Camera Review of the Week

4

This week's camera review on spotlight is an obvious choice, but don't let that distract you. The classic Canon shooter has been a crowd favorite for a reason. Let our featured camera reviewer for this week tell and show you why!

Being a popular choice for tough and reliable film SLR cameras, there’s no doubt why the Canon AE-1 is a heavyweight champ to our featured lomographer, lighttomysoul. The AE-1 is certainly a looker, coveted by many analogue lovers for its classic look, even if it’s not as handy and light as the LC-A+.

In her honest review, she gave some insights on why this classic Canon camera is worth shooting with, but also a little downside that may or may not bothersome. We’ll let you read for yourself what our lomographer thinks in her full review, but we’ll let these photos she has taken show you why it’s worth lugging around such a heavyweight shooter:

Credits: lighttomysoul

While she confesses that she does not “give the Canon as much love as it deserves because it’s a lot bigger and heaver to drag around,” our lady lomographer nevertheless remains impressed with it, as it never disappoints whenever she decides to take it with her.

Congratulations, lighttomysoul, for penning the latest Camera Review of the Week! Your Canon AE-1 is indeed a champion shooter, and we hope you’ll continue snapping stunning photos with it!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Camera Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-03-23 in #reviews #canon-ae-1 #lomography #camera-review-of-the-week #film-slr #slr-camera #camera-review #user-review

4 Comments

  1. welland
    welland ·

    Its a great camera but very unfair to draw comparision with the LCA! This is an SLR and the LCA is a compact camera. Two completely different cameras! Would be interesting to compare it with a Nikon F3 or a OM1.

  2. plasticpopsicle
    plasticpopsicle ·

    Hello @welland! I think our review author here was only saying that the AE-1 is obviously not your choice when you're looking for something light and compact to shoot with, but still worth the trouble of lugging a heavier and bulkier camera. And I believe the difference between the two camera types is certainly obvious, the comparison based only on convenience. :)

  3. weaver
    weaver ·

    i love my ae-1 and am glad to see it being featured :D

  4. sweetoblivion
    sweetoblivion ·

    Great piece! My dream camera - my dad had this when I was growing up and it has a special place in my heart! I have yet to find my own one though ;)

More Interesting Articles

  • Cozy up to Black Friday with 30 Classy Black & White Pics from the LC-Wide

    written by jacobs on 2014-11-28 in #news
    Cozy up to Black Friday with 30 Classy Black & White Pics from the LC-Wide

    You probably don't feel like leaving your comfy sofa to go out and fight the cold and the crowds for a great deal, do you? We don't blame you! Instead, grab a plate of leftover turkey with all the fixin's and check out these gorgeous black and white photos from the classic LC-Wide camera. When you're done, scoot on over to the Online Shop to save a sweet 30% on it and other choice analogue deals!

    2
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-11-12 in #gear #tipster
    My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    I backed the Kickstarter project for the Lomo’Instant earlier this year and was thrilled to receive it last week. I love how the camera naturally encourages you to experiment with its different features, whether it’s through flashing your multiple exposures with different colors or trying different creative techniques after your shots has been ejected. Here are a few tips from what I’ve discovered from playing with the camera so far (and a couple of tips I want to try out in future)!

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Photo Stories: Street Photography in Riga by pogl

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-07-31 in #world #lifestyle
    Photo Stories: Street Photography in Riga by pogl

    On the streets you see all sorts of sights and people going about their respective businesses. It's exactly this reason why pogl has a particular fondness for street photography.

    1
  • Theblues and her Weapon of Choice: Konica C35 Automatic

    written by icequeenubia on 2015-04-11 in #gear
    Theblues and her Weapon of Choice: Konica C35 Automatic

    Looking for a dependable camera for street photography? For Agathe, or theblues in the community, the Konica C35 Automatic rangefinder is the perfect companion for her daily photowalk in Paris. Find out why in this installment of Weapon of Choice!

    3
  • New York Fashion Week, Menswear As Seen Through the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Lens by Christopher Logan

    written by Samantha Norman on 2015-07-22 in #world #events #lomoamigos
    New York Fashion Week, Menswear As Seen Through the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Lens by Christopher Logan

    Christopher Logan has covered New York Fashion Week extensively with Lomography. He's had individual publication and drawn in crowds to our NYC Gallery Store. When he took the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens to the first weekend Men's exhibition of New York Fashion Week shows, the results were astounding. His photos had their own takeover on the @AmericanPhotoMag Instagram feed and he was given a feature in GQ Brazil. Read on to get a glimpse of what he and the Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens can create.

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Loving the Lomo'instant!

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-01-16 in #news
    Loving the Lomo'instant!

    It's only been a few months since the lovely Lomo'instant camera was officially launched online and in the Lomography stores. Since then this Instant compact camera has been flying off the shelves. You've all been busy experimenting and uploading your amazing shots so we've decided show you some of the best shots out there to inspire you to get creative!

  • Fed 5 - My First Analogue Camera in 2015

    written by whimsicalgrid on 2015-01-23 in #reviews
    Fed 5 - My First Analogue Camera in 2015

    Before the end of 2014, my girlfriend took the plunge of purchasing a rangefinder camera from eBay as a late Christmas gift for me. Let me present to you: the Fed 5. The Fed 5 has been known as a copy of the Leica M3 rangefinder camera. It is inexpensive compared to Leica models. So what are my experiences of using the Fed 5? Read on to find out more.

    6
  • Living the Epic Life with Matt Anderson

    written by cheeo on 2014-10-30 in #lifestyle

    Wanderlust kicked in as we talked with photographer Matt Anderson more about his exploits on the road. Let his film cameras show you again what it really takes to live a full life in this interview.

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Awesome Albums: #68 French Winter by ropi

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-09-05 in #news
    Awesome Albums:  #68 French Winter by ropi

    Some of you might still feeling a bit hungover for the summer that has been, but allow us to get you excited for the coming winter with this album.

  • Lomo'Instant First Impressions: mamablue

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-04 in #lifestyle
    Lomo'Instant First Impressions: mamablue

    Mamablue has been shooting with her two Polaroid cameras for years. She's no stranger to instant photography but the Lomo'Instant camera challenged her to get even more creative. Have a look at her first Lomo'Instant snapshots and her quick tip on using the camera's close-up feature.

    2
  • A Summer Of Festivals – Discover Electric Castle

    written by dop on 2015-07-18 in #world #lifestyle #locations
    A Summer Of Festivals – Discover Electric Castle

    There are quite a lot of festivals to choose from every summer and for sure everyone has his favorite. This June @danika, @hinny and @tomas_bates joined me for one of my favorites: Electric Castle Festival. Armed with loads of films & cameras, good mood and a lot of patience for the road to the heart of Romania, we set off to discover Electric Castle. Read on to find out what this off the radar festival has to offer!