Mamiya 645 AFD Review

13

Now is the time to get some top-of-the-notch analogue camera equipment, as pros still switch to digital and you can get their used equipment at bargain prices! For example is this Mamiya 645 AFD.

image from teamworkphoto

For us film lovers these are lucky times we live in. Never before has used professional medium format camera equipment been available that cheap! I got this Mamiya 645 AFD from a pro, who had the problem, his newest digital backs would only work with the Mamiya 645 AFD II.

This Mamiya is an autofocus SLR-camera with interchangeable film backs. Available lenses range from 28mm to 300mm. I got only the 80mm lens and some extension rings which let me focus very close. The body is made from a combination of magnesium alloy and is built like a tank. It features 4 exposure modes (P, A, S, M), You can choose between spot-metering, center-weighted-metering and a combination of both, which provides perfect exposure all the time. (Even tricky subjects like a pale baby with a black background, like in my example pictures, can’t fool the light meter.)
The autofocus is still kind of simple, especially compared to 35mm SLRs like a Nikon F5. There’s only one autofocus field, it’s rather slow and very often the autofocus searches forth and back without locking in. Nevertheless it’s a great help when photographing moving subjects like a lively baby.

Film format is 6×4.5cm and interchangeable backs give you the ability to swap films mid-roll, choose between 120 or 220 films or even attach a digital back to the camera. (Oh no, we do NOT want to do THAT, eh?!?) As a cool little gadget you can imprint exposure data (f-stop, exposure time, exposure mode, frame counter,…) on the film frame. (See my example shots.)

The camera is kind of heavy, so I use a tripod often. It incorporates a mirror lock-up function, which eliminates camera shake due to the mirror slap and this feature is essential for careful landscape- or nightshots with slow film. (Nothing beats my Velvia 50!!)

Conclusion: I love digital! All those stupid people getting rid of their analogue equipment to switch to digital let me buy used camera gear in brand-new condition for less than one-fifth the original price. I paid about the price of 3 Lomo LC-As for the Mamiya and that’s next to nothing! So head out and get yourself a premium medium format camera before all the others do the same and prices go up again!!!

Thanks for reading,
ebolatheelectricmonk.

written by ebolatheelectricmonk on 2009-07-20 in #reviews #mamiya-645-afd #autofocus #premium-camera #professional #medium-format

13 Comments

  1. dogma
    dogma ·

    Wow interesting camera! love the shot #7

  2. larslau
    larslau ·

    Great review. And what a great deal. I've been wanting a 645 for a while, but I really shouldn't invest in more cameras (:

  3. eastmoe
    eastmoe ·

    great camera and nice review..

  4. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    Great shots! Is it your baby....?

  5. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    Cute little one!

  6. stouf
    stouf ·

    Such a beautiful gallery, really pro-looking ! Amazing beast ! I'm talking about the camera ;) ... Is there a version 6X6 ?

  7. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    I'd love to see what some velvia 50 looks like from this camera.

  8. sibu_sen
    sibu_sen ·

    Wow! Nice review. Yeah, I too would like to see other films with this cam! Beautiful shots.

  9. rater
    rater ·

    Wawawiwa, what a nice camera, awesome! Nice review! And thanks be given to digital for letting this nice cameras at a nice price!

  10. strangelilgirl
    strangelilgirl ·

    Oh my gosh the last three photos are perfection!

  11. kylewis
    kylewis ·

    Beautiful images and a great review!

  12. juznobsrvr
    juznobsrvr ·

    great captures

  13. fotoflix
    fotoflix ·

    Great article. You can pick up the older style Mamiya 645 or 645E with manual focus 80mm lens on eBay for less than a brand new Lubitel 166+. I bought my 645 in 1982 and it still works perfect.

More Interesting Articles

  • Lubitel 166+: A Review By A Four-Month Newbie

    written by hervinsyah on 2014-09-10 in #reviews
    Lubitel 166+: A Review By A Four-Month Newbie

    Many thanks to Lomography for choosing me as one of the Win Your Wishlist Rumble 2013 winners. Now, I can finally try using this precious camera.

  • The Go! Team in Dublin: No Flash Photography Please

    written by vin_cen_t on 2015-07-23 in #world #lifestyle
    The Go! Team in Dublin: No Flash Photography Please

    I have to admit that I’ve never liked using flash in public places. In some situations it can be distracting. Like concerts, for example. Can you imagine a live music show where people decide all of a sudden to use it at the same time?

    2
  • Scenes from the City with the New Petzval Lens

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-30 in #gear #news #lifestyle
    Scenes from the City with the New Petzval Lens

    The new Petzval Lens has proven itself a master of close-up shots and soulful portraits time and time again. Now some of our talented community members have stepped it up a notch and aimed the Petzval at city-scapes. From snow-capped pedestrians, couples chatting in parks, bustling markets, or people waiting to get on the metro - the beautiful banalities of city life are covered in these eloquent shots. Scroll through this gallery we've put together just for you to get a taste of the Petzval's urban potential!

  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Top Photo Likers of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-28 in #news
    Top Photo Likers of 2014

    Do the photographs in our community often leave you tongue-tied? You can still let your fellow lomographer know how much you appreciate their work by clicking the "Like" button. No matter how simple, this gesture can inspire anyone to go on with their analogue adventure. Here are the top photo likers of 2014.

    4
  • My Analogue Bucket List: Faster Than a Speeding Cannonball

    written by bloomchen on 2015-01-22 in #lifestyle
    My Analogue Bucket List: Faster Than a Speeding Cannonball

    The new year is still young, but it seems as if it'll be over quickly. My organizer is already filled with entries until June. 2015 will probably be worse than 2014 when it comes to having time off so I could take some analogue shots. Anyway, there are some photography-related things that I really want to get done. It is probably best to set some goals if I only have very limited time.

    2
  • Shooting Analogue with the New Petzval Lens

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2014-10-07 in #people #lifestyle
    Shooting Analogue with the New Petzval Lens

    The New Lomography Petzval Lens is, without a doubt, a striking innovation that has impressed analogue and digital shooters alike. The Petzval works seamlessly with both platforms, producing exceptional and oftentimes dreamy, bokeh-rich images. There are, however, photographers who prefer to shoot analogue and are oblivious to the lure of digital imagery. Here are a few photographers who have chosen film as their go-to medium, and and the Petzval as their ally.

    1
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • The Great Lomo'Instant Tag Competition of 2015!

    written by jacobs on 2015-01-15 in #competitions
    The Great Lomo'Instant Tag Competition of 2015!

    Looking for a chance to share your best Lomo'Instant snaps with the world and win seriously cool prizes? Then we've got good news for you — The Great Lomo'Instant Tag Competition of 2015 is on! And even if you don't have a Lomo'Instant yet, now is the perfect time to get one. Pick one up now so you can join in on the fun!

    2
  • Trap-a-Treat: Get Freebies With Your Online Purchase This Week!

    written by shhquiet on 2015-01-26 in #news
    Trap-a-Treat: Get Freebies With Your Online Purchase This Week!

    Some delectable analogue treats are yours for the taking ... now, the question is: how do you get to these goods? Snatch up these freebies with every online purchase until February 1st! The more you buy, the more free treats you get. No codes are necessary, freebies are added automatically to your cart. Happy shopping!

    2
  • Shooting the Petzval Lens with Ian Taylor

    written by givesmehell on 2015-04-29 in #people #lomoamigos
    Shooting the Petzval Lens with Ian Taylor

    Canadian-born Ian Taylor is a full-time photographer specializing in kids and development work. It all started when his five siblings started having children at the same time he was into photography. This passion then spiraled into something amazing, and now Ian works primarily with kids, shooting them when they are in their purest form. Based in Asia, Ian has agreed to share this amazing series of photos he shot with his Petzval Art Lens in Cambodia and Thailand. He also shared with us some of his insights and views on photography.

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Vintage Snapshots of Outdoor Playtime

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-06-21 in #world #lifestyle
    Vintage Snapshots of Outdoor Playtime

    Some city-based parents feel wistful when they see their kids huddled in front of screens. There is nostalgia for tree climbing, hopscotch and bicycling. And why must children of today spend all their free time playing with zeroes and ones? This black and white gallery will inspire you to get the little ones out and about even just for the weekend.

    1
  • Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-05-02 in #gear #lifestyle
    Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    Some people say instant photos bring about a feeling of nostalgia. Although I often use the Lomo'Instant Camera with different crazy accessories such as the Splitzer and color gels, I have to agree there is something about it — dreamy vignettes maybe? — that always makes me want to go back in time and experience it all over again. In the name of analogue photography and good old memories, we passed by some classic spots in Vienna and took one shot after the other. Take a closer look at our gallery.

  • Film Photography Day Special: Buy Film and Get a Free Camera

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-21 in #gear #news
    Film Photography Day Special: Buy Film and Get a Free Camera

    Film Photography Day 2015 is fast approaching —do you have the film on hand to document the good times? We’re talking parties, dances, competitions, workshops, raffles, picnics and much, much more! If you don’t have film to last this gigantic 1 day festival of all things analogue, then now is the time to stock up! And even if you do, can you ever really have enough film? Nah, we don’t think so either.