Film Review of the Week

6

Black and white films are your best bet when it comes to images with a touch of classy elegance. But, which film to choose? Picking one may not always be easy, but our featured film reviewer for this week has a recommendation!

Last week, our two-time featured film reviewer m23 was pleased with the results of Lomography X-Pro Chrome 100 when cross processed. This week, he recommends shooting monochrome with one of Lomography’s newest black and white films, the Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 35mm. His first impression on his first roll of this film? “The first roll of film looks really good to me. I fell in love with the great retro look, as the images seem to have come from the 50s,” he shares. “I was pleased that almost all the pictures have become something.”

Why don’t we take a look at the photos, taken using his Nikon EM, that convinced him of the classic quality images shot with this film exude:

Photos by m23

Then, he asks, which camera should he shoot next with the Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100? I’d say go for the LC-A+. Do you guys agree? Don’t forget to check out his full review for more of his insights and photos!

Congratulations once again to m23 for being this week’s featured camera review author! Go ahead and try the Earl Grey with your other cameras, and don’t forget to share your monochrome snaps with us!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Film Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your film review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-04-28 in #reviews #film-review-of-the-week #black-and-white-film #film-review #user-review #lomography-film #lomography #lomography-earl-grey-b-w-100

6 Comments

  1. m23
    m23 ·

    Last week and this week, "Film Review of the Week".
    Yah!
    Thank you @Lomography!

  2. plasticpopsicle
    plasticpopsicle ·

    Congratulations, @m23, and great job! Keep it up! :)

More Interesting Articles

  • Photo of the Day by mafiosa

    written by cheeo on 2014-05-14 in #news
    Photo of the Day by mafiosa

    Exposing the film sprockets is one of the best ways to add a funky touch to your photos. However, this black and white landscape snapshot by mafiosa proves that these sprockets can give an elegant and classy feel, too!

    3
  • Sublime BW Snapshots Taken with Lomography Orca 110 BW Film

    written by cheeo on 2014-09-23 in #lifestyle
    Sublime BW Snapshots Taken with Lomography Orca 110 BW Film

    This film may be teeny-tiny in size, but it packs quite a punch when it comes to black and white shots!

  • Guess That Tag! Rumble: Better in Black and White

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-04-08 in #competitions
    Guess That Tag! Rumble: Better in Black and White

    Many of us may prefer experimenting and shooting with wild and whacked-out colors. But, if you want to give your photographs a timeless and mysterious touch, going black and white is the best way to go!

    26
  • Shop News

    Last Day: Free Camera Deal

    Last Day: Free Camera Deal

    Last day of the free camera deal today! Grab films now worth 99 EUR/USD/GBP and get your free Diana Mini or Diana F+ Love Letters for free!

  • December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today! (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-09 in #news
    December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today!  (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    We've got another great opportunity for you to load up on all your favorite films! Today's Advent deal is 10% off of all our films! Keep your holidays classy with one of our awesome black and white films or get creative with one of our Redscale films. Whatever you choose will be a great way to document all the upcoming fesitivities!

  • Station Noir: Black and White Photography in the Summer

    written by melwyn on 2014-08-29 in #lifestyle
    Station Noir: Black and White Photography in the Summer

    Summer is full of color so using black and white film might not be the first thing that comes to mind. Yet the summer sun works out beautifully on black and white film. Like to give it a try? I've come across the best light at the train station during rush hour!

  • December 14th Advent Offer: Take Advantage of our Festive 3 For 2 Film Deals (Online Code: 3FOR2HOLIDAYFILM)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-14 in #news
    December 14th Advent Offer: Take Advantage of our Festive 3 For 2 Film Deals  (Online Code: 3FOR2HOLIDAYFILM)

    Seeing that we love to spread the cheer around here, we're giving you another chance to load up on our awesome film with today's Advent deal! Choose a classy black and white film, like our Lady Grey, or get creative and colorful with one of our Redscale films. We're certain that no matter what you choose, you'll have a great time making memories with tons of lovely analogue photos this year!

  • Shop News

    Special Apertures for Petzval

    Special Apertures for Petzval

    Want to be more creative and level up your bokeh shots? A wide selection of special apertures for Petzval are here to blend with your artistic side and give your Petzval images some analog twists!

  • Fresh From the Lab: Sicilian Dance and Music

    written by sirio174 on 2014-05-13 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: Sicilian Dance and Music

    Yesterday I picked up from my trusty photography shop in Como a developed and scanned color film roll containing images of the Sicilian festival held on May 1 at the city's historical center. A few hours ago, I made some scans of these images, which I'm pleased to show you in this article! Read more after the jump!

  • Lomography Singapore and Parallel Planets Present: 'Façades: Neo-Noir Portraits Exhibition'

    written by edwinchau on 2015-03-25 in #world #events
    Lomography Singapore and Parallel Planets Present: 'Façades: Neo-Noir Portraits Exhibition'

    Lomography Singapore plays host to Parallel Planets’ first exhibition, "Façades: Neo-Noir Portraits Exhibition," featuring all-analog photography: a sea of black and white film portraits. This exhibition serves as a platform where both local and international photographers can express themselves by injecting individual perspectives into their craft. It also encourages viewers to look through the lens of the photographers, to see the subjects as who they are – flawed, alive, and breathing – and to also see beyond the façades we all choose to don.

    5
  • Fresh from the Lab: Silvia Precisa

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-20 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: Silvia Precisa

    Recently, I used my trusty Fuji Silvi. It may not be my all-time favorite camera, but I just wanted to use it because I kind of missed shooting with it. So I decided to look through my film stash to see what I could use with the Fuji Silvi. After much consideration, I ended up picking the old Agfa CT Precisa ISO 100 to get that classic blue tone. Silvia Precisa!

    2
  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Nothing Happens on Color Film: Street Life in Como As Seen From the Bus

    written by sirio174 on 2014-06-27 in #lifestyle
    Nothing Happens on Color Film: Street Life in Como As Seen From the Bus

    Some weeks ago, I made a tribute to the great photographer Robert Frank and his 1958 black and white series taken in New York from a bus window. He is the master of the ordinary moments, capturing the essence of daily life in a series of free and random sequence of photos where nothing important happens! And as I've written there I wanted to take a similar experiment with color film, which would change the perception of the environment where people live. Read more after the jump!

  • Changing Seasons: Durham in Autumn

    written by odio-et-amo on 2014-09-10 in #lifestyle
    Changing Seasons: Durham in Autumn

    Durham is a beautiful but tiny university city in the north of England famous for its amazing cathedral, which is one of Britain's best loved buildings. When I was studying at the university, I loved to go for crisp, autumnal walks around the cathedral and the river, kicking the leaves and basking in the golden glow of the season. The Lomography Redscale film perfectly captures the beauty of this time of year.

  • Photo of the Day by alexlin

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-31 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by alexlin

    Spot the cat curled up tightly into a cute ball of fur.

    3