Polaroid High Definition (35mm, 100 iso) User-Review

4

Scouring eBay for rare film stock is a lot of fun and can reward you with some peculiar gems!

Now, before I ever joined up to Lomography.com I had always thought Polaroid only ever made instant film. I usually look around the film part of the Magazine section of the site for new and interesting films to track down and try out. I came across a review for Polaroid High Definition and enjoyed the gallery for this peculiar film, searching eBay I came across someone selling a roll for £3.00. It had an ISO of 100 and only had 12 exposures, but since when have I let that hold me back?

To test the film, I used it with the LC-A+, the weather was a overcast and gray. I took a bunch of shots, a few double exposures indoors and outside and processed the roll.

I was surprised to see a fair bit grain for a film rated at this particular ISO. The shots were sharp and I feel show real depth especially when going for double exposures. Indoors without flash it really looked way too grainy so keep that in mind if trying this out indoors.

Not a film I would find myself using for subdued lighting situations, but I can see it giving a little more under brighter weather conditions. As I said, works really well with double exposures. See for yourself and maybe you might find something to love in this peculiar film from the kings of Instamatic photography.

written by mattydk on 2009-07-28 in #reviews #12-exposures #rare-film-stock #double-exposures #100iso #polaroid

4 Comments

  1. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    # 9 is a nice portrait shot!

  2. stouf
    stouf ·

    So sharp ! I like it !

  3. its_gone
    its_gone ·

    Awesome Shots,
    I just bought loads of film off eBay and with it i got 5 rolls of this which are 24 and 36 exposure:D Pretty darn good.

  4. woosang
    woosang ·

    I found 11 rolls for $28 so I nabbed them. Can't wait to try it!

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Snap Up This Incredible Invention: Introducing The Brand New Lomochrome Turquoise Film!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-10-20 in #news
    Snap Up This Incredible Invention: Introducing The Brand New Lomochrome Turquoise Film!

    We are very excited to present you with our new film, Lomography LomoChrome Turquoise XR 100-400! This emulsion develops in C-41 in 35mm and 120 formats. Limited stock of 5,000 rolls for pre-order are available, so reserve your rolls now; delivery of first stock estimated for April 2015.

    9
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!

  • How To Digitize LomoKino Movies With Samplomat

    written by shhquiet on 2015-05-13 in #gear #news #tipster #videos
    How To Digitize LomoKino Movies With Samplomat

    Making your very own LomoKino movie is really fun and rewarding, but it also requires some time and effort. Now here's some good news - Samplomat will make it easier for you! This desktop application is free for Mac and Windows systems. Let the LomoKino movie-making begin!

    1
  • Uwe Mimoun: the Man Behind KONO! Reanimated Film

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-07-31 in #people #lifestyle
    Uwe Mimoun: the Man Behind KONO! Reanimated Film

    Branded as "The Reanimated Film," KONO! Film is hand-rolled and made of special materials which are rarely (or never) produced for "normal“ photography. Rather, the materials were intended for the motion picture industry and the results can vary depending on how the film is used. Learn more in this interview with the founder of KONO! Film, Uwe Mimoun.

    2
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • How to Change Lenses with the Diana Baby 110

    written by chooolss on 2014-12-14 in #lifestyle #videos
    How to Change Lenses with the Diana Baby 110

    It might not look like it, but the Diana Baby 110 is definitely more than it lets on. For example, did you know that you can alternate using 12mm and 24mm lenses with it? Find out how in this tutorial!

  • Total Eclipse of the Sun Competition

    written by jacobs on 2015-03-20 in #gear #news #competitions
    Total Eclipse of the Sun Competition

    Did you catch the solar eclipse that happened recently? Word on the street is that it even resulted in a total eclipse in some areas of Europe, making it a pretty rare occasion for the folks that got to see it! We're guessing that some of you even had your cameras to catch the whole shebang on film — which is why we're throwing a competition for the best eclipse and sun inspired shots out there. Come on in and check out the details!

  • Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-17 in #gear #news #lifestyle #tipster
    Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    Ever since light painting was invented, it inspired artists from all around the globe to magical creations that capture hidden movements and reinvent the world we live in. "Life is a fairy tale, stay wild little child!" is what they want to tell us. Bringing light to life became the next challenge for anyone rigged with a film camera and a creative mind. Now, how can you take your analogue light paintings from the ordinary to the outstanding? After the carriage came the car, so we definitely need some spacy inventions to follow the old school light pen. So here it is, our new best friend: The Pixelstick!

    8
  • Shop News

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Snap dazzling 35mm fisheye shots at the push of a button with this shimmery blue lightweight beauty.

  • Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-09-08 in #news
    Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    Get ready to think fast and shoot faster! Today, we are thrilled share with you news of the brand new LC-A 120 Camera. Load it with any 120 film roll and experience the thrill of medium format photography. You’re sure to soak up all the action in every square shot with its fantastic 38mm f/4.5 wide-angle lens (equivalent to a 21mm lens on a 35mm film camera). It's available for Pre-Order: Extremely limited first batch stock of only 500 cameras!

    35
  • The Great Lomo'Instant Tag Competition of 2015!

    written by jacobs on 2015-01-15 in #competitions
    The Great Lomo'Instant Tag Competition of 2015!

    Looking for a chance to share your best Lomo'Instant snaps with the world and win seriously cool prizes? Then we've got good news for you — The Great Lomo'Instant Tag Competition of 2015 is on! And even if you don't have a Lomo'Instant yet, now is the perfect time to get one. Pick one up now so you can join in on the fun!

    2
  • Lubitel 166+: Lubitel is for Lovers+

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-05 in #reviews
    Lubitel 166+: Lubitel is for Lovers+

    Lubitel for lovers+. You're probably wondering, "Why is there a '+'?" It's to describe and expand a whole new definition of the Lubitel - in this case, this camera is not only for lovers literally, but also for anyone who loves to shoot portraits, street scenes, objects, and the skies. Do you love to take photos of your lover, your dear friend, your lovely family, your pet, or at the streets? This camera can be used in ALL situations. You can shoot everything that you love with it!