Camera Review of the Week

1

It's time once again for our weekly review spotlight! We had a hard time choosing one as there are several great camera reviews this week, but we're sure you'll find our featured lomographer's review and photos nothing short of outstanding!

Our featured camera review for this week is about a legendary SLR camera from Nikon, the reliable, durable, and robust FM2, as our fellow lomographer photohuggers describes it. Peppering his review with interesting tidbits about this advanced film SLR camera, he was able to tell us what makes it a trusty and very respectable analogue buddy:

“The prodigal son of its predecessor – the Nikon FM and a descendant of a long line of work by Nikon, it incorporates in its robust body, some of its best features: high-strength hardened metal gears, an innovative light meter sensor and, most famously, a precision, high-strength vertical metal shutter, reaching a top speed of an unprecedented 1/4000th second.”

Our featured lomographer has definitely been enjoying shooting with this marvelous analogue beauty, as evidenced by some of his beautiful snaps below:

Don’t forget to check out his full review for more of his insights and beautiful photos!

Congratulations, photohuggers, for penning the latest Camera Review of the Week! Keep snapping those impressive photos using your trusty Nikon FM2!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Camera Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-04-21 in #reviews #camera-review #camera-review-of-the-week #lomography #nikon #nikon-fm2 #user-review

One Comment

  1. photohuggers
    photohuggers ·

    ooh, thank you so much!!! really didn't expect it! sweet!.. =)

More Interesting Articles

  • Explore: Seoul, South Korea

    written by chooolss on 2014-06-06 in #world #locations
    Explore: Seoul, South Korea

    Avid travelers are always on the lookout for their next great adventure, and if you're one of them, might we suggest the bustling city of Seoul? We're sure you'll be planning a trip here once you see the wanderlust-inducing lomographs by our fellow community members!

  • Workshops and Events for January 2015 at Lomography UK

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-01-05 in #events
    Workshops and Events for January 2015 at Lomography UK

    Happy New Year Everyone. We're confident that our January 2015 workshops will help you dust off those January blues and get you smiling again. You'll be able to learn how to expose an image onto fabric or canvas with our LUMI paint workshop, learn the basics of our super Diana F+ camera and take to the streets with the Lomo'instant. There is also a great exhibition of analogue prints from photographer Arat “Huge” Komsawadichai. Find out more and book your spot by clicking here.

  • December 14th Advent Offer: Take Advantage of our Festive 3 For 2 Film Deals (Online Code: 3FOR2HOLIDAYFILM)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-14 in #news
    December 14th Advent Offer: Take Advantage of our Festive 3 For 2 Film Deals  (Online Code: 3FOR2HOLIDAYFILM)

    Seeing that we love to spread the cheer around here, we're giving you another chance to load up on our awesome film with today's Advent deal! Choose a classy black and white film, like our Lady Grey, or get creative and colorful with one of our Redscale films. We're certain that no matter what you choose, you'll have a great time making memories with tons of lovely analogue photos this year!

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • LC-A Goes To: Saint Petersburg, Russia

    written by chooolss on 2014-06-05 in #world #locations
    LC-A Goes To: Saint Petersburg, Russia

    As the iconic LC-A celebrates its 30th birthday this month, we think it's only timely that we look back to Lomography's roots and shine the spotlight on the camera's birthplace, Saint Petersburg. If you haven't been there yourself, or if you have and simply wanted to be reminded of the beauty of the place, we've compiled a few select lomographs taken using no less than the LC-A by our community members!

  • Newcomer of the Week: analogeanstalten

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-09-21 in #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: analogeanstalten

    Her interest in photography started when she saw a shop in Vienna selling cameras with her name "Diana" printed all over. She then applied as an intern in Lomography Germany where she had a great time getting on the analogue grind. Let's all give our cheerful and perky Newcomer of the Week, analogeanstalten, a warm welcoming hug!

    2
  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Aperture

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-14 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Aperture

    Have you ever wondered why those nerdy camera constructors formulate complicated terms that baffle most normal citizens? Trust me, I know it all too well; Physics was the first subject to go when I had to choose between studying and spending yet another night pursuing youthful adventures. But don't worry — the remedy for all of the gaps in your knowledge is right here: Lomography’s Little Lessons on Photography. Follow this series and in no time you'll catch up on everything your curious mind desires!

  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Depth of Field

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-04-10 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Depth of Field

    Have you ever wondered why those nerdy camera constructors formulate complicated terms that baffle most normal citizens? Trust me, I know it all too well; Physics was the first subject to go when I had to choose between studying and spending yet another night pursuing youthful adventures. But don't worry — the remedy for all of the gaps in your knowledge is right here: Lomography’s Little Lessons on Photography. Follow this series and in no time you'll catch up on everything your curious mind desires!

    1
  • The Film Photography Day 2015 Competition Winners

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-06 in #world #news #competitions
    The Film Photography Day 2015 Competition Winners

    Did you have a blast celebrating all things analog last Film Photography Day? We highly suggest bringing out more bottles of champagne and tossing the confetti once more. The party is just starting for our winners!

    8
  • Swirling in Bokeh: Ines Rehberger Tests the New Petzval Art Lens

    written by zonderbar on 2015-05-06 in #people #lomoamigos
    Swirling in Bokeh: Ines Rehberger Tests the New Petzval Art Lens

    Although she is a trained photographer, Ines quit her job and continued with photography only as a hobby. Luckily she always has enough time for that. Ines creates beautiful, expressive portraits. Recently she did this in her hometown, Brunswick, and transformed the city to a real dream setting with a unique swirly bokeh. Her weapon of choice? The New Petzval Art Lens, of course!

    3
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Intriguing Portraits of the Sennett Bathing Beauties

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-06 in #world #lifestyle
    Intriguing Portraits of the Sennett Bathing Beauties

    In the early decades of cinema, a group of girls assembled by influential actor and director Mack Sennett rose to fame as the Sennett Bathing Beauties.

  • Perfect Combination for a Hazy Day: Lomo LC-A and a Pushed Ilford HP5+

    written by sirio174 on 2015-05-06 in #gear #reviews
    Perfect Combination for a Hazy Day: Lomo LC-A and a Pushed Ilford HP5+

    In this article, I'll show you how the Lomo LC-A loaded with the versatile Ilford HP5+ can make the most out of a hazy morning. To capture the whirlwind of a bicycle race, I pushed the film to ISO 800. The legendary Minitar 1 lens and this classic Ilford film are a perfect combination if you love black and white photos. Take a look after the jump!

  • Down in the Streets with the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-05-06 in #gear #news #lifestyle
    Down in the Streets with the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens

    Whether analogue or digital, the LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens brings life, love and color to every shot. Here is a little taste of the power the Minitar-1 has on the streets!