information about color schemes, the advantages of shooting in medium format, and the differences between standard redscale films. Here are the results of a day of shooting outside, which I recently got back from the lab.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Shop News

    Diana F+ Premium Glass Bundle

    Diana F+ Premium Glass Bundle

    Diana F+ and Diana+ 75mm Premium Glass Lens are now ready to give you the best shots with vignetting effects, crisp quality shots together with the signature dreamy appeal of the Diana! Save 15% on the Glass Lens in this Bundle!

  • Stock Up on Rera Pan ISO 100 and Film Spool for 127 Format Cameras

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-02-26 in #gear #news
    Stock Up on Rera Pan ISO 100 and Film Spool for 127 Format Cameras

    Try your hand at 127 format photography with a trusty shooter and the Rera Pan ISO 100 black and white film!

    1
  • Most Popular User Blogs of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-28 in #news
    Most Popular User Blogs of 2014

    Aside from the Magazine, going through the User Blogs is another way to keep tabs on the latest happening in the community. Throughout the year, it was filled with articles on new discoveries, thought-provoking opinions, and exciting exhibits that surely entertained, challenged, and inspired everyone. Let's take a look back at the fruitful year through the most popular user blogs of 2014.

    3
  • Sweetyyydreams and her Weapon of Choice: Lomography XPro Slide 200

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-07-10 in #lifestyle
    Sweetyyydreams and her Weapon of Choice: Lomography XPro Slide 200

    From warm golden yellow to dramatic green hues, Karine swears by this film's capability in producing a wide spectrum of bold and saturated colors. Because of this, she always carries a roll or two in her suitcase whenever she travels. Find out more about Karine Mougenot, aka sweetyyydreams, and her Weapon of Choice, the Lomography XPro Slide 200!

    2