Rolleiflex Automat - Staff Review

6

The Automat was the first Rolleiflex Twin Lens Reflex camera with an automatic film counter system, and a "Grand Prix" winner in the 1937 Paris World Fair.

image found here

Rolleiflex is renowned for its cameras, notably the medium-format Twin Lens Reflex line. They were lightweight, compact-sized, easy to use, and had bright viewfinders. But what sets it apart from its competitors is the superior glass optics made by Zeiss and Schneider.

The first batch of the Automat was introduced in 1937, with enhanced models produced until 1956. Considered as a groundbreaking Twin Lens Reflex camera during its time, it had the automatic film loading and transport feature, which made it very convenient to load film. Back then, this feature wasn’t common – they had to feed the film between rollers and pass it over the film gate before they could mount it on the take-up spool.

Just like the other Rolleiflex TLRs, the Automat was equipped with a 3.5/75 Carl-Zeiss Jena Tessar lens, a self-timer, and a Compur-Rapid shutter (a high quality, German made shutter). In addition to the Carl Zeiss lens, it was the first Rolleiflex with a Schneider Kreuznach Xenar taking lens.

Vicuna is one of the lucky few who still uses the Automat today. His was a family heritage from a grandfather who purchased the camera in 1939.

I’m the third generation of the family to use it and it’s still working perfectly well as almost 70 years ago. The pictures are sharp, colors are perfectly reproduced with a fantastic subtle contrast in almost every situations. Whether I use color or B&W, the results are equally impressive. I only took it once to a specialized photo shop to make a general clean-up, about 15 years ago, and it still works like magic. Well, this camera is just the equivalent of perfection for me and the privileged witness of my family history for the last 70 years!

Here are two neat tricks to try if you have a Rollei, courtesy of Vicuna:

Rollei with Yellow filter – i had the chance to have with my old Rolleiflex a original yellow Rolleiflex filter, called “Rolleiflex Filter Hell” with the filter holder of the cam. I tried it out and went to a beautiful graveyard in Nice, thinking that this yellow color could give a nice vintage taste to the shot. Very easy with the original filter holder, but you can easily hold a filter in front of the lens without it. The effect? A very smooth old taste, with sometimes a slight vignetting on the corners (surely the effect of the filter holder, because the Rolleiflex doesn’t have this effect usually) and was very satisfied about that. So, if you have the chance to have a Rollei, try to find the original old filters and you’ll not be disappointed.

Rolleifish trick – If you have the fisheye lens designed for LC-A (the one you attach magnetically with the metal ring), you can use it in front of your Rolleiflex, because the lens has the same size as the Rollei lens. The only thing, for sure, is that you need to hold it with your fingers on it. To focus, hold it first in front of the viewing lens, then just move it downwards to the shooting lens. If you can stay almost in the same position (to not lose the focus) it will be OK. You’ll have very cool Fisheyes in square format with the usual quality of Rolleiflex shots!

written by shhquiet on 2008-06-21 in #reviews

6 Comments

  1. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    I just find out a new trick! The filters intentended for the Zenitar fisheye lens (who are screwed at the back of the lens) fits perfectly on the Rolleiflex lens! That means that you can add a nice red, Green or yellow filter easitly to your Rolleiflex shots even if you haven't the original Filter Holder and filters!! :))

  2. pederzani
    pederzani ·

    I've got the rollei magic!

  3. balzzac
    balzzac ·

    i have a rolleiflex automat... (im not sure specifically what its called) and it dosent do vignetting as in your picture, could it possibly be because of c4 processing or specific makes?

  4. balzzac
    balzzac ·

    ohh sorry i just read the rest.

  5. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    I have some more rolleiflex Automat shots to submit! :))

  6. onphyr
    onphyr ·

    I got a 1945-49 Automat model 2 K4B from eBay for very cheap, considering the quality of the camera. I also have a Rolleicord III K3B which has the same Xenar lens. Both cameras are very impressive, especially given their price, and I recently got a red filter for them (both Bayonet 1) to try our with B&W film. I'll post them up when I get them scanned.

More Interesting Articles

  • Shift School Paris Photo Competition: The Winners

    written by efrost on 2014-11-05 in #competitions
    Shift School Paris Photo Competition: The Winners

    It looks like it’s time to get out the cameras and pack your bags. Together with the Shift School Dresden, we offered amazing prizes, including an insider trip to Paris, where you can take part in photography courses and visit the world-famous Paris Photo Tradeshow. Of course, there’s also a ton of Lomography prizes at stake like cameras, accessories and film so that the winner can capture memories from the trip on film. And now to announce the winners!

  • Lomopedia: Fuji GA645

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-04-08 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Fuji GA645

    Dubbed as the world's first fully automatic 6 x 4.5 cm camera, the Fuji GA645 was a point and shoot medium format camera introduced by Fujifilm in 1995. Find out more about this beautiful snapper in this installment of Lomopedia!

    1
  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Shop News

    Still one of the Best - Horizon Kompakt

    Still one of the Best - Horizon Kompakt

    The Horizon Kompakt is a miracle in the shape of a 35mm camera. Just watching its multi-coated swing lens as it sweeps 120° degrees is a wonder to behold. With "Day" and "Night" shooting settings and battery free operation, it's also incredibly simple to use. Capture picture-perfect panoramas and get prints approximately the size of two standard frames. With the Kompakt, you'll see the world from a whole new perspective.

  • Diana F+ Instant Camera: Great Pictures in an Instant

    written by dopa on 2014-09-02 in #reviews
    Diana F+ Instant Camera: Great Pictures in an Instant

    Lomography has announced that shipping of the Lomo’Instant will begin in December, but if you want to use a lomographic instant camera with an interchangeable lens system, among other possibilities immediately, you should try the Diana F+ Instant Camera!

  • Analogue Day Film Swap Between Berlin and New York Winner Announcement

    written by zonderbar on 2014-04-23 in #competitions
    Analogue Day Film Swap Between Berlin and New York Winner Announcement

    After multiple trips in a suitcase from NYC to Vienna, Vienna to Berlin and vice versa, wherein 12 rolls of film traveled around the world and went through different cameras and airports, our film swap film competition has come to an end and we are ready to announce the winners.

  • Lomopedia: Ricoh Singlex

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-05-13 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Ricoh Singlex

    Introduced in 1962, the Singlex was Ricoh's first SLR camera with interchangeable lenses. Interestingly, this analogue beauty happens to have a more popular twin. Find out which in this installment of Lomopedia!

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    written by shhquiet on 2014-06-16 in #news
    The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    We're ecstatic to read an in-depth review of the Lomography Petzval Lens, from the cool folks over at The Phoblographer. It's exciting to find out that, like us, they are in-love with the Petzval Lens too, so much that they gave it an impressive 4/5 rating! If you're thinking of getting a Petzval Lens, you'll find this featured review very useful. Check out an excerpt and the link to the full article after the jump!

  • A Salute to the Masters: A Day at the Races (A Tribute to Bernard Cahier)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-07-26 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: A Day at the Races (A Tribute to Bernard Cahier)

    This article is a tribute to the photojournalist Bernard Cahier, the greatest Formula 1 photographer known as the "Cartier-Bresson of Motor Racing" for his great ability in capturing the right moment. Here, I'll feature a series of photos that I took at the Monza Grand Prix with a timeless black and white film! Take a look after the jump!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Gone Exploring with the Lomography Horizon Perfekt and Kompakt

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-15 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Gone Exploring with the Lomography Horizon Perfekt and Kompakt

    Bask in the sunshine of panoramic shots with the effortless cool of the Horizon Cameras. Be it with the Perfekt or Kompakt, you’ll never be caught off guard with their mechanical swing lens that captures all the action on 35mm film.

  • Shop News

    Full Focus on the Framing

    Full Focus on the Framing

    Shooting with the Lubitel 166+ is an experience on it´s own. The waist level finder will help you to compose your frames perfectly.With the possibility to use 120 and 35mm Film It offers unlimited creative possibilities deemed to be an analogue masterpiece. Get your legendary Lubitel 166+ in our Online Shop!

  • Classic × Classic : Using a Leica M3 camera to shoot with the New Petzval Art lens

    written by shawnlin on 2014-05-07 in #gear #tipster
    Classic × Classic : Using a Leica M3 camera to shoot with the New Petzval Art lens

    I participated in the Kickstarter campaign and purchased my very own new Petzval lens. I can't wait to use with with my digital camera to experience its wonderful bokeh effect. I also wanted to try its effects when using a film camera but the lens has an EF mount. I didn't have a Canon camera. See what I did with it after the jump.

    8
  • A Salute to the Masters: The Sirius Space Mission to the Third Planet (A Tribute to Peter Mitchell)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-05-06 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: The Sirius Space Mission to the Third Planet (A Tribute to Peter Mitchell)

    Imagine an alien space mission from a planet of the Sirius Star System to an abandoned industrial zone of Como, a city situated in the North of Italy. The alien photographer named sirio174, used a powerful futuristic camera, called Lomo Lubitel 166U loaded with a Kodak Portra film roll. Yes, no digital, because the future is...analogue! During his journey, he learned the most common language of our planet -- English -- and he wrote this article for us. Read more after the jump!

  • Influential Photographs: Bliss, 1996 by Charles O' Rear

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-04-11 in #lifestyle
    Influential Photographs: Bliss, 1996 by Charles O' Rear

    In the wake of the news that Microsoft no longer supports the Windows XP operating system, people have started to look back at the serene photograph that became iconic for adorning computer screens around the world. However, perhaps, not many know that this famous photograph was shot on film and not digitally manipulated in any way.