Camera Review of the Week

3

After what seemed like too long ago, we're bringing back the Camera Review of the Week to acknowledge the insights and first impressions of our community members on various analogue cameras out there. Let's get started with a review on a classic Olympus shooter!

Photo by Latente reproduced here under the creative commons license.

While he was certainly not the first to provide insights about this world-famous analogue camera, adam_g2000 ’s review on the Olympus Trip 35 is certainly worth checking out! He is generous enough to give fellow analogue lovers an encouraging tip: “A world famous classic, selling millions of units worldwide. This means plenty are available in thrift stores, op-shops and across the internet.” That should push us to give a more thorough search for this camera!

What makes the Trip 35 worth including in a lomographer’s arsenal? According to our featured snapshooter, the zone-focus camera, which is a lot like the LC-A, captures “accurate and more lifelike” photos that come close to those taken with a “far more expensive SLR.” Well, don’t his photos bear testament to this, and tell a lot about the potential of this Olympus shooter with a cult status!

Credits: adam_g2000

Now, we wouldn’t want to reveal too much details, so go ahead and check out adam_g2000's full review!

Congratulations, adam_g2000, for bagging this week’s Camera Review of the Week!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Camera Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-03-09 in #reviews #lomography #camera-review-of-the-week #camera-review #user-review #olympus-trip-35 #zone-focus-camera #analogue-camera

3 Comments

  1. kapena90
    kapena90 ·

    I recently got one and I'm obsessed! It shoots so beautifully with slide film! There's also a close up filter which you can find on ebay occasionally for pretty cheap

More Interesting Articles

  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Andrea Cislaghi

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-02 in #gear #news
    First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Andrea Cislaghi

    In case you missed it, Lomography has just unveiled the latest member of its Art Lens family: the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens, which boasts of the same optics that the legendary LC-A camera has and brings the classic Lomographic style not only to analog but also to the digital platform. Over the next few days we'll be sharing with you the first impressions of and photographs taken by members of the Lomography team, who had gone out and put the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 to the test. First up is graphic designer Andrea Cislaghi, who coupled this lens with the Bessa R2 and Sony Alpha 7.

    3
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shop News

    Lubi Scooby Doo! Save 15% on Lomography film in the Bundle with the Lubitel!

    Lubi Scooby Doo! Save 15% on Lomography film in the Bundle with the Lubitel!

    This beautiful camera features such ability to let users choose and switch between 35mm or 120 formats! Shoot more, save more! Get this Lubitel camera and get 15% discounts with Lomography Films!

  • The Kwanon, Canon's First Camera, Turns 80

    written by chooolss on 2014-09-04 in #lifestyle
    The Kwanon, Canon's First Camera, Turns 80

    Canon has risen to the ranks of the biggest and most influential camera manufacturers in the world, and it all started 80 years ago when the company produced its very first camera, The Kwanon. Find out all about this historic shooter after the jump!

    1
  • Share Your Lomo’Instants With The World! Fantastic Prizes Up For Grabs

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-30 in #news
    Share Your Lomo’Instants With The World! Fantastic Prizes Up For Grabs

    We’re so excited that the first Lomo’Instant cameras are now shipping to our Kickstarter backers around the globe. If you are one of the lucky folks who backed the Lomo'Instant on Kickstarter, we have some special competitions for you to enjoy over the next couple of weeks when you receive your camera!

    4
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Shop News

    Konstruktor Collector’s Gift Bundle

    Konstruktor Collector’s Gift Bundle

    With this bundle you get to shoot with Lomography’s DIY SLR and have the special transparent edition to display at home.

  • First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Tom Bates

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-05-05 in #gear #news
    First Impressions of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens: Tom Bates

    The best thing about working for Lomography is having first access to new products. Imagine everyone's excitement when the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens 2.8/32M was delivered to the headquarters in Vienna, where members of the Lomography team took turns testing this tiny yet powerful optic on various cameras. Meanwhile, Tom Bates from Marketing teased out the idyllic and colorful possibilities of shooting with the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 lens on a trip to the UK countryside.

    3
  • March Workshops and Events at Lomography Chicago

    written by Lomography Chicago on 2015-02-24 in #world #news #events
    March Workshops and Events at Lomography Chicago

    It’s been a long and cold winter but we’re finally getting back into the swing of things here in Chicago. We’ve got a great month of events and workshops coming up, so dust off those cameras that have been sitting around all winter and let’s take some pictures together!

  • Newcomer of the Week: billseye

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-06-14 in #world #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: billseye

    Having a professional photographer in the family paved a way for Bill to start taking interest in photography early on. In this interview, he shares more about how he discovered the community and his passion for shooting analog. Let's all welcome our newcomer of the week from USA, billseye!

    3
  • Shop News

    La Sardina and Flash + Fritz the Blitz Adaptor Pack

    La Sardina and Flash + Fritz the Blitz Adaptor Pack

    The La Sardina and Flash + Fritz the Blitz Adaptor Pack allows you to take dynamic, wide-angled flash-infused photos on the go!

  • Newcomer of the Week: elaidia

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-07-27 in #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: elaidia

    It was her sweetheart who encouraged her to pursue taking photographs using film cameras. After her first try at using a Fisheye No. 2, she got immediately hooked! Let's all welcome Elaidia Oliveros, or simply elaidia in our Community, our Newcomer of the Week!

  • August 2014 Workshops and Events in Lomography Embassy Singapore

    written by lomographysg on 2014-07-30 in #events
    August 2014 Workshops and Events in Lomography Embassy Singapore

    This August, we bring you back to your roots and explore the wonders of nature! First, we cook up a storm with a film soup experiment. Followed by nature photowalks at beautiful scenic parks in Singapore to unearth the tips & tricks of trouble exposure, as well as the unique methods to perfect our macro shots. To cap off the learning month, we'll gather on a cozy Friday night for a new special sharing series by the Lomography Community -- with Sharing Session #1: Nature.

  • Newcomer of the Week: analogeanstalten

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-09-21 in #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: analogeanstalten

    Her interest in photography started when she saw a shop in Vienna selling cameras with her name "Diana" printed all over. She then applied as an intern in Lomography Germany where she had a great time getting on the analogue grind. Let's all give our cheerful and perky Newcomer of the Week, analogeanstalten, a warm welcoming hug!

    2