Rollei Retro (120, 400 iso) User-Review

5

The best B&W film I have used! Some of the most awesome blacks and stunning contrast I saw!

Lately, I have been experimenting with different black and whites and without a doubt, The Rollei Retro 400 is my absolute favorite! It even makes trivial images interesting and catches one’s attention immediately.

I think we need to learn to see the world with different eyes, Just like Colorsplashing, black and whites makes you appreciate different things, that at first glance may be not worth noticing. A Holga is the perfect enhancer by the way. Or maybe I am just nostalgic :-)

You can get these lovely Retro 400 rolls here at the Lomo Filmshop or maybe you can scour eBay if you’re on a budget. Give it a shot yourself and be wonderfully amazed by the sharp contrast, deep blacks and stunning whites ( especially if the sun is reflected on metal)!

written by vimalakirti on 2009-08-29 in #reviews

5 Comments

  1. leela_dark
    leela_dark ·

    amazing gallery! want to try this film...

  2. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    love the eiffel tower shot!

  3. severin
    severin ·

    shot #3 is really good, it's not easy to capture the atmosphere of statues on photographs but this is really well done

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    Simply wonderful !

  5. druid
    druid ·

    great stuff - just ordered 10 rolls in 35mm and 120 - got to try this - thanks for the images!

More Interesting Articles

  • Petzval Lens User Review: An Unexpected Happiness

    written by sanamiii on 2014-06-06 in #reviews
    Petzval Lens User Review: An Unexpected Happiness

    It is my first time to use the New Petzval Lens outside of work and I got some surprising photos!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Linuxbcn and His Weapon of Choice: Lomography Redscale ISO 100 (120 mm)

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-04-17 in #lifestyle
    Linuxbcn and His Weapon of Choice: Lomography Redscale ISO 100 (120 mm)

    Awed by the eye-popping fiery red shade the film produces, Joan brands the Lomography Redscale 100 (120 mm) as the most original emulsion in Lomography's catalogue. Aside from this, he also enjoys experimenting with the film's ISO to produce a variety of stunning results. Read on to find out why linuxbcn chose the Lomography Redscale 100 as his Weapon of Choice!

    2
  • Shop News

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    You’ve shouted your analogue love from the rooftops and worn your heart on your sleeve – Now it’s time to take it to the next level and wear it on your skin! Our new Lomography Tattoos are fun, easy to apply and come in five designs.

  • The Analogue Quiz: What B&W Film are you?

    written by andie_sollmer on 2014-10-20 in #news
    The Analogue Quiz: What B&W Film are you?

    Did you ever think about the myth that we actually dream in Black & White? No colors, maybe no truth behind it anyways. But we know for a fact that you can create the most dreamy photographs with an analogue camera. And for that you need the right film. Scroll down and find out which B&W film is the film of your dreams!

    4
  • At the Funfair with my Horizon Perfekt

    written by sirio174 on 2014-04-12 in #reviews
    At the Funfair with my Horizon Perfekt

    Every year my city Como hosts, for the Easter period, a great fun fair. This is a great occasion to test a camera, to make experiments with films, to have fun and to photograph people while also having fun! This year, I used my gem, the wonderful Horizon Perfekt (that I bought from the Lomography Online Shop) loaded with a timeless film, a Kodak Tri-X 400 developed, as usually for b/w, by myself. Read more after the jump!

  • Fantastic Doubles Taken with the Lomography Lady Grey B&W 400

    written by chooolss on 2014-03-20 in #lifestyle
    Fantastic Doubles Taken with the Lomography Lady Grey B&W 400

    We often use black and white film when shooting dramatic portraits, sweeping landscapes, and even in street photography. But did you know that it's just as effective in taking creative doubles, too? Take a look at this selection of lovely lomographs taken by some members of our community!

    2
  • Shop News

    Belair Camera

    Belair Camera

    Love medium format? This Belair baby will never fail you to satisfy your cravings for taking photographs in 120 format! Choose among the different variants of Belair cameras that will suit your tastes!

  • Top Tips For Krab Underwater Case and Fisheye Submarine Users

    written by shhquiet on 2014-07-10 in #lifestyle

    If it's your first time to use the Fisheye Submarine Case (with your Fisheye One/Fisheye No.2 cameras) or the Krab Underwater Housing (with your LC-A+ or LC-Wide cameras), you might still feel a liiiiittle bit anxious about taking your favorite cameras underwater. To help ease your worries I gathered some of the most helpful tips, straight from summer-lovin' Lomographers who braved the waves with their cameras!

  • Give your photos a touch of class with Lomography 120 Black and White Films

    written by cheeo on 2014-04-01 in #lifestyle
    Give your photos a touch of class with Lomography 120 Black and White Films

    Old period films have their own fair share of mystery due to the black and white treatment. Give your own medium-format photos a touch of the mystique like these snaps from the community.

    4
  • Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-19 in #reviews
    Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    About two years ago or so, I purchased the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200. I saved just one roll of this film and waited for the right moment to shoot with it. In April this year, I just wasn't able to take it anymore! I loaded this film into my Lubitel 166+, which I realized I hadn't used for maybe about six months. One idea came to mind: taking crazy multiple exposures!

    3
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Station Noir: Black and White Photography in the Summer

    written by melwyn on 2014-08-29 in #lifestyle
    Station Noir: Black and White Photography in the Summer

    Summer is full of color so using black and white film might not be the first thing that comes to mind. Yet the summer sun works out beautifully on black and white film. Like to give it a try? I've come across the best light at the train station during rush hour!

  • Finding Humanity in the Streets with Soomin Yim

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-12 in #lifestyle
    Finding Humanity in the Streets with Soomin Yim

    Stop bath is a type of chemical used in the darkroom for processing black and white film, aptly named as such because it halts the development of the images. In this case, stop bath is also part of the title that Korean analogue street photographer <b><a href="http://instagram.com/sooeatsyourstreetforbreakfast">Soomin Yim</a></b> has given her body of work, "Stop Bath the City," to represent the forgotten faces of people in the city amid rapid modernization, captured and immortalized on black and white film.

  • Elitechrome 400 EL: Absolutely Retro

    written by wil6ka on 2014-03-14 in #reviews
    Elitechrome 400 EL: Absolutely Retro

    The entire Kodak Elitechrome series belong to my favorite films. From the EB, to the EBX, ED, and EL; they all have great features once you know how to use them well. The EL with its 400 ISO hardly gets any attention, which is also because of the fact that it is more uncommon. But that is about to change with this. Here's some e-love.

    4