Film Review of the Week

Sometimes, it's not easy to decide which films to shoot with, especially when you're planning to take a medium format camera out for a date. Yes, you got it, the Film Review of the Week is a recommendation for medium format beauties like the classy Diana F+!

The Diana F+ is among Lomography’s most coveted and loved cameras, deemed iconic for its classic retro design and the dreamy photos that it can take. When paired with slide films, this analogue beauty quickly becomes an awesome and indispensable shooter for every lomographer. But, which medium format slide film, you ask?

Our featured film review author for this week, jonathansajoux suggests pairing the Lomography X-Pro Slide 200 120 with your Diana F+, which he declares his “favorite film for outdoor scenes.” Let’s take a look at some of his Diana snapshots using this Lomography film:

Photos by jonathansajoux

Daytime photos, portraits and self-portraits, double exposures—name it, and looks like he’s nailed it with this slide film! His snaps make you want to try this film out for shooting in various lighting conditions, don’t they?

Take a look at the rest of his photos and read the full review right here!

Congratulations and good job, jonathansajoux, for penning the latest Film Review of the Week! Keep snapping away with the Diana F+ and your favorite 120 slide film!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Film Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your film review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-03-16 in #reviews

More Interesting Articles

  • Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    written by sinema on 2014-07-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    This is my experience with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 (120), my first medium format film. It's an adventure that started when I got a Lubitel 2, to finally shoot with it. In this article, you'll find detailed information about color schemes, the advantages of shooting in medium format, and the differences between standard redscale films. Here are the results of a day of shooting outside, which I recently got back from the lab.

  • A Review of the Lomo’Instant Strap

    written by ichdaschaos on 2015-01-06 in #reviews
    A Review of the Lomo’Instant Strap

    Lomography ran a vote for the backers of the Lomo’Instant Kickstarter project to decide which design the Lomo’Instant Strap should have. Below is my little review about it.

  • Fresh from the Lab: One Roll of Film and the Lubitel 166U

    written by fadjaradiputra on 2014-11-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: One Roll of Film and the Lubitel 166U

    Adi, Ekeu, and I did a lomowalk around downtown Bandung last Saturday, the beginning of November. We planned to use our Lubitel cameras with only one roll of film each. We were inspired by the One Roll of Film Project by four Tokyo-based photographers with their Hasselblad cameras. This is about the one roll of film I shot with the Lubitel 166U, which made me love shooting in medium format even more.

    8
  • Shop News

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    You’ve shouted your analogue love from the rooftops and worn your heart on your sleeve – Now it’s time to take it to the next level and wear it on your skin! Our new Lomography Tattoos are fun, easy to apply and come in five designs.

  • Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-09-08 in #news
    Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    Get ready to think fast and shoot faster! Today, we are thrilled share with you news of the brand new LC-A 120 Camera. Load it with any 120 film roll and experience the thrill of medium format photography. You’re sure to soak up all the action in every square shot with its fantastic 38mm f/4.5 wide-angle lens (equivalent to a 21mm lens on a 35mm film camera). It's available for Pre-Order: Extremely limited first batch stock of only 500 cameras!

    35
  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    written by simonesavo on 2014-07-24 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact and is capable of shooting photos in 3 different sizes: 6x12, 6x9 and 6x6. Equipped with high-quality interchangeable lenses and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots with every roll. It can also take 3 different film formats: 120 film, 35mm and instant film. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Shop News

    Take the Harpy on a ride!

    Take the Harpy on a ride!

    Take your camera on a safe ride with your bike. This sturdy ZKIN leather bag protects your Diana F+ sized cameras and Lens. Remove the loops and you have a stylish shoulder bag!

  • Fujifilm Discontinues GF670 Folding Rangefinder

    written by chooolss on 2014-08-27 in #news
    Fujifilm Discontinues GF670 Folding Rangefinder

    Barely a week after Kodak Alaris announced the halting of the production of the popular BW400CN film, Fujifilm follows suit with the discontinuation of its GF670 rangefinder medium format camera.

    3
  • Snowborder and Photographer Darrell Mathes is back from the slopes

    written by antoniocastello on 2014-02-28 in #people #lomoamigos
    Snowborder and Photographer Darrell Mathes is back from the slopes

    Last November we introduced the work of LomoAmigo Darrel Mathes, whom at the time was planning to shoot while snowboarding in the mountains. He is back from his trip, with a really nice collection of medium format pictures after shooting our beloved Diana F+.

  • LomoChrome Purple 120 and 35mm: Expect the Radical!

    written by myahcat on 2014-08-01 in #reviews
    LomoChrome Purple 120 and 35mm: Expect the Radical!

    I was given a roll of LomoChrome Purple 120 by a friend who was keen for me to try it out since he didn't have a medium format camera. I really didn't expect the results I got when I took it out for a test run on a bright winter's day in London.

  • Shop News

    A quick guide to Inkodye

    A quick guide to Inkodye

    Shake well and apply to fabric. Blot out excess using a paper towel. Create your design using Inkofilm or anything that casts a shadow. Expose to sunlight or bright UV light for 10-20 minutes or until color reaches full saturation. Machine wash using Inkowash to remove unexposed dye. Double your exposure time in overcast weather. Enjoy the "wow" result!

  • UK Workshops and Events: August

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-07-20 in #events
    UK Workshops and Events: August

    The sun is shining and we are in the mood for some fun! If you're planning a trip to London this coming month, then why not book yourself for one of our special market workshops? We'll be heading off to Brick Lane, Portobello Rd and the Columbia Flower Market to shoot all the sights on film. If you’re visiting London and staying in a hostel, just present proof of your booking and get to join a workshop for free! Book your space now.

    1
  • Me, Myself and the LC-A 120: Daniel

    written by shhquiet on 2014-10-11 in #news
    Me, Myself and the LC-A 120: Daniel

    The LC-A 120 camera has inspired Daniel to take his medium format film stash from the fridge and start shooting again!

  • Me, Myself and the LC-A 120: Kaho

    written by shhquiet on 2014-10-10 in #news
    Me, Myself and the LC-A 120: Kaho

    Kaho clues us in on the wonders of shooting medium format photos with the LC-A 120 after taking it for a spin on an exotic coastal trip and wedding ceremony!