Rollei Infrared (120, 400 iso) User-Review


What could be better than seeing the world like if it is snowing everyday?

The Rollei Infrared is the film you need for your newest experience in photography. It is a high speed panchromatic B&W film with special infrared sensitivity up to 820 nm with filtration.

How to Use and What to Expect

There are two different ways to use it:

  • To get a good IR effect you must use a deep red or R72 filter. The R72 filter is really kinda opaque (you will loose approximately 4 to 5 stops so your iso 400 is gonna be around 12 to 25 iso only) and because of that you’ll probably need to make long exposures if you don’t want to get a black picture and also to get a strong IR Effect. The outcome you’ll have will be black and white and all the things that got IR sensitivity- such as the sky, water, people will appear intensely white.
  • You can also use this film for a basic Black and White picture. Shooting this at 400 iso will give you some very fine grain, superb detail in highlights and shadows.

Some Tools Needed
It’s recommended to use a tripod for a steady picture with a cable release system, IR Filter as Hoya R72 or #89B.

ROLLEI IR 400 can be loaded and removed from the camera in subdued lighting conditions. Complete darkness is not required!

Exposure Times
In full mid summer sun with a Hoya R72 exposure times of around 1 second is a good starting point, doubling those times when winter comes. If it is cloudy, try around 4 seconds exposure, if you are in the shade,8-16 seconds or longer would do. This of course means a tripod is needed, and a cable release system is quite handy as well. One thing to keep in mind is that the reciprocity factor with IR film is pretty high and it is better to over expose a little bit rather than under exposing. As an example in deep shade late in the day I have gone as long as 60 seconds. Also remember that you need to double your exposure times to move up a stop. So 8 seconds is only 1 stop more than 4 seconds, and 16 seconds is only 2 stops while 32 would only be 3.

It is recommend not to leave the film material exposed in direct sunlight, strong heat or relative high humidity.
Cooled stored film material should not be used until film is warmed up and thawed. For unexposed film, Up to 24 months in cold storage by 8° C is recommend while for exposed rolls, please keep film in cold condition, processing as soon as possible is recommend.

I’ve used Diana F+ 75mm and 38mm lens, Rollei Infrared (120, 400 iso), Hoya R72, Gorillapod, Cable Release on shots found in this gallery.

I hope you found this brief article helpful.

written by dfred on 2009-08-07 in #reviews #infrared #rollei #infra-red #120 #hoya-r72 #r72-filter #infrarot #400-iso #b-w #diana-f


  1. jeabzz
    jeabzz ·

    cool ! shots 6,8 and 9 are greaat:!

  2. dfred
    dfred ·

    Merci mec

  3. ethermoon
    ethermoon ·

    brilliant and excellent photos!

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    Bravo dfred, t'as déchiré !

  5. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    Very nice gallery with a very informative review. If I was to shoot some of this I would definitely refer back to it.

  6. grenoouille
    grenoouille ·


  7. mattydk
    mattydk ·

    stunning photos, really does look like winter!

  8. herbert-4
    herbert-4 ·

    Good article, wonderful photos!!!

  9. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    Yeah, I really learn something here and the trees looks amazing....

  10. abcdefuck
    abcdefuck ·

    wow. i love the gallery.

  11. dfred
    dfred ·

    thanks everyone really glad to hear

  12. breakphreak
    breakphreak ·

    c'est magnifique! where have you got the films, though? ebay is the best supplier or...?

  13. buster_adams
    buster_adams ·

    C'est ce qu'on appelle une review très complète!!

  14. suzyallman
    suzyallman ·

    I love the Holga/Rollei Infrared combination. I have found that a nearly fool-proof way to get the correct exposure with this film and the R72 filter on a Holga is to use a light meter set at ISO 3, at f11. This will tell you how long to expose for. The film is gorgeous.

  15. shoujoai
    shoujoai ·

    excellent review!

  16. stickyvinny
    stickyvinny ·

    Fantastic gallery and great review!

  17. adash
    adash ·

    Very nice! I do however expose from hand, since with a faster lens F/2.8 - F/4 the exposure times are about 1/30 to 1/90 in full sun:…

More Interesting Articles

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

  • Top Shoutbox Users of September 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-10-02 in #world #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of September 2015

    Aside from the Magazine, the shoutbox is a great place to explore if you want to be updated on the latest happening in the film photography world.

  • Turning the World into a Pinhole Movie

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-04-26 in #world #lifestyle #videos
    Turning the World into a Pinhole Movie

    What is it like to see the world with pinhole eyes? Fuwari Lab, a design collective in Japan, finds out.

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Show Us Your Perfect Timing Winners Announcement!

    written by mindofmyra on 2015-03-06 in #world #competitions
    Show Us Your Perfect Timing Winners Announcement!

    There is nothing better than a photo shot at the perfect moment. Henri Cartier-Bresson's principle on "The Decisive Moment" is a principle that we should still follow to this day. A perfectly-timed photo creates impact, whether it's one of a friend jumping into the pool or a couple emerging from the ceremony on their wedding day. For this rumble, we want to see that breathtaking moment, shot at the perfect time. And you showed us what it's like to be on time.

  • A Roarin' NYC Rumble for August

    written by Samantha Norman on 2015-07-21 in #world #events #competitions
    A Roarin' NYC Rumble for August

    The NYC Jazz Age Lawn Party on the notorious greens of Governor's Island is one event you'd want to attend this August. Steeped in age, glamour, and a little bit of mischief, the Jazz Age Lawn Party is a weekend to attend and remember. What better way to go than with Lomo? We're giving away tickets and they could be yours for the taking.

  • My Analogue Bucket List: Faster Than a Speeding Cannonball

    written by bloomchen on 2015-01-22 in #lifestyle
    My Analogue Bucket List: Faster Than a Speeding Cannonball

    The new year is still young, but it seems as if it'll be over quickly. My organizer is already filled with entries until June. 2015 will probably be worse than 2014 when it comes to having time off so I could take some analogue shots. Anyway, there are some photography-related things that I really want to get done. It is probably best to set some goals if I only have very limited time.

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Lomography X Pola-Day - Your Best Instant Photos

    written by petit_loir on 2015-09-05 in #world #news #competitions
    Lomography X Pola-Day - Your Best Instant Photos

    Today is Pola-Day - the international day of instant photography! And what could be more appropriate than a competition to honor this special day? Grab your favorite instant camera and join the celebration.

  • Creativity means Connecting Things - A Splitzer for the LC-A 120

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-07 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Creativity means Connecting Things - A Splitzer for the LC-A 120

    I don’t like to split. A split means distance, separation, it means categorical divergence. We split hairs, we split incomes, we split up. So the first thing we have to know here is that a Splitzer – different from what you might have thought - is not at all a nasty boy splitting things up.

  • Il Giardino dei Tarrochi: A Lomographer’s Delight

    written by Sophia Schmitz on 2015-04-08 in #world #locations
    Il Giardino dei Tarrochi: A Lomographer’s Delight

    Of course, Italy makes a great destination for taking photos. But what if there was a place where you could find stunning motifs, impressive colors, and the ideal mixture of nature and arts all at once? What if I told you that there is a place like that: a garden full of art in the middle of nowhere?

  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Shoot wider and bigger with this new instax camera that has film format twice the size of the instax mini films!

  • A Journey Through New York With The Lomo'Instant Wide

    written by shhquiet on 2015-11-16 in #gear #news #videos
    A Journey Through New York With The Lomo'Instant Wide

    New York City - the ideal place to go to if you're looking for unstoppable energy. There's plenty of exciting things going on, but you need to be lightning-fast if you want to seize the moment. This is what makes the Lomo'Instant Wide the perfect camera to use - it captures all the details in one wide instant snapshot! See it in action with our special video after the jump.

  • Traveling Through Different Continents with Pei Ketron and her Lomo LC-A 120

    written by givesmehell on 2015-07-17 in #people #lifestyle #lomoamigos
    Traveling Through Different Continents with Pei Ketron and her Lomo LC-A 120

    Pei Ketron is an incredibly talented photographer based in San Francisco. She was born in Taiwan and raised on the Navajo Nation in Arizona. Pei spent her childhood in the deserts in the southwest and spent summers embracing the monsoons of the tropics. She teaches photography on several platforms like Santa Fe Photographic Workshops and The Compelling Image, and has an impressive list of clients including Apple, Adobe and Bloomingdale's. Read on to find out what she has to say about her adventures around the world with the Lomo LC-A 120.

  • Win Tickets for Melt! Festival in Germany

    written by petit_loir on 2015-06-29 in #world #competitions #videos
    Win Tickets for Melt! Festival in Germany

    There is nothing more refreshing than escaping one's everyday life for to unpack a camping tent and spend a wonderful weekend with friends for a few days during summer. Some of the coolest festivals are calling and there's a special one in Germany that is a must-see in July: Melt! festival. Win two tickets for this spectacular event to be held from July 17 to 19. Show us your most beautiful festival moments.