Camera Review of the Week

1

It's time once again for us to look back at the star reviews of this week, starting off with insights on cameras. Our featured lomographer has recently introduced us to a trusty machine of an SLR camera, his old friend, the Mamiya/Sekor 500DTL.

Our featured author rrohe started his piece with a brief history on how he came across his featured analogue camera. “When I was 16 I was rooting around in a closet at my father’s house. I found a bag and began to dig some more. Within this bag was a camera.”

Credits: rrohe

It was a Mamiya/Sekor 500DTL which rrohe refused to call simply as “a camera,” for he found it a workhorse of a camera which he likes to bring along with him whenever he goes out to shoot. He also recalls that the 500DTL was at least 29 years old when he found it, and still working properly after years of being confined in a closet.

If you’re curious about the technical details, our lomographer here has covered the specifics, including shutter speed, metering system, and batteries. You can go ahead and check out the full review to learn more, or take a look at some of his beautiful snaps using the Mamiya/Sekor 500DTL:

Credits: rrohe

Congratulations, rrohe, both for garnering the Camera Review of the Week distinction and finding this workhorse of an SLR! Great find, great photos, great review!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Camera Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-04-07 in #reviews #camera-review-of-the-week #camera-review #mamiya-sekor-500dtl #user-review #mamiya #lomography

One Comment

  1. rrohe
    rrohe ·

    Have been busy the last week or so, but I wanted to say thank you for this. Was very excited to see it come up in my notifications. :)

More Interesting Articles

  • New York Fashion Week with Christopher Logan and the Lomo LC-A

    written by givesmehell on 2015-03-13 in #people #lomoamigos
    New York Fashion Week with Christopher Logan and the Lomo LC-A

    Lomography is thrilled to have fashion photographer Christopher Logan back with us! This time around, our old friend shot the recent New York Fashion Week 2015 with the Lomo LC-A.

    3
  • Me, Myself and the LC-A 120: Daniel

    written by shhquiet on 2014-10-11 in #news
    Me, Myself and the LC-A 120: Daniel

    The LC-A 120 camera has inspired Daniel to take his medium format film stash from the fridge and start shooting again!

  • Monday Moodboard: Nina Leen's Vintage Photographs of Circus Girls

    written by chooolss on 2014-07-14 in #news
    Monday Moodboard: Nina Leen's Vintage Photographs of Circus Girls

    Once again we rely on good ol' history for that much-needed dose of inspiration to start the week with. This time, amazing circus girls take the spotlight through photographs by an equally talented female photographer, Nina Leen.

    5
  • Shop News

    LCA-120 Film Bundle

    LCA-120 Film Bundle

    Shoot more with LC-A 120 without breaking your budget! The Phoblographer Editor’s Choice Award Winner now comes with a 120 format film at 15% off!

  • Lomopedia: Nikon FM10

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-18 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Nikon FM10

    Dubbed as an ideal analogue camera for beginners, the FM10 boasts a myriad of features that can definitely teach photography newbies a trick or two when it comes to shooting. Read on to find out more about this trusty SLR from Nikon.

    14
  • Fräulein Catherine Takes on the Konstruktor Challenge

    written by zonderbar on 2014-06-16 in #people #lomoamigos
    Fräulein Catherine Takes on the Konstruktor Challenge

    About a year ago, we introduced the Konstruktor to the world, and the little do-it-yourself camera has left us in awe ever since. Even the Viennese blogger, Fräulein Catherine (Miss Catherine), was keen on our 35mm SLR camera that you can build yourself, and she took on the DIY challenge. Here you can read more about the feat.

  • Newcomer of the Week: theisleofadventure

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-05-04 in #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: theisleofadventure

    Rebecca was encouraged by her friend, also a Community member, hola_to_the_holga, to try her hand at film photographer after seeing an old SLR at her home. Now, she cannot thank her friend enough for getting her into yet another creative outlet aside from baking cakes and drawing. Let's get to know more about our darling Rebecca or theisleofadventure, our Newcomer of the Week!

    3
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Scott Brasher Chases Fashion in the Streets of New York with the Petzval Lens

    written by antoniocastello on 2015-03-09 in #people #lomoamigos
    Scott Brasher Chases Fashion in the Streets of New York with the Petzval Lens

    Scott Brasher is a fashion street photographer based in New York City. His work has been featured on many media outlets while working with brands like Cover Girl, MTV, Reebok, and Target, among many others. But before this, Scott started shooting in the streets of Williamsburg, Brooklyn, capturing its daily urban fashion. Last month, he took the Petzval Lens to the streets of New York to photograph scenes at the famous New York Fashion Week.

  • The Petzval Lens, Christopher Logan, and New York Fashion Week

    written by givesmehell on 2015-03-21 in #people #lomoamigos
    The Petzval Lens, Christopher Logan, and New York Fashion Week

    Christopher Logan once again collaborated with Lomography as he brought his favorite Petzval Lens to the 2015 New York Fashion Week! The Petzval, being a versatile lens, is a great choice to work with during major events. Logan documented most of the Fashion Week with Lomography gear, and we are more than excited to share with you some of his shots with the Petzval Lens!

    1
  • My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-11-12 in #gear #tipster
    My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    I backed the Kickstarter project for the Lomo’Instant earlier this year and was thrilled to receive it last week. I love how the camera naturally encourages you to experiment with its different features, whether it’s through flashing your multiple exposures with different colors or trying different creative techniques after your shots has been ejected. Here are a few tips from what I’ve discovered from playing with the camera so far (and a couple of tips I want to try out in future)!

  • Shop News

    Last Day: Free Camera Deal

    Last Day: Free Camera Deal

    Last day of the free camera deal today! Grab films now worth 99 EUR/USD/GBP and get your free Diana Mini or Diana F+ Love Letters for free!

  • Fresh from the Lab: Silvia Precisa

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-20 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: Silvia Precisa

    Recently, I used my trusty Fuji Silvi. It may not be my all-time favorite camera, but I just wanted to use it because I kind of missed shooting with it. So I decided to look through my film stash to see what I could use with the Fuji Silvi. After much consideration, I ended up picking the old Agfa CT Precisa ISO 100 to get that classic blue tone. Silvia Precisa!

    2
  • Petzval LomoAmigo: Lomokev

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-11-06 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval LomoAmigo: Lomokev

    By now most of you would have heard of Lomokev, one of the UK's most prolific film photographers. Based in Brighton, Lomokev loves to shoot with the trusty LC-A and his work has been featured in numerous publications and projects. We lent him a Petzval lens and asked him a few questions about what makes him tick. Here's an exclusive interview, along with a several fantastic shots by the talented UK-based photographer.

    4
  • LomoLit: Another day under the sun

    written by cheeo on 2014-05-28 in #lifestyle
    LomoLit: Another day under the sun

    Ernie still keeps his old SLR camera by his side when he sleeps. Maybe it’s the kind of affection you give to something that’s been part of you for so long that you treat it as an extension of your overworked human shell.