Camera Review of the Week

4

This week's camera review on spotlight is an obvious choice, but don't let that distract you. The classic Canon shooter has been a crowd favorite for a reason. Let our featured camera reviewer for this week tell and show you why!

Being a popular choice for tough and reliable film SLR cameras, there’s no doubt why the Canon AE-1 is a heavyweight champ to our featured lomographer, lighttomysoul. The AE-1 is certainly a looker, coveted by many analogue lovers for its classic look, even if it’s not as handy and light as the LC-A+.

In her honest review, she gave some insights on why this classic Canon camera is worth shooting with, but also a little downside that may or may not bothersome. We’ll let you read for yourself what our lomographer thinks in her full review, but we’ll let these photos she has taken show you why it’s worth lugging around such a heavyweight shooter:

Credits: lighttomysoul

While she confesses that she does not “give the Canon as much love as it deserves because it’s a lot bigger and heaver to drag around,” our lady lomographer nevertheless remains impressed with it, as it never disappoints whenever she decides to take it with her.

Congratulations, lighttomysoul, for penning the latest Camera Review of the Week! Your Canon AE-1 is indeed a champion shooter, and we hope you’ll continue snapping stunning photos with it!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Camera Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-03-23 in #reviews #lomography #camera-review-of-the-week #canon-ae-1 #film-slr #slr-camera #camera-review #user-review

4 Comments

  1. welland
    welland ·

    Its a great camera but very unfair to draw comparision with the LCA! This is an SLR and the LCA is a compact camera. Two completely different cameras! Would be interesting to compare it with a Nikon F3 or a OM1.

  2. plasticpopsicle
    plasticpopsicle ·

    Hello @welland! I think our review author here was only saying that the AE-1 is obviously not your choice when you're looking for something light and compact to shoot with, but still worth the trouble of lugging a heavier and bulkier camera. And I believe the difference between the two camera types is certainly obvious, the comparison based only on convenience. :)

  3. weaver
    weaver ·

    i love my ae-1 and am glad to see it being featured :D

  4. sweetoblivion
    sweetoblivion ·

    Great piece! My dream camera - my dad had this when I was growing up and it has a special place in my heart! I have yet to find my own one though ;)

More Interesting Articles

  • Cozy up to Black Friday with 30 Classy Black & White Pics from the LC-Wide

    written by jacobs on 2014-11-28 in #news
    Cozy up to Black Friday with 30 Classy Black & White Pics from the LC-Wide

    You probably don't feel like leaving your comfy sofa to go out and fight the cold and the crowds for a great deal, do you? We don't blame you! Instead, grab a plate of leftover turkey with all the fixin's and check out these gorgeous black and white photos from the classic LC-Wide camera. When you're done, scoot on over to the Online Shop to save a sweet 30% on it and other choice analogue deals!

    2
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-11-12 in #gear #tipster
    My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    I backed the Kickstarter project for the Lomo’Instant earlier this year and was thrilled to receive it last week. I love how the camera naturally encourages you to experiment with its different features, whether it’s through flashing your multiple exposures with different colors or trying different creative techniques after your shots has been ejected. Here are a few tips from what I’ve discovered from playing with the camera so far (and a couple of tips I want to try out in future)!

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Photo Stories: Street Photography in Riga by pogl

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-07-31 in #world #lifestyle
    Photo Stories: Street Photography in Riga by pogl

    On the streets you see all sorts of sights and people going about their respective businesses. It's exactly this reason why pogl has a particular fondness for street photography.

    1
  • Loving the Lomo'instant!

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-01-16 in #news
    Loving the Lomo'instant!

    It's only been a few months since the lovely Lomo'instant camera was officially launched online and in the Lomography stores. Since then this Instant compact camera has been flying off the shelves. You've all been busy experimenting and uploading your amazing shots so we've decided show you some of the best shots out there to inspire you to get creative!

  • Awesome Albums: #68 French Winter by ropi

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-09-05 in #news
    Awesome Albums:  #68 French Winter by ropi

    Some of you might still feeling a bit hungover for the summer that has been, but allow us to get you excited for the coming winter with this album.

  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Lomo'Instant First Impressions: mamablue

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-04 in #lifestyle
    Lomo'Instant First Impressions: mamablue

    Mamablue has been shooting with her two Polaroid cameras for years. She's no stranger to instant photography but the Lomo'Instant camera challenged her to get even more creative. Have a look at her first Lomo'Instant snapshots and her quick tip on using the camera's close-up feature.

    2
  • December 20th Advent Offer: There’s still time for a last minute treat! (Online Code: CRACKLINGCAMERAS)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-20 in #news
    December 20th Advent Offer: There’s still time for a last minute treat!  (Online Code: CRACKLINGCAMERAS)

    Are you still looking for the perfect last minute gift for your loved ones this holiday season? Don't fret! We have another incredible 15% off our cameras today! Surprise and delight with our wide selection of beautiful analogue cameras. But don't wait around to take advantage of this sweet deal — it's only valid for today.

  • Scott Brasher Chases Fashion in the Streets of New York with the Petzval Lens

    written by antoniocastello on 2015-03-09 in #people #lomoamigos
    Scott Brasher Chases Fashion in the Streets of New York with the Petzval Lens

    Scott Brasher is a fashion street photographer based in New York City. His work has been featured on many media outlets while working with brands like Cover Girl, MTV, Reebok, and Target, among many others. But before this, Scott started shooting in the streets of Williamsburg, Brooklyn, capturing its daily urban fashion. Last month, he took the Petzval Lens to the streets of New York to photograph scenes at the famous New York Fashion Week.

  • Shop News

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Snap dazzling 35mm fisheye shots at the push of a button with this shimmery blue lightweight beauty.

  • December 6th Advent Offer: Pick up a premium treat for less today! (Online Code: PREMIUMTREAT20)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-06 in #news
    December 6th Advent Offer: Pick up a premium treat for less today!  (Online Code: PREMIUMTREAT20)

    Want to go above and beyond with your gift-giving this year? We've got just the thing for you — 20% off our Lomo LC-A, Lomo LC-Wide and all Lomography Premium Cameras! What better way to show someone you care than with a rad analogue camera? So do yourself a favor and head on over to the Online Shop or your nearest Lomography Gallery Store and get 20% savings on these choice cameras.

  • Marvelous LC-A 120 Photographs from the Community

    written by chooolss on 2014-12-19 in #lifestyle
    Marvelous LC-A 120 Photographs from the Community

    Lomography has previously shown you the kind of shots that one could take with the new Lomo LC-A 120. Now, with the first batch already shipped out and arriving to their lucky owners, it's the community's turn to show everyone what they've been shooting with this awesome camera!

    7
  • Fed 5 - My First Analogue Camera in 2015

    written by whimsicalgrid on 2015-01-23 in #reviews
    Fed 5 - My First Analogue Camera in 2015

    Before the end of 2014, my girlfriend took the plunge of purchasing a rangefinder camera from eBay as a late Christmas gift for me. Let me present to you: the Fed 5. The Fed 5 has been known as a copy of the Leica M3 rangefinder camera. It is inexpensive compared to Leica models. So what are my experiences of using the Fed 5? Read on to find out more.

    6