Camera Review of the Week

5

It's time once again for us to give recognition to the review which got us wanting another nice camera to add to our analogue arsenal. Find out who is the author behind the latest Camera Review of the Week after the jump!

Photo by yokekei

Last week, the spotlight was on a classic Olympus camera and analogue favorite, the Trip 35. Now, another favored compact Olympus shooter, the XA2, is the star of this week’s selected camera review, presented by yokekei from Malaysia!

While our featured author for this week is likewise not the first to share her insights on this analogue favorite, she was able to show us several wow-worthy photos that her fellow lomographers can take with the Olympus XA2. Let’s take a look at some of them:

Credits: yokekei

Her snapshots certainly show how Olympus XA2 owners (and would-be owners too) can push the compact camera’s capabilities to the limit, encouraging everyone to shoot with different films and virtually every light condition!

Check out the rest of her beautiful photographs and read the full review here!

Congratulations, yokekei, for bagging the second Camera Review of the Week award! Awesome snaps you got there, and we hope you’ll continue to wow us with your photographs!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Camera Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-03-16 in #reviews #olympus #analogue-camera #olympus-xa2 #lomography #camera-review-of-the-week #camera-review #film-camera #user-review

5 Comments

  1. yokekei
    yokekei ·

    thank you so much @plasticpopsicle ^_^

  2. plasticpopsicle
    plasticpopsicle ·

    You're welcome, @yokekei! Your lovely photos earned you the well-deserved recognition! :)

  3. neanderthalis
    neanderthalis ·

    @yokekei Bravo! I am sure we would like to see more articles by you.

  4. mikeray80
    mikeray80 ·

    One of my favorite cameras! I never leave the house with out it.

More Interesting Articles

  • Mashable Reviews The Lomo'Instant Camera

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-04 in #gear #reviews
    Mashable Reviews The Lomo'Instant Camera

    Raymond Wong of Mashable got his hands on the Lomo'Instant Camera. He experimented with Light Painting, Filtered Flash, and also dabbled with the lenses. Find out about the verdict after the jump!

  • Cinematographer Michal Dabal on the Petzval Lens

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-05 in #people #lifestyle #videos
    Cinematographer Michal Dabal on the Petzval Lens

    Here’s what happens before we interview a photographer. We gush about the work though we have yet to find out the cameras and processes behind the brilliant composition or the light architecture. And even when they haven’t used a Lomo camera, we feature them anyway. But every once in a while comes a pro who uses one of our premium lenses at work and our fun cameras off-duty. This makes us mighty glad, more so when their images are good and worth sharing. We count cinematographer Michal Dabal's work among them.

    1
  • Lomography X Das Salz der Erde Competition Winners

    written by petit_loir on 2015-04-27 in #world #competitions
    Lomography X Das Salz der Erde Competition Winners

    On the occasion of the German DVD release of Wim Wenders' latest documentary, "Das Salz der Erde (The Salt of the Earth)," on April 9, we asked you to send us your best black and white photographs. You have done your best and so making the decision was quite difficult. Read on to find out who will be celebrating with DVDs and piggies!

    4
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Liron Peretz Takes the New Petzval Lens to Berlin Fashion Week

    written by zonderbar on 2015-03-02 in #people #lomoamigos
    Liron Peretz Takes the New Petzval Lens to Berlin Fashion Week

    Liron Peretz is a talented Berlin-based fashion photographer who has been covering Fashion Week events for the last three years. For Lomography, she took the New Petzval Lens to the Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week in Berlin. Find out how she got along with it in this exclusive interview and see some of her beautiful backstage photos!

  • First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Andrea Cislaghi

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-02 in #gear #news
    First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Andrea Cislaghi

    In case you missed it, Lomography has just unveiled the latest member of its Art Lens family: the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens, which boasts of the same optics that the legendary LC-A camera has and brings the classic Lomographic style not only to analog but also to the digital platform. Over the next few days we'll be sharing with you the first impressions of and photographs taken by members of the Lomography team, who had gone out and put the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 to the test. First up is graphic designer Andrea Cislaghi, who coupled this lens with the Bessa R2 and Sony Alpha 7.

    5
  • Awesome Albums: Mystery Photos by My Late Uncle Herbert by Herbert-4

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-04-10 in #world #lifestyle
    Awesome Albums: Mystery Photos by My Late Uncle Herbert by Herbert-4

    In 1987, Herbert Morris combed through the files of his uncle, the late Herbert Habeeb. The things he left behind suggest that Mr. Habeeb was a man of staggering talent. He was an all-around science man who took excellent photos. But the mystery remains: Where did Uncle Herbert take his camera? What was the purpose of his travels? His namesake, fellow Lomographer Herbert, clues us in as to what his uncle might have been up to.

    17
  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • The New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Lens at the Lunar New Year Parade

    written by antoniocastello on 2015-06-13 in #gear #lifestyle
    The New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Lens at the  Lunar New Year Parade

    Since Lomography launched its new Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens project on Kickstarter, we've been seeing a variety of pictures, from images of snow monkeys in Japan to behind-the-scenes shots of New York Fashion Week. Many of these pictures were shot with digital cameras, but we've yet to see how the Petzval 58 performs on an analog Canon Rebel camera loaded with black and white, and x-pro film. Join us on a trip through the heart of New York's Chinatown during the Lunar New Year Parade.

  • A Journey Through New York With The Lomo'Instant Wide

    written by shhquiet on 2015-11-16 in #gear #news #videos
    A Journey Through New York With The Lomo'Instant Wide

    New York City - the ideal place to go to if you're looking for unstoppable energy. There's plenty of exciting things going on, but you need to be lightning-fast if you want to seize the moment. This is what makes the Lomo'Instant Wide the perfect camera to use - it captures all the details in one wide instant snapshot! See it in action with our special video after the jump.

  • My New York City Bike Ride Through Purple Eyes

    written by cecilialeitinger on 2015-08-14 in #world #news
    My New York City Bike Ride Through Purple Eyes

    What do you do when you don't have much time in a city like New York but you want to see everything, feel the vibe and be part of the community, even for a short time? Jump on a bike and enjoy what trains, buses and cabs can never give you: be part of the city. Take a camera with you to capture the moments and sights you don't want to forget. I did this with my LC-A 120 and LomoChrome Purple film.

  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-05-02 in #gear #lifestyle
    Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    Some people say instant photos bring about a feeling of nostalgia. Although I often use the Lomo'Instant Camera with different crazy accessories such as the Splitzer and color gels, I have to agree there is something about it — dreamy vignettes maybe? — that always makes me want to go back in time and experience it all over again. In the name of analogue photography and good old memories, we passed by some classic spots in Vienna and took one shot after the other. Take a closer look at our gallery.

  • Photo of the Day by _baunovart_

    written by lomography on 2016-02-06 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by _baunovart_

    It took nearly 20 years for this work of art to be completed.

    1
  • Landei and her Weapon of Choice: Sprocket Rocket

    written by lomography on 2016-02-06 in #world
    Landei and her Weapon of Choice: Sprocket Rocket

    Lomographer Carina, or landei in the community, regards the Sprocket Rocket as a "versatile plastic camera." For her, it doesn't only take great travel snapshots but makes an interesting conversation starter as well. In this interview, Carina expounds more on what makes the Sprocket Rocket her go-to camera.

    2