Rollei Retro (120, 400 iso) User-Review

5

The best B&W film I have used! Some of the most awesome blacks and stunning contrast I saw!

Lately, I have been experimenting with different black and whites and without a doubt, The Rollei Retro 400 is my absolute favorite! It even makes trivial images interesting and catches one’s attention immediately.

I think we need to learn to see the world with different eyes, Just like Colorsplashing, black and whites makes you appreciate different things, that at first glance may be not worth noticing. A Holga is the perfect enhancer by the way. Or maybe I am just nostalgic :-)

You can get these lovely Retro 400 rolls here at the Lomo Filmshop or maybe you can scour eBay if you’re on a budget. Give it a shot yourself and be wonderfully amazed by the sharp contrast, deep blacks and stunning whites ( especially if the sun is reflected on metal)!

written by vimalakirti on 2009-08-29 in #reviews #rollei-retro #120 #b-w #iso-400 #holga #contrast

5 Comments

  1. leela_dark
    leela_dark ·

    amazing gallery! want to try this film...

  2. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    love the eiffel tower shot!

  3. severin
    severin ·

    shot #3 is really good, it's not easy to capture the atmosphere of statues on photographs but this is really well done

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    Simply wonderful !

  5. druid
    druid ·

    great stuff - just ordered 10 rolls in 35mm and 120 - got to try this - thanks for the images!

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Lady Grey 400 (35mm)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-09-27 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Lady Grey 400 (35mm)

    Its stunning tones, smooth grain, and overall elegant monochrome look have inspired fellow lomographers to pen odes of praise—well, reviews, actually. Find out how the Lomography Lady Grey 400 (35mm) fared right here.

  • A Review of the Nikon F2

    written by Alexandra Pillet on 2015-06-15 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Nikon F2

    Considered as one of the best 35mm SLR cameras, the Nikon F2 is indeed one of the best experiences on film I’ve ever had. Fully manual and almost impossible to break, this historic camera is really marvelous to use.

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Wilson Lee Explores Hong Kong with the New Russar+

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-24 in #gear #lifestyle #locations #reviews #lomoamigos
    Wilson Lee Explores Hong Kong with the New Russar+

    Wilson Lee is not new to Lomography. He has taken photos using the Petzval Lens, and produced stunning results. Before going back to London to finish his master's degree, he used the New Russar+ lens and Lomography Lady Grey film to preserve his memories of his hometown, Hong Kong, in black and white.

  • My First Time with the LC-Wide: danika

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-16 in #gear #news #lifestyle #reviews
    My First Time with the LC-Wide: danika

    The LC-Wide is definitely one of Lomography's must-have cameras. Its Minigon 1 Ultra-Wide-Angle lens adds a different flavor to your shots, on top of the stunning vignettes, intense colors and breathtaking saturation and contrast LC-A cameras are known for. The Lomography Team is no stranger to the LC-Wide's creative potential, and has proven it capable of the most captivating images. First on the list is danika, from the Lomography Headquarters in Vienna.

  • Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    written by Xiang Cong Tham on 2015-02-22 in #gear #reviews
    Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    A lot of lomographers have experienced using and even writing about the greatness of the Lomography Earl Grey black and white 35mm ISO 100 film. However, no one has written about using an expired Earl Grey film yet. How does it fare when it is used expired? Read on to find out more.

    2
  • Shop News

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Snap your happy memories with the medium format Diana F+ Cortina! This special edition camera is a nod to fun winter holidays: snow-capped mountains, skiing and good times with friends and family!

  • Keep it Soft and Dreamy with the Petzval Lens

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-03-19 in #people #news
    Keep it Soft and Dreamy with the Petzval Lens

    We've been lending out the Petzval lens to some of our most loved photographers over the last 12 months. Some of the best shots have been soft, dreamy and full to the brim of beautiful bokeh! Have a look at some of our favourites here.

  • Petzval Amigo Joel Byron: Videos of The London Eye

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-05-25 in #people #lomoamigos #videos
    Petzval Amigo Joel Byron: Videos of The London Eye

    Joel Byron is a long-time fan of Lomography and uses analog methods in his work at his video and film production agency BigPlus. Back in 2010 he painstakingly put together the Lomography Caterpillar Matrix video which had over 60,000 hits! We lent Joel a Petzval lens and asked him to capture some video footage of London. The results were pretty stunning.

  • A Salute to the Masters: Ice Skating (A Tribute to Monte Fresco)

    written by sirio174 on 2016-01-09 in #world #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Ice Skating (A Tribute to Monte Fresco)

    This article is dedicated to one of the finest British sport photographers, Monte Fresco. In his 30 years of reportage for the Daily Mirror, he took some of the most iconic photographs in sporting history. He covered football, tennis, and boxing. But it is his ice skating pictures that I am most fascinated with. Using my own lens, I give him a modern tribute.

  • Shop News

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    The latest addition to the Lomo’Instant family! Inspired by the Icelandic midnight sky, Get endless creativity, take multiple exposed instant snapshots, experiment with long exposure and light painting shots!

  • Perfect Combination for a Hazy Day: Lomo LC-A and a Pushed Ilford HP5+

    written by sirio174 on 2015-05-06 in #gear #reviews
    Perfect Combination for a Hazy Day: Lomo LC-A and a Pushed Ilford HP5+

    In this article, I'll show you how the Lomo LC-A loaded with the versatile Ilford HP5+ can make the most out of a hazy morning. To capture the whirlwind of a bicycle race, I pushed the film to ISO 800. The legendary Minitar 1 lens and this classic Ilford film are a perfect combination if you love black and white photos.

    1
  • Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-19 in #gear #news
    Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    Not all photographs are meant to be seen in vibrant, saturated colors, and neither are they always suitable for in black and white. Lomography welcomes yet another innovation from KONO! The Reanimated Film. Without diminishing the aesthetic value of images, KONO! Donau 35mm Film casts a distinct blue tone to photos. It is ultra-low ISO film that is best used for long exposure shots. Check out this fine selection of uniquely tinted images.

  • A Salute to the Masters: Barkers (A Tribute to Jack Delano)

    written by sirio174 on 2015-05-02 in #world #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Barkers (A Tribute to Jack Delano)

    This is tribute to the Farm Security Administration photographer, Jack Delano, and his photographic series dedicated to barkers. For this article, I chose a series of photos I took this year at the traditional Easter Fair in my city, Como, using a classic rangefinder camera loaded with a roll of black and white film.

    2