Polaroid Spectra (Instant/Polaroid, 640 iso) User-Review

10

Polaroid Spectra, an excellent frame size to work with and beautiful when expired!

Polaroid Spectra is my preferred instant film. It gives you a large image and wonderful colours which depends on how old the film is. As with most films of all kinds, when within its expiration date, Spectra provides natural colours if developed in a warm place. All Polaroid film gives you a purple hue when developed in the cold, and Spectra is no exception. Once expired, Spectra becomes more creamy and greens and browns pop. Streaks become more apparent in the film as well.

No matter how old the film though, I recommend using it mainly outdoors as indoor lighting is dim and colour casts are accentuated (which can be a good thing! I have an example in my images). All-in-all, Spectra is pretty sharp and gives you some lovely tones to work with.

written by aapertura on 2009-08-15 in #reviews #cream #green #purple #spectra #expired #polaroid #brown #streak

10 Comments

  1. lomo_bernis
    lomo_bernis ·

    great gallery and great review.. instant rules!!!

  2. mattcharnock
    mattcharnock ·

    do i spy totoro!!!!!

  3. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    well done!

  4. mattydk
    mattydk ·

    fantastic gallery.

  5. ivoryocean
    ivoryocean ·

    Great review, thanks! :}

  6. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    You really did a great job!

  7. panelomo
    panelomo ·

    classic polaroid fun!

  8. stouf
    stouf ·

    Super review !!!

  9. takezzo
    takezzo ·

    damn good gallery!!

  10. lawypop
    lawypop ·

    i luv expired spectra!

More Interesting Articles

  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Top Shoutbox Users of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-28 in #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of 2014

    The shoutbox is always open for the community's honest opinions, surprising suggestions, and sweetest greetings. It is also an avenue for members from across different countries to dicuss and interact with one another. We'd like to commend these lomographers for keeping this humble space booming with entertaining conversations all year long. Congratulations to our top shoutbox users of 2014.

    5
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Elegant Photos to Inspire Your Next Black and White Album

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-04-05 in #world #lifestyle
    Elegant Photos to Inspire Your Next Black and White Album

    These photos hark back to a time when "click of a button" meant thoughtful framing rather than instant effects. Let the stunning work move you from the streets to the darkroom!

  • You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    written by ncjom on 2014-11-05 in #reviews
    You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    If you happen to come across an expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 film pack, either in a store or on the Internet, get one and be ready for an exciting experience. You'll definitely get more from it!

  • Lomo’Instant on a Sunny Day

    written by jacobs on 2014-11-06 in #gear #tipster
    Lomo’Instant on a Sunny Day

    I recently had the opportunity to take the world’s most creative instant camera — the Lomo'Instant — for a stroll on an unusually warm and sunny November day. My goal was to acquaint myself with the endlessly cool features and infinite possibilities the camera possesses while creating some beautiful photographs in the meantime. Read on to see the results!

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    written by Xiang Cong Tham on 2015-02-22 in #gear #reviews
    Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    A lot of lomographers have experienced using and even writing about the greatness of the Lomography Earl Grey black and white 35mm ISO 100 film. However, no one has written about using an expired Earl Grey film yet. How does it fare when it is used expired? Read on to find out more.

    2
  • Lomo'Instant LomoAmigo: S.F. Said

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-02-09 in #people #lomoamigos
    Lomo'Instant LomoAmigo: S.F. Said

    London-based children's writer and photographer S.F. Said is also an avid fan of instant photography. He talks about his work, as well as his experience with the Lomo'Instant, in this exclusive interview.

    2
  • Back In Stock: Fujifilm Instax Share Smartphone Printer SP-1

    written by shhquiet on 2015-04-27 in #gear #news
    Back In Stock: Fujifilm Instax Share Smartphone Printer SP-1

    It’s time to add an analogue touch to all those photos taken with your smartphone! We’ve restocked the Shop with Fujifilm Instax Share SP-1, a portable and easy-to-use printer that allows you to magically transform your mobile photos, as well as scanned analogue photos, into super-cool instant snapshots. It works great with Android and iOS tablets and phones - simply transfer the images to the device by using the free Instax Share app and start printing!

    1
  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    written by brettlaw on 2015-04-22 in #gear #reviews #videos
    Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    When I held the Lomo LC-A 120 in my hands for the first time, I immediately noticed its good feel and beautiful design. The LC-A 120 obviously, is truly, related to the queen of all Lomo cameras, the LC-A.

    2
  • Photo of the Day by artlens

    written by cheeo on 2014-11-13 in #news
    Photo of the Day by artlens

    One can give an ordinary snapshot a mysterious atmosphere with the right framing and lighting. Congratulations to artlens for having our Photo of the Day!

    3
  • Lomo'instant Party Recap UK

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-11-18 in #news
    Lomo'instant Party Recap UK

    Last week we celebrated the arrival of the Lomo'Instant camera at the Lomography Soho Store with a huge launch party. We opened our doors late to showcase this exciting new compact instant camera! We gave you the chance to hold this beauty in your hands and have your photo taken in our instant photobooth. Read on to catch the event highlights.