Film Review of the Week

6

Black and white films are your best bet when it comes to images with a touch of classy elegance. But, which film to choose? Picking one may not always be easy, but our featured film reviewer for this week has a recommendation!

Last week, our two-time featured film reviewer m23 was pleased with the results of Lomography X-Pro Chrome 100 when cross processed. This week, he recommends shooting monochrome with one of Lomography’s newest black and white films, the Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 35mm. His first impression on his first roll of this film? “The first roll of film looks really good to me. I fell in love with the great retro look, as the images seem to have come from the 50s,” he shares. “I was pleased that almost all the pictures have become something.”

Why don’t we take a look at the photos, taken using his Nikon EM, that convinced him of the classic quality images shot with this film exude:

Photos by m23

Then, he asks, which camera should he shoot next with the Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100? I’d say go for the LC-A+. Do you guys agree? Don’t forget to check out his full review for more of his insights and photos!

Congratulations once again to m23 for being this week’s featured camera review author! Go ahead and try the Earl Grey with your other cameras, and don’t forget to share your monochrome snaps with us!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Film Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your film review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-04-28 in #reviews

6 Comments

  1. m23
    m23 ·

    Last week and this week, "Film Review of the Week".
    Yah!
    Thank you @Lomography!

  2. plasticpopsicle
    plasticpopsicle ·

    Congratulations, @m23, and great job! Keep it up! :)

More Interesting Articles

  • Photo of the Day by mafiosa

    written by cheeo on 2014-05-14 in #news
    Photo of the Day by mafiosa

    Exposing the film sprockets is one of the best ways to add a funky touch to your photos. However, this black and white landscape snapshot by mafiosa proves that these sprockets can give an elegant and classy feel, too!

    3
  • Sublime BW Snapshots Taken with Lomography Orca 110 BW Film

    written by cheeo on 2014-09-23 in #lifestyle
    Sublime BW Snapshots Taken with Lomography Orca 110 BW Film

    This film may be teeny-tiny in size, but it packs quite a punch when it comes to black and white shots!

  • Guess That Tag! Rumble: Better in Black and White

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-04-08 in #competitions
    Guess That Tag! Rumble: Better in Black and White

    Many of us may prefer experimenting and shooting with wild and whacked-out colors. But, if you want to give your photographs a timeless and mysterious touch, going black and white is the best way to go!

    26
  • Shop News

    A quick guide to Inkodye

    A quick guide to Inkodye

    Shake well and apply to fabric. Blot out excess using a paper towel. Create your design using Inkofilm or anything that casts a shadow. Expose to sunlight or bright UV light for 10-20 minutes or until color reaches full saturation. Machine wash using Inkowash to remove unexposed dye. Double your exposure time in overcast weather. Enjoy the "wow" result!

  • December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today! (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-09 in #news
    December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today!  (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    We've got another great opportunity for you to load up on all your favorite films! Today's Advent deal is 10% off of all our films! Keep your holidays classy with one of our awesome black and white films or get creative with one of our Redscale films. Whatever you choose will be a great way to document all the upcoming fesitivities!

  • Station Noir: Black and White Photography in the Summer

    written by melwyn on 2014-08-29 in #lifestyle
    Station Noir: Black and White Photography in the Summer

    Summer is full of color so using black and white film might not be the first thing that comes to mind. Yet the summer sun works out beautifully on black and white film. Like to give it a try? I've come across the best light at the train station during rush hour!

  • December 14th Advent Offer: Take Advantage of our Festive 3 For 2 Film Deals (Online Code: 3FOR2HOLIDAYFILM)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-14 in #news
    December 14th Advent Offer: Take Advantage of our Festive 3 For 2 Film Deals  (Online Code: 3FOR2HOLIDAYFILM)

    Seeing that we love to spread the cheer around here, we're giving you another chance to load up on our awesome film with today's Advent deal! Choose a classy black and white film, like our Lady Grey, or get creative and colorful with one of our Redscale films. We're certain that no matter what you choose, you'll have a great time making memories with tons of lovely analogue photos this year!

  • Shop News

    Change the View in an Instant

    Change the View in an Instant

    Extend the Borders of Instant Photography with the World’s Most Creative Instant Camera System Packed With Fun Features and say hello to the Lomo'Instant Camera! The Lomo'Instant is the perfectly sized Instant Camera to take wherever you go! It’s the most creative way to shoot fantastic photos which you can share anywhere and with everyone in an instant.

  • Fresh From the Lab: Sicilian Dance and Music

    written by sirio174 on 2014-05-13 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: Sicilian Dance and Music

    Yesterday I picked up from my trusty photography shop in Como a developed and scanned color film roll containing images of the Sicilian festival held on May 1 at the city's historical center. A few hours ago, I made some scans of these images, which I'm pleased to show you in this article! Read more after the jump!

  • Then and Now: Modern Movie Posters Get Retro Treatment

    written by cheeo on 2014-03-13 in #lifestyle
    Then and Now: Modern Movie Posters Get Retro Treatment

    It’s easy to imagine old movies being filmed again to suit the preferences of movie goers these days. Cast actors, up the ante when it comes to computer effects, cinematography and the like. But what happens when it’s done the other way around?

    1
  • Fresh from the Lab: Silvia Precisa

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-20 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: Silvia Precisa

    Recently, I used my trusty Fuji Silvi. It may not be my all-time favorite camera, but I just wanted to use it because I kind of missed shooting with it. So I decided to look through my film stash to see what I could use with the Fuji Silvi. After much consideration, I ended up picking the old Agfa CT Precisa ISO 100 to get that classic blue tone. Silvia Precisa!

    2
  • Shop News

    Still one of the Best - Horizon Kompakt

    Still one of the Best - Horizon Kompakt

    The Horizon Kompakt is a miracle in the shape of a 35mm camera. Just watching its multi-coated swing lens as it sweeps 120° degrees is a wonder to behold. With "Day" and "Night" shooting settings and battery free operation, it's also incredibly simple to use. Capture picture-perfect panoramas and get prints approximately the size of two standard frames. With the Kompakt, you'll see the world from a whole new perspective.

  • An Interview with Film Photographer Julia Tröndle

    written by chooolss on 2014-03-26 in #lifestyle
    An Interview with Film Photographer Julia Tröndle

    Young Austrian photographer and Fine Art student Julia Tröndle first caught our attention earlier this month through her fascinating work in poetic photography. When we got in touch with her for an interview, we were also able to find out that she not only shoots but also writes poetry, and is a big fan of Lomography as well! Read on to find out more about our featured photographer – from her beginnings in analogue photography to The Poetic Photography Collection – as well as see a selection of her work that she has personally collated!

    5
  • Nothing Happens on Color Film: Street Life in Como As Seen From the Bus

    written by sirio174 on 2014-06-27 in #lifestyle
    Nothing Happens on Color Film: Street Life in Como As Seen From the Bus

    Some weeks ago, I made a tribute to the great photographer Robert Frank and his 1958 black and white series taken in New York from a bus window. He is the master of the ordinary moments, capturing the essence of daily life in a series of free and random sequence of photos where nothing important happens! And as I've written there I wanted to take a similar experiment with color film, which would change the perception of the environment where people live. Read more after the jump!

  • Changing Seasons: Durham in Autumn

    written by odio-et-amo on 2014-09-10 in #lifestyle
    Changing Seasons: Durham in Autumn

    Durham is a beautiful but tiny university city in the north of England famous for its amazing cathedral, which is one of Britain's best loved buildings. When I was studying at the university, I loved to go for crisp, autumnal walks around the cathedral and the river, kicking the leaves and basking in the golden glow of the season. The Lomography Redscale film perfectly captures the beauty of this time of year.