Polaroid Spectra (Instant/Polaroid, 640 iso) User-Review

10

Polaroid Spectra, an excellent frame size to work with and beautiful when expired!

Polaroid Spectra is my preferred instant film. It gives you a large image and wonderful colours which depends on how old the film is. As with most films of all kinds, when within its expiration date, Spectra provides natural colours if developed in a warm place. All Polaroid film gives you a purple hue when developed in the cold, and Spectra is no exception. Once expired, Spectra becomes more creamy and greens and browns pop. Streaks become more apparent in the film as well.

No matter how old the film though, I recommend using it mainly outdoors as indoor lighting is dim and colour casts are accentuated (which can be a good thing! I have an example in my images). All-in-all, Spectra is pretty sharp and gives you some lovely tones to work with.

written by aapertura on 2009-08-15 in #reviews #purple #brown #streak #polaroid #cream #green #expired #spectra

10 Comments

  1. lomo_bernis
    lomo_bernis ·

    great gallery and great review.. instant rules!!!

  2. mattcharnock
    mattcharnock ·

    do i spy totoro!!!!!

  3. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    well done!

  4. mattydk
    mattydk ·

    fantastic gallery.

  5. ivoryocean
    ivoryocean ·

    Great review, thanks! :}

  6. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    You really did a great job!

  7. panelomo
    panelomo ·

    classic polaroid fun!

  8. stouf
    stouf ·

    Super review !!!

  9. takezzo
    takezzo ·

    damn good gallery!!

  10. lawypop
    lawypop ·

    i luv expired spectra!

More Interesting Articles

  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • Top Shoutbox Users of 2015

    written by lomography on 2015-12-28 in #world #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of 2015

    The shoutbox is an open space for lomographers to interact with fellows from across the globe, air their honest opinions and suggestions, share interesting news, and promote their work (especially with the photo-sharing feature introduced last year!). And keeping it filled with entertaining conversations are these chatty lomographers. Meet the top shoutbox users of 2015.

    1
  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Shop News

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    A resurrection from the zenith of Russian premium optics, get the same elegance and classic compact design as its predecessor. — available in small quantities on a first-come, first-served basis.

  • Elegant Photos to Inspire Your Next Black and White Album

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-04-05 in #world #lifestyle
    Elegant Photos to Inspire Your Next Black and White Album

    These photos hark back to a time when "click of a button" meant thoughtful framing rather than instant effects. Let the stunning work move you from the streets to the darkroom!

  • Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    written by Xiang Cong Tham on 2015-02-22 in #gear #reviews
    Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    A lot of lomographers have experienced using and even writing about the greatness of the Lomography Earl Grey black and white 35mm ISO 100 film. However, no one has written about using an expired Earl Grey film yet. How does it fare when it is used expired? Read on to find out more.

    2
  • Lomo'Instant LomoAmigo: S.F. Said

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-02-09 in #people #lomoamigos
    Lomo'Instant LomoAmigo: S.F. Said

    London-based children's writer and photographer S.F. Said is also an avid fan of instant photography. He talks about his work, as well as his experience with the Lomo'Instant, in this exclusive interview.

    2
  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Shoot wider and bigger with this new instax camera that has film format twice the size of the instax mini films!

  • Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    written by brettlaw on 2015-04-22 in #gear #reviews #videos
    Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    When I held the Lomo LC-A 120 in my hands for the first time, I immediately noticed its good feel and beautiful design. The LC-A 120 obviously, is truly, related to the queen of all Lomo cameras, the LC-A.

    2
  • Back In Stock: Fujifilm Instax Share Smartphone Printer SP-1

    written by shhquiet on 2015-04-27 in #gear #news
    Back In Stock: Fujifilm Instax Share Smartphone Printer SP-1

    It’s time to add an analogue touch to all those photos taken with your smartphone! We’ve restocked the Shop with Fujifilm Instax Share SP-1, a portable and easy-to-use printer that allows you to magically transform your mobile photos, as well as scanned analogue photos, into super-cool instant snapshots. It works great with Android and iOS tablets and phones - simply transfer the images to the device by using the free Instax Share app and start printing!

    1
  • Klara Johanna Michel's Ethereal Visions as Captured by the Lomo'Instant Wide

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-04 in #people #lomoamigos
    Klara Johanna Michel's Ethereal Visions as Captured by the Lomo'Instant Wide

    Influenced by the work of Caravaggio, Berlin-based photographer Klara Johanna Michel hand-painted photographs are reminiscent of Renaissance art. The images are highly stylized and the subjects are posed to mimic the appearance of religious beings. Who would have thought that such mystery and old world charm could similarly be achieved with the help of an instant camera?

    2
  • Shop News

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Never go wrong with amount of light entering your lenses. Perfect for any photo shoots, very handy, lightweight and extremely versatile!

  • Lomo'Instant Wide Amigo Alfredo Buonanno

    written by mpflawer on 2016-01-18 in #people #lomoamigos
    Lomo'Instant Wide Amigo Alfredo Buonanno

    Alfredo Buonanno is a photographer who loves everything retro. When his friend Sergio showed him the Lomo'Instant Wide Central Park, Alfredo felt in love with the instant camera, instantly-- and it was the beginning of a beautiful new story. He recently took lovely, retro-style pictures with the Lomo'Instant Wide with the model Viktoriya Tori as his muse.

    3
  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • A Petzval Series with Sarah Zanon

    written by givesmehell on 2015-04-09 in #people #lomoamigos
    A Petzval Series with Sarah Zanon

    Sarah Zanon is an incredibly talented graphic design student and photographer. She has agreed to share with us her beautiful series of photographs taken with our well-loved Petzval Lens. Here's an exclusive interview with her!