Polaroid High Definition (35mm, 100 iso) User-Review

4

Scouring eBay for rare film stock is a lot of fun and can reward you with some peculiar gems!

Now, before I ever joined up to Lomography.com I had always thought Polaroid only ever made instant film. I usually look around the film part of the Magazine section of the site for new and interesting films to track down and try out. I came across a review for Polaroid High Definition and enjoyed the gallery for this peculiar film, searching eBay I came across someone selling a roll for £3.00. It had an ISO of 100 and only had 12 exposures, but since when have I let that hold me back?

To test the film, I used it with the LC-A+, the weather was a overcast and gray. I took a bunch of shots, a few double exposures indoors and outside and processed the roll.

I was surprised to see a fair bit grain for a film rated at this particular ISO. The shots were sharp and I feel show real depth especially when going for double exposures. Indoors without flash it really looked way too grainy so keep that in mind if trying this out indoors.

Not a film I would find myself using for subdued lighting situations, but I can see it giving a little more under brighter weather conditions. As I said, works really well with double exposures. See for yourself and maybe you might find something to love in this peculiar film from the kings of Instamatic photography.

written by mattydk on 2009-07-28 in #reviews #12-exposures #double-exposures #100iso #rare-film-stock #polaroid

4 Comments

  1. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    # 9 is a nice portrait shot!

  2. stouf
    stouf ·

    So sharp ! I like it !

  3. its_gone
    its_gone ·

    Awesome Shots,
    I just bought loads of film off eBay and with it i got 5 rolls of this which are 24 and 36 exposure:D Pretty darn good.

  4. woosang
    woosang ·

    I found 11 rolls for $28 so I nabbed them. Can't wait to try it!

More Interesting Articles

  • Trending LomoKino Movies of September 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-10-02 in #world #news #videos
    Trending LomoKino Movies of September 2015

    Shooting movies on film is quite rare nowadays. If you're craving for some gloriously analog movies, sit back, relax, and let these splendid LomoKino movies entertain you.

    4
  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!

  • How To Digitize LomoKino Movies With Samplomat

    written by shhquiet on 2015-09-03 in #gear #news #tipster #videos
    How To Digitize LomoKino Movies With Samplomat

    Making your very own LomoKino movie is really fun and rewarding, but it also requires some time and effort. Now here's some good news - Samplomat will make it easier for you! This desktop application is free for Mac and Windows systems. Let the LomoKino movie-making begin!

    2
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Get Creative with Exciting New Films & Save 35% on Lomography 110 Film!

    written by shhquiet on 2015-09-18 in #gear #news
    Get Creative with Exciting New Films & Save 35% on Lomography 110 Film!

    The bold new film you’ve been waiting for is here! We’ve got a huge selection of creative and experimental films, and lots of other great ones back in stock. Head to our Online Shop or visit a Lomography Gallery Store near you and pick your film up today!

  • Uwe Mimoun: the Man Behind KONO! Reanimated Film

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-07-31 in #people #lifestyle
    Uwe Mimoun: the Man Behind KONO! Reanimated Film

    Branded as "The Reanimated Film," KONO! Film is hand-rolled and made of special materials which are rarely (or never) produced for "normal“ photography. Rather, the materials were intended for the motion picture industry and the results can vary depending on how the film is used. Learn more in this interview with the founder of KONO! Film, Uwe Mimoun.

    3
  • Total Eclipse of the Sun Competition

    written by jacobs on 2015-03-20 in #gear #news #competitions
    Total Eclipse of the Sun Competition

    Did you catch the solar eclipse that happened recently? Word on the street is that it even resulted in a total eclipse in some areas of Europe, making it a pretty rare occasion for the folks that got to see it! We're guessing that some of you even had your cameras to catch the whole shebang on film — which is why we're throwing a competition for the best eclipse and sun inspired shots out there. Come on in and check out the details!

  • Shop News

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Never go wrong with amount of light entering your lenses. Perfect for any photo shoots, very handy, lightweight and extremely versatile!

  • December 16th Advent Offer: Stock Up On Film With Our Festive 3 For 2 Deal! (Online Code: THREE4TWO)

    written by Lomography on 2015-12-16 in #gear #news
    December 16th Advent Offer: Stock Up On Film With Our Festive 3 For 2 Deal! (Online Code: THREE4TWO)

    What better way to spread holiday cheer than by capturing it with your trusty camera? We're making it a little bit easier today, because today you can load up on all your favorite Lomography films for less! So stock up and get ready to snap the winter away!

  • Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-17 in #gear #news #lifestyle #tipster
    Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    Ever since light painting was invented, it inspired artists from all around the globe to magical creations that capture hidden movements and reinvent the world we live in. "Life is a fairy tale, stay wild little child!" is what they want to tell us. Bringing light to life became the next challenge for anyone rigged with a film camera and a creative mind. Now, how can you take your analogue light paintings from the ordinary to the outstanding? After the carriage came the car, so we definitely need some spacy inventions to follow the old school light pen. So here it is, our new best friend: The Pixelstick!

    8
  • First Impressions of the New Jupiter 3+ Art Lens: Maxime Fardeau

    written by Lomography on 2016-01-22 in #people #lomoamigos
    First Impressions of the New Jupiter 3+ Art Lens: Maxime Fardeau

    Maxime Fardeau, or Max as he is fondly called, loves film. He has been shooting analogue for about four years and owns a number of 35mm film and instant cameras, such as the Leica M6 and SLR-670 Polaroid. He has taken photos using the Lomo'Instant and the Minitar-1 Art Lens and this time around, he provides a glimpse of the images she produced with the Jupiter 3+ Art Lens.

    2
  • Shop News

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Snap your happy memories with the medium format Diana F+ Cortina! This special edition camera is a nod to fun winter holidays: snow-capped mountains, skiing and good times with friends and family!

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • KONO! Donau 35mm Film: Another Exceptional Film Exclusively Available From Lomography

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-19 in #gear #news
    KONO! Donau 35mm Film: Another Exceptional Film Exclusively Available From Lomography

    Lomography is always on the lookout for experimental and creative film, because we want to keep the love for analogue alive! We’re devoted to continually adding new and exciting films to our ever-expanding collection of photography products, both from our own production line and partnering together with likeminded companies. So in our ongoing quest to do so, we have teamed up with our friends at KONO! The Reanimated Film to share a totally new and exciting film with you — KONO! Donau 35mm Film!

  • Angela Izzo on Shooting with the Diana Mini, Photographing Musicians, and Then Some

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-29 in #people #lifestyle
    Angela Izzo on Shooting with the Diana Mini, Photographing Musicians, and Then Some

    While many of us can only dream of working with musicians and photographing them, Angela Izzo's job entails exactly that. Apparently, this is a fulfillment of her own dream that she had when she was younger. In this interview, Izzo talks about her beginnings which, of course, included going to as many shows and festivals as she possibly can; some of her most memorable on-the-job-experiences with the likes of The Doors, Lykke Li, Jack White, Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, and Chris Robinson Brotherhood; her inspirations and other interests; and her love for film photography and Diana Mini. And to those looking into fulfilling their own dreams of working in the same industry, Izzo also shares helpful advice based on her own experiences.