Lomography Oktomat - Staff Review

4

Blocky-but-lightweight, the Oktomat is a fun, fuss-free 35mm camera that takes a series of eight frames in one photo.

Looking at this chunk of vibrantly-colored plastic, you can tell that the Oktomat is going to give you quirky results. On top of the camera is a black collapsible viewfinder, which you can do without, honestly! Nestled in front are eight googly lenses. A push of the shutter button fires the lenses in 2.5 seconds.

The result? A print is neatly sliced into eight scenes that make up a story! You can make a “mini movie” out of your photos by uploading it to the Lomography website.

With its fixed aperture and speed (approx. f/8, 1/100) you don’t have to fuss about focusing and other technical details. This camera takes brilliant pictures, and works exceptionally well when it’s bright outside. Because it doesn’t have flash, it’s recommended that you use a fast film when the lighting conditions aren’t so favorable.
It takes any kind of 35mm film – negative, slides, or black & white – and can be conveniently processed in your trusted film lab or supermarket.

The Oktomat makes a handy, fun, and convenient camera to use, ideal for shooting outdoor activities and casual snapshots.

written by shhquiet on 2008-06-16 in #reviews #oktomat #lomography #staff #35mm #review

4 Comments

  1. hblovn
    hblovn ·

    I <3 this camera - Check out my www for a short oktomat movie I made....
    www.hoogamashu.com

  2. artemis-the-phoenix
    artemis-the-phoenix ·

    definitely needs sunshine!!!! great for mini movies check my lomohome

  3. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    there is no photo-adding-function here

  4. lovesmesumcake
    lovesmesumcake ·

    This camera is TOTAL SHIT. It was fun shooting the first roll until everything came out blurry and underexposed. Then halfway through the second roll the advance lever stuck halfway and when I tried to shoot, only three of the shutters fired. I tried to rewind the film early but the rewind lever was stuck! I tried everything I could before I finally had to close all the blinds and crawl under the covers to extract the film myself. Total waste of $40.

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Eight Steps to Make Pop Art Using the Oktomat

    written by andie_sollmer on 2014-07-22 in #lifestyle

    It's time to challenge the creator in you! Our Oktomat makes creating pop art so much easier! All you need is the eight-lensed camera, a bit of creativity and some good light!

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    written by simonesavo on 2014-07-24 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact and is capable of shooting photos in 3 different sizes: 6x12, 6x9 and 6x6. Equipped with high-quality interchangeable lenses and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots with every roll. It can also take 3 different film formats: 120 film, 35mm and instant film. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • The Lomography Konstruktor F and the Konstruktor Flash Accessory Kit: Born to Be Together

    written by alienmeatsack on 2015-01-21 in #reviews
    The Lomography Konstruktor F and the Konstruktor Flash Accessory Kit: Born to Be Together

    The original Konstruktor is a fun camera to build and takes wonderful photos. But what would make it better? A way to add flash and even a few of your existing Lomography flashes into the mix, perhaps? Thank you, I’ll be having that.

    5
  • Unlock Your Creativity with Skillshare and Lomography Rumble

    written by givesmehell on 2015-04-02 in #people #competitions
    Unlock Your Creativity with Skillshare and Lomography Rumble

    Film Photography Day 2015 is an exciting event happening on Sunday, April 12. To celebrate this day, Lomography has teamed up with Skillshare to launch a series of FREE classes to help you make the most of your Lomo cameras. To throw in a little more fun, we're also hosting a competition to win a Diana Deluxe Kit and a full year of premium membership to Skillshare to take tons of awesome photography classes. Read on to find out more!

    2
  • Shop News

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    Enjoy a truly analogue moviemaking experience with Lomography's 35mm movie camera and an accompanying accessory to watch your films with. View your masterpieces in the most analogue way possible with the LomoKinoscope. Get it now 20% off the regular price!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Lomopedia: Yashica Samurai X3.0

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-05-14 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Yashica Samurai X3.0

    Curiously named and designed, the fully automatic Yashica Samurai X3.0 is a 35mm SLR half-frame camera that was launched in the late 1980s. Find out more about this quirky snapper in today's installment of Lomopedia!

    1
  • Shop News

    Feed your LC-A 120 the finest emulsions and save!

    Feed your LC-A 120 the finest emulsions and save!

    Shoot more with LC-A 120 without breaking your budget! The Phoblographer Editor’s Choice Award Winner now comes in a Bundle with 120 format film at 15% off!

  • Meet The UK Team: General Manager Liana Joyce

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-09-19 in #news
    Meet The UK Team: General Manager Liana Joyce

    In this series, we meet all the staff that make up Lomography UK. That's everyone from the Soho shop staff to the guys that hide away in the office! Today we talk to the General Manager Liana Joyce, who is possibly the most prolific film shooter in the world EVER! Say hello the Liana.

  • Camo Takes The Petzval Art Lens To Shoot His Very Personal Series

    written by antoniocastello on 2015-04-06 in #people #lomoamigos
    Camo Takes The Petzval Art Lens To Shoot His Very Personal Series

    Camo is one of the most popular fashion photographers from Colombia. His works have been published in many fashion magazines around the country, and last year he was in charge of shooting Colombia Moda, one of the biggest annual fashion shows in Latin America. But Camo has a very personal series of photos that were shot at his home in Bogotá.

  • LomoAmigos: Say Hi to the Norman Records Staff

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-08-08 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigos: Say Hi to the Norman Records Staff

    Norman Records is an online record store based in Leeds, United Kingdom that offers a diverse selection of music from all around the globe. They sell Indie, Rock, Kosmiche, IDM, EBM, Dancehall, Jazz, Library, Math Rock, Cheesecore and all the other crazy music genres your could ever imagine. We decided to give them an L-CA+ to get a backstage glimpse of life in an online record shop.

    1