Staff Review: Ricoh FF-20 Wide Zoom

2

I found this Ricoh FF-20 Wide Zoom in a thrift shop several months ago and have taken photos with it a couple of times. Read more about this compact zoom camera and see some of my sample photos after the jump!

Several months ago, I checked out a thrift shop while on my way to work, curious if they had any analogue cameras for sale. I spotted some old gadgets and kept my eyes peeled for cameras. Amidst a pile of seemingly broken cameras, I found a Ricoh FF-20 Wide Zoom, which was appeared to be in good condition. The store owner loaded it with a CR 123A battery and it sprung to life. The price was good and I didn’t want to leave it behind so I did not hesitate to get it.

I tried to find some information about this camera, but all I found was a user manual. However, I can say that it has most of the basic features you can find in other compact zoom cameras of its time:

  • Built in wide-angle zoom lens (focal length: 32 mm f/4.9 to 64 mm f/8.8; focusing range: 0.6m to infinity)
  • Auto-focus system
  • DX Coding supporting ISO 64-3200 (in the absence of DX Coding, FF-20 takes photos at 100 ISO)
  • LCD display
  • Automatic frame advance and rewind
  • Self-timer
  • Panorama mode
  • Built-in flash
  • Date imprinting mode

The first time I tested it, I loaded it with an expired Kodak Ultramax 400 and took photos while on a food trip at a night market after work. This film also happens to be the very first I processed and scanned on my own. Not bad for some night photos (many of them shot without flash), I think! The zoom isn’t particularly impressive, but gives satisfactory results, given that I abused it by shooting expired film with it in low light and without flash.

Credits: plasticpopsicle
Shot in Panorama mode.
Zoomed in without flash.

Later, I took it with me for a daytime tour and photowalk, and loaded it with Kodak Elitechrome EB 100. I got better photos, not only because they were taken using slide film, but because they were properly exposed. I even got some nice sunset photos.

In conclusion, I find it a basic compact zoom camera that makes a nice addition to a lomographer’s collection. While not as wide-eyed as the Vivitar Ultra Wide and Slim (22mm), La Sardina (22mm), and LC-Wide (17mm), it still qualifies as a wide-angle 35mm camera with its 32mm focal length, and is capable of producing decent wide angle photos. When used according to settings that maximize its performance (and with some slide films from time to time!), the Ricoh FF-20 can produce photos that lomographers can take pride in!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-03-01 in #reviews #lomography #ricoh #compact-zoom-camera #ricoh-ff-20-wide-zoom #film-camera #staff-review

More Interesting Articles

  • Princeton Architectural Press Publishes Fred Lyon's 'San Francisco, Portrait of a City: 1940-1960'

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-20 in #news
    Princeton Architectural Press Publishes Fred Lyon's 'San Francisco, Portrait of a City: 1940-1960'

    See the Golden City as it was more than 50 years ago through the eyes of one of its acclaimed sons. Details and photos after the jump!

  • Fresh from the Lab: Hari Raya Portraits

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-10 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: Hari Raya Portraits

    A couple of weeks ago, my family and I celebrated Hari Raya after a month of fasting during the holy month of Ramadan. Since the first day I laid my hands on the Lubitel 166+, I've always had the thought of taking portraits of my family. So this year, I finally took them. Here they are: Hari Raya Portraits!

    8
  • Lomo'instant Party Recap UK

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-11-18 in #news
    Lomo'instant Party Recap UK

    Last week we celebrated the arrival of the Lomo'Instant camera at the Lomography Soho Store with a huge launch party. We opened our doors late to showcase this exciting new compact instant camera! We gave you the chance to hold this beauty in your hands and have your photo taken in our instant photobooth. Read on to catch the event highlights.

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Fresh from the LomoLab: My Summer at a Campsite

    written by sirio174 on 2014-09-23 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the LomoLab: My Summer at a Campsite

    I prefer being outdoors whenever I go on a vacation at the seaside. For this reason, I always choose to stay at a campsite instead of a hotel. This year, I stayed at a beautiful one in the south of Italy. Here is a series of photos which I received a few days ago from the excellent LomoLab service, taken with my Sprocket Rocket. Have a look after the jump!

    2
  • Lomography x Nixon Petzval Video

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-08-13 in #lifestyle
    Lomography x Nixon Petzval Video

    Last month, Lomography Gallery Store Soho held an exhibition of photographs taken at the Nixon Surf Challenge in Russia. Free drinks and live music from Swim Mountain overflowed at the opening party. Using the Petzval lens and a star-shaped aperture plate to give a beautifully soft, dreamy effect, the folks at the Soho Gallery Store created a video of the event. Watch this video after the jump.

  • A Salute to the Masters: Street Photography in Ischia and Procida (A Tribute to Bruno Barbey)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-08-30 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Street Photography in Ischia and Procida (A Tribute to Bruno Barbey)

    The French photographer Bruno Barbey took a series of photos in Southern Italy in the '60s, many of these in the city of Naples. In this tribute to a great master of social and street photography, I'll show you a series of photos that I took in the islands of Ischia and Procida located a few kilometers from this wonderful city. Read more after the jump!

    1
  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Photos from The Edward Reeves Studio on Exhibit at the Brighton Photo Biennial

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-13 in #news
    Photos from The Edward Reeves Studio on Exhibit at the Brighton Photo Biennial

    The Brighton Photo Biennial is back on its sixth edition this year, and one of the exhibits that photography enthusiasts should check out is that featuring photographs from The Edward Reeves Studio in Sussex, England. Read more about it after the jump!

  • Show Us Your Perfect Timing Winners Announcement!

    written by mindofmyra on 2015-03-06 in #world #competitions
    Show Us Your Perfect Timing Winners Announcement!

    There is nothing better than a photo shot at the perfect moment. Henri Cartier-Bresson's principle on "The Decisive Moment" is a principle that we should still follow to this day. A perfectly-timed photo creates impact, whether it's one of a friend jumping into the pool or a couple emerging from the ceremony on their wedding day. For this rumble, we want to see that breathtaking moment, shot at the perfect time. And you showed us what it's like to be on time.

    3
  • A Salute to the Masters: Rugby (A Tribute to Robert Doisneau)

    written by sirio174 on 2015-06-06 in #world #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Rugby (A Tribute to Robert Doisneau)

    This is a tribute to one of the most famous French social and street photographers, Robert Doisneau. During his life he was able to capture many little moments of everyday Parisian life with humanity and grace. His photos, full of poetry and humor, tell the ordinary life in the suburbs of the big French capital, away from the richest central areas of the city. Read more after the jump!

    1
  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Travel Stories: Trekking Mount Papandayan by shufi

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-04 in #people
    Travel Stories: Trekking Mount Papandayan by shufi

    There are about 127 active volcanoes in Indonesia, one of the most popular ones being Mount Papandayan, located 2,665 meters above sea level in Garut, West Java. My boyfriend and I usually go hiking together so we decided to spend our long weekend holiday (three days/two nights) at Mount Papandayan.

    6
  • Aton is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-04 in #world #news
    Aton is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to aton for winning Home of the Day!

    2
  • Vintage Gallery: European Actresses in their Early Roles

    written by kenaz on 2015-08-04 in #world #lifestyle
    Vintage Gallery: European Actresses in their Early Roles

    Young Helen Mirren playing a corset-clad model. Juliette Binoche and Julie Delpy in early training with Jean-Luc Godard. Lena Olin and Helena Bonham Carter in literary adaptations. Before crossover projects, these actresses had to pay their dues—in bit parts and breakout roles.