Rolleiflex Automat - Staff Review

6

The Automat was the first Rolleiflex Twin Lens Reflex camera with an automatic film counter system, and a "Grand Prix" winner in the 1937 Paris World Fair.

image found here

Rolleiflex is renowned for its cameras, notably the medium-format Twin Lens Reflex line. They were lightweight, compact-sized, easy to use, and had bright viewfinders. But what sets it apart from its competitors is the superior glass optics made by Zeiss and Schneider.

The first batch of the Automat was introduced in 1937, with enhanced models produced until 1956. Considered as a groundbreaking Twin Lens Reflex camera during its time, it had the automatic film loading and transport feature, which made it very convenient to load film. Back then, this feature wasn’t common – they had to feed the film between rollers and pass it over the film gate before they could mount it on the take-up spool.

Just like the other Rolleiflex TLRs, the Automat was equipped with a 3.5/75 Carl-Zeiss Jena Tessar lens, a self-timer, and a Compur-Rapid shutter (a high quality, German made shutter). In addition to the Carl Zeiss lens, it was the first Rolleiflex with a Schneider Kreuznach Xenar taking lens.

Vicuna is one of the lucky few who still uses the Automat today. His was a family heritage from a grandfather who purchased the camera in 1939.

I’m the third generation of the family to use it and it’s still working perfectly well as almost 70 years ago. The pictures are sharp, colors are perfectly reproduced with a fantastic subtle contrast in almost every situations. Whether I use color or B&W, the results are equally impressive. I only took it once to a specialized photo shop to make a general clean-up, about 15 years ago, and it still works like magic. Well, this camera is just the equivalent of perfection for me and the privileged witness of my family history for the last 70 years!

Here are two neat tricks to try if you have a Rollei, courtesy of Vicuna:

Rollei with Yellow filter – i had the chance to have with my old Rolleiflex a original yellow Rolleiflex filter, called “Rolleiflex Filter Hell” with the filter holder of the cam. I tried it out and went to a beautiful graveyard in Nice, thinking that this yellow color could give a nice vintage taste to the shot. Very easy with the original filter holder, but you can easily hold a filter in front of the lens without it. The effect? A very smooth old taste, with sometimes a slight vignetting on the corners (surely the effect of the filter holder, because the Rolleiflex doesn’t have this effect usually) and was very satisfied about that. So, if you have the chance to have a Rollei, try to find the original old filters and you’ll not be disappointed.

Rolleifish trick – If you have the fisheye lens designed for LC-A (the one you attach magnetically with the metal ring), you can use it in front of your Rolleiflex, because the lens has the same size as the Rollei lens. The only thing, for sure, is that you need to hold it with your fingers on it. To focus, hold it first in front of the viewing lens, then just move it downwards to the shooting lens. If you can stay almost in the same position (to not lose the focus) it will be OK. You’ll have very cool Fisheyes in square format with the usual quality of Rolleiflex shots!

written by shhquiet on 2008-06-21 in #reviews #rolleiflex #mf #120 #staff #review

6 Comments

  1. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    I just find out a new trick! The filters intentended for the Zenitar fisheye lens (who are screwed at the back of the lens) fits perfectly on the Rolleiflex lens! That means that you can add a nice red, Green or yellow filter easitly to your Rolleiflex shots even if you haven't the original Filter Holder and filters!! :))

  2. pederzani
    pederzani ·

    I've got the rollei magic!

  3. balzzac
    balzzac ·

    i have a rolleiflex automat... (im not sure specifically what its called) and it dosent do vignetting as in your picture, could it possibly be because of c4 processing or specific makes?

  4. balzzac
    balzzac ·

    ohh sorry i just read the rest.

  5. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    I have some more rolleiflex Automat shots to submit! :))

  6. onphyr
    onphyr ·

    I got a 1945-49 Automat model 2 K4B from eBay for very cheap, considering the quality of the camera. I also have a Rolleicord III K3B which has the same Xenar lens. Both cameras are very impressive, especially given their price, and I recently got a red filter for them (both Bayonet 1) to try our with B&W film. I'll post them up when I get them scanned.

More Interesting Articles

  • Shift School Paris Photo Competition: The Winners

    written by efrost on 2014-11-05 in #competitions
    Shift School Paris Photo Competition: The Winners

    It looks like it’s time to get out the cameras and pack your bags. Together with the Shift School Dresden, we offered amazing prizes, including an insider trip to Paris, where you can take part in photography courses and visit the world-famous Paris Photo Tradeshow. Of course, there’s also a ton of Lomography prizes at stake like cameras, accessories and film so that the winner can capture memories from the trip on film. And now to announce the winners!

  • Lomopedia: Lomo'Instant

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-10 in #gear #reviews #videos
    Lomopedia: Lomo'Instant

    With features not present in most instant cameras, the Lomo'Instant proudly and rightfully calls itself the world's most creative instant camera system.

    1
  • GrabCAD Lomo'Instant Accessory Challenge Winners Announcement!

    written by givesmehell on 2015-04-28 in #gear #competitions
    GrabCAD Lomo'Instant Accessory Challenge Winners Announcement!

    In February, we hosted a Lomo'Instant Accessory Challenge in collaboration with GrabCAD. The idea of this competition was to stoke the creative ones and encourage them to be bold in experimenting with the accessories that come with Lomography's new instant camera.

    1
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Tom Bates

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-05-05 in #gear #news
    First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Tom Bates

    The best thing about working for Lomography is having first access to new products. Imagine everyone's excitement when the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens 2.8/32M was delivered to the headquarters in Vienna, where members of the Lomography team took turns testing this tiny yet powerful optic on various cameras. Meanwhile, Tom Bates from Marketing teased out the idyllic and colorful possibilities of shooting with the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 lens on a trip to the UK countryside.

    4
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Lomo’Instant on a Sunny Day

    written by jacobs on 2014-11-06 in #gear #tipster
    Lomo’Instant on a Sunny Day

    I recently had the opportunity to take the world’s most creative instant camera — the Lomo'Instant — for a stroll on an unusually warm and sunny November day. My goal was to acquaint myself with the endlessly cool features and infinite possibilities the camera possesses while creating some beautiful photographs in the meantime. Read on to see the results!

  • Skate Photographer Joe Brook Shoots with the Petzval Lens

    written by antoniocastello on 2015-02-06 in #people #lomoamigos
    Skate Photographer Joe Brook Shoots with the Petzval Lens

    Joe Brook is one of the most popular photographers in the West Coast skate scene, shooting for magazines like Trasher, Juxtapoz, Rolling Stone, and different outlets such as PDN and Kodak. Having previous experience with an old Petzval lens mounted on a 4x5 camera, it was but natural for him to try the new one. Brook talks about finding himself, his work, and shooting with the Lomograhy Petzval Lens in this exclusive interview.

    2
  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Petzval LomoAmigo: Biking with Anton

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-09-26 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval LomoAmigo: Biking with Anton

    ANTON is an award-winning portrait photographer based in the United Kingdom. He was a semi-finalist for Hasselblad Master in 2010 and was named ‘Photographer of the Year’ in the Southeast by the BIPP in 2012. He is a big fan of Lomography and recently photographed fans with their favourite camera in our Soho Store. We lent him a Petzval lens and crownd him out latest LomoAmigo! Read on for more

  • Petzval LomoAmigo: Justine Jugnet

    written by lomographyfrance on 2015-03-25 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval LomoAmigo: Justine Jugnet

    Justine Jugnet is a French photographer based in Lyon who loves fashion photography. She recently took the Petzval lens to shoot with in Paris. Get to know more about her and her wonderful way of shooting the world around her in this exclusive interview.

    7
  • Sonia Goulvent Matches the New Petzval Lens with Expired B&W Film

    written by shibuya on 2014-10-08 in #people #lomoamigos
    Sonia Goulvent Matches the New Petzval Lens with Expired B&W Film

    Sonia pushed the Petzval lens test one step further by shooting with expired black and white film. The results are amazing, and the grain gave life to these beautiful Petzval portraits! Learn more about this photographer and her love for films, and catch a glimpse of her photos, taken in romantic Paris.