Kodak Ektar (120 and 35mm, 100 iso) User-Review

4

Kodak Ektar 100 is a great film to use on super sunny days with a longer exposure or with a tripod!

I’d been anxiously awaiting my chance to use Kodak’s new Ektar 100 120 film and so when I saw some a week ago I bought a few rolls and went on a mission. I knew this film would need a lot of light so the first sunny day I took photos
with my Diana F+ at a small travelling carnival. I had used the 35mm Ektar 100 already and found the colours very rich and vibrant, and so I was a little disappointed when I got back a good roll, but with saturation comparable to the Portra 400NC. The images were sharp, but the colours were mostly muted – and I always shoot with the camera set to cloudy when using a slower film.

Unfazed I decided to try again, but this time I brought my tripod along. I used the ‘B’ setting and held for about a second and got some really great results. I so love the depth of colour that can be achieved with this film! I don’t know if this will replace the Portra VC in my repertoire as an everyday film, the Ektar just isn’t as versatile, but for still shots that you can plan it’s truly exceptional!

written by bees on 2009-07-10 in #reviews #100-iso #120 #film #kodak #ektar #diana-f

4 Comments

  1. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    i HAVE TO try this film!!! LOVE the 35mm-version!

  2. strangelilgirl
    strangelilgirl ·

    stunning results you got!

  3. stouf
    stouf ·

    Great ! N°1 is really special !

  4. rater
    rater ·

    The ektar is a great negative film!!!!

More Interesting Articles

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shop News

    Feed your LC-A 120 the finest emulsions and save!

    Feed your LC-A 120 the finest emulsions and save!

    Shoot more with LC-A 120 without breaking your budget! The Phoblographer Editor’s Choice Award Winner now comes in a Bundle with 120 format film at 15% off!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!

  • LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400

    written by simonesavo on 2014-06-17 in #reviews
    LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400

    The LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400 is a color negative film that uses false colors and gives your images an infrared effect. In fact, the greens turn to purple and yellows turn to pink. See how it fares on a photowalk after the jump.

    2
  • Shop News

    Lubi Scooby Doo! Save 15% on Lomography film in the Bundle with the Lubitel!

    Lubi Scooby Doo! Save 15% on Lomography film in the Bundle with the Lubitel!

    This beautiful camera features such ability to let users choose and switch between 35mm or 120 formats! Shoot more, save more! Get this Lubitel camera and get 15% discounts with Lomography Films!

  • You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    written by ncjom on 2014-11-05 in #reviews
    You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    If you happen to come across an expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 film pack, either in a store or on the Internet, get one and be ready for an exciting experience. You'll definitely get more from it!

  • Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-19 in #reviews
    Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    About two years ago or so, I purchased the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200. I saved just one roll of this film and waited for the right moment to shoot with it. In April this year, I just wasn't able to take it anymore! I loaded this film into my Lubitel 166+, which I realized I hadn't used for maybe about six months. One idea came to mind: taking crazy multiple exposures!

    3
  • Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    written by Xiang Cong Tham on 2015-02-22 in #gear #reviews
    Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    A lot of lomographers have experienced using and even writing about the greatness of the Lomography Earl Grey black and white 35mm ISO 100 film. However, no one has written about using an expired Earl Grey film yet. How does it fare when it is used expired? Read on to find out more.

    2
  • Shop News

    Horizon and DigitaLIZA Bundle

    Horizon and DigitaLIZA Bundle

    The Horizon and DigitaLIZA Bundle lets you mix and match your favorite Horizon Camera, Lomography 35mm film and DigitaLIZA 35mm

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today! (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-09 in #news
    December 9th Advent Offer: Save 10% On Film Today!  (Online Code: FILMFANTASY10)

    We've got another great opportunity for you to load up on all your favorite films! Today's Advent deal is 10% off of all our films! Keep your holidays classy with one of our awesome black and white films or get creative with one of our Redscale films. Whatever you choose will be a great way to document all the upcoming fesitivities!

  • Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-09-08 in #news
    Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    Get ready to think fast and shoot faster! Today, we are thrilled share with you news of the brand new LC-A 120 Camera. Load it with any 120 film roll and experience the thrill of medium format photography. You’re sure to soak up all the action in every square shot with its fantastic 38mm f/4.5 wide-angle lens (equivalent to a 21mm lens on a 35mm film camera). It's available for Pre-Order: Extremely limited first batch stock of only 500 cameras!

    35