Mamiya 645 AFD Review

15

Now is the time to get some top-of-the-notch analogue camera equipment, as pros still switch to digital and you can get their used equipment at bargain prices! For example is this Mamiya 645 AFD.

image from teamworkphoto

For us film lovers these are lucky times we live in. Never before has used professional medium format camera equipment been available that cheap! I got this Mamiya 645 AFD from a pro, who had the problem, his newest digital backs would only work with the Mamiya 645 AFD II.

This Mamiya is an autofocus SLR-camera with interchangeable film backs. Available lenses range from 28mm to 300mm. I got only the 80mm lens and some extension rings which let me focus very close. The body is made from a combination of magnesium alloy and is built like a tank. It features 4 exposure modes (P, A, S, M), You can choose between spot-metering, center-weighted-metering and a combination of both, which provides perfect exposure all the time. (Even tricky subjects like a pale baby with a black background, like in my example pictures, can’t fool the light meter.)
The autofocus is still kind of simple, especially compared to 35mm SLRs like a Nikon F5. There’s only one autofocus field, it’s rather slow and very often the autofocus searches forth and back without locking in. Nevertheless it’s a great help when photographing moving subjects like a lively baby.

Film format is 6×4.5cm and interchangeable backs give you the ability to swap films mid-roll, choose between 120 or 220 films or even attach a digital back to the camera. (Oh no, we do NOT want to do THAT, eh?!?) As a cool little gadget you can imprint exposure data (f-stop, exposure time, exposure mode, frame counter,…) on the film frame. (See my example shots.)

The camera is kind of heavy, so I use a tripod often. It incorporates a mirror lock-up function, which eliminates camera shake due to the mirror slap and this feature is essential for careful landscape- or nightshots with slow film. (Nothing beats my Velvia 50!!)

Conclusion: I love digital! All those stupid people getting rid of their analogue equipment to switch to digital let me buy used camera gear in brand-new condition for less than one-fifth the original price. I paid about the price of 3 Lomo LC-As for the Mamiya and that’s next to nothing! So head out and get yourself a premium medium format camera before all the others do the same and prices go up again!!!

Thanks for reading,
ebolatheelectricmonk.

written by ebolatheelectricmonk on 2009-07-20 in #reviews #autofocus #premium-camera #professional #medium-format #mamiya-645-afd

15 Comments

  1. dogma
    dogma ·

    Wow interesting camera! love the shot #7

  2. larslau
    larslau ·

    Great review. And what a great deal. I've been wanting a 645 for a while, but I really shouldn't invest in more cameras (:

  3. eastmoe
    eastmoe ·

    great camera and nice review..

  4. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    Great shots! Is it your baby....?

  5. ebolatheelectricmonk
    ebolatheelectricmonk ·

    No, my friend's newborn son.

  6. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    Cute little one!

  7. stouf
    stouf ·

    Such a beautiful gallery, really pro-looking ! Amazing beast ! I'm talking about the camera ;) ... Is there a version 6X6 ?

  8. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    I'd love to see what some velvia 50 looks like from this camera.

  9. sibu_sen
    sibu_sen ·

    Wow! Nice review. Yeah, I too would like to see other films with this cam! Beautiful shots.

  10. ebolatheelectricmonk
    ebolatheelectricmonk ·

    @stouf: Sorry, no 6x6 format for this one. Too bad, because 6x6 is my favourite!
    @lomosexual_manboy + sibu_sen: O.k. starting up my scanner!!!

  11. rater
    rater ·

    Wawawiwa, what a nice camera, awesome! Nice review! And thanks be given to digital for letting this nice cameras at a nice price!

  12. strangelilgirl
    strangelilgirl ·

    Oh my gosh the last three photos are perfection!

  13. kylewis
    kylewis ·

    Beautiful images and a great review!

  14. juznobsrvr
    juznobsrvr ·

    great captures

  15. fotoflix
    fotoflix ·

    Great article. You can pick up the older style Mamiya 645 or 645E with manual focus 80mm lens on eBay for less than a brand new Lubitel 166+. I bought my 645 in 1982 and it still works perfect.

More Interesting Articles

  • Petzval Lens User Review: An Unexpected Happiness

    written by sanamiii on 2014-06-06 in #reviews
    Petzval Lens User Review: An Unexpected Happiness

    It is my first time to use the New Petzval Lens outside of work and I got some surprising photos!

  • Lubitel 166+: A Review By A Four-Month Newbie

    written by hervinsyah on 2014-09-10 in #reviews
    Lubitel 166+: A Review By A Four-Month Newbie

    Many thanks to Lomography for choosing me as one of the Win Your Wishlist Rumble 2013 winners. Now, I can finally try using this precious camera.

  • Model Kit 135 Camera 28mm

    written by dopa on 2014-04-13 in #reviews
    Model Kit 135 Camera 28mm

    It is a DIY camera from the far East, which you can get on the net at a low price. Of course assembly is required before use. Read on to learn more about the 135 Camera 28mm Model Kit.

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Top Photo Likers of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-28 in #news
    Top Photo Likers of 2014

    Do the photographs in our community often leave you tongue-tied? You can still let your fellow lomographer know how much you appreciate their work by clicking the "Like" button. No matter how simple, this gesture can inspire anyone to go on with their analogue adventure. Here are the top photo likers of 2014.

    4
  • My Analogue Bucket List: Faster Than a Speeding Cannonball

    written by bloomchen on 2015-01-22 in #lifestyle
    My Analogue Bucket List: Faster Than a Speeding Cannonball

    The new year is still young, but it seems as if it'll be over quickly. My organizer is already filled with entries until June. 2015 will probably be worse than 2014 when it comes to having time off so I could take some analogue shots. Anyway, there are some photography-related things that I really want to get done. It is probably best to set some goals if I only have very limited time.

  • Shooting Analogue with the New Petzval Lens

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2014-10-07 in #people #lifestyle
    Shooting Analogue with the New Petzval Lens

    The New Lomography Petzval Lens is, without a doubt, a striking innovation that has impressed analogue and digital shooters alike. The Petzval works seamlessly with both platforms, producing exceptional and oftentimes dreamy, bokeh-rich images. There are, however, photographers who prefer to shoot analogue and are oblivious to the lure of digital imagery. Here are a few photographers who have chosen film as their go-to medium, and and the Petzval as their ally.

  • Shop News

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval lens are designed for a Canon or Nikon SLR mounts and a selection of brass or black for each camera brand is available in our stores. And start shooting with images full of sharpness, crispness and bokeh effects!

  • Sprocket Rocket: First Love Never Dies

    written by jokelangens on 2014-07-20 in #reviews
    Sprocket Rocket: First Love Never Dies

    The Lomography Sprocket Rocket - my first analogue camera ever - and I have had some troubled times behind us. We have been involved in a stormy love-hate relationship for several years. But in the end, we luckily managed to get over ourselves and overcome our problems. Now he's my old time favorite. Old love never rusts, that is.

  • 'The Invisible Photograph: Part II (Trapped)' Shows How Warhol's Previously Unseen Digital Artworks Were Recovered

    written by chooolss on 2014-05-15 in #lifestyle
    'The Invisible Photograph: Part II (Trapped)' Shows How Warhol's Previously Unseen Digital Artworks Were Recovered

    About three weeks ago, we shared with you the fascinating discovery of some of Andy Warhol's digital artworks created with an Amiga computer and saved on floppy disks. Now, through this short documentary, we get to find out how the entire project came to be as well as see bits of the recovery process itself.

  • Tinker on the fly: A color filter made from spoiled film

    written by dopa on 2014-05-25 in #gear #tipster
    Tinker on the fly: A color filter made from spoiled film

    Probably each one of you has been annoyed with failed film. This is particularly annoying when you get the developed film back from the lab, but you get blanks because the film was not exposed. It's either the film transport didn't work, or you have not taken the lens cap off, etc. Read on and I'll show you an alternative to just throwing away the film: Simply use it as a color filter for your camera, with the La Sardina for example.

    3
  • Shop News

    DIY Camera for Less!

    DIY Camera for Less!

    You can now have the Pinhole Art DIY 135 at 40% less! Start setting up your own camera, shoot in 35mm format and get those soft-focused wide-angled images.

  • The Great Lomo'Instant Tag Competition of 2015!

    written by jacobs on 2015-01-15 in #competitions
    The Great Lomo'Instant Tag Competition of 2015!

    Looking for a chance to share your best Lomo'Instant snaps with the world and win seriously cool prizes? Then we've got good news for you — The Great Lomo'Instant Tag Competition of 2015 is on! And even if you don't have a Lomo'Instant yet, now is the perfect time to get one. Pick one up now so you can join in on the fun!

    2
  • What to Shoot with the New Russar+ Lens

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-04-12 in #lifestyle
    What to Shoot with the New Russar+ Lens

    As the mother of all modern wide-angle lenses, the New Russar+ Lens shoots sharp wide-angle photos bursting with character. The solid yet compact ultra-wide 20mm lens can be used to photograph practically anything, and is compatible with a variety of film and digital cameras. Certainly this is a lens that delivers, but like anything, you can reap its full potential by choosing ideal subjects and shooting from a creative perspective.

  • Trap-a-Treat: Get Freebies With Your Online Purchase This Week!

    written by shhquiet on 2015-01-26 in #news
    Trap-a-Treat: Get Freebies With Your Online Purchase This Week!

    Some delectable analogue treats are yours for the taking ... now, the question is: how do you get to these goods? Snatch up these freebies with every online purchase until February 1st! The more you buy, the more free treats you get. No codes are necessary, freebies are added automatically to your cart. Happy shopping!

    2