Film Review of the Week

5

If there's one thing we lomographers are known for, it's our inclination to try all things experimental. Therefore, we believe it's not surprising that this week's film review on spotlight is a big, experimental one, a good read especially for beginners!

We all reach a point in our lomographic career where all we want to do is to tinker with whatever films we have. We find out that all a plain color negative film needs is a little bit of experimentation. This is exactly what our featured lomographer shoujoai did with her Ferrania Solaris 200 films.

As the title suggests, our lomographer’s review is a big, all-encompassing one. Nearly everything you’ve ever thought of trying out with your film is here. Redscaling it, pushing it, pulling it, cross-processing it, you name it, she’s done it with her Ferrania Solaris 200 rolls. For comparison, she also provided some photos showing how the film looks like when shot as usual on a sunny day:

The fun starts when she starts experimenting, showing various shades, hues, and effects that can be achieved using this color negative film:

If you’d like to see more of her photos and insights on the Ferrania Solaris 200, go ahead and check out the full review over here!

Congratulations, shoujoai, for penning the latest Film Review of the Week! We hope you can share with us more of your film experiments and reviews soon!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Film Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your film review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-04-14 in #reviews #film-review-of-the-week #film-review #user-review #color-negative-film #lomography #ferrania-solaris #experimentation

5 Comments

  1. shoujoai
    shoujoai ·

    :)

  2. carlota_nonnumquam
    carlota_nonnumquam ·

    @plasticpopsicle Hey! Isn't there going to be an Accessory Review of The Week? There were at least two published accessory reviews last week!

  3. plasticpopsicle
    plasticpopsicle ·

    Hello @carlota_nonnumquam, sorry about that, the accessory reviews published last week were all about Diana accessories that have been featured before. As much as possible, we don't want to re-feature reviews of accessories that have been featured before. I hope that makes sense!

  4. carlota_nonnumquam
    carlota_nonnumquam ·

    @plasticpopsicle Yep, it makes total sense! :) I just thought they had been forgotten, but you're right, it wouldn't make any sense to re-feature the same accessories again!

  5. plasticpopsicle
    plasticpopsicle ·

    @carlota_nonnumquam Thank you for understanding! :)

More Interesting Articles

  • The Phoblographer Gives the LC-A 120 Five Stars and Editor's Choice Award!

    written by jacobs on 2015-01-08 in #news
    The Phoblographer Gives the LC-A 120 Five Stars and Editor's Choice Award!

    We love our cameras. We especially love it when you love our cameras. And we get super pumped when you tell us about it. So when the LC-A 120 got a stunning review from the fellas at The Phoblographer, we were giddy with delight! Not only did they give it a killer, in-depth review, but they also bestowed it with a 5/5 rating and Editor's Choice award! Read on for a little taste of the review and then head to their site to read the whole thing!

  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 4

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-05 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 4

    Read on dear friend and I will weave a story for you. There may be more questions than answers raised by this peculiar tale. But if it’s clarity you seek, have no fear, things will become clear in time (they always do, don’t they?). So rub the Sandman’s dust from your sleepy eyes and take a journey with me. If you think you have an answer when we reach the end, please do share it in the comments!

    8
  • Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    written by maliha on 2015-01-07 in #world #locations
    Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    If you want to know the heart of a person, peek inside his/her wardrobe! And no, nobody famous said that; I only just made it up. But really, don't you think it's true? After all, the way we dress screams our personality; at least for most of us. And that is why, as soon as I land on a new city, one of the things I absolutely must do is find the local boutiques. Sure, I love the fancy chain boutiques as much as the next person, but there's just something else about a local clothing store. It's unique!

  • Shop News

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    You’ve shouted your analogue love from the rooftops and worn your heart on your sleeve – Now it’s time to take it to the next level and wear it on your skin! Our new Lomography Tattoos are fun, easy to apply and come in five designs.

  • Ekeupratama is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-04-18 in #world #news
    Ekeupratama is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to ekeupratama for winning Home of the Day!

    2
  • Quentin Tarantino's Low-Angle Shots

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-04-18 in #people
    Quentin Tarantino's Low-Angle Shots

    Our grandparents taught us never to stoop down to the level of bad people, but Quentin Tarantino begs to differ. This video shows us how a shot from below can create a strange intimacy with perplexing characters.

  • Photo of the Day by feurstein

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-04-18 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by feurstein

    It was definitely a busy day for this humble stand. A steady stream of people passed by looking for fresh fruits to buy.

  • Shop News

    Sit, Stash & Fold

    Sit, Stash & Fold

    Get both appealing LomoDices for your home! These cardboard cubes can be used for different things – they make great, stylish seats but you can also stash small items inside and fold them for storing!

  • Color-Kissed Photos of People Clowning Around with Diana F+

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-04-18 in #gear #lifestyle
    Color-Kissed Photos of People Clowning Around with Diana F+

    Diana F+ lets you frolic without fuss. It is handy, dandy and always ready to party. Just ask these color-happy Lomographers.

  • Meet our LomoGuru: ihave2pillows

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-04-18 in #people #lifestyle
    Meet our LomoGuru: ihave2pillows

    Ed Choi regards Lomography as one of the best things that happened to him. In this interview, the latest member to join the roster of LomoGurus talks about how cross processing slide films sparked a great friendship, taking instant photos in Himalayas, and creating the perfect double exposure photograph.

    1
  • Derek Woods' 365 Days of Lomography Recap - February 14-28

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-18 in #people #news
    Derek Woods' 365 Days of Lomography Recap - February 14-28

    This latest update on Derek Woods' 365 Days of Lomography project covers the latter half of February and wraps up his two-month adventure with the LC-A. Dive in!

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Score These Awesome Analog Treasures at Up to 50% Off!

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-18 in #gear #news
    Score These Awesome Analog Treasures at Up to 50% Off!

    Set sail to the Lomography Online Shop today and get limited edition items and other collectibles for less!

  • Star Wars Mania 2015: The All-New Trailer

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-04-17 in #world #lifestyle
    Star Wars Mania 2015: The All-New Trailer

    The second trailer for "Star Wars:Episode VII - The Force Awakens" has the internet abuzz in the last last few hours. To join in on the fun, we scoured our archives and the cyberspace for some Star Wars treasures. Think Princess Leia and her double in that glorious gold costume, plus a photo of the new cast in roundtable discussion.

    1
  • Analog By Nature

    written by Cameron Jean-laing on 2015-04-17 in #world #lifestyle
    Analog By Nature

    It's late October in Copenhagen and summer was well and truly behind us. With the nights drawing in, the chances of going out with one of my cameras was slim. All was not lost at this time of year, however, as it allowed me time to focus on my own personal music projects—I am a professional composer/musician and audio engineer at my own studio by day.

    1