Film Review of the Week

2

Every now and then, we come across an intriguing expired film that catches our interest. Our featured film reviewer for this week shares with us some great results from a roll of expired infrared black and white film. Read on if you're curious!

Lomographer brandkow93 has never heard of Ilford SFX 200 but since he was familiar with many other Ilford films and loved their results, he went ahead and took it outdoors for a shoot. This black and white infrared film, which came along with the lot of expired films he purchased from eBay, appeared to have rewarded him with nice results.

Since it was an expired film (for nearly 3 years!), our lomographer overexposed the film for a bit and used an infrared filter for better results. He got beautiful monochrome landscapes, which led him to conclude that it’s a forgiving film. Let’s take a look at some of them below:

“The film its self is very forgiving. I wasn’t paying that much attention to my exposure times as I was shooting in bulb so I just left the shutter open for at least 2 seconds,” he says.

Beautiful nature snaps, don’t you think? Our featured lomographer has a lot more in his full review!

Congratulations, brandkow93, for penning the latest Film Review of the Week! Looks like you enjoyed shooting with this uncommon black and white film, and we hope you’ll get to shoot more of this Ilford emulsion!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Film Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your film review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-04-07 in #reviews #film-review-of-the-week #black-and-white-film #ilford-sfx-200 #film-review #infrared-film #user-review #lomography

2 Comments

  1. meetmeatcali
    meetmeatcali ·

    Hi! I bought an ordinary film and i want it to expire to get those beautiful effect. Any tips on how to expire films?

  2. rbruce63
    rbruce63 ·

    Perhaps what you need is over expose the highlights to let them shine like on EIR or Infrared, instead of waiting for the film to expire. If you use a deep yellow filter and shoot oat fields, then you can make them appear clear instead of grey.

More Interesting Articles

  • Sonia Goulvent Matches the New Petzval Lens with Expired B&W Film

    written by shibuya on 2014-10-08 in #people #lomoamigos
    Sonia Goulvent Matches the New Petzval Lens with Expired B&W Film

    Sonia pushed the Petzval lens test one step further by shooting with expired black and white film. The results are amazing, and the grain gave life to these beautiful Petzval portraits! Learn more about this photographer and her love for films, and catch a glimpse of her photos, taken in romantic Paris.

  • Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    written by Xiang Cong Tham on 2015-02-22 in #gear #reviews
    Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    A lot of lomographers have experienced using and even writing about the greatness of the Lomography Earl Grey black and white 35mm ISO 100 film. However, no one has written about using an expired Earl Grey film yet. How does it fare when it is used expired? Read on to find out more.

    2
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today! (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-09 in #news
    December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today!  (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    We've got another great opportunity for you to load up on all your favorite films! Today's Advent deal is 10% off of all our films! Keep your holidays classy with one of our awesome black and white films or get creative with one of our Redscale films. Whatever you choose will be a great way to document all the upcoming fesitivities!

  • 12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    written by Maaike van Stratum on 2015-04-12 in #world #lifestyle
    12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    My list of resolutions for 2015 consists of 12 projects, one for every month. March was for caffenol. You have probably heard of the amazing fact that you can develop black and white photos with coffee, sodium, and vitamin C. I had tried this before but with less than stellar results. Somehow, there's always something going wrong. Time to devote a few rolls to caffenol to finally get the hang of it.

    1
  • A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-10-11 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    This is a tribute to a great Austrian sports photographer, Lothar Rübelt. In an era with no high speed films available, he was able to immortalize wonderful moments in sports - from diving to gymnastics and football. In creating this tribute, I took a series of photos of an amateur football match using expired black and white film developed using an uncommon chemical. Take a look after the jump!

  • Shop News

    110 Experiment Kit

    110 Experiment Kit

    With this bundle, you can choose a camera, film and accessories to spice up your 110 shooting experience!

  • A Political Rally in Como

    written by sirio174 on 2014-08-18 in #lifestyle
    A Political Rally in Como

    In the week preceding the elections for the European Parliament, several political rallies were held in Como. As with all other public events in my city I documented one of these rallies, this time using a Russian film camera Zorki 6 loaded with a black and white film roll. Take a look!

    1
  • Nothing Happens on Color Film: Street Life in Como As Seen From the Bus

    written by sirio174 on 2014-06-27 in #lifestyle
    Nothing Happens on Color Film: Street Life in Como As Seen From the Bus

    Some weeks ago, I made a tribute to the great photographer Robert Frank and his 1958 black and white series taken in New York from a bus window. He is the master of the ordinary moments, capturing the essence of daily life in a series of free and random sequence of photos where nothing important happens! And as I've written there I wanted to take a similar experiment with color film, which would change the perception of the environment where people live. Read more after the jump!

  • A Salute to the Masters: A Day at the Races (A Tribute to Bernard Cahier)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-07-26 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: A Day at the Races (A Tribute to Bernard Cahier)

    This article is a tribute to the photojournalist Bernard Cahier, the greatest Formula 1 photographer known as the "Cartier-Bresson of Motor Racing" for his great ability in capturing the right moment. Here, I'll feature a series of photos that I took at the Monza Grand Prix with a timeless black and white film! Take a look after the jump!

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini Flash Bundle

    Diana Mini Flash Bundle

    Ready to dive into the world of Lomography? This Bundle will provide you with all that you need: a Diana Mini, a Diana flash, a flash adaptor and you're ready good to go!

  • Newcomer of the Week: analogeanstalten

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-09-21 in #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: analogeanstalten

    Her interest in photography started when she saw a shop in Vienna selling cameras with her name "Diana" printed all over. She then applied as an intern in Lomography Germany where she had a great time getting on the analogue grind. Let's all give our cheerful and perky Newcomer of the Week, analogeanstalten, a warm welcoming hug!

    2
  • December 14th Advent Offer: Take Advantage of our Festive 3 For 2 Film Deals (Online Code: 3FOR2HOLIDAYFILM)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-14 in #news
    December 14th Advent Offer: Take Advantage of our Festive 3 For 2 Film Deals  (Online Code: 3FOR2HOLIDAYFILM)

    Seeing that we love to spread the cheer around here, we're giving you another chance to load up on our awesome film with today's Advent deal! Choose a classy black and white film, like our Lady Grey, or get creative and colorful with one of our Redscale films. We're certain that no matter what you choose, you'll have a great time making memories with tons of lovely analogue photos this year!

  • 'Aniki-Bòbò': A Tribute to Manoel De Oliveira

    written by sirio174 on 2015-04-08 in #world #lifestyle
    'Aniki-Bòbò': A Tribute to Manoel De Oliveira

    This article is a tribute to the great Portuguese film director Manoel de Oliveira, who died last April 2. With an old Praktica loaded with a roll of black and white film, I captured so enthusiastically his city Oporto (Porto) with its famous Ribeira district, the most characteristic of the Lusitanian town. It was here that more than 70 years ago, Manoel De Oliveira created a timeless masterpiece: "Aniki-Bòbò"!

    1