Film Review of the Week

2

Every now and then, we come across an intriguing expired film that catches our interest. Our featured film reviewer for this week shares with us some great results from a roll of expired infrared black and white film. Read on if you're curious!

Lomographer brandkow93 has never heard of Ilford SFX 200 but since he was familiar with many other Ilford films and loved their results, he went ahead and took it outdoors for a shoot. This black and white infrared film, which came along with the lot of expired films he purchased from eBay, appeared to have rewarded him with nice results.

Since it was an expired film (for nearly 3 years!), our lomographer overexposed the film for a bit and used an infrared filter for better results. He got beautiful monochrome landscapes, which led him to conclude that it’s a forgiving film. Let’s take a look at some of them below:

“The film its self is very forgiving. I wasn’t paying that much attention to my exposure times as I was shooting in bulb so I just left the shutter open for at least 2 seconds,” he says.

Beautiful nature snaps, don’t you think? Our featured lomographer has a lot more in his full review!

Congratulations, brandkow93, for penning the latest Film Review of the Week! Looks like you enjoyed shooting with this uncommon black and white film, and we hope you’ll get to shoot more of this Ilford emulsion!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Film Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your film review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-04-07 in #reviews

2 Comments

  1. meetmeatcali
    meetmeatcali ·

    Hi! I bought an ordinary film and i want it to expire to get those beautiful effect. Any tips on how to expire films?

  2. rbruce63
    rbruce63 ·

    Perhaps what you need is over expose the highlights to let them shine like on EIR or Infrared, instead of waiting for the film to expire. If you use a deep yellow filter and shoot oat fields, then you can make them appear clear instead of grey.

More Interesting Articles

  • Sonia Goulvent Matches the New Petzval Lens with Expired B&W Film

    written by shibuya on 2014-10-08 in #people #lomoamigos
    Sonia Goulvent Matches the New Petzval Lens with Expired B&W Film

    Sonia pushed the Petzval lens test one step further by shooting with expired black and white film. The results are amazing, and the grain gave life to these beautiful Petzval portraits! Learn more about this photographer and her love for films, and catch a glimpse of her photos, taken in romantic Paris.

  • Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    written by Xiang Cong Tham on 2015-02-22 in #gear #reviews
    Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    A lot of lomographers have experienced using and even writing about the greatness of the Lomography Earl Grey black and white 35mm ISO 100 film. However, no one has written about using an expired Earl Grey film yet. How does it fare when it is used expired? Read on to find out more.

    2
  • An Interview with Christopher Lange

    written by chooolss on 2014-05-07 in #lifestyle
    An Interview with Christopher Lange

    Following our introduction about him and his work in black and white last week, we now bring to you Lomography's exclusive interview with New York-based photographer Christopher Lange, in which he discusses all things photography as well as his equally interesting non-photographic pursuits. Oh, and he graciously shares his very own recipe for roast chicken, too!

  • Shop News

    (Re)discover Photography with the Stenoflex Mini Labo

    (Re)discover Photography with the Stenoflex Mini Labo

    Stenoflex lets you reproduce the single steps of black and white photography, from taking photos to printing. It is a simple box pierced with a tiny pinhole to allow light to enter. Put a sheet of photosensitive paper (included) inside the darkroom and expose it to your subject.

  • Awesome Albums: 250 B&W by bccbarbosa

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-05-23 in #news
    Awesome Albums: 250 B&W by bccbarbosa

    Today's featured awesome album is a collection of simple yet eye-catching black and white Polaroid photos. If you're in the mood for some patterns, bits and pieces of architecture, and dreamy seascapes in monochrome, you should check out this album!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today! (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-09 in #news
    December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today!  (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    We've got another great opportunity for you to load up on all your favorite films! Today's Advent deal is 10% off of all our films! Keep your holidays classy with one of our awesome black and white films or get creative with one of our Redscale films. Whatever you choose will be a great way to document all the upcoming fesitivities!

  • Shop News

    The Perfect Portrait Lens

    The Perfect Portrait Lens

    The New Petzval Lens comes in 2 lens mount variations. You can purchase a New Petzval Lens with Canon EF mount, or one with a Nikon F mount. The lens works with both analogue and digital cameras with this type of lens mount. There also is a range of adapters available in our Online Shop to use your Petzval Lens on various other (d)SLRs or even compact system cameras!

  • A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-10-11 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    This is a tribute to a great Austrian sports photographer, Lothar Rübelt. In an era with no high speed films available, he was able to immortalize wonderful moments in sports - from diving to gymnastics and football. In creating this tribute, I took a series of photos of an amateur football match using expired black and white film developed using an uncommon chemical. Take a look after the jump!

  • A Political Rally in Como

    written by sirio174 on 2014-08-18 in #lifestyle
    A Political Rally in Como

    In the week preceding the elections for the European Parliament, several political rallies were held in Como. As with all other public events in my city I documented one of these rallies, this time using a Russian film camera Zorki 6 loaded with a black and white film roll. Take a look!

    1
  • Nothing Happens on Color Film: Street Life in Como As Seen From the Bus

    written by sirio174 on 2014-06-27 in #lifestyle
    Nothing Happens on Color Film: Street Life in Como As Seen From the Bus

    Some weeks ago, I made a tribute to the great photographer Robert Frank and his 1958 black and white series taken in New York from a bus window. He is the master of the ordinary moments, capturing the essence of daily life in a series of free and random sequence of photos where nothing important happens! And as I've written there I wanted to take a similar experiment with color film, which would change the perception of the environment where people live. Read more after the jump!

  • Shop News

    Take photos in 3 different formats with the sleek limited edition Belair X 6-12 Trailblazer!

    Take photos in 3 different formats with the sleek limited edition Belair X 6-12 Trailblazer!

    The expansive 6x12 format allows you to capture a vast space that makes for jaw-dropping photos; whether landscape, portrait or anything else you feel like shooting. Wait there’s more; the Belair X 6-12 can also shoot in both square 6x6 and regular 6x9 formats. So whatever shape you’re in, the Belair X 6-12 is ready to match you!

  • A Salute to the Masters: A Day at the Races (A Tribute to Bernard Cahier)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-07-26 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: A Day at the Races (A Tribute to Bernard Cahier)

    This article is a tribute to the photojournalist Bernard Cahier, the greatest Formula 1 photographer known as the "Cartier-Bresson of Motor Racing" for his great ability in capturing the right moment. Here, I'll feature a series of photos that I took at the Monza Grand Prix with a timeless black and white film! Take a look after the jump!

  • Newcomer of the Week: analogeanstalten

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-09-21 in #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: analogeanstalten

    Her interest in photography started when she saw a shop in Vienna selling cameras with her name "Diana" printed all over. She then applied as an intern in Lomography Germany where she had a great time getting on the analogue grind. Let's all give our cheerful and perky Newcomer of the Week, analogeanstalten, a warm welcoming hug!

    2
  • December 14th Advent Offer: Take Advantage of our Festive 3 For 2 Film Deals (Online Code: 3FOR2HOLIDAYFILM)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-14 in #news
    December 14th Advent Offer: Take Advantage of our Festive 3 For 2 Film Deals  (Online Code: 3FOR2HOLIDAYFILM)

    Seeing that we love to spread the cheer around here, we're giving you another chance to load up on our awesome film with today's Advent deal! Choose a classy black and white film, like our Lady Grey, or get creative and colorful with one of our Redscale films. We're certain that no matter what you choose, you'll have a great time making memories with tons of lovely analogue photos this year!