Konica C35 FD - Staff Review

3

The Konica C35 FD is a compact, easy-to-use rangefinder camera from Japan. The C35 series inspired other Japanese cameras such as the Ricoh 500GX and Olympus 35ED.

image from camerapedia

Back in 1968, the Konica C35 series of rangefinders was introduced by Konishiroku (Konica), the oldest camera company in Japan (t closed down in 2006). It was a big hit – the cameras were lightweight, simple to operate, and had a very sharp lens. Five years later, the Konica C35 FD emerged. It was available in two colors – black, and silver, and was exclusive to Japan. In other markets, it was known as “Auto S3.”

The C35 FD has a six element, four group Hexanon 38mm f/1.8 lens, known for producing very sharp and detailed images. The viewfinder is bright and clear, the leaf shutter unobtrusive, and the controls and focusing lever are large, making it convenient to operate. Perhaps the most excellent feature is the ambient light/flash exposure system, a feature considered advanced among compact the C35 series. This allows you to conveniently balance ambient and flash exposure.

After the C35 made waves, other Japanese camera companies followed suit – Ricoh with its 500GX, Olympus with the 35ED, and Minolta with the Hi-Matic F. This is not to say that the C35 series was completely original, design-wise – it was an updated version of the Minoltina S,and Olympus Trip 35.

eazy360 chanced upon this camera in an obscure camera shop in Quiapo, Philippines.

“The solid and very compact construction caught my attention. Its small size and easy controls are strong advantages over its heftier Russian counterparts. The attractive portability of the C35 series— a quality that lead to outstanding sales worldwide— significantly influenced the design of Japanese rangefinders after 1970. And this small fellow can certainly pack a punch with versatile manual options. With an aperture that opens up to f/1.8, it’s a great camera to experiment with in creating beautiful portraits isolated by bokeh. It also has varied shutter speeds of 1/8 to 1/500 for different light conditions and scenarios, as well as a bulb (B) setting that’s perfect for low light conditions and capturing light streaks. Moreover, flash photography is a snap with a hotshoe. Paired with a Colorsplash Flash, the Konica C35 can venture indoors and take impressive party photographs and other indoor escapades.”

written by shhquiet on 2008-06-09 in #reviews #35mm #rangefinder #konica #staff #review

3 Comments

  1. layout
    layout ·

    cool!!!

  2. dimitrul
    dimitrul ·

    It's a great camera!

  3. carrierodriguez
    carrierodriguez ·

    :) nice! I'm getting a Konica C35 in a few days can't wait to try it out :D

More Interesting Articles

  • Theblues and her Weapon of Choice: Konica C35 Automatic

    written by icequeenubia on 2015-04-11 in #gear
    Theblues and her Weapon of Choice: Konica C35 Automatic

    Looking for a dependable camera for street photography? For Agathe, or theblues in the community, the Konica C35 Automatic rangefinder is the perfect companion for her daily photowalk in Paris. Find out why in this installment of Weapon of Choice!

    3
  • Lomopedia: Ricoh Auto 35 V or Ricohmatic 35

    written by cheeo on 2014-09-17 in #reviews
    Lomopedia: Ricoh Auto 35 V or Ricohmatic 35

    The Ricoh Auto 35 V is a curious-looking camera, no doubt about that. It’s all thanks to Japanese ingenuity and product design.

  • Daidō Moriyama on Using a Compact Camera

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-16 in #world #lifestyle #videos
    Daidō Moriyama on Using a Compact Camera

    Street photographers, take heed as the acclaimed Japanese photographer muses on the advantages of using a compact camera in street photography.

    1
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Fed 5 - My First Analogue Camera in 2015

    written by whimsicalgrid on 2015-01-23 in #reviews
    Fed 5 - My First Analogue Camera in 2015

    Before the end of 2014, my girlfriend took the plunge of purchasing a rangefinder camera from eBay as a late Christmas gift for me. Let me present to you: the Fed 5. The Fed 5 has been known as a copy of the Leica M3 rangefinder camera. It is inexpensive compared to Leica models. So what are my experiences of using the Fed 5? Read on to find out more.

    6
  • A Review of the Nikon F2

    written by Alexandra Pillet on 2015-06-15 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Nikon F2

    Considered as one of the best 35mm SLR cameras, the Nikon F2 is indeed one of the best experiences on film I’ve ever had. Fully manual and almost impossible to break, this historic camera is really marvelous to use.

  • A Salute to the Masters: Barkers (A Tribute to Jack Delano)

    written by sirio174 on 2015-05-02 in #world #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Barkers (A Tribute to Jack Delano)

    This is tribute to the Farm Security Administration photographer, Jack Delano, and his photographic series dedicated to barkers. For this article, I chose a series of photos I took this year at the traditional Easter Fair in my city, Como, using a classic rangefinder camera loaded with a roll of black and white film.

    2
  • Shop News

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Snap dazzling 35mm fisheye shots at the push of a button with this shimmery blue lightweight beauty.

  • The Lomo LC-A Goes to Tokyo (Part II)

    written by candilsw on 2015-04-23 in #world #locations
    The Lomo LC-A Goes to Tokyo (Part II)

    Tokyo is the capital of Japan and a very popular tourist spot. The city combines the urban metropolitan area with traditional Japanese culture. You can find exciting forms of entertainment as well as elegant traditional Japanese architecture and scenery all in this amazing city. Enjoy your adventure in Tokyo right here through the lens of the classic Lomo LC-A+!

    1
  • 18 Sensational 6x12 Scenes From The Belair X 6-12

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-13 in #gear
    18 Sensational 6x12 Scenes From The Belair X 6-12

    Think the Belair X 6-12 medium-format camera is only limited to snapping square shots? Nope! It also gives you the option to shoot other photo formats, such as 6x12. We compiled some of the most impressive photos in this format for your inspiration!

    2
  • 12 Months, 12 Projects: July - Freelensing Fun

    written by Maaike van Stratum on 2015-08-05 in #gear #tipster
    12 Months, 12 Projects: July - Freelensing Fun

    My 2015 resolution is to do 12 photography projects, one for every month. In July, I tried freelensing or unscrewing the lens from my SLR and holding it in front of the camera body. By tilting the lens slightly I was able to change the focus. For this experiment, I used my Konstruktor and Olympus OM-1.

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-05-02 in #gear #lifestyle
    Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    Some people say instant photos bring about a feeling of nostalgia. Although I often use the Lomo'Instant Camera with different crazy accessories such as the Splitzer and color gels, I have to agree there is something about it — dreamy vignettes maybe? — that always makes me want to go back in time and experience it all over again. In the name of analogue photography and good old memories, we passed by some classic spots in Vienna and took one shot after the other. Take a closer look at our gallery.

  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!

  • Family Photos with the Lomo'Instant

    written by ciscoswank on 2014-12-18 in #people #lomoamigos
    Family Photos with the Lomo'Instant

    Instant cameras are useful during birthday parties, Christmas celebrations, or even just simple family gatherings Mai Masuno, former staff member of Lomography Japan, became a mother nine months ago. She photographed her beautiful baby recently using the Lomo'Instant, and shares the lovely snapshots in this feature.