Camera Review of the Week

1

It's time once again for us to look back at the star reviews of this week, starting off with insights on cameras. Our featured lomographer has recently introduced us to a trusty machine of an SLR camera, his old friend, the Mamiya/Sekor 500DTL.

Our featured author rrohe started his piece with a brief history on how he came across his featured analogue camera. “When I was 16 I was rooting around in a closet at my father’s house. I found a bag and began to dig some more. Within this bag was a camera.”

Credits: rrohe

It was a Mamiya/Sekor 500DTL which rrohe refused to call simply as “a camera,” for he found it a workhorse of a camera which he likes to bring along with him whenever he goes out to shoot. He also recalls that the 500DTL was at least 29 years old when he found it, and still working properly after years of being confined in a closet.

If you’re curious about the technical details, our lomographer here has covered the specifics, including shutter speed, metering system, and batteries. You can go ahead and check out the full review to learn more, or take a look at some of his beautiful snaps using the Mamiya/Sekor 500DTL:

Credits: rrohe

Congratulations, rrohe, both for garnering the Camera Review of the Week distinction and finding this workhorse of an SLR! Great find, great photos, great review!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Camera Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-04-07 in #reviews #mamiya #mamiya-sekor-500dtl #camera-review-of-the-week #camera-review #user-review #lomography

One Comment

  1. rrohe
    rrohe ·

    Have been busy the last week or so, but I wanted to say thank you for this. Was very excited to see it come up in my notifications. :)

More Interesting Articles

  • New York Fashion Week with Christopher Logan and the Lomo LC-A

    written by givesmehell on 2015-03-13 in #people #lomoamigos
    New York Fashion Week with Christopher Logan and the Lomo LC-A

    Lomography is thrilled to have fashion photographer Christopher Logan back with us! This time around, our old friend shot the recent New York Fashion Week 2015 with the Lomo LC-A.

    3
  • Fresh Lomo LC-A 120 Picks From the Community

    written by lomography on 2015-12-07 in #gear #lifestyle
    Fresh Lomo LC-A 120 Picks From the Community

    A year and a few months since it was introduced, the Lomo LC-A 120 continues its exciting journey around the world—from busy streets to scenic far-flung places and everywhere else in between. Here are just some of the many places and faces encountered by this trusty, compact medium format camera (and their adventurous owners, of course!) in recent months, in photographs.

    3
  • Shooting the Petzval Lens with Ian Taylor

    written by givesmehell on 2015-04-29 in #people #lomoamigos
    Shooting the Petzval Lens with Ian Taylor

    Canadian-born Ian Taylor is a full-time photographer specializing in kids and development work. It all started when his five siblings started having children at the same time he was into photography. This passion then spiraled into something amazing, and now Ian works primarily with kids, shooting them when they are in their purest form. Based in Asia, Ian has agreed to share this amazing series of photos he shot with his Petzval Art Lens in Cambodia and Thailand. He also shared with us some of his insights and views on photography.

  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Shoot wider and bigger with this new instax camera that has film format twice the size of the instax mini films!

  • LomoAmigo Heison Ng's New Russar+ Lens Photo Collection

    written by minawoo on 2015-07-26 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigo Heison Ng's New Russar+ Lens Photo Collection

    LomoAmigo Heison Ng has once again shot a brilliant series of photographs. Last time, he shared photographs taken with the New Russar+ Lens mounted on his Sony A7 Camera during a trip to Paris and Barcelona. This time around, he created minimalist yet moody black and white photos, still with the New Russar+ Lens. Brace yourselves for his newest collection of New Russar+ Lens photographs!

  • Scott Brasher Chases Fashion in the Streets of New York with the Petzval Lens

    written by antoniocastello on 2015-03-09 in #people #lomoamigos
    Scott Brasher Chases Fashion in the Streets of New York with the Petzval Lens

    Scott Brasher is a fashion street photographer based in New York City. His work has been featured on many media outlets while working with brands like Cover Girl, MTV, Reebok, and Target, among many others. But before this, Scott started shooting in the streets of Williamsburg, Brooklyn, capturing its daily urban fashion. Last month, he took the Petzval Lens to the streets of New York to photograph scenes at the famous New York Fashion Week.

  • The Petzval Lens, Christopher Logan, and New York Fashion Week

    written by givesmehell on 2015-03-21 in #people #lomoamigos
    The Petzval Lens, Christopher Logan, and New York Fashion Week

    Christopher Logan once again collaborated with Lomography as he brought his favorite Petzval Lens to the 2015 New York Fashion Week! The Petzval, being a versatile lens, is a great choice to work with during major events. Logan documented most of the Fashion Week with Lomography gear, and we are more than excited to share with you some of his shots with the Petzval Lens!

    1
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Cinematographer Michal Dabal on the Petzval Lens

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-05 in #people #lifestyle #videos
    Cinematographer Michal Dabal on the Petzval Lens

    Here’s what happens before we interview a photographer. We gush about the work though we have yet to find out the cameras and processes behind the brilliant composition or the light architecture. And even when they haven’t used a Lomo camera, we feature them anyway. But every once in a while comes a pro who uses one of our premium lenses at work and our fun cameras off-duty. This makes us mighty glad, more so when their images are good and worth sharing. We count cinematographer Michal Dabal's work among them.

    1
  • Petzval LomoAmigo: Jonathan Daniel Pryce

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-06-15 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval LomoAmigo: Jonathan Daniel Pryce

    Jonathan Daniel Pryce is a talented young photographer based in London who specializes in men’s fashion and street photography. His work has been featured in Grazia, Glamour, GQ and Vogue. In 2012 he started a personal project to document 100 Beards in 100 Days, a 100-day mission to photograph bearded men in London. Recently, he had the opportunity to shoot with the Lomography Petzval 85 Art Lens.

    1
  • Adventurous Photography: The Lomography x Stilpirat Competition

    written by petit_loir on 2015-03-20 in #world #competitions
    Adventurous Photography: The Lomography x Stilpirat Competition

    You are probably already familiar with our German Petzval LomoAmigo Steffen Böttcher, aka Stilpirat. He recently released his very first audio book about his adventures as photographer, "Abenteuer Fotografie," featuring the beautiful Petzval lens on the cover. Through this competition, our German-speaking community gets the chance to win three of his audio books as well as his photo book about Ghana. So what do you need to do? Show us your lomographic adventures!

  • Shop News

    Ondu 4X5 Large Format Pinhole Camera

    Ondu 4X5 Large Format Pinhole Camera

    Want to push your limits in the field of photography? Go large format! This camera uses a 4x5” film and can capture all the subjects you want with this pinhole camera in large format!

  • Newcomer of the Week: psychedelica

    written by icequeenubia on 2015-03-22 in #world #lifestyle #videos
    Newcomer of the Week: psychedelica

    His love affair with analog photography started with a Zenit 12 which he received as a birthday present. Almost a decade has passed since but he still continues to capture his everyday life and the spirit of Istanbul's streets on film. Get to know our newcomer of the week from Turkey, Can Ortak also known in the community as psychedelica!

    8
  • Newcomer of the Week: analogvision

    written by lomography on 2015-11-29 in #world #lifestyle #videos
    Newcomer of the Week: analogvision

    "Love your camera" is Marika's first rule when it comes to shooting film. Her passion for collecting gear stemmed from a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity of testing a variety of film cameras for her friend's shop. Let's all welcome our newcomer of the week from Prague, Czech Republic, analogvision!

    5
  • A Summer Of Festivals – Discover Electric Castle

    written by dop on 2015-07-18 in #world #lifestyle #locations
    A Summer Of Festivals – Discover Electric Castle

    There are quite a lot of festivals to choose from every summer and for sure everyone has his favorite. This June @danika, @hinny and @tomas_bates joined me for one of my favorites: Electric Castle Festival. Armed with loads of films & cameras, good mood and a lot of patience for the road to the heart of Romania, we set off to discover Electric Castle. Read on to find out what this off the radar festival has to offer!