Camera Review of the Week

4

This week's camera review on spotlight is an obvious choice, but don't let that distract you. The classic Canon shooter has been a crowd favorite for a reason. Let our featured camera reviewer for this week tell and show you why!

Being a popular choice for tough and reliable film SLR cameras, there’s no doubt why the Canon AE-1 is a heavyweight champ to our featured lomographer, lighttomysoul. The AE-1 is certainly a looker, coveted by many analogue lovers for its classic look, even if it’s not as handy and light as the LC-A+.

In her honest review, she gave some insights on why this classic Canon camera is worth shooting with, but also a little downside that may or may not bothersome. We’ll let you read for yourself what our lomographer thinks in her full review, but we’ll let these photos she has taken show you why it’s worth lugging around such a heavyweight shooter:

Credits: lighttomysoul

While she confesses that she does not “give the Canon as much love as it deserves because it’s a lot bigger and heaver to drag around,” our lady lomographer nevertheless remains impressed with it, as it never disappoints whenever she decides to take it with her.

Congratulations, lighttomysoul, for penning the latest Camera Review of the Week! Your Canon AE-1 is indeed a champion shooter, and we hope you’ll continue snapping stunning photos with it!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Camera Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-03-23 in #reviews #lomography #camera-review-of-the-week #film-slr #slr-camera #camera-review #user-review #canon-ae-1

4 Comments

  1. welland
    welland ·

    Its a great camera but very unfair to draw comparision with the LCA! This is an SLR and the LCA is a compact camera. Two completely different cameras! Would be interesting to compare it with a Nikon F3 or a OM1.

  2. plasticpopsicle
    plasticpopsicle ·

    Hello @welland! I think our review author here was only saying that the AE-1 is obviously not your choice when you're looking for something light and compact to shoot with, but still worth the trouble of lugging a heavier and bulkier camera. And I believe the difference between the two camera types is certainly obvious, the comparison based only on convenience. :)

  3. weaver
    weaver ·

    i love my ae-1 and am glad to see it being featured :D

  4. sweetoblivion
    sweetoblivion ·

    Great piece! My dream camera - my dad had this when I was growing up and it has a special place in my heart! I have yet to find my own one though ;)

More Interesting Articles

  • Stunning Silhouettes Courtesy of the Diana F+

    written by lomography on 2015-11-08 in #gear #news
    Stunning Silhouettes Courtesy of the Diana F+

    For this week's selection, we put the spotlight on the lovely silhouettes captured by our community members with their Diana F+ cameras. Have a look and, while you're at it, learn how you can earn piggies and have your own photos be featured on the Online Shop!

    2
  • Photo Stories: Street Photography in Riga by pogl

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-07-31 in #world #lifestyle
    Photo Stories: Street Photography in Riga by pogl

    On the streets you see all sorts of sights and people going about their respective businesses. It's exactly this reason why pogl has a particular fondness for street photography.

    1
  • Scott Brasher Chases Fashion in the Streets of New York with the Petzval Lens

    written by antoniocastello on 2015-03-09 in #people #lomoamigos
    Scott Brasher Chases Fashion in the Streets of New York with the Petzval Lens

    Scott Brasher is a fashion street photographer based in New York City. His work has been featured on many media outlets while working with brands like Cover Girl, MTV, Reebok, and Target, among many others. But before this, Scott started shooting in the streets of Williamsburg, Brooklyn, capturing its daily urban fashion. Last month, he took the Petzval Lens to the streets of New York to photograph scenes at the famous New York Fashion Week.

  • Shop News

    Ondu 4X5 Large Format Pinhole Camera

    Ondu 4X5 Large Format Pinhole Camera

    Want to push your limits in the field of photography? Go large format! This camera uses a 4x5” film and can capture all the subjects you want with this pinhole camera in large format!

  • The Lomo’Instant Wide "Share The News" Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-21 in #gear #competitions #videos
    The Lomo’Instant Wide "Share The News" Rumble

    If you’ve been living on Neptune for the past week (wait, how the hell did you get there?), you might have missed the memo – The brand new Lomo’Instant Wide has landed! Pre-orders are flying in for the world’s most creative wide format instant camera and lens system and we’ve decided to launch a competition to spice up the fun even further.

    8
  • December 24th Advent Offer: Last Call for Holiday Savings! (Online Code: LASTCALL10)

    written by Lomography on 2015-12-24 in #gear #news
    December 24th Advent Offer: Last Call for Holiday Savings! (Online Code: LASTCALL10)

    The Advent deals are almost over, but don't let that keep you from celebrating with us! Our final deal of the day gives you 10% off orders from the Online Shop and Gallery Stores. Whether you're looking for a new camera or accessories, don't wait until it's too late to score this awesome deal!

  • Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-26 in #world #news #competitions
    Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    With an expanded field of view and its ability to produce high quality images and capture minute detail, medium format photography has become the top choice of many photographers. Lomography is working hard to make sure that it keeps going with the continued production of medium format film and cameras. The current issue of German magazine FOTO HITS focuses on medium format photography. And with this rumble, we want to prove why medium format photography is king. Take your Diana F+, Holga 120, Lubitel 166+ or the new Lomo LC-A 120 and show us your best square shots!

    2
  • Shop News

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    A resurrection from the zenith of Russian premium optics, get the same elegance and classic compact design as its predecessor. — available in small quantities on a first-come, first-served basis.

  • December 7th Advent Offer: Get the Lomo LC-A 120 and Other Premium Lomography Cameras at 20% Off! (Online Code: PREMIUMPACKAGE20)

    written by Lomography on 2015-12-07 in #gear #news
    December 7th Advent Offer: Get the Lomo LC-A 120 and Other Premium Lomography Cameras at 20% Off!  (Online Code: PREMIUMPACKAGE20)

    Looking for an incredible gift for someone, or waiting for the perfect opportunity to grab a camera you've been dying to buy? Today is the perfect day to do it, because Lomography Premium Cameras are all 20% off! This festive deal will let you spend the holidays shooting like a pro!

    3
  • 3 Tumblrs We Loved This Week: The Electric Head, Disposable Camera Journal and Occasionally Punny Animals

    written by anamartaml on 2015-08-09 in #world
    3 Tumblrs We Loved This Week: The Electric Head, Disposable Camera Journal and Occasionally Punny Animals

    Admit it, you've been waiting impatiently for this moment to arrive. Well, the suspense is over, the announcement of the 3 Tumblrs We Loved This Week is finally here! We got lightpainting, we got puns, we got disposable cameras and - as always - blogs that will blow you away!

  • Ethereal Landscapes Captured with the Efke IR820 (35mm)

    written by lomography on 2015-11-01 in #gear #news
    Ethereal Landscapes Captured with the Efke IR820 (35mm)

    Marvel at this week's handpicked selection of beautiful landscape photographs captured by our community members with the Efke IR820 for 35mm cameras. While you're at it, find out how you can earn piggies and have your own photos be featured on the Online Shop!

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • September 2015 Callout for Contributions

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-09-11 in #world #news
    September 2015 Callout for Contributions

    It's Tipstember! For this month, we will be awarding 25 fat piggies to every tipster article that gets published on the Lomography Magazine. You can share tips on composition, lighting, film experiments and camera modifications; or maybe techniques for shooting portraits, landscapes, still life and even wildlife! If you don't have tricks up your sleeve, however, you can still contribute to the Magazine and let your voice be heard. Here are some suggestions.

  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Depth of Field

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-04-10 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Depth of Field

    Have you ever wondered why those nerdy camera constructors formulate complicated terms that baffle most normal citizens? Trust me, I know it all too well; Physics was the first subject to go when I had to choose between studying and spending yet another night pursuing youthful adventures. But don't worry — the remedy for all of the gaps in your knowledge is right here: Lomography’s Little Lessons on Photography. Follow this series and in no time you'll catch up on everything your curious mind desires!

    2
  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Aperture

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-14 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Aperture

    Have you ever wondered why those nerdy camera constructors formulate complicated terms that baffle most normal citizens? Trust me, I know it all too well; Physics was the first subject to go when I had to choose between studying and spending yet another night pursuing youthful adventures. But don't worry — the remedy for all of the gaps in your knowledge is right here: Lomography’s Little Lessons on Photography. Follow this series and in no time you'll catch up on everything your curious mind desires!