Konica C35 FD - Staff Review

3

The Konica C35 FD is a compact, easy-to-use rangefinder camera from Japan. The C35 series inspired other Japanese cameras such as the Ricoh 500GX and Olympus 35ED.

image from camerapedia

Back in 1968, the Konica C35 series of rangefinders was introduced by Konishiroku (Konica), the oldest camera company in Japan (t closed down in 2006). It was a big hit – the cameras were lightweight, simple to operate, and had a very sharp lens. Five years later, the Konica C35 FD emerged. It was available in two colors – black, and silver, and was exclusive to Japan. In other markets, it was known as “Auto S3.”

The C35 FD has a six element, four group Hexanon 38mm f/1.8 lens, known for producing very sharp and detailed images. The viewfinder is bright and clear, the leaf shutter unobtrusive, and the controls and focusing lever are large, making it convenient to operate. Perhaps the most excellent feature is the ambient light/flash exposure system, a feature considered advanced among compact the C35 series. This allows you to conveniently balance ambient and flash exposure.

After the C35 made waves, other Japanese camera companies followed suit – Ricoh with its 500GX, Olympus with the 35ED, and Minolta with the Hi-Matic F. This is not to say that the C35 series was completely original, design-wise – it was an updated version of the Minoltina S,and Olympus Trip 35.

eazy360 chanced upon this camera in an obscure camera shop in Quiapo, Philippines.

“The solid and very compact construction caught my attention. Its small size and easy controls are strong advantages over its heftier Russian counterparts. The attractive portability of the C35 series— a quality that lead to outstanding sales worldwide— significantly influenced the design of Japanese rangefinders after 1970. And this small fellow can certainly pack a punch with versatile manual options. With an aperture that opens up to f/1.8, it’s a great camera to experiment with in creating beautiful portraits isolated by bokeh. It also has varied shutter speeds of 1/8 to 1/500 for different light conditions and scenarios, as well as a bulb (B) setting that’s perfect for low light conditions and capturing light streaks. Moreover, flash photography is a snap with a hotshoe. Paired with a Colorsplash Flash, the Konica C35 can venture indoors and take impressive party photographs and other indoor escapades.”

written by shhquiet on 2008-06-09 in #reviews #staff #35mm #review #rangefinder #konica

3 Comments

  1. layout
    layout ·

    cool!!!

  2. dimitrul
    dimitrul ·

    It's a great camera!

  3. carrierodriguez
    carrierodriguez ·

    :) nice! I'm getting a Konica C35 in a few days can't wait to try it out :D

More Interesting Articles

  • Theblues and her Weapon of Choice: Konica C35 Automatic

    written by icequeenubia on 2015-04-11 in #gear
    Theblues and her Weapon of Choice: Konica C35 Automatic

    Looking for a dependable camera for street photography? For Agathe, or theblues in the community, the Konica C35 Automatic rangefinder is the perfect companion for her daily photowalk in Paris. Find out why in this installment of Weapon of Choice!

    2
  • Konica C35: A Wonderfully Analogue Camera

    written by marioman112 on 2014-09-01 in #reviews
    Konica C35: A Wonderfully Analogue Camera

    They say you can't teach an old dog new tricks, but whoever said that must have never shot with a Konica C35. This 46-year-old beauty can definitely hang with the big boys. Come see why this camera is one of my favorites, and why it should be one of yours, too.

  • Lomopedia: Ricoh Auto 35 V or Ricohmatic 35

    written by cheeo on 2014-09-17 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Ricoh Auto 35 V or Ricohmatic 35

    The Ricoh Auto 35 V is a curious-looking camera, no doubt about that. It’s all thanks to Japanese ingenuity and product design.

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • LomoAmigos: Say Hi to the Norman Records Staff

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-08-08 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigos: Say Hi to the Norman Records Staff

    Norman Records is an online record store based in Leeds, United Kingdom that offers a diverse selection of music from all around the globe. They sell Indie, Rock, Kosmiche, IDM, EBM, Dancehall, Jazz, Library, Math Rock, Cheesecore and all the other crazy music genres your could ever imagine. We decided to give them an L-CA+ to get a backstage glimpse of life in an online record shop.

    1
  • Fed 5 - My First Analogue Camera in 2015

    written by whimsicalgrid on 2015-01-23 in #reviews
    Fed 5 - My First Analogue Camera in 2015

    Before the end of 2014, my girlfriend took the plunge of purchasing a rangefinder camera from eBay as a late Christmas gift for me. Let me present to you: the Fed 5. The Fed 5 has been known as a copy of the Leica M3 rangefinder camera. It is inexpensive compared to Leica models. So what are my experiences of using the Fed 5? Read on to find out more.

    6
  • A Salute to the Masters: Barkers (A Tribute to Jack Delano)

    written by sirio174 on 2015-05-02 in #world #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Barkers (A Tribute to Jack Delano)

    This is tribute to the Farm Security Administration photographer, Jack Delano, and his photographic series dedicated to barkers. For this article, I chose a series of photos I took this year at the traditional Easter Fair in my city, Como, using a classic rangefinder camera loaded with a roll of black and white film.

    2
  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Shoot wider and bigger with this new instax camera that has film format twice the size of the instax mini films!

  • The Lomo LC-A Goes to Tokyo (Part II)

    written by candilsw on 2015-04-23 in #world #locations
    The Lomo LC-A Goes to Tokyo (Part II)

    Tokyo is the capital of Japan and a very popular tourist spot. The city combines the urban metropolitan area with traditional Japanese culture. You can find exciting forms of entertainment as well as elegant traditional Japanese architecture and scenery all in this amazing city. Enjoy your adventure in Tokyo right here through the lens of the classic Lomo LC-A+!

    1
  • 18 Sensational 6x12 Scenes From The Belair X 6-12

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-13 in #gear
    18 Sensational 6x12 Scenes From The Belair X 6-12

    Think the Belair X 6-12 medium-format camera is only limited to snapping square shots? Nope! It also gives you the option to shoot other photo formats, such as 6x12. We compiled some of the most impressive photos in this format for your inspiration!

    2
  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!

  • Shop News

    LC-A Iblazr Bundle

    LC-A Iblazr Bundle

    Start capturing images even in low-light conditions with this bundle you can create your own combination of LC-A camera and Iblazr flash. And save 20% off!

  • Family Photos with the Lomo'Instant

    written by ciscoswank on 2014-12-18 in #people #lomoamigos
    Family Photos with the Lomo'Instant

    Instant cameras are useful during birthday parties, Christmas celebrations, or even just simple family gatherings Mai Masuno, former staff member of Lomography Japan, became a mother nine months ago. She photographed her beautiful baby recently using the Lomo'Instant, and shares the lovely snapshots in this feature.

  • Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-05-02 in #gear #lifestyle
    Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    Some people say instant photos bring about a feeling of nostalgia. Although I often use the Lomo'Instant Camera with different crazy accessories such as the Splitzer and color gels, I have to agree there is something about it — dreamy vignettes maybe? — that always makes me want to go back in time and experience it all over again. In the name of analogue photography and good old memories, we passed by some classic spots in Vienna and took one shot after the other. Take a closer look at our gallery.

  • Sprocket Rocket: a Great Camera for Your Beach Life!

    written by sirio174 on 2014-07-09 in #reviews
    Sprocket Rocket: a Great Camera for Your Beach Life!

    If you are looking for a panoramic camera to document your adventures on the beach, you should try the Sprocket Rocket. It's easy to use, cheap, and can get you amazing results! In this article, you can see how I used this camera to document a short vacation in Liguria, from Varazze to Alassio. Take a look after the jump!

    1