Camera Review of the Week

4

This week's camera review on spotlight is an obvious choice, but don't let that distract you. The classic Canon shooter has been a crowd favorite for a reason. Let our featured camera reviewer for this week tell and show you why!

Being a popular choice for tough and reliable film SLR cameras, there’s no doubt why the Canon AE-1 is a heavyweight champ to our featured lomographer, lighttomysoul. The AE-1 is certainly a looker, coveted by many analogue lovers for its classic look, even if it’s not as handy and light as the LC-A+.

In her honest review, she gave some insights on why this classic Canon camera is worth shooting with, but also a little downside that may or may not bothersome. We’ll let you read for yourself what our lomographer thinks in her full review, but we’ll let these photos she has taken show you why it’s worth lugging around such a heavyweight shooter:

Credits: lighttomysoul

While she confesses that she does not “give the Canon as much love as it deserves because it’s a lot bigger and heaver to drag around,” our lady lomographer nevertheless remains impressed with it, as it never disappoints whenever she decides to take it with her.

Congratulations, lighttomysoul, for penning the latest Camera Review of the Week! Your Canon AE-1 is indeed a champion shooter, and we hope you’ll continue snapping stunning photos with it!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Camera Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-03-23 in #reviews #camera-review-of-the-week #film-slr #camera-review #canon-ae-1 #slr-camera #user-review #lomography

4 Comments

  1. welland
    welland ·

    Its a great camera but very unfair to draw comparision with the LCA! This is an SLR and the LCA is a compact camera. Two completely different cameras! Would be interesting to compare it with a Nikon F3 or a OM1.

  2. plasticpopsicle
    plasticpopsicle ·

    Hello @welland! I think our review author here was only saying that the AE-1 is obviously not your choice when you're looking for something light and compact to shoot with, but still worth the trouble of lugging a heavier and bulkier camera. And I believe the difference between the two camera types is certainly obvious, the comparison based only on convenience. :)

  3. weaver
    weaver ·

    i love my ae-1 and am glad to see it being featured :D

  4. sweetoblivion
    sweetoblivion ·

    Great piece! My dream camera - my dad had this when I was growing up and it has a special place in my heart! I have yet to find my own one though ;)

More Interesting Articles

  • Cozy up to Black Friday with 30 Classy Black & White Pics from the LC-Wide

    written by jacobs on 2014-11-28 in #news
    Cozy up to Black Friday with 30 Classy Black & White Pics from the LC-Wide

    You probably don't feel like leaving your comfy sofa to go out and fight the cold and the crowds for a great deal, do you? We don't blame you! Instead, grab a plate of leftover turkey with all the fixin's and check out these gorgeous black and white photos from the classic LC-Wide camera. When you're done, scoot on over to the Online Shop to save a sweet 30% on it and other choice analogue deals!

    2
  • Easter Bunny Treats - Save Up To 25% Until 20th April

    written by shhquiet on 2014-04-15 in #news
    Easter Bunny Treats - Save Up To 25% Until 20th April

    Look at what the Easter bunny has in store for you! A variety of egg-citing offers on your favorite Superpop and Monochrome Edition cameras in the Sales Section, available for a week only. Don’t make the bunny wait; hop, hop, hop to the Shop and snatch up the treats as fast as you can; this deal runs for 1 week only!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shop News

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval lens are designed for a Canon or Nikon SLR mounts and a selection of brass or black for each camera brand is available in our stores. And start shooting with images full of sharpness, crispness and bokeh effects!

  • My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-11-12 in #gear #tipster
    My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    I backed the Kickstarter project for the Lomo’Instant earlier this year and was thrilled to receive it last week. I love how the camera naturally encourages you to experiment with its different features, whether it’s through flashing your multiple exposures with different colors or trying different creative techniques after your shots has been ejected. Here are a few tips from what I’ve discovered from playing with the camera so far (and a couple of tips I want to try out in future)!

  • Reel vs. Real: Johnny Depp as J.M. Barrie

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-04-05 in #lifestyle

    For this week's featured biopic, we look back at the 2004 film that tells about the life of of J.M. Barrie, the playwright who penned Peter Pan, and his inspiration for the classic children's tale.

  • Mephisto19 and his Weapon of Choice: Lubitel 166+

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-05-29 in #lifestyle
    Mephisto19 and his Weapon of Choice: Lubitel 166+

    Stephan has more than 20 cameras in his collection but the Lubitel 166+ remains his favorite because of its versatility as a medium format camera. Read on why Stephan Kaps, aka mephisto19, regards the Lubitel 166+ as the perfect camera for his multiple exposure projects, portraiture, and other personal photography experiments in this installment of Weapon of Choice!

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • LomoGuru of the Week: arsomilio

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-04-20 in #lifestyle
    LomoGuru of the Week: arsomilio

    A graphic designer by profession, our LomoGuru of the Week has been an ardent analogue shooter for five years. Aside from photography, he also runs a magazine about art and culture in Florence. Read on to find out more about Samuele Formiconi or arsomilio, our LomoGuru of the Week!

    6
  • Top 5 Album Covers Designed by Famous Artists

    written by chooolss on 2014-06-19 in #lifestyle
    Top 5 Album Covers Designed by Famous Artists

    It has been proven time and again that some of the most interesting and creative collaborations are produced by art and music. For this week's list, in no particular order, we're putting the spotlight on five albums whose cover art were specially designed by well-known artists!

  • Tinker on the fly: A color filter made from spoiled film

    written by dopa on 2014-05-25 in #gear #tipster
    Tinker on the fly: A color filter made from spoiled film

    Probably each one of you has been annoyed with failed film. This is particularly annoying when you get the developed film back from the lab, but you get blanks because the film was not exposed. It's either the film transport didn't work, or you have not taken the lens cap off, etc. Read on and I'll show you an alternative to just throwing away the film: Simply use it as a color filter for your camera, with the La Sardina for example.

    3
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Loving the Lomo'instant!

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-01-16 in #news
    Loving the Lomo'instant!

    It's only been a few months since the lovely Lomo'instant camera was officially launched online and in the Lomography stores. Since then this Instant compact camera has been flying off the shelves. You've all been busy experimenting and uploading your amazing shots so we've decided show you some of the best shots out there to inspire you to get creative!

  • Reel vs. Real: Gary Oldman as Ludwig van Beethoven

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-04-12 in #lifestyle
    Reel vs. Real: Gary Oldman as Ludwig van Beethoven

    This week's biopic offering for all you cinephiles is a 1994 film that tells about the life of influential composer Ludwig van Beethoven, and provides an intriguing theory on the identity of the mystery lady he simply called "immortal beloved."

  • From Russia with Love: Motorama Shoots with the La Sardina Splendour

    written by zonderbar on 2014-08-04 in #people #lomoamigos
    From Russia with Love: Motorama Shoots with the La Sardina Splendour

    I don't know many bands from Russia but one that I've been admiring for years is Motorama from Rostov-on-Don. With catchy tunes and adorable videos, they took my heart by storm and that of fans from all over the world. Because of their Russian origin, Motorama is of course familiar with Lomo products. Reason enough to let them become our latest LomoAmigos! Enjoy the interview with singer Vlad and check out their B&W photos, taken with a La Sardina Splendour.