Film Review of the Week

For the next Review of the Week feature, the spotlight is on a Lady Grey 400 review, which our featured lomographer dubbed as Miss Diana's new best friend. Well, why don't we take a look if the two really get along well?

I’m sure many of you will agree that black and white photography is quite the tricky one. Devoid of color, the photographer’s composition and ability to tell a story through pictures will make or break a snapshot. The Diana F+ has long been a favorite for the dreamy, classy feel that her photographs exude, but with black and white films, it’s quite a challenge for us to find a perfect match for the Diana.

Even so, carlota_nonnumquam has found a “new best friend” for her trusty Diana F+ in Lomography Lady Grey 400. What does our featured lomographer have to say about Lomography’s high-speed black and white film?

“I love black and white photos with high contrast and Lomography Lady Grey, with its wide tonal range, is great when it comes to contrast: the blacks are gorgeous, the greys are lovely, and the whites are really vibrant.”

Do the two ladies really get along nicely? Well, why don’t we let some of our lomorapher’s snapshots do the talking:

Credits: carlota_nonnumquam

Check out the full review to see more photos from our featured lomographer’s lovely day out with the two lovely Lomography ladies!

Congratulations, carlota_nonnumquam, for bagging the Film Review of the Week!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Film Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your film review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-03-09 in #reviews

More Interesting Articles

  • Elitechrome 400 EL: Absolutely Retro

    written by wil6ka on 2014-03-14 in #reviews
    Elitechrome 400 EL: Absolutely Retro

    The entire Kodak Elitechrome series belong to my favorite films. From the EB, to the EBX, ED, and EL; they all have great features once you know how to use them well. The EL with its 400 ISO hardly gets any attention, which is also because of the fact that it is more uncommon. But that is about to change with this. Here's some e-love.

    4
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Paddington Bear Trail with the Petzval lens

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-11-21 in #news
    Paddington Bear Trail with the Petzval lens

    If you visit London in the next few weeks,you might bump into a Paddington Bear sculpture more than once. Don't be alarmed, he's not following you around. There are hundreds of Paddington Bear sculptures dotted around the city in celebration of the launch of a new film. We captured a few using the glorious Petzval lens. Take a look here.

  • Shop News

    Get 20% off on the Lomography Experimental Lens Kit

    Get 20% off on the Lomography Experimental Lens Kit

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras.

  • Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    written by maliha on 2015-01-07 in #world #locations
    Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    If you want to know the heart of a person, peek inside his/her wardrobe! And no, nobody famous said that; I only just made it up. But really, don't you think it's true? After all, the way we dress screams our personality; at least for most of us. And that is why, as soon as I land on a new city, one of the things I absolutely must do is find the local boutiques. Sure, I love the fancy chain boutiques as much as the next person, but there's just something else about a local clothing store. It's unique!

  • Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    written by jacobs on 2015-02-10 in #gear #news
    Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    Are you still looking for that perfect treat for your loved one this Valentine's Day? Then you've come to the right place, my friend — we've extended our Valentine's deals until the end of the week! Which means you have extra time to get lucky in all things love and Lomography. Quit dodging Cupid's arrows and get in on these sweet deals right now!

  • The Great Lomo'Instant Tag Competition of 2015!

    written by jacobs on 2015-01-15 in #competitions
    The Great Lomo'Instant Tag Competition of 2015!

    Looking for a chance to share your best Lomo'Instant snaps with the world and win seriously cool prizes? Then we've got good news for you — The Great Lomo'Instant Tag Competition of 2015 is on! And even if you don't have a Lomo'Instant yet, now is the perfect time to get one. Pick one up now so you can join in on the fun!

    1
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • To Russia with Love (Part 3)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-03 in #people #lifestyle #locations
    To Russia with Love (Part 3)

    In the third and final installment of his Russian love story, Herr Willie recalls some of the most memorable experiences from his trips to post-Soviet Russia, including traveling aboard the Trans-Siberian Railway and shooting with the La Sardina for Lomography on assignment, and waxes nostalgic about all the amazing people he had met.

    3
  • Snap Up This Brand New Instant Grand Slam Package - Lomo’Instant Boston Edition

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-03 in #gear #news
    Snap Up This Brand New Instant Grand Slam Package - Lomo’Instant Boston Edition

    We are very excited to introduce the latest addition to the Lomo’Instant family, the Lomo’Instant Boston Edition. The Boston only made it to first base when it appeared in our Kickstarter campaign but by the raucous applause we got from you guys, it’s in it for the homerun!

    1
  • Lomo'Instant Boston Competition

    written by jacobs on 2015-03-03 in #gear #news #competitions
    Lomo'Instant Boston Competition

    What comes to your mind when you think of Boston? Maybe it's the Red Sox, or maybe it's Baked Beans? In this latest competition to celebrate the Lomo'Instant Boston Edition, we want to know what Boston means to you! Maybe you've been there, maybe not — it doesn't matter! Show us your favorite photos that represent Boston in your mind!

    1
  • Shop News

    Show Off your Pics with Style!

    Show Off your Pics with Style!

    Build vivid hanging LomoCurtains, robust free-standing LomoCastles, and dazzling mounted LomoMosaics! Just click them together with the Lomography Photoclips!

  • Photographer Gilbert Blecken Captures Iconic Musicians on Film

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-03-02 in #people #lifestyle
    Photographer Gilbert Blecken Captures Iconic Musicians on Film

    Back in the 1990s, Gilbert Blecken was a big music fan and wrote for his own small music fanzine. He would interview bands in between sound checks and take photographs of them. He was never a professional photographer or worked for a company; he simply did it for his fanzine. Twenty years on, Gilbert’s photographs have matured into an amazing documentation of some of the biggest music icons of that era. We caught up with Gilbert to ask him about these photographs and the fascinating story behind them.

    7
  • Photo of the Day by megalithicmatt

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-02 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by megalithicmatt

    Bathing in blue, this wintry landscape looks utterly magical.

    2
  • Catfordst is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-02 in #world #news
    Catfordst is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to catfordst for winning Home of the Day!

    4