Expired Kodak VS Film: A Glowing Blue Review

1

I recently purchased a pack of expired Kodak E100VS 120 film from the Toronto Lomography Store. If you are a fan of blue, this is a film for you.

Credits: stevebarberoffice

Kodak has recently announced that it will no longer produce ektachrome film! So I wandered down to the Toronto Lomography store to see what I could find. Turns out they had a box of 120 Kodak E100VS film, so I snapped it up and headed to Kensington Market to snap some shots with my Diana F+ and 55mm wide-angle lens.

Credits: stevebarberoffice

With tons of sunlight, this film showed some great blues and greens. Some great vignetting too!

Credits: stevebarberoffice

Great yellows and solid contrast!

Credits: stevebarberoffice

I did notice that shots directly into the sun looked a bit more washed out than I am used to.

I peeled open another roll and slapped on the Close-up adaptor for the Diana F+ 55mm wide-angle lens and my Ringflash and headed over to Trinity Bellwoods Park. Knowing that Kodak films often drift blue when cross-processed, I put the blue gel on the ringflash to give it a boost!

Credits: stevebarberoffice

Some turned out a bit over-exposed, but not sure if that was the expired film or my shutter setting.

I have always loved Kodak Ektachrome films, and now that they are no longer in production we may all be settling for expired rolls soon. But worry not, these expired films, if stored with care, will continue to bring spectacular colour and contrast to your shots.

written by stevebarberoffice on 2012-04-04 in #reviews #diana-f #market #sunny #toronto #afternoon #review #wide-angle-lens #kodak-vs #kensington #55mm #expired

One Comment

  1. emilios
    emilios ·

    Indeed its a great film. Used it alot! Great pictures

More Interesting Articles

  • You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    written by ncjom on 2014-11-05 in #reviews
    You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    If you happen to come across an expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 film pack, either in a store or on the Internet, get one and be ready for an exciting experience. You'll definitely get more from it!

  • Reel vs. Real: Brad Pitt as Heinrich Harrer

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-04-26 in #lifestyle
    Reel vs. Real: Brad Pitt as Heinrich Harrer

    For this week's Reel vs. Real installment, we bring you back to the 1997 film about the travels and experiences of an Austrian mountaineer in Tibet from 1944 to 1951. We're sure many of you think it's somewhat familiar from the mere mention of Brad Pitt alone, so why don't we all revisit this adventure-packed biopic?

    2
  • Agfa Precisa CT 35mm: The Blues!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-12 in #reviews
    Agfa Precisa CT 35mm: The Blues!

    I don't care if this film has been reviewed a zillion times, that it has already been discontinued, or that there might be a Japanese version of it. The Agfa CT Precisa that I know gives me the blues. Oh, yes - not a Chelsea FC fan, but this film is all about the color blue. Say hello to the blues!

    7
  • Shop News

    Lubitel & film bundle

    Lubitel & film bundle

    This beautiful camera features such ability to let users choose and switch between 35mm or 120 formats! Shoot more, save more! Get this Lubitel camera and get 15% discounts with Lomography Films!

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Surreal Travel Photos in Kodak Aerochrome EIR by Jordan Janisse

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-04-20 in #lifestyle
    Surreal Travel Photos in Kodak Aerochrome EIR by Jordan Janisse

    Every photographer seeks to make his or her travel photos extra special or memorable, and for those who still shoot film, slide films are often reserved for these occasions. If you happen to have a few rolls of infrared films left, the photos of a Canadian photographer will surely make you want to save them for your next adventure!

    1
  • Agfa CT Precisa 100: Simply Perfect For Street Photography

    written by abecd on 2014-08-28 in #reviews
    Agfa CT Precisa 100: Simply Perfect For Street Photography

    There are a lot of reviews about this film which mostly mention its blue hues, among other precious qualities. But do you know that it is also a perfect film for candid street photography?

    1
  • Shop News

    Lomo Instant Boston

    Lomo Instant Boston

    Here is another way to enjoy analogue experience and capture great memories in an instant! This package includes the best creative lenses for your LomoInstant camera!

  • Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-19 in #reviews
    Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    About two years ago or so, I purchased the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200. I saved just one roll of this film and waited for the right moment to shoot with it. In April this year, I just wasn't able to take it anymore! I loaded this film into my Lubitel 166+, which I realized I hadn't used for maybe about six months. One idea came to mind: taking crazy multiple exposures!

    3
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Get Free Lomography Film When You Buy an LC-A+, LC-A 120 or LC-Wide Camera

    written by shhquiet on 2015-02-10 in #gear
    Get Free Lomography Film When You Buy an LC-A+, LC-A 120 or LC-Wide Camera

    Thinking of getting a Lomo LC-A+, LC-A 120 or LC-Wide? Well, you're in for a treat! This week's the best time to buy, because we'll toss in free Lomography film with your purchase!

  • Shop News

    Shoot sharply with Oktomat Bullseye

    Shoot sharply with Oktomat Bullseye

    Shoot sharply without hurting your budget. At 30% off you can now experiment with 8 sequential shots in one 35mm print! Tell stories in 2.5 seconds with 8 scenes in one shot!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    written by sinema on 2014-07-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    This is my experience with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 (120), my first medium format film. It's an adventure that started when I got a Lubitel 2, to finally shoot with it. In this article, you'll find detailed information about color schemes, the advantages of shooting in medium format, and the differences between standard redscale films. Here are the results of a day of shooting outside, which I recently got back from the lab.

  • Roundup: Film Photography Day 2014

    written by shhquiet on 2014-06-03 in #news
    Roundup: Film Photography Day 2014

    Did you miss this year's Film Photography Day celebration? Here's a recap of all the events that happened in April, in honor of our love for analogue photography. Of course, remember that you can always make any day a Film Photography Day if you wish; just gather your friends and organize a LomoMatrix in your area! For inspiration, check out what Lomography Gallery Stores and Lomography Embassy Stores from all over the world came up with.

    3