Ilford HP5 plus (120, 400) User-Review

11

It is a Great film, has nice blacks and whites, but the grey lacks a bit for my taste though.

This is a so-called real black & white film, that means no C-41 processing. It gives you real nice contrasts. As a result, you’ll deep blacks and whites that are really white! For my taste however, it lacks a little bit in the grey areas – not as contrasty and defined as they should be. Also, it is almost impossible to get nice cloudsscapes. I noticed, with the Holga, the sky just turns white, despite the use of filters and what not.

Nevertheless, I am a shameless fan of this Ilford child. The darker your motive, the bigger grain you’ll have. If you do doubles, the grain gets larger too! If you like these kind of things, then there’s nothing to loose upon loading this film in your camera! You can shoot any day or night time, indoors and outdoors! at ISO 400, you won’t be disappointed, I guarantee you! And most of all, it is affordable and you can develop it yourself for cheap!

written by vimalakirti on 2009-06-25 in #reviews #hamburg #120 #b-w #iso-400 #doubles #ilford #holga #hp5

11 Comments

  1. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    So retro! Fantastic!

  2. smclemon
    smclemon ·

    Nice pics. "I noticed, with the Holga, the sky just turns white, despite the use of filters and what not." - this isn't Mr HP5+'s fault. At ISO 400 during daytime the Holga (~1/100th sec, f/8-ish) hasnt a quick enough shutter speed or small enough aperture, so it'll look a bit washed and white :(

    However this reminds me I am gonna have to get some more HP5 as I do like the stuff :D

  3. smclemon
    smclemon ·

    by "it" i mean "the sky"

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    Nice ! I love N°5 !

  5. rater
    rater ·

    Nice photos!!!

  6. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    Great gallery of shots with a cool vintage touch! :))

  7. panelomo
    panelomo ·

    ... haven't tried ilford - this review will make me wanna buy one later.

  8. d_i_d
    d_i_d ·

    1th pic of the gallery is excellent!

  9. azurblue
    azurblue ·

    Great film and great gallery !!!

  10. otterattack
    otterattack ·

    i bought a film which i think was this stuff... i don't know but the pictures are kinda like this...

  11. redfactor
    redfactor ·

    beautiful mysterious quality to your photos

More Interesting Articles

  • Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    written by Xiang Cong Tham on 2015-02-22 in #gear #reviews
    Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    A lot of lomographers have experienced using and even writing about the greatness of the Lomography Earl Grey black and white 35mm ISO 100 film. However, no one has written about using an expired Earl Grey film yet. How does it fare when it is used expired? Read on to find out more.

    2
  • Perfect Combination for a Hazy Day: Lomo LC-A and a Pushed Ilford HP5+

    written by sirio174 on 2015-05-06 in #gear #reviews
    Perfect Combination for a Hazy Day: Lomo LC-A and a Pushed Ilford HP5+

    In this article, I'll show you how the Lomo LC-A loaded with the versatile Ilford HP5+ can make the most out of a hazy morning. To capture the whirlwind of a bicycle race, I pushed the film to ISO 800. The legendary Minitar 1 lens and this classic Ilford film are a perfect combination if you love black and white photos.

    1
  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Shop News

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    The ultra-lightweight, low-maintenance 35mm camera that fits perfectly in your hand for some wild and spontaneous shooting!

  • LomoAmigo: Paul Del Rosario Shoots with the Belair

    written by ciscoswank on 2015-05-11 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigo: Paul Del Rosario Shoots with the Belair

    Paul Del Rosario is a photographer who has been based in Japan for 24 years. Finding beauty in messy Tokyo streets , he captures the chaotic scenes in black and white. He also manages 120 love, a fashion and lifestyle brand that integrates film photography into popular urban street culture.

  • Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    written by brettlaw on 2015-04-22 in #gear #reviews #videos
    Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    When I held the Lomo LC-A 120 in my hands for the first time, I immediately noticed its good feel and beautiful design. The LC-A 120 obviously, is truly, related to the queen of all Lomo cameras, the LC-A.

    2
  • The Beauty of Black and White

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-18 in #world #lifestyle
    The Beauty of Black and White

    A popular quote by photojournalist Ted Grant goes, "When you photograph people in color, you photograph their clothes. But when you photograph people in black and white, you photograph their souls!" Indeed, the lack of vibrant color forces the viewer to see beyond what is on plain view and recognize the atmosphere surrounding a photograph. In this post, we've handpicked black and white shots taken in various situations and exhibit different moods.

    5
  • Shop News

    Pixelstick

    Pixelstick

    The most incredible lightpainting tool is here! Consists of 200 full color RGB LEDs in a lightweight aluminium housing will color your analogue world in different way! Create and animate different shades and shapes with the Pixelstick!

  • Wilson Lee Explores Hong Kong with the New Russar+

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-24 in #gear #lifestyle #locations #reviews #lomoamigos
    Wilson Lee Explores Hong Kong with the New Russar+

    Wilson Lee is not new to Lomography. He has taken photos using the Petzval Lens, and produced stunning results. Before going back to London to finish his master's degree, he used the New Russar+ lens and Lomography Lady Grey film to preserve his memories of his hometown, Hong Kong, in black and white.

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Awesome Albums: Black and White 2014 by -viv-

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-04-24 in #world #lifestyle
    Awesome Albums: Black and White 2014 by -viv-

    For the modern-day photographer, black and white film is a license to slow down. Today's album is a Lomographer's journey from concrete city to tranquil waters.

  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Petzval Amigo: Andrea Russo

    written by Lomography London on 2016-01-11 in #world #lomoamigos
    Petzval Amigo: Andrea Russo

    Andrej Russkovskij AKA Andrea Russo is an avid film photographer and active community member who has a soft spot for portraits, making him the quintessential Petzval Amigo. He recently tested the Petzval 85 Art Lens with different kinds of film, among them black and white, Velvia 50, Kodak Elitechrome and Fuji Superia 200.

    7
  • 5 Modern-Day Music Videos Shot on Film

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-08-08 in #world #lifestyle #videos
    5 Modern-Day Music Videos Shot on Film

    Great lyric, though layered with fictions, is a piece of personal history. And so is the video. Inspired by their collaborator’s words and music, directors still turn to film for a touch of authenticity and soul.

  • Stephen Dowling Takes the LC-A 120 to Malta

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-07-08 in #people #locations #lomoamigos
    Stephen Dowling Takes the LC-A 120 to Malta

    Aside from his pictures, there is more to admire about Stephen Dowling. His extensive knowledge and insight into film photography and cameras are inspiring. Dowling, a BBC editor and analog photographer, tested the LC-A 120 camera and became a LomoAmigo last year. He has since rekindled ties with the Lomo LC-A 120, and brought it on a trip to Malta.