Polaroid Spectra (Instant/Polaroid, 640 iso) User-Review

10

Polaroid Spectra, an excellent frame size to work with and beautiful when expired!

Polaroid Spectra is my preferred instant film. It gives you a large image and wonderful colours which depends on how old the film is. As with most films of all kinds, when within its expiration date, Spectra provides natural colours if developed in a warm place. All Polaroid film gives you a purple hue when developed in the cold, and Spectra is no exception. Once expired, Spectra becomes more creamy and greens and browns pop. Streaks become more apparent in the film as well.

No matter how old the film though, I recommend using it mainly outdoors as indoor lighting is dim and colour casts are accentuated (which can be a good thing! I have an example in my images). All-in-all, Spectra is pretty sharp and gives you some lovely tones to work with.

written by aapertura on 2009-08-15 in #reviews

10 Comments

  1. lomo_bernis
    lomo_bernis ·

    great gallery and great review.. instant rules!!!

  2. mattcharnock
    mattcharnock ·

    do i spy totoro!!!!!

  3. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    well done!

  4. mattydk
    mattydk ·

    fantastic gallery.

  5. ivoryocean
    ivoryocean ·

    Great review, thanks! :}

  6. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    You really did a great job!

  7. panelomo
    panelomo ·

    classic polaroid fun!

  8. stouf
    stouf ·

    Super review !!!

  9. takezzo
    takezzo ·

    damn good gallery!!

  10. lawypop
    lawypop ·

    i luv expired spectra!

More Interesting Articles

  • Petzval Lens User Review: An Unexpected Happiness

    written by sanamiii on 2014-06-06 in #reviews
    Petzval Lens User Review: An Unexpected Happiness

    It is my first time to use the New Petzval Lens outside of work and I got some surprising photos!

  • You Are Temporary: Dreamy Polaroid Photos by Andrea Buzzichelli

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-04-03 in #lifestyle
    You Are Temporary: Dreamy Polaroid Photos by Andrea Buzzichelli

    Many photographers who still shoot film for their commercial and personal projects usually use instant photography for portraiture, but an Italian photographer made use of Polaroids to create a series that challenges viewers to seek their connection with nature.

  • Top Shoutbox Users of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-28 in #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of 2014

    The shoutbox is always open for the community's honest opinions, surprising suggestions, and sweetest greetings. It is also an avenue for members from across different countries to dicuss and interact with one another. We'd like to commend these lomographers for keeping this humble space booming with entertaining conversations all year long. Congratulations to our top shoutbox users of 2014.

    5
  • Shop News

    Capture your Special Moments in lovely Circles

    Capture your Special Moments in lovely Circles

    See the world through 170⁰ of fabulous Fisheye distortion. Browse them now and find selected editions discounted up to 30%!

  • You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    written by ncjom on 2014-11-05 in #reviews
    You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    If you happen to come across an expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 film pack, either in a store or on the Internet, get one and be ready for an exciting experience. You'll definitely get more from it!

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    written by simonesavo on 2014-07-24 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything Part 1

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact and is capable of shooting photos in 3 different sizes: 6x12, 6x9 and 6x6. Equipped with high-quality interchangeable lenses and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots with every roll. It can also take 3 different film formats: 120 film, 35mm and instant film. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Haunting UrbEx Polaroid Portraits by Denis Peaudeau

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2014-04-23 in #lifestyle
    Haunting UrbEx Polaroid Portraits by Denis Peaudeau

    Thinking of embarking on an urban exploration and photography session? The unique and hauntingly beautiful instants you'll find after the jump will surely inspire you to come up with your own take on UrbEx photography.

  • Shop News

    Build your own analog SLR Camera!

    Build your own analog SLR Camera!

    With a list of fine accessories it´s not only fun to build but also great to shoot with! Check out the enhanced, flash compatible version now!

  • Abandoned Spaces by Alex Luyckx

    written by jillytanrad on 2014-03-08 in #lifestyle
    Abandoned Spaces by Alex Luyckx

    Budding photographers are everywhere, but not everyone can excel in the craft using both analogue and digital mediums. When you look at Alex Luyckx’s body of work, however, you realize that there masterfully skilled and gifted people out there who can shoot staggering regardless of what camera or what medium there is. And if that wasn't fascinating enough, this talented gentleman with an obvious devotion for film also develops and prints his own images.

  • A Quick Chat With Susan Burnstine

    written by cheeo on 2014-03-31 in #lifestyle
    A Quick Chat With Susan Burnstine

    We’ve featured the otherworldly work of fine art photographer Susan Burnstine in the magazine a while back and we’re happy to return with more. We’re lucky enough to have the photographer herself talking about her creative process, following your own decisions when shooting, and every little frame in between.

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Shop News

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    You’ve shouted your analogue love from the rooftops and worn your heart on your sleeve – Now it’s time to take it to the next level and wear it on your skin! Our new Lomography Tattoos are fun, easy to apply and come in five designs.

  • Lomo’Instant on a Sunny Day

    written by jacobs on 2014-11-06 in #gear #tipster
    Lomo’Instant on a Sunny Day

    I recently had the opportunity to take the world’s most creative instant camera — the Lomo'Instant — for a stroll on an unusually warm and sunny November day. My goal was to acquaint myself with the endlessly cool features and infinite possibilities the camera possesses while creating some beautiful photographs in the meantime. Read on to see the results!

  • Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    written by Xiang Cong Tham on 2015-02-22 in #gear #reviews
    Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    A lot of lomographers have experienced using and even writing about the greatness of the Lomography Earl Grey black and white 35mm ISO 100 film. However, no one has written about using an expired Earl Grey film yet. How does it fare when it is used expired? Read on to find out more.

    2
  • Shinjuku Park in full bloom: A perfect time to use expired films and travel to the past!

    written by umeshu on 2014-04-25 in #lifestyle
    Shinjuku Park in full bloom: A perfect time to use expired films and travel to the past!

    I went to Shinjuku Park in order to celebrate spring and enjoy the Japanese tradition of "hanami," which means the "contemplation of cherry blossoms." I tried to capture the beauty of cherry trees with my Lubitel 166B loaded with an expired roll of Agfa Portrait 160 film. I obtained a sepia effect on my photos, and I felt as if I just traveled through old Japan.