Camera Review of the Week

1

It's time once again for us to look back at the star reviews of this week, starting off with insights on cameras. Our featured lomographer has recently introduced us to a trusty machine of an SLR camera, his old friend, the Mamiya/Sekor 500DTL.

Our featured author rrohe started his piece with a brief history on how he came across his featured analogue camera. “When I was 16 I was rooting around in a closet at my father’s house. I found a bag and began to dig some more. Within this bag was a camera.”

Credits: rrohe

It was a Mamiya/Sekor 500DTL which rrohe refused to call simply as “a camera,” for he found it a workhorse of a camera which he likes to bring along with him whenever he goes out to shoot. He also recalls that the 500DTL was at least 29 years old when he found it, and still working properly after years of being confined in a closet.

If you’re curious about the technical details, our lomographer here has covered the specifics, including shutter speed, metering system, and batteries. You can go ahead and check out the full review to learn more, or take a look at some of his beautiful snaps using the Mamiya/Sekor 500DTL:

Credits: rrohe

Congratulations, rrohe, both for garnering the Camera Review of the Week distinction and finding this workhorse of an SLR! Great find, great photos, great review!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Camera Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-04-07 in #reviews

One Comment

  1. rrohe
    rrohe ·

    Have been busy the last week or so, but I wanted to say thank you for this. Was very excited to see it come up in my notifications. :)

More Interesting Articles

  • Me, Myself and the LC-A 120: Daniel

    written by shhquiet on 2014-10-11 in #news
    Me, Myself and the LC-A 120: Daniel

    The LC-A 120 camera has inspired Daniel to take his medium format film stash from the fridge and start shooting again!

  • Monday Moodboard: Nina Leen's Vintage Photographs of Circus Girls

    written by chooolss on 2014-07-14 in #news
    Monday Moodboard: Nina Leen's Vintage Photographs of Circus Girls

    Once again we rely on good ol' history for that much-needed dose of inspiration to start the week with. This time, amazing circus girls take the spotlight through photographs by an equally talented female photographer, Nina Leen.

    5
  • Lomopedia: Nikon FM10

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-18 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Nikon FM10

    Dubbed as an ideal analogue camera for beginners, the FM10 boasts a myriad of features that can definitely teach photography newbies a trick or two when it comes to shooting. Read on to find out more about this trusty SLR from Nikon.

    14
  • Shop News

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    You’ve shouted your analogue love from the rooftops and worn your heart on your sleeve – Now it’s time to take it to the next level and wear it on your skin! Our new Lomography Tattoos are fun, easy to apply and come in five designs.

  • Fräulein Catherine Takes on the Konstruktor Challenge

    written by zonderbar on 2014-06-16 in #people #lomoamigos
    Fräulein Catherine Takes on the Konstruktor Challenge

    About a year ago, we introduced the Konstruktor to the world, and the little do-it-yourself camera has left us in awe ever since. Even the Viennese blogger, Fräulein Catherine (Miss Catherine), was keen on our 35mm SLR camera that you can build yourself, and she took on the DIY challenge. Here you can read more about the feat.

  • Newcomer of the Week: theisleofadventure

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-05-04 in #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: theisleofadventure

    Rebecca was encouraged by her friend, also a Community member, hola_to_the_holga, to try her hand at film photographer after seeing an old SLR at her home. Now, she cannot thank her friend enough for getting her into yet another creative outlet aside from baking cakes and drawing. Let's get to know more about our darling Rebecca or theisleofadventure, our Newcomer of the Week!

    3
  • My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-11-12 in #gear #tipster
    My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    I backed the Kickstarter project for the Lomo’Instant earlier this year and was thrilled to receive it last week. I love how the camera naturally encourages you to experiment with its different features, whether it’s through flashing your multiple exposures with different colors or trying different creative techniques after your shots has been ejected. Here are a few tips from what I’ve discovered from playing with the camera so far (and a couple of tips I want to try out in future)!

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Petzval LomoAmigo: Lomokev

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-11-06 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval LomoAmigo: Lomokev

    By now most of you would have heard of Lomokev, one of the UK's most prolific film photographers. Based in Brighton, Lomokev loves to shoot with the trusty LC-A and his work has been featured in numerous publications and projects. We lent him a Petzval lens and asked him a few questions about what makes him tick. Here's an exclusive interview, along with a several fantastic shots by the talented UK-based photographer.

    2
  • A Vintage Petzval Photoshoot With Our Friend Lassi, One of the Petzval Lens Kickstarter Backers

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-04-18 in #news
    A Vintage Petzval Photoshoot With Our Friend  Lassi, One of the Petzval Lens Kickstarter Backers

    Lassi, one of our awesome Petzval Lens Kickstarter backers, came to visit us at Lomography HQ this week. We had a brilliant time introducing him to the Lomography team, showing him some of the Vienna sights and generally having fun. As part of the trip, we organized a special photo-shoot in which we took photos with a vintage Petzval lens on a Sinar P2 4x5 camera. Head past the jump to find out more about the great time we had with Lassi and to see some old-school Petzval shots!

  • Fresh from the Lab: Silvia Precisa

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-20 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: Silvia Precisa

    Recently, I used my trusty Fuji Silvi. It may not be my all-time favorite camera, but I just wanted to use it because I kind of missed shooting with it. So I decided to look through my film stash to see what I could use with the Fuji Silvi. After much consideration, I ended up picking the old Agfa CT Precisa ISO 100 to get that classic blue tone. Silvia Precisa!

    2
  • Shop News

    Get 20% off on the Lomography Experimental Lens Kit

    Get 20% off on the Lomography Experimental Lens Kit

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras.

  • LomoLit: Another day under the sun

    written by cheeo on 2014-05-28 in #lifestyle
    LomoLit: Another day under the sun

    Ernie still keeps his old SLR camera by his side when he sleeps. Maybe it’s the kind of affection you give to something that’s been part of you for so long that you treat it as an extension of your overworked human shell.

  • Community LomoAmigo poepel

    written by zonderbar on 2014-05-19 in #people #lomoamigos
    Community LomoAmigo poepel

    Poepel's shots are so impressive that it's never a surprise to see at least a few of them every week in the best-of section. You simply cannot miss his photos. And so, without further ado, allow us to introduce Mario, better known as poepel, a new member of our community squad of LomoAmigos!

    2
  • Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-15 in #reviews
    Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    Exactly seven years ago, I bought this camera from Indonesia's local Lomography community. I remember having some savings in my bank account and just spending it all on this camera. At that time, I browsed the microsite for the Lomography Fisheye No.2 and immediately fell in love with it! Coincidentally, my friend who introduced me to Lomography just bought this same camera for his birthday. My life has changed ever since I had the Fisheye, my first lomographic camera.

    3